Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aintree Grand National

• 01-03-2008 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭

Well lads, who do ye fancy for the big one. For me its-
    Cloudy Lane was impressive today and deserves to go favourite,
    McKelvey if he comes out on the day should go close,
    Hedgehunter ran ok last week and can't be ruled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I read in the sun the yesterday (I dont know the guys name - i'm not really into horseys - he's like 90 years old & was the face of horse racing for years - osullivan or something?!)

Well anyway - he tipped L Ami.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

jameshayes wrote: »
    I read in the sun the yesterday (I dont know the guys name - i'm not really into horseys - he's like 90 years old & was the face of horse racing for years - osullivan or something?!)

Has dropped to 50/1 on betfair from 80/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭BangBeater

jameshayes wrote: »

Nah, he'd want to be 500/1. Not a hope. End.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭00dyel

My tips for Aintree are as follows,

Longshanks was 7th last year and has gone down in weights
    L'Ami was 10th last year and has dropped loads in the weights and is a class horse and ran a nice race at cheltenham
    Bewleys berry was going really well when falling last year. Ran well in the (was it the sefton or something over the national fences when 2nd to MR Pointment)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

I agree with Longshanks, it runs best fresh and hasnt run since last years national when it was 7th.Its won over the fences before and has a real nice weight.Cloudy Lane is too short of a price and theres a stamina doubt about it.Slim Pickings will take some beating in my opinion.I think Chelsea Harbour is another who could go well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

Whats Rudy Walsh on? Im on Snowy Morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Gareth37 wrote: »
    Whats Rudy Walsh on? Im on Snowy Morning.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

I've been a Longshanks fan for a few years but his 7th last year is probably as good as he is. Even allowing for a 3lbs lower mark, I can't see him running that much better, if he even gets into the race.

Point Barrow and Slim Pickings are the two I'm on so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭joint 11th

Heading over to the Aintree festival this year, for both the Friday and Saturday.

Can anyone recommend what tickets I should go for for both days?

preferrably in a section where theres a bit of craic, i can get a pint, i can do a bet, and not too skin tight! (if possible on national day!!)

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

joint 11th wrote: »
    Heading over to the Aintree festival this year, for both the Friday and Saturday.

Can anyone recommend what tickets I should go for for both days?

preferrably in a section where theres a bit of craic, i can get a pint, i can do a bet, and not too skin tight! (if possible on national day!!)

thanks

well skin tight on national day is guaranteed anywhere on the track, unless you go away from the grandstand and ive never sat over that side before.....the queen mother stand is where i normally end up for national day, but missed last year due to exams.....it was fairly tight the year before, but its manageable, once you wanna use the tote....its a nice trip down to the ring...

regarding the friday, its ladies day, so its wedged too. but you could do worse than go for the tatterstalls stand, just at the last fence around the elbow.....if its chilly, and it tends to be in liverpool in april, most of the girls will retreat into the inside stage part, and watch the racing and music there.!

hope thats been of some help!! and be prepared to see sights youve never even thought about on ladies day.......lets just say, the queues for the ladies toilets are mental.....so common sense goes out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭joint 11th

jossnjuice wrote: »
    well skin tight on national day is guaranteed anywhere on the track, unless you go away from the grandstand and ive never sat over that side before.....the queen mother stand is where i normally end up for national day, but missed last year due to exams.....it was fairly tight the year before, but its manageable, once you wanna use the tote....its a nice trip down to the ring...

regarding the friday, its ladies day, so its wedged too. but you could do worse than go for the tatterstalls stand, just at the last fence around the elbow.....if its chilly, and it tends to be in liverpool in april, most of the girls will retreat into the inside stage part, and watch the racing and music there.!

hope thats been of some help!! and be prepared to see sights youve never even thought about on ladies day.......lets just say, the queues for the ladies toilets are mental.....so common sense goes out the window.

Thanks lad, i think i'l go for tattersalls option for both days.

Im sure it will be a good few days no matter where inside the course i am!