Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WE hi capas are not designed properly

• 17-02-2008 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭

They arent, they are extremely cheap, and badly made.

http://www.airsoftforum.com/board/index.php?showtopic=80018

The above is a sticky dedicated to this fact.

http://www.airsoftforum.com/board/index.php?showforum=80

See how many threads there are /\ about the WE?

Check the link in my sig too, how to fix, detailing one design fault.

Recently an issue arose regarding a faulty one of these, I argue that they are all faulty, having completely dissasembled one ten times, and seen why they dont work. They have different parts to the later 1911a1 model, I have compared these parts, and seen why they dont work, and repaired them.

If the person with a broken Hi capa would like me to look at it, he can pm me.

All we hi capas are faulty, do YOU own one?

Cock it, do not depress the grip safety, pull the trigger, it will go off, it should not.

The sear in them is weak soft metal, it wears away and the half cock breaks too.

They are a POS, and I would like to let others know my opinion, as a warning if needs be.

They are cheap and nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

dose this include the new WE Baby Hi-Capa 3.8 on eirsofts site:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

c-90 wrote: »
    dose this include the new WE Baby Hi-Capa 3.8 on eirsofts site:confused:

The safety on the baby's works, and they all get thoroughly tested before I ship them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I believe it affects earlier 5.1 models

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭monksavage

i would advise anyone to steer well clear of any WE, especially the Hi-Cappas, they are both poorly designed and constructed.
    i have owned severaly different models from WE and they have all run into problems from the start, mags, both grip and frame safeties, valves, leaf springs, finishing and the monkey metal they seem to be fabricated from.
    definetely the most unrealisticand unreliable guns i have had the misfortune to own.
    avoid like the clap.
    stick to KJW/KWA, far superior guns and can be got for very handy money from ehobby, WCGshop ect.

on another note i saw that someone had been refused a repalcement from an irish seller as their HiCappa fires full auto, i have personally witnessed this exact problem on two 5.1's, after only a couple of mags, which were maintained perfectally, so maybe this is yet another factory problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

My 5.1 hi capa works fine but that's cos i got it off motosam :D

Ok,

recently an issue arose with a we hi capa sold to a guy, by an irish retailer, I wont say which, but for clarity it wasnt tony (eirsoft) who posted above.

I offered to fix it for this person, as he could not get a refund, in our conversation I quickly realised the issue, its a common one, the leaf spring was not set correctly.

I pm'd him the following guide to fix it - its basic but how its done, no pics as no camera, sorry, I already have a guide on the grip safety, I may do one with a camera for the leaf spring, if required.

"At the butt of the gun, there is a pin holding in the mainspring housing, press up on the butt to relieve the pressure, and pop out the pin.

Now the housing slides down, it holds the leafspring in place.

Pull the slide back till the little semi-circular notch is in line with the slide catch, it can now be pushed out to the left of the gun, now the slide will move forward and off.

From here, move the thumb safety up up as far as it will go, it will move further than normal without the slide, but the hammer has to be back for this to work.

Pull the thumb safety out on the left, careful, a spring loaded pin pops out at this point towards the back of the gun, it is a pin that pushes back on the thumb safety, do this slowly with the gun pointing up, so it shoots out and down, preferably into a box, or onto a bed.

Now the grip safety can come off.

at this point, you will set the leaf spring.

All its prongs sit pressing down on the sear and sear disconector, one points back at the grip safety.

When placed, slide the mainspring housing back on a bit, to hold the leaf spring in place, now reassemble in reverse order, holding the housing on the spring, then finally pushing it up completely to finish reassembly.

Done."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

monksavage wrote: »
    i have owned severaly different models from WE and they have all run into problems from the start, mags, both grip and frame safeties, valves, leaf springs, finishing and the monkey metal they seem to be fabricated from.
    definetely the most unrealisticand unreliable guns i have had the misfortune to own.
    avoid like the clap.

I've had a WE P08 for a while now, must have fired off at least 1000+ rounds and have had no issues so far, I clean it regularly and keep it well lubed. I'm waiting on a WE M1911, but have heard good reviews about them. Sure, they arent made from tempered stainless steel or anything, but what do you expect for an average €100 price mark?

Its like everything, depends on who's using it, how its being used, maintenance etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

cant say ive ever had a problem with my baby hicapa that i got from ehobby, its probably been the most reliable of the GBBs i have to be honest and the safety works perfectly., the recoil in it is beautiful aswell.,

vtec wrote: »
    cant say ive ever had a problem with my baby hicapa that i got from ehobby, its probably been the most reliable of the GBBs i have to be honest and the safety works perfectly., the recoil in it is beautiful aswell.,

Babys are a later generation, then 1911, then the 4.3.

5.1 and dragons are the earlier models.

Seriously, click the links in the first post to get an idea of how many of these yokes **** up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

Shiva wrote: »
    The safety on the baby's works, and they all get thoroughly tested before I ship them.

fanks nearly soiled my self there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I got a WE 5.1 Dragon last week and it works perfectly, grip safety was the first thing I checked out of the box, very happy with it. It the most powerful and accurate GBB I currently own. I'll see how long it stays that way.

The reviews speak for themselves, I've no ulterior motive for this, perhaps some are ok, but there are still dodgy ones out there, and far too many of them.

There are stickies on airsoft forums for these things, its a running joke on many of them, I just think people should be fore warned that they are notorious.

Even a functional one will be rough out of the box, the sear is another thing that wears on them, eventually the half cock wears out.

I dont work for Wei Tech, but whatever manufacturing processes they use, they have made some inferior products, especially the early 5.1 govt. I stand by my opinion on this, regardless of some later products being ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭silver haze

ive owned 3 WE HiCappers, 2 of them the baby model and i can only say this one thing:
    DO NOT PURCHASE THESE GUNS, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

they are pure filth, however much you like the design of them do not buy them.
    your are much better off sticking to kwa,KJ Works or if you love the 1911 as much as me, splash out and get a WA.

trust me you will regret buying it as soon as you open the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

I didn't.
    And I owned two.

I didn't.
    And I owned two.

Glowing review there.

The point is, that rather than a few lemons, there are makes of this gun that are complete sh1te.
    Google broken we hi capa etc. and you will get far too many results, many forums have stickies deicated to this gun, and the good reviews are by kids that like the kool look of them.

Some sad instances where a guy on arnies gave one a glowing review, and in the subsequent thread, he was discussing how great they were with another guy, two pages later both of the guns were broken and the lads were wondering what was wrong>typical stuff.

The odd post saying, mines fine, doesnt make a difference, they are not very well made and there are a huge amount of dodgy ones.

I mean, 50:50 odds aren't a good sign, most of them do work out of the box, bar the grip safety on some types (most), but they work badly, have alot of slide friction, the slide is heavy pot metal, THE MAGS CAN EXPLODE.

Please, use google, there are far too many bad reviews and trouble shooting threads out there to ignore.
    Experienced players the world over slate them, they need work to be good in a conventional sense, a hell of a lot of work.

Edit: I dont mean to seem short with anyone, but I'm just trying to help, these are all well documented issues, and I just want to warn people. I'm going to put together a final post linking to as many relevant threads online to these issues as are needed and relevant, and then request this thread be locked.
    Its purpose is to warn people, not debate whos we hi capa works or not.
    I helped the guy that bought one mentioned above fix his, it works now, if ever anyone has one thats banjaxed pm me and I can help, and am willing to because I can.
    Expect one last post from me in this thread.

Ok, I said I would reply once to this with a list of links etc., but tbh in hindsight, that doesnt seem necessary.

The original post has a good trouble shooting link, and google will reveal plenty of results.

I've made my opinion clear here about the hi capas and given some reasons for that opinion, and hopefully I have provided some food for thought when considering one of these guns.

Bar that, I'm happy to help anyone via pm or trouble shooting thread if they have a problem with one of these guns, as I've learned alot about them from working on my own one, and the fair amount of time I spent researching them before.

(It would take alot of my time to catch up with all the sources I used for my knowledge of these guns, so thats one reason I'm not posting alot of links, it would take ages to find them all again)

so in conclusion, I'm happy to help anyone that has a problem with one of these guns, but I'm not willing to discuss their faults or merits any further, as there are plenty of existing threads on the same subject.

Thanks.