Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Faking it (at gigs and elsewhere)

• 08-03-2008 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭

I guess this is aimed more at the gig photographers but I suppose counts in other situations too...

I'm finding myself frustrated again. I'm not sure if its me, my kit or the subjects so I thought I'd bounce it out here. The 50 is annoying me on the 350D. I made the HUGE mistake of borrowing Al's 5D and 24-70L a few weeks ago and its just not been the same, even with the lovely 50 1.4 (which *is* a sweet lens and is making a big difference). I'm finding myself so restricted with the crop though in the more packed venues - where I can't zoom with my feet. First off - how many of you shoot with the 50? Would you have a second body with a zoom? I'm not liking the though of changing lenses in the middle of a mosh pit.. 5D hopefully being ordered next month (after holiday and audit) but the L will have to wait I think :(

I'm just not getting the shots. I'm finding they're all very 'samey'. Staid. I loved the stuff I got at the wider end of the L up close. Is it that? Is it just me and lens envy?

Or - the original topic I wanted to ask about (sorry, a bit rambling today) is it the subject? I know it sounds like an excuse, but I've found myself getting bored mid-gig sometimes because they're just doing NOTHING. I had one a while back where the bassist stood with his back to the crowd for most of the gig. There have been a few bands recently where there's no expression in the face, no movement. Just standing there singing or playing the guitar and staring off into space. And I just get shots of a guy or girl staring off into space. Yawn. The thing is, the music might be brilliant, crowd going crazy at the same time. Its not all the time - there are some bands I could shoot forever. Just the more I do the more I'm noticing it.

I'm wondering - firstly - do you other gig shooters find the same thing with certain bands/performers sometimes or is it just me and the mood I'm in of late? Secondly, if its not just me, are there techniques you use to fake a bit of energy and oomph out of the shot. I've seen the zoomy thing used a lot, not sure if I like it. I've started to shoot at lower speeds to get some motion blur - how do you balance sharpness and energy? Anything else I can try? Processing? Website links?

Basically, how do you shoot gigs? :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I found myself restricted to a certain extent on Tuesday night at a gig in Dublin. I have however got the funds to progress to a full sensor camera instead of the 1.6x crop factor so it's a matter of time before I put in an order with Albert. That was my first gig shot but I hope to get cover more in the next few weeks.

Also you mention some bands where they are just static for most of the gig, I find that and it can be a curse. You're the one looking for a photo which will stand out instead of them looking like robots. You're not to blame, it's the performers who decide to stay rigid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Jesus how old is the singer in that band you shot. Looks like he popped in on the way home from school :eek:

I feel like shouting at them sometimes - You have a camera pointing at you and hundreds of people watching - DO SOMETHING! One guitarist sat on the amp through the whole gig with his head down... :(

5D here we come :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

The lads are 18/19 from Helmsley in Yorkshire. Great band live and well worth catching again. Might have another opportunity to shoot their next Irish gig in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

i shoot gigs with my 350D, kit lens at 18mm, f/3.5, ISO1600, and 1/90th, and wait for the lights cycle to get where i want it to.
    and at smaller gigs they're generally cool with flash, so rear curtain sync and a half second exposure can do some cool stuff.
    and i get right up close, they're small club gigs and i get in touch with bands and promoters first so i can get right up the front.
    also shoot with a film rangefinder
    i take a lot of shots, keep very few, a lot end up blurry and too dark.
    and i really, really want to shoot full frame digital sometime cos of the tiny viewfinder and inability to focus manually.
    but sometimes the 350d works, i'll pimp a couple shots here :D

gigsmart088.jpg

gigsmart168.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

Oh god, I know how you feel, Sinead! I'm dying to get my hands on something wider and I keep seeing people with the 24-70... :(

I've used the kit lens on the 350 with some decent results... Depends on the venue! Button Factory is deffo bright enough for the Kit Lens!

Here's some photos I've taken with kit lens:

2100981276_ab533181b4.jpg

1560110000_df7332e6c5.jpg

1559632126_9876db96d5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

those are great rojo, i'm lovin the first one.

Ah no not the kit! I spend a small fortune on stuff just to go back to that?! Say it aint so! :) Come to think of it though, I remember getting some good stuff with the kit way back when I didn't have anything else.

I do really like those though Rojo.. really nicely processed.

5D won't take EFS though will it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

The 5d is such a good camera although I am finding the 1dmk3 much better at metering and high iso. Its tough when you try other cameras and see the results

deaddonkey wrote: »

rear curtain sync and a half second exposure

Hmm.. rubs chin...

Borderfox wrote: »
    The 5d is such a good camera although I am finding the 1dmk3 much better at metering and high iso. Its tough when you try other cameras and see the results

I'm never going NEAR a 1D! I'm thinking of taking out a barring order of 100 metres on all decent kit from now on. Dangerous, the lot of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

sineadw wrote: »
    Ah no not the kit! I spend a small fortune on stuff just to go back to that?! Say it aint so! :) Come to think of it though, I remember getting some good stuff with the kit way back when I didn't have anything else.

I do really like those though Rojo.. really nicely processed.

5D won't take EFS though will it?

Haha - I'm only using the kit because it's the widest I have for my 350 because of the crop factor! :p 5d Wouldn't take the kit lens, however, if it did and someone saw you with the kit lens on it, they'd prob burst out laughing at ya. Hehe! :p

5D with kit and pop-up flash. On auto. Nope - doesn't go :D Jesus - you'd be arrested if you could! Or beaten up by any photographer in the general vicinity.

Anyone know a bank I can rob? I *NEED* the L... Maybe the 1.4 will feel better on the full frame. Might have a mess about with the film body and the 50 at a gig I'm doing tonight - see what kind of framing I can get... when I get bored...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

nah, the 5D comes with its own kit lens.. Canon 24-105mm f/4L IS lens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Have only done gig photography once and yeah I found the 50mm cropped alot more than i thought it would. my one and only band were the Grand Pocket Orchestra and they were really good lead singer and Bassist danced around alot and I got a couple of good poses was very pleased with the results tried for about half the night to get a good picture of the Girl (Bronwyn) but she kept her head down (she was playing the keyboard).

So I think it was the bands fault :D some do not look so great visually. remember playing an instrument can be quiet complicated and than your standing in front of loads of people and quiet possibly bricking it.

I suppose pick your bands. some are good showmen but most are not. :)

yeah I'd love a wider faster Cheap lens lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

How do I shoot gigs? Tough question... There are a lot of factors...

- What mood am I in... Do I want to watch the band more than I want to take pictures of them.

- Is there a good atmosphere and link between the crowd and the band. If there is, the chances are that you'll get better photos as a result. The band will be a lot more interactive (depending on the act of course..)

- Lighting. What colours are being used on stage. Most of the time the venues in Dublin have good lighting setups, but sometimes you come across some awful coloured lights.

- I like to shoot without flash and let the camera do the work.

- Taking pictures of bands can produce a lot of similar results, so I like to 'mix it up' a bit and try and get some 'different' style shots. Depends on the night really. I like to get some artsy/abstract photos..

- I use the EOS 400D, standard lens 18-55mm and 55-200mm. I'll invest in better lens' at some stage soon, but for the moment they are doing the job

Some of my favs anyway:

577687634_02dea4cb09.jpg

577676547_691c271f74.jpg

This one at Interpol was taken with a P&S camera:
    1012211060_07d08cd963.jpg

577671299_29ad4addb0.jpg

1393260723_eb3967988e.jpg

1393302805_a72cbd9401.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

but I've found myself getting bored mid-gig sometimes because they're just doing NOTHING. I had one a while back where the bassist stood with his back to the crowd for most of the gig.

This non-performance started being all the rage a few decades ago when I were a lad, and all it is is an avoidance of performance, or an excuse for non-music, bad music. If the fecker just stands with his back to the crowd, he doesn't deserve to be photographed. After all non-photography is a completely valid response to non-performance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I now bring two bodies. My D80 and a D300. I shoot in manual mode. I actually rarely use my 50mm nowadays - mainly just in low-lit pub gigs.
    I bought the 70-200mm VR which I have on my D300 and then I switch lenses between songs on the D80.
    Saying that I haven't been to a large gig in ages. I must see who's playing Belfast again.

Also, regarding the thread subject title - to get good gig shots you can fake nothing. It's the difference between average and good shots, an average photographer and a good photographer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

You don't NEED the L tbh... I survived for years without one :)

Oh, and no pop-up flash on the 5D!
    Also, regarding the thread subject title - to get good gig shots you can fake nothing. It's the difference between average and good shots, an average photographer and a good photographer.

Agreed.

How do I shoot gigs?

I turn up, find out what the lights (or lack of) are like, and work from there. I don't think there's too many secrets too it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

I love the 50 and I don't care about shoving my way around to get whatever angle or shot I want. I have an L series 200 which can be handy sometimes but I just stick to the 50 normally. Why are people so afraid of changing lenses at a gig? Seeing so many with these huge lenses at gigs kind of annoys me (mainly envy haha) but I think the 50 is fine you know, just *%&$"&in move around. Also non performers, say it to them after. I can't stand em. The music can be amazing but at the end of the day i their not doing anything you can't translate that through a photo. (I'm insanely hung over as telepaul will hopefully agree with so if this makes no senses apoligies. Paul, ring me,)

Thanks all. I think maybe I'm a little over-saturated with gig stuff and that might be part of the problem. 3 gb worth of stuff to go through from last night and I'm finding I really can't be arsed. I got a new tripod yesterday - might do something with that for a while..

And I KNOW there's no pop-up on the 5D :rolleyes::D

As for the topic title, I meant faking that performance when there's a lack of it from the band - techniques to introduce a bit of 'movement'. Know what you mean though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

RCNPhotos wrote: »
    I love the 50 and I don't care about shoving my way around to get whatever angle or shot I want. I have an L series 200 which can be handy sometimes but I just stick to the 50 normally. Why are people so afraid of changing lenses at a gig? Seeing so many with these huge lenses at gigs kind of annoys me (mainly envy haha) but I think the 50 is fine you know, just *%&$"&in move around. Also non performers, say it to them after. I can't stand em. The music can be amazing but at the end of the day i their not doing anything you can't translate that through a photo. (I'm insanely hung over as telepaul will hopefully agree with so if this makes no senses apoligies. Paul, ring me,)

I completely agree. 50 f/1.4 or f/1.8 is pretty much perfect for 80% of live shots. I have a wider lens and a telephoto but I find myself leaving them at home and just bringing the 50 1.4 these days. I'm always happier with the photos it produces. I'd say most the gig shots on my flickr page were taken with it or the f/1.8 I had before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭DotOrg

First off - how many of you shoot with the 50? Would you have a second body with a zoom?
    I'd use the 50mm quite a bit, generally only when it's very dark though, a zoom is much better for gigs where people are moving and you have a limited time

I'm not liking the though of changing lenses in the middle of a mosh pit.
    thee best answer is try and shoot gigs where there is a photo pit or if you can't get into them, try gigs that aren't packed and there's loads of room to move

but I've found myself getting bored mid-gig sometimes because they're just doing NOTHING. I had one a while back where the bassist stood with his back to the crowd for most of the gig. There have been a few bands recently where there's no expression in the face, no movement. Just standing there singing or playing the guitar and staring off into space.

that's gig photography for you. some bands are great others aren't. are you only shooting bands you like or just any kind of music. I'd cover everything from trad to indie to jazz to metal, some of the best photos are of music i don't hugely love

are there techniques you use to fake a bit of energy and oomph out of the shot. I've seen the zoomy thing used a lot, not sure if I like it. I've started to shoot at lower speeds to get some motion blur - how do you balance sharpness and energy? Anything else I can try? Processing?

if there is no energy on stage, i rarely find you get much energy in the shots. i try and capture the performer as they are. but if there is no action then it's all about composition and use of light