Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some unsual questions you've been asked

• 06-03-2008 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭

I wasn't asked this, but my cousin was in a cinema with her friends and this cultchie/scanger asked them " Have you ever done it in a wheelbarrow?"

Obviously some fetish some people must have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You haven't :confused:
    Where've you been??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Sure it wasn't "wheelbarrow style"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Obviously not down anywhere in the country or near wheelbarrows recently! :p

Edit:
    rubadub wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't "wheelbarrow style"?

Not completely but I'm pretty sure it was as "in a wheelbarrow," I'll ask next time I see her. Still to ask randomers that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It actually did show up on google. This quote is real

NEW FILM IN CINEMA

"Hard sex in a wheelbarrow of rotten fruits"
    If I posted the rest I would be banned, let alone the pics! :eek:

rubadub wrote: »
    It actually did show up on google. This quote is real

If I posted the rest I would be banned, let alone the pics! :eek:

Hey, maybe they made it! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

went out with a fella once and he thought there might have been an aqward gap so to prevent that he randomly asks

"so what colours your toaster"

strange but funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

A friend of mine was out walking her dog one day when the local nutcase came up to her, deadly serious, and asked her what mileage she got out of the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

In America I was asked why my English was so good and if the whole of Ireland had electricity yet.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    In America I was asked why my English was so good and if the whole of Ireland had electricity yet.

Does it? :)

http://www.wayodd.com/two-hundred-square-foot-cottage-in-ireland-selling-for-145100/v/1808/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

MrJoeSoap wrote: »

Lol I did reply that the west coast hadn't gotten it yet and the only reason the east had it was because our lovely neighbours in England were kind enough to share theres by putting lines under the Irish sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You haven't :confused:
    Where've you been??

First shovels/spades and now wheelbarrows?

I'll know where to find you at weekends.*

*That'd be the local Woodies, what with there being shovels/spades and wheelbarrows galore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Peared wrote: »
    First shovels/spades and now wheelbarrows?

I'll know where to find you at weekends.*

*That'd be the local Woodies, what with there being shovels/spades and wheelbarrows galore.

I'll keep an eye out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

Some chinese guy asked me to marry him tonight. Something about becoming an Irish citizen. Needless to say, I told him to gtfo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

but how much did u lose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Xavi6 wrote: »

Garda Superintended asked me the same question once, about Poland - the one about electricity, he also asked would there be many cars in Poland.. Also when I took my Irish GF to Poland for the first time, her aunts where asking similar questions, if we had running water, electricity, this type of thing. She was also asked if she got to see any polar bears. They were all dead serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭walshs3

Was chatting to a friend not to long ago and we were discussing what film we wanted to go see in the cinema.In the end she turned around and said "would you be able to s**t through the hole",nearly p****d meself laughing. Having realised what she had just said she corrected herself. What she was trying to say was would i be able to sit through a whole film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

whilst living in New York, my next door neighbour who was a typical american asked me did i know the O'Rourkes from near dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

A friend of mine was out walking her dog one day when the local nutcase came up to her, deadly serious, and asked her what mileage she got out of the dog.

Now THAT is funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

A workmate came out with this gem:

"Adam, did you ever just, like, forget to stop walking?"

I was asked a week ago in work to spell why by an Irish person. She had a hangover but thats no excuse lol...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Tea/Monitor Interface.

I'm going to ask someone that now for the craic. Hope I can do it without corpsing.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Tea/Monitor Interface.

I'm going to ask someone that now for the craic. Hope I can do it without corpsing.
    Corpsing? Is that the new hip adjective for necrophilia? :confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

No!

It's the term for when people are acting or whatever and get into a fit of laughter and can't get out of it, the harder they try the more they laugh. I'm not sure where the corpse comes into that though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corpsing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

When working on a building site once I was once asked by an englishman '' what's the difference between interior and exterior '' ? .Knowing he was trying to be sarcastic i quickly replied '' well you lot came inside our country once and we kicked you back outside '' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Some chinese guy asked me to marry him tonight. Something about becoming an Irish citizen. Needless to say, I told him to gtfo.

GTFO! Well what do you expect bringing him home and sleeping with him like that.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

About 15 years ago, i got stopped on O'Connell Street but some american tourists who asked me where would they find all the Leprechauns. i told them to go to St. Stephens Green and to look under the bushes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I was calling an American company at work, asking for the number of their uk supplier.

She tells me the number, as in "four, three, two, seven, etc.." and then asked me "Did I say that right? Is that the way you say phone numbers over there?

I wonder what other way there could be of saying phone numbers.
    "four million, three hundered and twenty seven thousand..etc"?

Blisterman wrote: »
    I was calling an American company at work, asking for the number of their uk supplier.

She tells me the number, as in "four, three, two, seven, etc.." and then asked me "Did I say that right? Is that the way you say phone numbers over there?

I wonder what other way there could be of saying phone numbers.
    "four million, three hundered and twenty seven thousand..etc"?

No love, we generally get our phone numbers to spell humourous (sorry humorous) little words or phrases!

The number for Tourism Ireland in the States is something like 1-800-Shamrock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

This is my fav.

A guy I know was waiting for the Dart at Blackrock, (FYI right beside the sea.) Anyway this old lady leaned over the wall and started calling down to a swan:

Old lady: "What are you doing? Where's the other one? You know swans are ment to mate for life? Why did you kill it? What's wrong with you."

She then turns to my friend and askes him if his name is Bridget.

This is my fav.

A guy I know was waiting for the Dart at Blackrock, (FYI right beside the sea.) Anyway this old lady leaned over the wall and started calling down to a swan:

Old lady: "What are you doing? Where's the other one? You know swans are ment to mate for life? Why did you kill it? What's wrong with you."

I want to meet that woman. Epic.

EDIT: Or "ledge" as they would say in those parts... :rolleyes:

This is my fav.

Cloud cuckoo land. Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Some lad in a uniform once came up to my car and asked me did I know how fast I was going? Completely mental.. I just drove off on the nutjob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

a good friend of mine asked us once how many quarters there were in a basketball game? the poor fecker still gets ribbed for it.

My chinese student once asked us " What did you have for breakfast today? I had dog"

Not technically an unusual question though. Lock this thread.

-1 for resurrecting your own thread.

A written law of After Hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

A friend of mine asked me one day "Do you go through the gate or over the wall?" Confused I asked him what he was going on about. Turns out he was referring to underwear and was asking if I use the exit provided ("through the gate") - I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

A friend of mine asked me one day "Do you go through the gate or over the wall?" Confused I asked him what he was going on about. Turns out he was referring to underwear and was asking if I use the exit provided ("through the gate") - I don't.

Heh, funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

was asked by a bloke to shag his wife, was then asked by the wife to save a load for the end as she wanted the two of us to erm..... display our affection on her chin...erm

thats what ye get for answering them buy and sell ads!

i obliged!:o

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

About 20 years ago in England a guy asked me if I minded the British Army tanks driving around the streets of Dublin. It appeared that he hadn't got a full grasp of the situation as it was then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I said 'hello' to someone once and they said 'what part of America are you from?'
    I was registering for my degree in NUIG at the time.... I was like 'huh?...eh Ireland...this one...'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Was sitting on a bus wearing my (RDF) Unifrom and this blond women walks up to me and say 'why are you wearing that uniform, are you in the army or something'

I told her. Nah i'm actually in the gardai, this is just my away kit.

Not funny but i was thinking of soccer at the time and it was the only thing that came to my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Mate of mine was eating in a local chinese back in Donegal and upon finishing his meal the owner gave them a couple of courtesy beers. Anyway he then proceeds to produce e3,000 cash in an envelope and beckons my mate to sign a form saying that he will "sponsor" a chinese guy to get a visa in Ireland and that's the last of it as far as he would be concerned, the guy will work in Dublin for an "associate."

Naturally he refused and handed back the beers, left it at that.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

A guy from California asked me a few months ago if we spoke English in Ireland?

Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I was asked by an American if it was weird seeing women with only two boobs...

Apparently someone had convinced him that the girl with the superfluous knocker from Total Recall was Irish and that all Irish women have three boobs.

I couldn't bring myself to tell him. I said something about it being different but I'm getting used to it. I have never laughed so hard in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

bucks73 wrote: »
    A guy from California asked me a few months ago if we spoke English in Ireland?

Idiot.

I got asked that in California too. How come you guys speak such good English? Did you learn it in school? We were with a bunch of Americans and they all started laughing at this girl too, so I guess it was just her. Apparently she was considered really smart and was doing some high-powered degree. It's more ignorance than stupidity I suppose but, come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

flanum wrote: »
    was asked by a bloke to shag his wife, was then asked by the wife to save a load for the end as she wanted the two of us to erm..... display our affection on her chin...erm

thats what ye get for answering them buy and sell ads!

i obliged!:o
    Pics or it didn't happen

I was once asked by someone in an MMORPG why i couldn't speak elven. Then again, that is to be expected...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Do you dye your hair?"

I have been asked this more times than I should! Because my hair is so naturally jet black like Hitler's heart I get the odd few who question me about it. Should take it as a compliment I suppose..............or some sort of trick question to find out if I'm a metrosexual :mad:

"If you weren't related to your sister, would you do her?"

Heard this years ago from some idiot who was drunk and obviously fancied the other guy's sister :p

"Is Athlone a county?"

I've been asked this by SO many women in my life, where the hell do they get that idea from, the back of fake tan boxes!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I was in Wildwood, New Jersey on a J1 a few years back. While strolling along the street trying to find somewhere to get my hair cut, i noticed a heavy guy walking towards me (sweating profusely). He stopped and asked if I knew the area. I said not really as im just over on a summer long trip (assuming he was looking for directions or something).

He then started looking me up n down, and asked if he could take a picture of my feet!!! "You have real nice feet" he said!! "I'll give you $10 if I can take a picture of your feet"!.

Normally i'm pretty fast with responses but this guy caught me completely off guard lol! (By the way.....he didn't have a camera on him so God only knows what he wanted to do/where he wanted to go). I said thanks but no thanks, but there is a beach about 100 metres that way and there are lots of real nice feet down there, you'll find some to snap there surely. He said ok and turned away with a look of huge disappointment :p!

Being a poor student at the time I should have said he can take a picture of both feet for $30 or something :p

Only in america! :rolleyes: