Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Done to Nevin !

• 01-03-2008 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭

Congrats to John Joe Nevin, Qualified for the Olympic games !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Well done Nevin , it's a very difficult thing to qualify for the Olympics and something you can be proud of for the rest of your life .

Hopefully we can get 2/3 more to qualify to go with Nevin and Barnes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

fair play to him on qualifying he beat the european silver medalist aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

Fantastic news......have seen him twice was v.imprssed once and not so the other time which obviously was just an off day seen as he has the quality to qualify for the olympics!!!

Well done.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Must be a decent propect at only 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Ye well done to him, i said in another thread he was in with a great chance of qualifing, i also said he was ireland best talent from years. I've seen him many times , he's a class boxer and could easily be one our most talented boxers ever. Don't be shocked if he medals in the beging cause he's got the style.
    I think alot of people didn't think we'd get a qualifer but i did really think he had a great shout, it's only his first senior year and also his first year at batamweight so i bet he will only keep improving till then, also he'd beat joe murray who got a bronze at the worlds.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

jayroyal wrote: »
    Ye well done to him, i said in another thread he was in with a great chance of qualifing, i also said he was ireland best talent from years. I've seen him many times , he's a class boxer and could easily be one our most talented boxers ever. Don't be shocked if he medals in the beging cause he's got the style.
    I think alot of people didn't think we'd get a qualifer but i did really think he had a great shout, it's only his first senior year and also his first year at batamweight so i bet he will only keep improving till then, also he'd beat joe murray who got a bronze at the worlds.:D

yeah, not bad for an 18- years-old, is it. Congratulations to him. Even if he doesn't win a medal he can still look back and be very proud of himself for qualifying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Congrats to him,

qualifying itself is a serious achievement, and at his first tilt too.

Deffo one to be watched from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Brilliant result!!

Bigtime congratulations seeing as he's so young and inexperienced at this level. Even though I'd heard of him I've never actually seen him on the way up. Looks like I've missed an excellent prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,364 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Brilliant. Now we get at least two. I didn't see much of Nevin, apart from his final RD in the Senior Final and I wasn't impressed. I thought his work rate needed improvement. He has obviously addressed this and has earned his place....

Did he win the tournament?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

walshb wrote: »

Yep...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

walshb wrote: »
    Brilliant. Now we get at least two. I didn't see much of Nevin, apart from his final RD in the Senior Final and I wasn't impressed. I thought his work rate needed improvement. He has obviously addressed this and has earned his place....

i remember i said to ya in a different thread he'd have a good chance and ya said he'd wana throw more punches, that night the other guy wouldn't come forward cause he knew he'd be counter punched too many times that shows the respect he gets even for a young age. I think people who have'nt seen these guy box will get a nice surprise. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,364 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well great for Nevin. He won the tournament. That's brilliant..

Admittedly, I hadn't seen much of Nevin. The pundits were raving about him before his appearance in the Senior final and then they only showed the last rd, because apparently, the first 3 had zero action in them....

He obviously stepped it up and did very well in Italy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭cathald

That's fantastic, all the best to John Joe Nevin in China, and who knows maybe he'll come back with something!