Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

scumbags, parents fault ?

• 07-03-2008 4:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Throw this one out there.

Scumbags, is it the parents fault ?

I would probably have been a scumbag only my father would have, and probably still would, give me a good pasting, I'm 40 in a few months by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

of course its the parents fault.
    surely nobody doubts this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Xavi6 wrote: »

Didn't see that :o must have a look now;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I would probably have been a scumbag only my father would have, and probably still would, give me a good pasting, I'm 40 in a few months by the way

You could still become a scumbag, if you want. Are you still living with your parents? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Answer is no!
    Does not apply to all situations, OP should read the other stupid thread and get their kicks there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

I agree with OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

But it can also be the areas/schools fault.

I kid can grow up with decent parents in a **** area in which all his friends are dropping out at 16, smokin weed and drinking. The pressure on kids in those areas to waste their lives is immense.

I have taught in schools where the worst possible thing a kid could do is to give a **** about anything apart from Booze, drugs and football. Their parents howvere decent, cant afford to send them to a different school, and eventually they get pulled under.

That's not of course to say that their arent amazing string parents who can manage to teach their kids to rise above that pressure, but it's not entirely the parents fault if they dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

stevoman wrote: »
    I agree with OP

I blame that on your parents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Rob_l wrote: »
    I blame that on your parents!

No i blame it on your parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

Scumbag parents = Scumbag kids

However, Scumbag piers and friends exacerbate the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Scumbag parents = Scumbag kids

However, Scumbag piers and friends exacerbate the situation.

Damn scumbag harbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

green123 wrote: »
    of course its the parents fault.
    surely nobody doubts this ?

Not going to bother reading/ quoting the rest of the thread, This is wrong, its true in most cases that people are conditioned by there parents, but as im sure you have noticed allot of "scum" are prone to violence and quick to reacact without considering things. And this is there parents fault?. Thats like saying if somone is a rapist or a child perv or gay thats its their parents fault? has it occoured to you that scun are simply that scum and its noones fault but there own? i mean if they grow up in a bad area they have the choice to not interact with those around them, to isolate themselves until they find the patch they want in life, this is much easyer now, look at the amount of time some boardsies spend online here and im sure on other forums. Those that dont work and are young may be from those "bad area's"

Where you grow up is not an excuse. You grow up in greenland and its ok to do weird **** to kids? (sorry if that last part causes offence) The same holds true to scum. What you are born into is not an excuse. I mean most parents will condition there kids to things like religion, or football team or whatever but being "scum" is not something that just happends. It happens over time and a person should notice the change in themselves or if the person has seen tv or movies or heard anything in school about what they are doing is wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I blame the parents.

User45701 wrote:
    Thats like saying if somone is a rapist or a child perv or gay thats its their parents fault?

I like how being gay is comparable to paedophilia and that someone must be "at fault" for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

No, the last time I saw a bag of scum, it was created because the person was sick, and had been throwing up into the bag for hours.

Sorry no, that was the sickbag. I should have said the bag alongside into which he spat after throwing up = scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Parents are only one in a million factors tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I blame mossy monks parents too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

bluewolf wrote: »
    I like how being gay is comparable to paedophilia and that someone must be "at fault" for it

Well if the poster meant that some people look on being gay as being a bad thing(which some people do) and that its a choice not how you are built (which some people do) then that person is as ridulous as someone who thinks of a child abuser in the same was is an eedjit. Its a sad thing but some people look at the world that way.

If he thinks of gay people as being similar to child abusers, thats his own look out. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Parents are 90% responsible. My dad would and did give me a hiding if i ever disrespected anyone .I remember at the time thinking what a fu**er but i have thanked him for that since. Most scumbags have scumbag parents mind you. I witnessed a young lad only about 6 or 7 years old last week (in my estate) throw a finished bottle of fanta and crisp packet on the ground.His dad who was strolling along beside him laughed at him. I know it's only a small thing but what chance does this kid have in later life with a dad like that? The thing is i didnt know them but i would bet they where walking over to the social housing estate down the road. Some might call that snobbery but i call it common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

"Well if the poster meant that some people look on being gay as being a bad thing(which some people do) and that its a choice not how you are built (which some people do)"

Yeah some people do. Narrow-minded bigots who have never met a gay person largely.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

LaVidaLoca wrote: »
    "Well if the poster meant that some people look on being gay as being a bad thing(which some people do) and that its a choice not how you are built (which some people do)"

Yeah some people do. Narrow-minded bigots who have never met a gay person largely.

I agree. As I stated later in the post but you neglected to copy... boo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

It could be said to be the parents fault but if you look at the bigger picture, it is really society's fault that the parents are the way they are.

A nice comfortable assertion, blaming some vague construct.
    If it is society's fault, then it's up to all of us to try and make the difference. Instead of, say, making AH threads about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

A nice comfortable assertion, blaming some vague construct.
    If it is society's fault, then it's up to all of us to try and make the difference. Instead of, say, making AH threads about it...

To lazy right now to elaborate tbh.

Heres something simular that I wrote before on another thread.

1. When you see a scanger with no qualifications, drawing the dole etc of course you are tempted to assume that this is their own fault, they are a lazy assed waster etc. However from day one this person is most likely to have had less opportunities than the average middle class Joe Bloggs. Studies have shown that working class children find the structure and cultures of the classroom unfamiliar and difficult to interpret. (Bourdieu etc) Even their language structure has been proven to be different and to place them at a disadvantage in the middle class classroom culture. Teachers have been shown to expect less of working class kids and in turn these kids try less.

Added to this maybe his parents could not offer the same supports other parents could, they may be uneducated scumbags themselves, may be ignorant of the benefits of education, may not have been able to afford playschool and extra learning materials. His house might of been crap and crowded with nowhere quiet to do homework, his peers uninterested in education, I could go on and on.

Basically the guy was screwed from the start through no fault of his own. These inequalities only get worse as he gets older and a vicious cycle is created. By the time he was old enough to take responsibility his position in society had been fixed along with his attitudes and self expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

I blame the government 'cause they didn't give me Ma, and me aunt a house and they didn't give me what I am entitled to.

I ain't goin' workin' 'n all for them thievin' robbin' gee-bags in Dublin 2, they think I'n fallin' that....they are robbin bastards....fancy a pair of Nike air max n all...pure genuine....honest n all......

Parents fault.............

SDooM wrote: »
    Well if the poster meant that some people look on being gay as being a bad thing(which some people do) and that its a choice not how you are built (which some people do) then that person is as ridulous as someone who thinks of a child abuser in the same was is an eedjit. Its a sad thing but some people look at the world that way.

If he thinks of gay people as being similar to child abusers, thats his own look out. lol

No sorry, missunderstanding, I have nothing against gay people, i was using that as a example, you will find some people blame parents for the sexuality and others blame parents for things like ; pedo's. "Society made them that way" and all but who really knows what makes who like what?
    Someone who is into sheep. Parents fault or just what that person likes?

My point was a scumbag is not made a scumbag by parents maybe it is choice or maybe its something that they are. Maybe they are genectically pre-disposed to be agressive and prone to conflict.
    LaVidaLoca wrote: »

Sorry this is going off topic, Thats not the way i view things or intended it to be. For the record i have mates who are gay.

My view is simple, anyone can do whatever they want in life as long as they dont take action which directly effects another person.

User45701 wrote:
    Sorry this is going off topic, Thats not the way i view things or intended it to be. For the record i have mates who are gay.
    lol
    im sure you do
    My view is simple, anyone can do whatever they want in life as long as they dont take action which directly effects another person.
    Er, many of our day to day actions directly affect another person, I suppose you mean negatively affect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Scumbag piers .

Dollymount strand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

It's societies fault due to a general lack of respect for people in general, bad planning and creation of ghettos by governments throughout the years. It's primarily due to lack of education and unemployment. Ok, well that's my liberal hat one!

Now, my other hat, I can't stand the horrible anti-social behaviour the rest of respectable society has to endure from these horrible tracksuit clad scum, the criminal justice system needs serious review as in how to punish and rehabilitate this scourge on Irish society. Funny how anti social behaviour is concentrated on those from the lower orders of society, expect to be verbally insulted by guttersnipes in Neilstown, but why don't kids in Donnybrook interfere verbally with strangers.

bottom line: Societies fault first, then parents, punish the parents for fostering societies bane.

lol
    im sure you do

Er, many of our day to day actions directly affect another person, I suppose you mean negatively affect

Do you mean that i am lying or are you saying im gay and hence have gay friends?
    lol
    im sure you do

Everyone has a different view on what negative is which is why i didnt choose those words, perhaps it should have been- any action which effects a person in a way they dont choose? but thats not right because if someone is a complete asshole you are allowed say it but it might be construed as a negative effect on the persons pysche.

I suppose i mean more physical action, assault, theft actions like drink driving which result in hurting or killing another ect
    It's societies fault due to a general lack of respect for people in general, bad planning and creation of ghettos by governments throughout the years. It's primarily due to lack of education and unemployment. Ok, well that's my liberal hat one!

Now, my other hat, I can't stand the horrible anti-social behaviour the rest of respectable society has to endure from these horrible tracksuit clad scum, the criminal justice system needs serious review as in how to punish and rehabilitate this scourge on Irish society. Funny how anti social behaviour is concentrated on those from the lower orders of society, expect to be verbally insulted by guttersnipes in Neilstown, but why don't kids in Donnybrook interfere verbally with strangers.

bottom line: Societies fault first, then parents, punish the parents for fostering societies bane.

Are you sure its has nothing to do with who the scum hang arround with when they are kids? I know parents can restrict that which was your second point but i think its mostly this stupid need people have to fit in. Allot of people are afraid of being unique when they are young, they tend to go with the group/flow rather than devolep/express there own views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

Blisterman wrote:
    Scumbag harbours
    flanum wrote: »
    Dollymount strand!

Ok ok so I maked a spelling astake. I bad! :o

I must spell peers correctly in future or I'll be fcuked off the pier.

10 lines enough??:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Nature or Nurture ?

Ether way blame the parents for upbringing or genes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No way is it always the parents. I worked in a housing department and some of the most lovely, decent people you could meet had their hearts broken by their unruly kids. The kids were troublesome because of the area they grew up in and who they hung around with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭36Degrees

Basically it all boils down to education.
    Get a good education = fairly respectable person in general.

Dont give a shoite about your education = you will eventually breed scumbags.

Obviously not everyone who doesnt have a proper education will turn out dodgy but there is a link between the two.

Lets just blame the Government! Sure everything is their fault anyway! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Design_Dude

Its all down to the parents i think and see all around me. Like father like son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

the parents fault? rubbish!!

so every single one of you here have never lied to your parents? You've never sneaked out? you are all telling me that you never went drinking before the legal age??

If you honestly think that parents are aware of every single thing you do, then fine, it's the parents fault... But in all fairness, plenty of kids are scumbags on the street, and butter wouldn't melt in their mouths at home, they're time wasters in school, and study when they get home.
    I can't say I turned out too bad, I was never a scumbag that's for sure, but I remember chewing the gum and spraying perfume before going home to hide the smell of smoke, or drink from me... My poor parents thought I was just at a friends place, or gone to a disco...
    All parents can do is teach you and guide you, every decision a person makes is their own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I believe parents are a huge factor in the end result of their child's behaviour in life. if i could put a scumbag under my dad's rule for a month, you'd either have a reformed citizen or a corpse.

I don't want to make my dad out to sound like a tyrant, he was firm but fair, and without a doubt, a man i'll respect till the day i die but by god, any straying from the path in my family was swiftly dealt with and in hindsight i'm grateful for his input in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 beaner

I have to disagree slightly, i know a girl who comes from a lovely respectable family in a nice location and yet she turned out to be such a scumbag. As in a complete just waste of air, i blame it on the crowd that she was/is hanging around with shes only 18, kicked out of home(for all good reasons), drinks and takes drugs everynight and i dont mean smokin. This girl even puts on the traveller accent just to fit in with her "friends" such a sad sad sad individual. She had lots of nice friends but got rid of them as soon as she made friends with all these other losers that she thinks are "cool" most of them are ex-convicts. Such a shame cos she wud be a nice grl if it wasnt for her stupidy and being so pathetic.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Parents ? Nah, not all the time, environment i think plays a lot stronger in how somebody lives their lives, be it productive or negative to the general public.

I think you have 2 groups of scumbags, the first being the wannbe type, dabble in drugs, be a disgrace to their family (good, solid parents) who when matured will go on to be your normal middle class people. The second would be the career scumbag, from an early age is a maggot, goes through the court system, like his parents before him, will never amount to anything and will only succeeed in fathering more scumbags.

The second type should be exterminated for the benefit of society imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 sloppydrunk

Dont think anyone can say they are completely right on the subject whichever side they choose..

Its the age old question of nature vs nurture

By the way i read a great book that brings up the subject alot called "We Need to Talk About Kevin",,,,,,,,, afraid it brings up more questions than answers tho:confused:

savage read but:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's my fault, sorry. I'll clean it up later.

Cool, my 1,000th post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Did you ever see when some superking 100's smoking mother is being interview about her tearaway son or daughter, "Oh I dont know what to do with him, I can control them"...blah blah. Fair enough now they are out of control at an age where they are more powerful but what about when the little ****s were being raised and never disciplined, Parents were too busy trying to find the end of the bottle.

I was raised in a VERY less then privileged council area until I was 13. People on the estate used to ask my Dad were me and my siblings raised in England for a time because they thought we were posh due to never developing the stereotypical AJH accent. Every time I'd call my mam Ma I'd get a telling off, same goes for all other skangerisms. Was a tough slog for them to police all 4 kids like that but they are nothing special only they cared and put some effort into raising us right.

And Now? Well say hello to chief justice of the Supreme Court...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

The important thing is that it is not in anyway the scumbag's fault it's simply everybody else's fault.
    • Lousy parents
    • Lousy schools
    • Lousy neighbours
    • Lousy lack of fee housing
    • Lousy social welfare payments
    • Lousy Aer Lingus
    • Lousy DART
    • Lousy LUAS
    • Lousy teachers
    • Lousy government
    • Lousy weather
    • Lousy spanish holiday
    • Lousy Glasgow Celtic
    • Lousy Druids cider.....

Heinrich wrote: »
      [*]Lousy DART
      [*]Lousy LUAS

The scumbags we have in Galway are worse due to the fact that we don't have access to those particular modes of transportation. It's still my fault though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

The scumbags we have in Galway are worse due to the fact that we don't have access to those particular modes of transportation. It's still my fault though.

Didn't your local politician not promise you those goodies? Maybe it's that little bronze fecker in Eyre Square who is to blame.

Didn't your local politician not promise you those goodies?

Maybe...? Either way, we don't have them now, seemingly causing formation of scumbags along with my negative influence.
      Maybe it's that little bronze fecker in Eyre Square who is to blame.

No, I am. I've already apologised for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

yes - parents are retarded.

just cos they spawn a kid it doesnt up intellegence. if they are thick, they are thick.... and this tends to get passed along

as well as bigoted stupid opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭AJ1

It IS the parent's fault, simple as.

Parents are the most influential people in a child's life. From day one they should be teaching them right from wrong, if their parents are doing their job properly.

I used to hate when I HAD to be in a certain time when some of my friends where allowed to stay out, etc. but looking back on it now my mother was doing the right thing by knowing where I was and who I was with.

Kids do make mistakes and will try to push it to see how far they'll get but I truly believe that children are a product of their environment and if they're taught that their parents are the force for guidance and discipline from day one instead of anyone else then they'll grow up to be better adults.

The people children become are modelled on their parents, such is the pressure we parents are under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Ok here's what I think:

There are some people who are just pure evil from day one. The kid who tortures small animals for pleasure. It doesn't matter what parents they have they will turn out bad - if from a disadvantaged area they will become a scumbag or if from a more middle class area they will become members of Fianna Fail.

The rest of us are influenced to a fair degree by our parents. If you have crap parents with no discipline (and there are a LOT of parents like that in Ireland nowadays) then you can't expect the kids to turn out well. However society doesn't help as there is nowhere that teens can go to meet up so end up knacker drinking and pissing off the locals. A lot of these kids are just looking for somewhere to fit in, and a gang with one of those evil bastards at it's head seems like a good option.