Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty Money - Tv3

• 25-02-2008 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭

Just watched the first ep of this documentry series on the Criminal assets Bureau. It's interesting that tv3 actually produced something of this calibre. Paul Williams narrated the show, while he was a bit sensationalist it suited the show.
    Tv3, you've hit the nail on the head for the first time. A serious show featuring input from senior guards and polititians on a serious topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I watched this too, I thought it was very good. It was put together very well, well done to TV3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

After 11 years of muck (or mostly nothing at all) they've made a decent show. Congrats Tv3.

I suspect this is where the is it 5% or 10% of the licence fee thats now going to TV3 and independent radio is going?

I doubt after all these years they have had a road to damascus conversion in PSB.
    They had a good cancer documentary on the previous week too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I suspect this is where the is it 5% or 10% of the licence fee thats now going to TV3 and independent radio is going?

Wonder where the millions in profit tv3 made went to for the last decade, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

I watched the show not really expecting much - because it was a tv3 production and as the OP said the guy behind the show can be a bit sensationalist but i was pleasantly surprised. It managed to keep my interest throughout.
    Great first show and looking forward to the rest of the series - i think six in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

its an interesting story... I hate paul williams though makes himself out to be some hero...

I think maybe it depends too much on him and his opinnion of how the cab story developed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

its an interesting story... I hate paul williams though makes himself out to be some hero...

I think maybe it depends too much on him and his opinnion of how the cab story developed

i think he is a hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Not a fan of The Sunday World or even his writing style, but that guy has faced down some serious intimidation from some of the most dangerous scum of Dublin and for that alone he has respect from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

i think he is a legend! The Sunday World is a savage paper.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

The show was ok. What gets me is that it is basically a advert for the book Williams has written. And he is getting paid for making it. Great work if you can get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

aphex™ wrote: »
    Wonder where the millions in profit tv3 made went to for the last decade, then.
    They spent it on Big 6 and Crazy Frog ringtones. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

Paul Williams is a hero. He stands up to the biggest scumbags and puts his life at risk. Who else can we say is doing that! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

Paul Williams is a hero. He stands up to the biggest scumbags and puts his life at risk. Who else can we say is doing that! :mad:

not the cops anyhow , they perfer easier targets but thats a whole other thread

Yes, it is and keep those comments off this one.

he's a talentless hack anybody could write that drivel about crime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 earth unit 5376

If anyone out there's interested, tonight's episode is about how CAB went after the Monk. Is this what all that Prime Time stuff was really about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

I think TV3/Paul Williams et al deserve alot of praise for this. They hardly have a long tradition of making these, well they have no tradition!. If this is a sample of what they can produce fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

dodgyme wrote: »
    I think TV3/Paul Williams et al deserve alot of praise for this. They hardly have a long tradition of making these, well they have no tradition!. If this is a sample of what they can produce fair play to them.

Whilst i reckon williams deserves praise for his line of work especially after Veronica Guerin's murder it annoyed me how much this programme tries to "sex up" the very same things he has wrote in his books. He even quotes from his own book more then once and makes sure you can see the cover so if you are in the (probable) minority who has not read the stuff, out you go and buy the book

I have read all his books and there was nothing in the first two episodes i did not know (i am only catching up on them now btw) so i may be wrong for the further episodes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

It's an interesting subject alright but it all feels a bit foney.

Yes, I can totally see why the CAB was set up - to go after the criminals ill gotten gains because they could not prosecute them in a criminal court - but this programme make me feel that the CAB are nothing more than a fancy extortion crew.

Back in the day (probably still happens) criminal gangs would charge local businesses "protection" money for allowing them to do business on said gangs "patch".

All the CAB seem to me is another bigger gang going to the crooks and saying "OK, we know what you are all up to and we can't do anything about it legally.....but we want our cut!". In a number of cases it seems that the "alleged" criminal can just write a cheque to the CAB and be on their merry way.

As another poster said, this seems to be a 6 part (?) advert for Paul William's books and the Sunday World newspaper. The production quality could be better, filling most of the hour with archive footage of John Gilligan dancing, that awful picture of The Penguin Mitchell, Veronica Guerin's car and sound bites & anecdotes from a few politicians.

Maybe TV3 will do a better job next time.

Not saying im a fan of the monk or anything but to be honest i think Williams speculated on alot of things that he alleges the monk was involved in but doesn't provide a shred of hard evidence throughout to suggest this was the case. Yes the monk is more then likely a dangerous criminal and is not the robin hood figure he paints himself to be but the crazy thing is, Williams could be done for slander legally as the monk was never charged or convicted of any of these robberies Williams allegedly claims his involvement in.

it was a interesting home produce docu by tv3, there not many of them true , but paul willaims has been dining out on this story and guerins murder for years, this story could have been told years ago too. those two big robbiries were over 15 years ago weren't they?

the weren't enough shot of paul williams...walking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

While it is great to see TV3 producing television this programme was produced using the Licence Fee through the BCI Sound and Vision Fund.

Unfortunately both Williams and TV3 put me of watch this series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fatted

Elmo wrote: »
    While it is great to see TV3 producing television this programme was produced using the Licence Fee through the BCI Sound and Vision Fund.

What has that got to do with anything? If you check your facts, you'll see that the BCI funded less than 40% of the programme.

What's important is that TV3 are finally commissioning home grown quality programming.

My 2 cents: Its an exceptionally well made programme. The Production is very good, Williams is a bit OTT, but he always is. And its received the best home grown viewing figures on TV3 ever.

Credit where credit is due.

What has that got to do with anything? If you check your facts, you'll see that the BCI funded less than 40% of the programme.

What's important is that TV3 are finally commissioning home grown quality programming.

My 2 cents: Its an exceptionally well made programme. The Production is very good, Williams is a bit OTT, but he always is. And its received the best home grown viewing figures on TV3 ever.

Congradulations to the BCI for funding this project :)

TV3 don't produce that many home grown television programmes so its fairly easy to be the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fatted

Congradulations to the BCI for funding this project :)

You must work for RTE.

TV3 commissioned the programme. And stumped up the majority of the money. Well done TV3.
    TV3 don't produce that many home grown television programmes so its fairly easy to be the best.

I'll try again. What's important is that TV3 are finally commissioning home grown quality programming.

You must work for RTE.

TV3 commissioned the programme. And stumped up the majority of the money. Well done TV3.

I don't work for RTE, I just find it difficult to understand why such a rich company cannot produce a TV show outside of News without the help of the Licence Fee.

The following shows will be using the fund and as you can see the majority of the money will come from the BCI not TV3: -

Red Pepper Productions
    How the Irish have Sex
    TV3
    Documentary - Culture
    250,000 59%

Short Comedy Theatre Company
    The History of Irish Comedy
    TV3
    Documentary - Culture
    220,000 88%

Sideline Productions
    Living with Murder
    TV3
    Documentary - General
    250,000 51%

What's important is that a commercial broadcaster cannot produce commercial programmming in Ireland :)

fatted wrote: »

you must work for tv3? (ps i don't really acre if you do or not, its just a indicative retort)

around 40% is a hell of a lot

what more people watched this then katie?

fatted wrote: »

you must work for tv3? (ps i don't really care if you do or not, its just a indicative retort)

around 40% is a hell of a lot

Stop bickering folks or I shall lock this thread as it is now going OT.

Sorry I was just correcting the fact that TV3 did not produce entirely on their own.

While I do not want you to close the thread (even though it seems like a strange reason to close the thread) I have to point out that the BCI give about 40% of the total fund for all programmes produce under scheme that however does not mean that TV3 got 40% for this show they could have got more or less then this.

TV3 has about 300,000 viewers for these shows.

I would like them to be a bit more independent and commission something without the help of the BCI.

Inside and Out is a fully produced TV3 programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I like it, but is it the general view that he is making Irish Crime about to be 'bigger' than it actually is?

I hated at the start when they showed that bald guy dancing at the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

JAMM222 wrote: »
    i think he is a legend! The Sunday World is a savage paper.:D

it's be great without amanda plonker