Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do we have too much?

• 05-03-2008 11:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭

I've been thinking recently that we really are living in an age of utter decedance, well those of us fortunate enough to be in a 1st world country. If you think about it it just seems wrong that we have so much stuff and access to all the food you could ever want whenever you want. Everyone has more and more stuff every day - cars, ipods, laptops etc. I mean we must be draining the world's resources like crazy. I was reading the fitness forum and someone was going on about eating 3 chicken fillets a day and some fish at dinner etc. etc... Yes it may be healthy and make you strong but it's totally unnatural! Until relatively recently people would be lucky to eat meat once a week, and I think that's the way it really should be. How long do you all think this will last? It can't go on for too long surely, do you think the world the way we know it is on the brink of collapse? Does anyone care or am I thinking too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

BraziliaNZ wrote:
    Until relatively recently people would be lucky to eat meat once a week, and I think that's the way it really should be.

You think we should eat once a week?
    BraziliaNZ wrote:
    How long do you all think this will last?

It's a fad
    BraziliaNZ wrote:
    It can't go on for too long surely

Agreed.
    BraziliaNZ wrote:
    do you think the world the way we know it is on the brink of collapse?

I'm reminded of this Simpsons exert:

Kent Brockman: "Professor, without knowing precisely what the danger is, would you say it's time for our viewers to crack each other's heads open and feast on the goo inside?"
    Professor: "Yes I would, Kent."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

You think that's the way it should be?

Are cows or fish on the verge of extinction all of a sudden?No, no they're not. If you only want to eat meat once a week, go for it, but if someone wants to eat it 10, 15 times a week and can afford to, well that's their choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Meat once a week? Nice balanced diet you've got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

rb_ie wrote: »
    If you only want to eat meat once a week, go for it, but if someone wants to eat it 10, 15 times a week and can afford to, well that's their choice.

Unfortunately that's the problem.

People don't seem to have a social conscience anymore, it's a very self-centred society we live in.

Hedonism...if it feels good, do it and to hell with the consequences.

Advertising and the media back this horrible ideal up too for their own selfish needs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Thank you Mr Curtis for the first decent response. People's appetite for meat is one of the major factors in the destruction of this Earth.

But it tastes good.

If we aren't meant to eat animals, then why are they made of meat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Don't think you're thinking too much, definitely would be something i think about a lot too. Most of the stuff we use are fairly unnecessary - not saying that i'm not guilty of it, but i do try my best to cut back.
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    [/i]

Where did he say that?
    RB_ie wrote:
    Are cows or fish on the verge of extinction all of a sudden?No, no they're not. If you only want to eat meat once a week, go for it, but if someone wants to eat it 10, 15 times a week and can afford to, well that's their choice.

I don't think we should base how much meant we eat on how near to extinct the animal is. Isn't that exactly how we are going to tire out all of our resources?

iFight wrote:
    Where did he say that?
    BraziliaNZ wrote:
    Until relatively recently people would be lucky to eat meat once a week, and I think that's the way it really should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He said eat meat once a week, not eat once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Meat everyday ftw. Chicken, steak, lamb chops, mince etc.....mmmm

Sure if I don't eat it it'll just go off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Do we have it good? Probably.

Do we have too much? Too much money... Meh :(

Rigger get your eyes checked. I'm not just talking about meat, I'm not a vegetarian, but I'm starting to feel bad about buying unnecessary stuff, we should be thinking about where these things come from.

Slow coach wrote: »
    He said eat meat once a week, not eat once a week.

Well that makes a lot more sense.
    Why didn't he just say that in his original post!? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Everyone has more and more stuff every day - cars, ipods, laptops etc. I mean we must be draining the world's resources like crazy.

Yeah, those iPod trees are becoming endangered.

Lets not speak of those evil car wranglers either, and their rape of the automotive wilderness for the sake of domesticated vehicles.

Rigger what are you on about?

Yeah, those iPod trees are becoming endangered.

Lets not speak of those evil car wranglers either, and their rape of the automotive wilderness for the sake of domesticated vehicles.

Do you think the materials required for manufacturing just appear out of thin air?

Well that makes a lot more sense.
    Why didn't he just say that in his original post!? :rolleyes:

Put down the cheeseburger and step away from the monitor. Now get a cloth and wipe the fcuking thing clean. Now read his OP.

Too much meat makes you less mentally sharp. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

I've been thinking recently that we really are living in an age of utter decedance, well those of us fortunate enough to be in a 1st world country. If you think about it it just seems wrong that we have so much stuff and access to all the food you could ever want whenever you want. Everyone has more and more stuff every day - cars, ipods, laptops etc. I mean we must be draining the world's resources like crazy. I was reading the fitness forum and someone was going on about eating 3 chicken fillets a day and some fish at dinner etc. etc... Yes it may be healthy and make you strong but it's totally unnatural! Until relatively recently people would be lucky to eat meat once a week, and I think that's the way it really should be. How long do you all think this will last? It can't go on for too long surely, do you think the world the way we know it is on the brink of collapse? Does anyone care or am I thinking too much?

I agree with you wholeheartedly. People are spoiled these days which makes them lazy. This subsequently makes them poorer at their jobs which will, eventually, lead to extraordinary levels of stress for people who actually care about important issues in life.

Our society is heading in the wrong direction - I'm so confidant of that fact that I'm willing to die for it.

Do you think the materials required for manufacturing just appear out of thin air?

Yes. Yes I did think that the materials required for manufacturing just appear out of thin air. I was under the impression that there was thin air farmers, who had to farm materials from the air as they appeared. It seemed obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Rigger what are you on about?

Lol, don't mind him, take him too seriously and one of your legs will end up 6 inches longer than the other!

Seriously, though, I wouldn't be one of the hairshirt and ashes brigade, but does anyone know what the word "enough" means any more?

Saw a mother buying clothes for her 12 / 13 year old son the last day (and NOT in Dunnes, either). Anything he pointed to she just picked up. She must have had 5 or 6 pairs of jeans alone, and 4 pairs of runners, and you name it ... her bill was just over €800.

Now, I wouldn't for a second want the kid running round in raggedy britches, or expect him to wear the same clothes every day ... but given his age he will probably have grown out of that lot in 6 months!

Slow coach wrote: »
    Put down the cheeseburger and step away from the monitor. Now get a cloth and wipe the fcuking thing clean. Now read his OP.

Too much meat makes you less mentally sharp. :p

But it tastes so good!
    lol, yea, I copped on after yore last message, very informative, opened my eyes to the OP's plight. Thanks. :)

Still, meat ftw!
    I can has cheeseburgerS!

Thank you Karl for your enlightened contibution to this thread...
    Basically I think consumerism and greed will be the downfall of the Western World. Is anyone else trying to curtail their accumilation of crap and lessen their footprint on the globe or is no one bothered?

I use my green bin (recycling bin :rolleyes:). I know it doesn't actually get recycled, and that heap it into the landfill with the nappies, but it saves on bin tags.

Thank you Karl for your enlightened contibution to this thread...
    Basically I think consumerism and greed will be the downfall of the Western World. Is anyone else trying to curtail their accumilation of crap and lessen their footprint on the globe or is no one bothered?

You're welcome.

Why do you assume things like iPods, cars and laptops are crap? You're obviously using a computer (I know this because of my deductive prowess!) to post this diatribe, perhaps that is useless junk you've just accumulated, and you should start by throwing it in the bin. ;)

Kevster wrote: »
    I agree with you wholeheartedly. People are spoiled these days which makes them lazy. This subsequently makes them poorer at their jobs which will, eventually, lead to extraordinary levels of stress for people who actually care about important issues in life.

Our society is heading in the wrong direction - I'm so confidant of that fact that I'm willing to die for it.

Willing to die for it? Fair enough, wander around the N81 and sooner or later someone will be along to deal with you. What major campaign do you intend giving your life in? That's not the brightest of statements...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Maybe in New Zealand. Times have been tough here back in the day here in Ireland but I always had meat to eat, and a lot more than once a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

Yes. Yes I did think that the materials required for manufacturing just appear out of thin air. I was under the impression that there was thin air farmers, who had to farm materials from the air as they appeared. It seemed obvious.

Wow, so you really are as stupid as your name sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Saw a mother buying clothes for her 12 / 13 year old son the last day (and NOT in Dunnes, either). Anything he pointed to she just picked up. She must have had 5 or 6 pairs of jeans alone, and 4 pairs of runners, and you name it ... her bill was just over €800.

I thought you'd been warned about following young boys around shops :p

FX Meister wrote: »
    Maybe in New Zealand. Times have been tough here back in the day here in Ireland but I always had meat to eat, and a lot more than once a week.

I mean a hundred or two hundred years ago, and we managed ok then too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Its not as if the majority of society has any realistic choice, without digging up their front and back gardens and sowing veggies and a few fruit trees. Thats on the food issue anyway, I know I'm probably as bad as most, But I do live in a household that has 8 drills of potatoes, 5 apple trees, a few drills of lettuce, carrots, onions and a few strings of peas and runner beans. It only keeps us in dinner for a few weeks of the year, but it tastes better, Its enjoyable to tend and it saves a few quid as well.
    ON the other hand, We drink ****loads of tea and coffee, and are meateaters, So how do you quantify that ???
    I do get the point about excess and I fully agree, We have too much, access to too much, too much incentive and information from marketing Cnuts, Too little exposure to the people its bought off for feck all - only to be shipped packed and re-sold to us at an arms length profit. Its not easy, but if you start loosing sleep over that, you might as well join some militant direct action group, because it is the only way you will come to terms with your conscience. Instead of fretting over it, minimize your impact, or do something about it. (preferably without blowing something up, that rarely works)

To be honest, in all seriousness, the idea of returning to hunter/gathererism has occurred to me before. Someday, perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

I mean a hundred or two hundred years ago, and we managed ok then too

erm, 1830's and 1840's in Ireland was no fcukin joke, Mass starvation man, We should not feel bad about enjoying the good times, Just take steps to ensure that your steak or car or shoes are not leaving some unfortunate African, Aisan or South American in the sort of conditions our country endured then.

Reported.

There was a famine... it could have been avoided but circumstances meant it was tragic. I have no idea why you brought that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I thought you'd been warned about following young boys around shops :p
    Nah, 'twas the mother I was following, MILF tbh! Not much sense, though ... not that sense was exactly a requirement for what i had in mind! ;)
    Turn your sarcasm radar back on, for the love of God, you won't survive in AH without it!

There was a famine... it could have been avoided but circumstances meant it was tragic. I have no idea why you brought that up.

Obviously, because our predecessors were dying from starvation we should now eat ourselves into a morbidly obese state to guard against future famines.

Stands to reason, dunnit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm really not seeing the problem here boss.......... :confused: Technology is a waste? Should we avoid excesses like music and film? And what the hell are you talking about wrt meat? :confused: How exactly is that a luxury? Is vegetables every day not the same thing?

Seriously what the f*ck are you talking about.

You're nuts.

I'm going to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I don't know about the meat aspect. I eat it 3 or 4 times a week. All part of a healthy diet. Unfortunately i gorge on chocolate too ruining that illusion for me.

They say one of the contributing factors leading to the fall of the Roman Empire was their hedonism. Who knows! It could be THE END!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I was reading the fitness forum and someone was going on about eating 3 chicken fillets a day and some fish at dinner etc. etc... Yes it may be healthy and make you strong but it's totally unnatural!

What exactly makes that unnatural? I find that perfectly natural and quite healthy. We live thankfully in a country that is for the most part prosperous, if you have the means to eat a whole "3 chicken fillets and some fish" everyday then why not? It's part of a balanced diet for that particular person and i find nothing "unnecessary" about it.

Damn if you have the means to eat Almas caviar with safffron & truffles for good measure, go ahead! At the end of the day people are going to eat what they want if they can afford those food stuffs

You'd fit in well here, busy yourself with a trek or discovery of some sort...night ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Maybe he thinks you're name sounds really, really un-stupid and was paying you a complement.

Vegetables have feelings too.

I suppose it depends on the degree of their spinal injury. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

yep, a guy eating 3 chicken fillets a day is definately one of the signs of an impending apocalypse

If only people starting thinking about their poultry footprint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Look, everything's fine we've nothing to worry about. It's our children that are ****ed let them deal with it.

Some great things have come from this industrial age, we've had technological advances that usually only come with a war. There have been huge advances in individual rights that have given the little guy the power to stand up for themselves. It's not all bad and really in the grand scheme of things the industrial age has been very brief, how where we to know going in the power we would have and the damage we could do?

This has all come at the expense of the community though and while I'm all for individual rights we're nothing without the community. Nothing can be achieved if we all don't get along. We are beginning to realise this and are slowly changing but the problem is nobody wants to give back to the community all we want is more for ourselves.

I hope we can encourage a good community spirit again before it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

If we aren't meant to eat animals, then why are they made of meat?

Seriously OP, there's a lot of excessiveness in the world, but shutting down meat to one day a week is a bit extreme. Sure fish is an awful price these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Wossack wrote: »
    If only people starting thinking about their poultry footprint

:D:D:D
    I nearly choked on my wicked zinger meal, with a side of crispy strips.
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Argue, debate, take exception to posts all you want. But do not get personally abusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Sean^DCT4

rb_ie wrote: »
    ...Are cows or fish on the verge of extinction all of a sudden?No, no they're not...

Crazy statement to be making, cows are not on the verge of extinction :o but fish is another story altogether. Fish stocks are extremely depleted, ranging from fresh to salt water fish.

Just though I'd point out the error of your ways :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Man I'd eat a horse right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Sean^DCT4

haha :D