Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Intervarsity Team Poker Event

• 04-03-2008 4:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Just wanted to let everyone know that registration is now open for the team event at the National Student Champs in the Regency Airport Hotel, Dublin on 5th April.

Every university/ college is allowed to enter as many teams as they wish and only the team captain has to attend the relevant university (i.e. You can draft in players from other colleges if you wish).....

Entry; €100 + €10 per team.

Players Per Team; Five.

Points System; Every team will start off with 2,000 points. As players from each of the teams are eliminated points will be deducted. The team with the most points in the end will be declared the winner.

Payout Structure; Winning team takes all the prize-money.

Any questions please feel free to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Very nice addition going to do everything i can to make this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

tipp86 wrote: »
    Very nice addition going to do everything i can to make this

Cheers mate....You are the only person that voted in the poll to actually say that they are going to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

only the team captain has to attend the relevant university (i.e. You can draft in players from other colleges if you wish).....

I'll most likely put a team together for this

Mr.Plough wrote: »

Cheers Mr. Plough.....Wot college???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Put me on it

carfax wrote: »
    Cheers Mr. Plough.....Wot college???

Dcu
    cooker3 wrote:
    Put me on it

cool, we'll need a luckbox or two :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

If playing, I will have a team in tow. We have our own luckboxes here on the southside but none run as hot as that fooker cooker.

Ok I want to get a list of teams going here in this thread....

If you can submit your team entry I will then PM you to get more details.

Cheers all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I know we haven't registered yet (still waiting on college to give us ze monies), but WIT should have a nice number of teams.

Nice one, I remember last year your poker soc was practically non-existent so fair play to you Adam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

Will Each Team Arrive In Costume?

In Order To Get Photographed The Most Often, They Could Add Fun While Looking Like Say A Bunch Of Elvises Or All Dressed As International Playboys

Get your team members registered soon guys and girls I've got another haype of emails to get through for registrations today.....Full list will be published soon but its looking like the tournament will be full next month, just get the word around to anyone that is interested that they should fill out the registration form today if they wish to take part in the event.

Every player that fills out a form will have until 21st March to make payment after that we will start to free up seats for players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

Was just reading about this on the Poker Ireland website and it said that Reg closed on the 21st of March. I presume this has been extended as i havent heard of that many teams registered already.

Also wondering about the payment, do you have to register and pay through BOI etc beforehand or is it different for the team event?

If anybody is interested in a UCD team let me know. Trying to get one together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

Dcu

cool, we'll need a luckbox or two :D

A luckbox you say?
    I think I'm overqualified... :D

Yeah its been extended alright.....We'll leave it open on the day so that players can enter teams then too.

The €100 + €10 team entry can be paid on the day....

All players must be registered into the main tournament before 4th April, we will not be accepting cash reg on the day.

Right so thats me cooker and the bandit. Need 2 more luckboxes or we'll have to take on theresa the spewbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Gonna try get a DIT team together. If anyone is interested PM me!!

PLEASE NOTE--FOR ALL TEAM PLAYERS

Rob-W will be on site to deal with all TEAM activities and keep track of player points etc

He will identify himself on the day and all queries etc should be brought to him directly on arrival at the TEAM LOG-IN DESK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

If playing, I will have a team in tow. We have our own luckboxes here on the southside but none run as hot as that fooker cooker.

Are you playing? If so are you getting a team together and is their any room on it? I will clearly be the star player but will consider all offers.

when you arrive at the regency, there will be team event forms, if the captain would sill in the 5 team members and then go to the team-reg-desk with the form for his/her team
    this will save some time etc
    thanks
    dw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Jbopping

Anybody from trinity registered for this event that wants to form a team?

try posting for a place on their website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

If anyones putting together a UCD team and needs an extra player give us a PM

Myself cooker & the bandit rogan need two more. Preferably people who run good like 100% of the time

Don't forget that all your team members don't have to be from your particular college.....You can mix and match once the name of the team is of a college (in other words, so that it looks like a bit of effort was put in :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

Myself cooker & the bandit rogan need two more. Preferably people who run good like 100% of the time

PM Phantom_Lord maybe? As an ex-DCU head he might be interested?

Actually scratch that there's enough Cash donks on our team already.
    We need some donkament specialists. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Shadowless wrote: »
    PM Phantom_Lord maybe? As an ex-DCU head he might be interested?

Actually scratch that there's enough Cash donks on our team already.
    We need some donkament specialists. :D:D

since wen he quit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

Ill play if you still need someone.

cool 1 more

If You Are Short A Player For A Team, See Rob At The Team Event Reg Desk As He May Have A List Of Singles Looking For A Placement On A Team

SOMEONE WILL IN CONTROL OF THE CLOCK
    THAT SCREEN WILL HAVE THE NUMBER OF PLAYERS REMAINING
    THE NUMBER COINCIDING WITH THE PLACE YOU GET KNOCKED OUT WILL BE THE NUMBER OF POINTS YOUR TEAM GETS
    I.E. THE SCREEN SHOWS 146 PLAYERS LEFT, THEN THAT HOW MANY POINTS YOU JUST WON YOUR TEAM
    85 LEFT = 85 POINTS WON

SO THE TEAM WITH THE LEAST AMOUNT OF POINTS= WINNERS

NOW THATS EASY ???

NB, IF U FAIL TO NOTIFY THE DEALER THAT YOU ARE ON A TEAM AND FILL IN THE TEAM CARD, YOUR TEAM WILL WIN 400 POINTS, I.E. THE MAX POINTS

SO,, NOTIFY THE DEALERS,,,IMMEDIATELY WHEN YOU GET BUMPED, OR FACE THE MAX PENALTY

if you are on a table with a fellow team mate, notify the dealer, we will do our best to constantly separate team members, in the interest of fairness and as much as is possible
    ideally 5 players from the 1 team should be on the final table,,,,Yeah right,
    now what are the odds of that?
    (answer not actually required, i have a calculator)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

SOMEONE WILL IN CONTROL OF THE CLOCK
    THAT SCREEN WILL HAVE THE NUMBER OF PLAYERS REMAINING
    THE NUMBER COINCIDING WITH THE PLACE YOU GET KNOCKED OUT WILL BE THE NUMBER OF POINTS YOUR TEAM GETS
    I.E. THE SCREEN SHOWS 146 PLAYERS LEFT, THEN THAT HOW MANY POINTS YOU JUST WON YOUR TEAM
    85 LEFT = 85 POINTS WON

SO THE TEAM WITH THE LEAST AMOUNT OF POINTS= WINNERS

NOW THATS EASY ???

NB, IF U FAIL TO NOTIFY THE DEALER THAT YOU ARE ON A TEAM AND FILL IN THE TEAM CARD, YOUR TEAM WILL WIN 400 POINTS, I.E. THE MAX POINTS

SO,, NOTIFY THE DEALERS,,,IMMEDIATELY WHEN YOU GET BUMPED, OR FACE THE MAX PENALTY

if you are on a table with a fellow team mate, notify the dealer, we will do our best to constantly separate team members, in the interest of fairness and as much as is possible
    ideally 5 players from the 1 team should be on the final table,,,,Yeah right,
    now what are the odds of that?
    (answer not actually required, i have a calculator)

Could you explain that a bit clearer there dero...

Is it still ok for my team to participate in this ???

They are not college students but are studying brick laying and carpentry in the transition unit in mountjoy prison, We are out on temp release for the day on saturday, but don't worry, They're all good lads

each team starts with 0 points. As each player is knocked out the receive points based on how many are left. Team with least points wins

Sorry, scratch me from list. I shall not be in attendance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

i'll play if there's a dcu team in?

K, still need one more as cooker's gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

maybe hawk eye, he said he was playing in the other thread?

cooker3 wrote: »
    Sorry, scratch me from list. I shall not be in attendance

I'm taking this as official yeah???, I'll free up the seat.

You can

cooker3 wrote: »
    You can

Thought you were well brought up with manners and all that....Not even an email to say sorry I can't make it, you can free up the seat I reserved....Cheers for that Rob.

Well I posted it on boards which is the same thing as mailing you as your going to read it. Also I don't see how it matters, I haven't paid by 12 so I am out in anyway, isn't the point of the how you set it up. It's not like you have been sold out for days and have been begging people to unregister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Congrats to DCU on winning this Tourney. They did really well. I was knocked out in 30 or 40 somethingth, the last Kevin Street Player and They still had two players in. Shame there were so few teams entered. How much did yee end up winning lads?

Congrats again, hope to see yous again some time.
    Regards
    Ian

Congrats to DCU, walked the team event; 5 teams so €500 to cover the costs of the day.

ul UL, just ul