Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously where are we going?

• 06-02-2008 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭

If you do a contract search on their website, this is what you got, am I dreaming or is it Polish?
    http://www.vantage.ie/jobsearch/job_description.html?id=482

I am seriously getting fed up with the Polish, I mean I am French, I do speak English all day long since the last couple of years and I am not expecting French advertisements all over the place here in Dublin.

Even my online banking site is in Polish now, go to shops with big signs in Polish, TG4 with programs and news in Polish, come on.!!

What is up with those Polish for god sake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

What's this 'we' business, you cheese-eating surrender monkey? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mick.fr wrote: »
    How many French people do you know in Dublin? How many Polish? The Poles are coming here by the boatload. The French aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

99% of them are coming over here to work hard and pay taxes.... any other questions ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

jhegarty wrote: »
    99% of them are coming over here to work hard and pay taxes.... any other questions ?

Yep and so what? Like everyone of us.
    Not for that it is written in Chinese in shops, online banking, got Chinese news on TG4 etc.

newestUser wrote: »
    What's this 'we' business, you cheese-eating surrender monkey? ;)

Do you mind to rephrase mate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

those Polish

Unbelieveable. There certainly was no need to construct your sentence with that kind of vitriolic, racist sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Hmmm, immigrants giving out about immigrants, I'm confused now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

We kinda do bend over backwards, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I don't see any harm whatsoever in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

If you do a contract search on their website, this is what you got, am I dreaming or is it Polish?

I am seriously getting fed up with the Polish, I mean I am French, I do speak English all day long since the last couple of years and I am not expecting French advertisements all over the place here in Dublin.

Even my online banking site is in Polish now, go to shops with big signs in Polish, TG4 with programs and news in Polish, come on.!!

SACRE BLEU!!!! Vive la france!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

orestes wrote: »
    Hmmm, immigrants giving out about immigrants, I'm confused now

it's come full circle :p:p:p

You guys have problems to understand English or what?
    Did I say anything racist here?

In essence I said: Why in the hell is it written Polish everywhere in this country?
    There are a lot of Pols, fair enough, not a reason why Ireland should get Pol as the 3rd official language.
    We are all in a foreign country (Irish included) and the official language is English, so let's speak English for god sake.

Got my point now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Cos we're a bunch of sneaky f**kers that see the Polish as a people that money can be made off and (being honest) can be taken advantage of.

Shops supply Polish food as they can make more money.

Banks like the AIB have Polish internet banking to grab the Polish business from other less progressive banks.

And some employers take adavantage of them and pay them f**k all so they can make more money as well.

We will be bosom buddies with any group of people that we can make money off of, we don't discriminate. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Cos we're a bunch of sneaky f**kers that see the Polish as a people that money can be made off and (being honest) can be taken advantage of.

Shops supply Polish food as they can make more money.

Banks like the AIB have Polish internet banking to grab the Polish business from other less progressive banks.

And some employers take adavantage of them and pay them f**k all so they can make more money as well.

We will be bosom buddies with any group of people that we can make money off of, we don't discriminate. :D

I don't think the businesses here will make much money from the Polish to be honest, the working Polish tend to send a lot of their money back home to
    families etc.

Also I have found that the Polish tend to be happy in their own communities and don't make an effort in integrating into the Irish community because they do not intend on settling in Ireland. Even where I work one of the Polish lads is leaving soon to go back home, fair play to him I suppose, it's nice to see these people who wish to go home when things have improved for them achieve their dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We are all in a foreign country (Irish included) and the official language is English, so let's speak English for god sake.

Eh, the first official language of the state is Irish.

Where are we going? It's not your country so we'll just trust our esteemed leaders and you can worry about your country. It's not your problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭irishpartyboy

We are all in a foreign country (Irish included)

Seriously Mick, what cave do you come from? I'm not going to preach Irish history to you, but at least get your facts straight. I say fair play to the Polish, they've created their own community spirit, work hard, I see no problem with Polish supplements in the paper or Polish news programs.

The Polish have just as much right to be here as anyone else. Once again your complaining about the country that puts food on your table. If you don't like it.... au revoir

Another idiot post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

I can see where the op is coming from on this one alright. When you think about it, its a bit mental. Foreigners have been coming here to work for years, even prior to the whole Polish era, but we never changed anything to suit them such as having polish news, sections in papers etc.

I guess its because of the ratio of Polish that are here at the moment. Its quite a large fraction of the population. If we had the same ratio of French people we would probably be doing the same for them aswell.....

I know what you mean OP, though I don't see your issue. Personally speaking everyone of the Polish people I have met over here are completely sound and genuine. Let them come if they want they will always be welcome in Ireland and I am pretty sure the Irish would be just as welcome in Poland....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 jmcdoe

You guys have problems to understand English or what?
    Did I say anything racist here?

In essence I said: Why in the hell is it written Polish everywhere in this country?
    There are a lot of Pols, fair enough, not a reason why Ireland should get Pol as the 3rd official language.

Got my point now?

As usual you are provoking people to find you and have an off-line one to one by posting crap like that. How dare you to offend Irish like that?

Get your facts straight. We are all, Irish, Polish and Frogs here in Ireland. Not in France. This is for the reason that the government is making a superb job, so that everyone comes over here rather to France. And making easier for foreigners to come over (eg no visas, language, etc) is an essential part of the policy.

On the other hand French like you is siting here, making a good money and living and all you do in return is complain about everything around. Go back to France and complain there. You have no right doing that here, especially by offending your hosts by implying that this is not their country either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

jmcdoe wrote: »
    As usual you are provoking people to find you and have an off-line one to one by posting crap like that. How dare you to offend Irish like that?

Get your facts straight. We are all, Irish, Polish and Frogs here in Ireland. Not in France. This is for the reason that the government is making a superb job, so that everyone comes over here rather to France. And making easier for foreigners to come over (eg no visas, language, etc) is an essential part of the policy.

On the other hand French like you is siting here, making a good money and living and all you do in return is complain about everything around. Go back to France and complain there. You have no right doing that here, especially by offending your hosts by implying that this is not their country either.

Dont forget the aussies mate. We keep this country running :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Got my point now?

Actually no, I don't get your point at all. How are the Irish in a foreign country in this country? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

mick.fr wrote:
    We are all in a foreign country (Irish included)

What a stupid thing to say on an Irish forum :confused: Way to make a good arguement there Michelle ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Baraboo

I would like to point out my local butcher has some items listed and priced in Chinese as well as English. I am sure if there was a call for it he would have them listed in French or Irish.

I live in Bray and there is a huge Chinese community here.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

How dare these polish people come here and Pay tax and Help our economy!

like really, its not like the irish went to america and Built it up....

oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Baraboo wrote: »
    I would like to point out my local butcher has some items listed and priced in Chinese as well as English. I am sure if there was a call for it he would have them listed in French or Irish.
    Exactly, it's called good business sense. If there wasn't any money to be made by doing this, they wouldn't be doing it. I'm surprised that mick.fr, who seems to fancy himself as a bit of an entrepreneur himself, doesn't realise this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

How does the odd advert in Polish affect your life? Are you not able to ignore advertising?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Recently it was the Indians that you had a bone to pick with, and now it's the Polish.

I'm not going to let this continue - mick.fr you're on thin ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Banned for a week. Cop on mick.fr. This type of crap might be okay in after hours but not on this forum. PM for re-admittance.