Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Shooters Digest

• 31-01-2008 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

Has anyone seen the shooters Digest this month?,a very good article on airsoft in Ireland.
    Well done to Mr Cal ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

is there a link to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭BFSL

No, but I will try to scan the mag tomorrow and post it, if no one beats me to it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I haven't been able to get the digest since Nov 07.
    Every time I go into Easons its not there.

I would appreciate a scan of the article also.

~B

bullets wrote: »
    I haven't been able to get the digest since Nov 07.
    Every time I go into Easons its not there.

I would appreciate a scan of the article also.

~B

I know that some people are bringing some copies to HRTA on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

any chance of a brief summary of what it says?

:cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

If anyone every needs the digest they can send me the money and I will post a copy up to them.

blay1 wrote: »
    any chance of a brief summary of what it says?

There's nothing brief about it, its a large article and its all positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Picked up a copy on my way home. It was surprisingly long and nothing but positive. There were 1 or 2 little factual errors but for the most part it was spot on. Easons on O'Connell Street still have a few copies left.

BFSL wrote: »
    There's nothing brief about it, its a large article and its all positive.

Oi quit posting what I'm about to post right before I post it :D

BFSL wrote: »
    No, but I will try to scan the mag tomorrow and post it, if no one beats me to it:)

Nice one, would appreciate a look-see how Airsoft come across to the real steel crowd. Was it? I fe+king hope so

N.O.I.P. wrote: »
    Easons on O'Connell Street still have a few copies left.

Easons on O'Connell Street "Dublin" maybe, but us poor feckers that
    have to got Easons on O'Connell st in Limerick have no such luck.

Looking forward to the scan :D

~B

Picked up a copy on my way home. It was surprisingly long and nothing but positive. There were 1 or 2 little factual errors but for the most part it was spot on. Easons on O'Connell Street still have a few copies left.

Lets not point out the little errors, and enjoy the article as a whole;)

Sorry wasn't my intention that was supposed to read more like "Gentlemen ignore the teeny weeny factual errors behind the curtain, I am the great and powerful oz, err I mean the article rocks"

No problem, but you know that some people thrive on criticism and then that kills the good stuff.

Yeah happens far too often.

So I have to know, how long did it take you guys to pose that "What theres a camera in the store" oh so nonchalant picture :D

aaww got to see that pic!

If its not up before hand I'll scan the article. I'll PM you the pic since I don't have permission from the people n the photo to post it on line.

(Actually if anyone does scan it before me, blank out the pics until we have permission just to be on the safe side)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

I really doubt your gonna get sewed because you posted it :p tbh I don't think he had anyone permission to take a picture of them

it is already in a public mag, so it should be ok

I really doubt your gonna get sewed because you posted it :p tbh I don't think he had anyone permission to take a picture of them

Jeez that would be a big needle and thread :D I know I'd probably be ok but we had a big topic about this early last year and I'd prefer to err on the side of caution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Gyle

great article, don't think anyone in the article has any problems with the scan.I think its going to be busy year for irish airsoft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Gyle

well done M.I.A and H.R.T.A for showing great face:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Gyle wrote: »
    great article, don't think anyone in the article has any problems with the scan.I think its going to be busy year for irish airsoft.
    Besides, since the pictures are of us guys, I don't think anyone will mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

only the photographer/photo copyright owner/magazine can object to the scanning of it, i doubt they will but we as players on the day have no grounds to complain about him taking our pics if he was invited onto the land and was not advised against taking photos., :) at least thats the way i understand it., photography is a hobby of mine., :D

Right I left the pictures intact. Enjoy.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6QY1H3MN (its up on Megaupload because the file is a little over 700KB which is about 500 more then boards allows for .docs :D)

Cheers. looking forward to the read.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Direct download available here (easier than megaupload

Was gonna ask you to host it but didn't want to impose on your bandwidth :D

nah, its grand, plenty of bandwidth available :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Well done to the lads who have had pics of them illeagly using their Army uniforms splashed all over a very well read magazine, that will do wonders for the sport...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Rew wrote: »
    Well done to the lads who have had pics of them illeagly using their Army uniforms splashed all over a very well read magazine, that will do wonders for the sport...

Seconded as totally irresponsible if it is irish.
    Who is in that shot? because it says swords underneath.

Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    Seconded as totally irresponsible.
    Who is in that shot? because it says swords underneath.

And well done to the Drogheda site:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55001590&postcount=385

lads, as we all know, those of us wishing to wear irish dpm camo simply cannot, however the french dpm is almost identical

is that even irish? im not sure if it is, i only recognise 2 of them there, dave (santa) in the swedish camo bottoms and wayne in the british stuff and i think thats me lying down in the "run i'll cover you" pic., lol

just got around to reading the article now, its very good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

vtec wrote: »
    is that even irish? im not sure if it is, i only recognise 2 of them there, dave (santa) in the swedish camo bottoms and wayne in the british stuff and i think thats me lying down in the "run i'll cover you" pic., lol
    I remember that. It was shortly before I shot you.....:D

There's 2/3 pics there of guys in Irish gear there.

Guys relax its just camo the article was good and there was no negatives be happy about that

*starts handing out spliffs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭moggins7

Rew wrote: »
    theres no irish dpm in those pics!!!

good article though.
    suprised the red dot worked with a normal target gun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Great Article !! Just wondering how much Derek paid for the Infomercial :p

moggins7 wrote: »
    theres no irish dpm in those pics!!!

Google what Irsh DPM looks like and take another closer look... The very first pics is a guy in Irish DPM combats and smock. There another 1 or 2 in the other pics.

the first "looks" like it but not a great photo, also it kinda looks like a file photo to me, I never saw that fella there with all the camo paint on his face and the helmet and everything., the photo is a completely different style to the rest really.,

lads there was a discussion on this in the drogheda thread and kd read us

the riot act (rightly so). :) id advise against throwing this thread off topic

too, there is 3 days bans being handed out, i narrowly avoided one myself for

posting after he said he didnt want to hear it anymore, i was so afraid i

removed the post! (he scares me) :eek:

lol., rightly so :p., dont be so pickey everyone and just enjoy the first real positive article instead of looking for something to gripe about.,

+1 on that, its not the tabloids for once bad mouthing airsoft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Gah,

The download, both of them, are not working for my version of ms word, f*ckin ****e.
    Any way could someone email me jpegs or post another version somewhere?

The worst part is the first page worked, got me hooked, then nothing.
    And I downloaded it twice.

the scans arnt really a good quality, the writing is too small to read., unless im a blind fu*ker?., :D

your pretty blind Richie :p

wasnt that blind when i christened ya with me M4.,;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Motosam wrote: »
    Gah,

The download, both of them, are not working for my version of ms word, f*ckin ****e.
    Any way could someone email me jpegs or post another version somewhere?

The worst part is the first page worked, got me hooked, then nothing.
    And I downloaded it twice.

MS Word Viewer...in all it's 11.7mb Microsoft glory:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=95E24C87-8732-48D5-8689-AB826E7B8FDF&displaylang=en