Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Declaring your AEG?

• 19-02-2008 10:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

Just a query on weather or not its a good idea to declare your AEG to the Gardai?

I was talking with someone at the HRTA last saturday who pointed out that he had an AEG or two confiscated after being pulled over by the Gardai.
    I was just looking to know if declaring your gun and handing it in for testing was a good thing or not. Would you receive a certificate to say the AEG was safe for use and has been registered just incase you are pulled over?

Only reason being if the AEG was handed in during a break from a skirmish you may have it back within a reasonable time.
    If the AEG was confiscated without notice it could leave you in a bind for a while.

Anyone care to comment or advise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

In truth I doubt the Gardai would be all that interested in cronoing it (could take months even if they did) and I can't imagine them issuing you a cert. Best to just keep it in a case and leave it in the boot of your car when travelling to and from skirmishes. Have a copy of the relevant legislation with you just in case but the Guards really shouldn't have any reason to confiscate it unless you are acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well any airsoft device under 1J is classed as a toy i believe so i can't imagine why you would need to declare anything to the Gardai. The chap who had his stuff taken should be able to get it back once they are under 1J.

That's just my view, I'm sure the I.A.A. would be much more knowledgeable of this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Any legally purchased airsoft device would not and indeed should not qualify as a firearm (gun) under Irish law and should be at or below 1 joule of muzzle energy.

Declaring your kit to the Gardai would do nothing since it is legally the same as declaring you have a football or a collection of GI Joe figures.

Edit: Further it would negate the inclusion of the 1 joule limit having been drafted in the first place which was to reduce the requirement for testing items that resemble firearms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

right about now there are heads of airsofters exploding all over ireland...

we dont have guns...we have aegs...there is a big difference and a big difference in the law.

care to give us the details on how the aegs we taken?

if (and i do mean if) he was waving them about, quite frankly he got off lightly in my book...he was lucky someone from the ERU wasnt called.

i would assume they will goto Garda HQ for testing, if they are under 1J he is entitled to them back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Site-Ops

right about now there are heads of airsofters exploding all over ireland...

we dont have guns...we have aegs...there is a big difference and a big difference in the law.

care to give us the details on how the aegs we taken?

if (and i do mean if) he was waving them about, quite frankly he got off lightly in my book...he was lucky someone from the ERU wasnt called.

i would assume they will goto Garda HQ for testing, if they are under 1J he is entitled to them back.

I was told he was pulled up at a checkpoint and a bottle of BBs were left in the back seat which were spotted. He was questioned and got into a discusson regarding airsoft. He was asked to open his boot an the Garda had a look and decided to take them away for cronoing.... He told me that it has been with them for a number of weeks in Swords...... I will change the subject title if I can....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

No need to declare anything. If the Gardai are in any way suspicious, they have every right to sieze the airsoft guns for testing to ensure that they are under 1 joule. The AEG's would be tested and made available for collection within a reasonable timeframe (less than 2 weeks would I think be more than reasonable). If the AEG's were over 1 joule, criminal charges may follow or the AEG's could be witheld until a firearms license is produced.

AEG's and Airsoft equipment in general should never be left in plain sight. This includes vechicles, open backpacks/bags, back gardens, near windows in your house etc.

As a general rule, keep all airsoft equipment out of plain sight until you are at an Airsoft Skirmish site or in the privacy of your own home (with curtains drawn closed). Do this, and you'll never have to worry about the Gardai in regards to airsoft.

Thanks for the advise lads it was just a thought. No gain in declaring the AEG seems to be the general view. If a cert is not issued then I suppose the GARDAI can do as they wish if the AEGs are discovered for whatever reason.
    I will continue to keep mine in the boot of the car when travelling and print out a copy of the new legislation just in case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Join the IAA, there will be ID cards distributed soon and that at least will be a form of proof to the gaurd that your a registered player and your intentions arnt to be a idiot and use it in public.,

Its amazing 2 members of the IAA committee posted in this thread and neither of us thought of that :o.

Good thinking Vtec.

vtec wrote: »
    Join the IAA, there will be ID cards distributed soon and that at least will be a form of proof to the gaurd that your a registered player and your intentions arnt to be a idiot and use it in public.,

Nice one, Cheers Vtec.... Will do that for sure. I havent sent my form in yet must get off my butt and do it. I like the idea of an ID card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Is airsoft equipment legally considered Toys or Sporting Equipment ?

~B

toys., far as i know airsoft isnt a recognised sport as of yet.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

They're not legally classified as anything at the moment. Nowhere does it say they are sporting equipment. Nowhere does it specifically say they are toys either. The only legal reference we have is that they are NOT firearms. (If under 1j of course). They're just commodities. Toy is the only word you could use to describe them really.

Site-Ops wrote: »
    I was told he was pulled up at a checkpoint and a bottle of BBs were left in the back seat which were spotted. He was questioned and got into a discusson regarding airsoft. He was asked to open his boot an the Garda had a look and decided to take them away for cronoing.... He told me that it has been with them for a number of weeks in Swords...... I will change the subject title if I can....

jeasus i bet that garda needed a change of underpants when he opened that boot!!!

makes you wonder did the garda know what airsoft was and wanted to chrono them or didnt and thought he had caught some guy with some weird crack cocaine all perfectly coated in plastic each weighting .2 of a gram

ya wouldnt wanna be sniffing 6mm balls of coke,.:D id imagine that would be fairly painfull.,

vtec....{whispering} did you try that? whats it like? :D

i jsut got a mental image of a coke head shooting a 6mm pellet of coke up his nose with a GBB for instant high.,lol.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭MAD Ozzie

The ID cards may help alot, as ive spoken to my local gards about CTG, Cork Training Grounds, to let them no whats going to happen there and whats it about, and so thay dont send the swat team in. All I got was a thick look, so to cover my ass,(and the teams). I printed some coppys of the events and days that it will be taking place, with address. Just in case thers a new gardi on duty if a call comes in.
    And dont want other team members TOYS taken of them to be tested. Will have our own crono for testing. All members must abide by the IAA rules, member or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

bullets wrote: »
    Is airsoft equipment legally considered Toys or Sporting Equipment ?

~B

Customs seen to label them as Toys and apply the same tarrifs as for toys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

MAD Ozzie wrote: »
    The ID cards may help alot, as ive spoken to my local gards about CTG, Cork Training Grounds, to let them no whats going to happen there and whats it about, and so thay dont send the swat team in.

Just a quick update: we hope to start printing the ID cards within the next two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Dar wrote: »
    Just a quick update: we hope to start printing the ID cards within the next two weeks.

Will my updated IAA membership number be complete before printing? :D

damn you lemming, you got the best one., im calling for 008 on mine dar ok.,:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

N.O.I.P. wrote: »
    Its amazing 2 members of the IAA committee posted in this thread and neither of us thought of that :o.

Good thinking Vtec.

Vtecs after your job :p

Arcto wrote: »
    Vtecs after your job :p

Aiieee!!!

*Hides job under bed*

There now he'll never find it :D

LOL., nope, i dont want your job, well unless it comes with the same benefits as being a mod, coke and hookers and all that, come to think of it, looking at the people on the panel with ya id be suprised if you didnt need the coke to do the job.,:D :p

You know that at least one committee member is doing an angry dwarf stomp after reading that right :D

Once again sir I applaud your endeavors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

You know that at least one committee member is doing an angry dwarf stomp after reading that right :D

Once again sir I applaud your endeavors

*stomps quietly in the corner*

mumble .... mumble grumble ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

zero19 wrote: »
    Well any airsoft device under 1J is classed as a toy i believe so i can't imagine why you would need to declare anything to the Gardai. The chap who had his stuff taken should be able to get it back once they are under 1J.

That's just my view, I'm sure the I.A.A. would be much more knowledgeable of this matter.

Eh, I thought they were not classed at all rather than being classed as toys.

i suppose not being classed as anything makes it a toy though huh? because being under 1J puts it in the same boat as all of those foam dart guns it toy shops and stuff.,

Not necessarily, the vast majority of consumer goods are not classified in law so they are classified according to their use

Use an AEG in a game, Its a toy
    Use it in a sport, its sports equipment
    Hang it on the wall, its a decoration
    Let Hivemind touch it, its confetti :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Not necessarily, the vast majority of consumer goods are not classified in law so they are classified according to their use

Use an AEG in a game, Its a toy
    Use it in a sport, its sports equipment
    Hang it on the wall, its a decoration
    Let Hivemind touch it, its confetti :D

...Let NOIP touch it and its a smoldering pool of ABS:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

I wouldnt declare sh1t to the Po leece, i reckon if i was stopped and had the car searched their 6 odd months of legal training would have it in the boot of thier car and away for me to never see them again:eek:
    And before any one jumps on me i know two coppers that have told me if they saw them in someones posession they would confiscate them regardless (there both casual acquaintances so there not gonna turn me over, i hope)

...Let NOIP touch it and its a smoldering pool of ABS:p

A fate richly deserved to one foolish enough to trust me with their AEG MUHAHAHAHAHA

so thats what happened to hive's AEG, and i thought it was FAMAS.,

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

so thats what happened to hive's AEG, and i thought it was FAMAS.

Actually the prototype famas was a great looking gun, unfortunately NOIP visited the factory just before the first production run :(. The fact that he managed to do this before he was even born just shows you how truly cunning he is :).

Dar wrote: »
    Actually the prototype famas was a great looking gun, unfortunately NOIP visited the factory just before the first production run :(. The fact that he managed to do this before he was even born just shows you how truly cunning he is :).

Is it as cunning as a fox who was professor of cunning at cambridge university?

<Begin Carny mode>
    "Step up step up, identify the quote and win 10 cool points"

</End Carny Mode>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Blackadder

damn you beat me to it keith.,:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Is it as cunning as a fox who was professor of cunning at cambridge university?

<Begin Carny mode>
    "Step up step up, identify the quote and win 10 cool points"

</End Carny Mode>

Pffff, everyone knows it's Oxford.

Boo urns indeed.

kdouglas wrote: »
    Blackadder

10 points to the man in the hat, you are wearing your hat right KD? No hat no cool points.
    o1s1n wrote: »
    Pffff, everyone knows it's Oxford.

Boo urns indeed.

Smeg typed Oxford originally then changed it, Damn you brain you trick-ded me!!!!