Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxing rifle

• 31-01-2008 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

Hello this is my first post on this forum.
    I currently own a .22 WMR rifle. But in the coming months want to purchase a centrefire rifle for fox control. I want to go the whole hog s+b varmint scope scope good moderator etc. The land i shoot on is my fathers and the maximum range i would come across a fox would be 300-400yds at a push. I am not sure what rifle/ caliber to go for and was hoping for suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Hello and welcome
    .22 WMR is a centrefire is it not??
    I reckon you could be in for a raosting in regards to distance and safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭damo03

I think a .22 WMR is a rimfire as far as i know.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

damo03 wrote: »

Correct a .22 wmr is a rimfire .You have several choices in what to buy in centre fire for example :.220 swift/.222/.223/22.250
    Any of the above calibres will do the job for you.

Sorry man, my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

THe .22WMR (.22 magnum) is a rimfire, Winchester Magnum Rimfire

The .222 Remingtom Magnum and the .256 Winchester Magnum are centre fire

No worries bitemybanger its very easy to make mistakes where numbers are concerned unless its money ha ha. :)
    Thanks for the advise foxhunter.I was wondering what rifle you use yourself or what would be a good make/model to look at. I also see your from wexford did you ever deal with John Lambert, Camolin a friend of mine dealt with him and was very impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

Welcome Damo03,
    i am also changing a rifle shortly that will be dedicated to foxing. I use a .22 hornet at the min and it is grand at foxes out to 150 yards (havn't pushed past that incase the animal doesn't drop) but i want something that is capable of out to around 300 or 400. Im going for a .223 because the ammo is not overly expensive and it is well able to fire out to 600m if you fancy playing with a few targets. .243 is also a good round, but id only go down that road if i wanted to stalk deer with it aswell, however i have a rifle for that already. As for what rifle, personally, the Remington 700 in my eyes is a fantastic rifle. I'm going to go for one of the newer versions out for '08 from remington, the VTR, just have to wait another month til i can get a serial number!!! :( it looks pretty cool too!!
    I have also fired a good few othre rifles, but of the rest the Sako 75 is pretty good also...
    I'm sure that alot of guys here will agree that weight is a major factor, you dont want to be busted by just carrying the rifle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

I have heard the view expressed among friends that the Tikka T3 variants in .223 are the ultimate foxing rifles. Any comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Mac Tire wrote: »
    I'm going to go for one of the newer versions out for '08 from remington, the VTR

Jesus but that is a sweet looking rifle though. :D

No worries bitemybanger its very easy to make mistakes where numbers are concerned unless its money ha ha. :)
    Thanks for the advise foxhunter.I was wondering what rifle you use yourself or what would be a good make/model to look at. I also see your from wexford did you ever deal with John Lambert, Camolin a friend of mine dealt with him and was very impressed.

I use a couple of different calibers at the moment .
    I have a .223 browning A/Bolt with an 8 X 56 S&B on top i use for most of my lamping and i use a 22/250 sako 75 for longer range stuff .Both do the job perfectly.
    I know john fairly well sound fella to deal with.

Yeah mac tire completely agree weights a big factor alright. Bought a light force scope mounted striker with a 12v 20ah battery. It came with a shoulder strap which is no good in my eyes so i put it in a backpack now. Bit of a help but it still aint light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I am not sure what rifle/ caliber to go for and was hoping for suggestions. Thanks

Here is a thread that might help with a .223. That is what I use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭the hunter

[QUOTE= I also see your from wexford did you ever deal with John Lambert, Camolin a friend of mine dealt with him and was very impressed.[/QUOTE]

im also from wexford and i found john is sound .. just ring before calling in , he doesnt be there all the time

Thanks for all the advicee so far lads,
    I have johns number and will give him a buzz. A friend of mine went to buy a ruger .220 swift+ kit scope bipod etc. in louth and was quoted €2500 he went to down to john and got all the same kit for €1800 euro and it was the exact same stuff got it hard to believe myself. Just have to wait a few months to gather all the cash.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You're spoilt by choices. However, I'd look at one of these three calibres .223, .22-250 or .243 (may need deer licence?).

I owned a Tikka T3, wouldn't have another, probably a bad barrel but has left me scarred for life lol. Changed to a Remington VL SS in .223, very happy now. Mate has VSSF II in .223, both very good rifles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Whizzo

Dont mean to piggy back the OP's question, but if you already have a FAC for a .22, would it be a transfer or re-application for a .223?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Whizzo wrote: »
    Dont mean to piggy back the OP's question, but if you already have a FAC for a .22, would it be a transfer or re-application for a .223?

its a transfer..icon7.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

john lambert is dead on lad ,iv hunted many a hind and bird with him ,he is first and four most a hunter and all round sports man .not a jelly belly that likes to talk **** about it ,he will point in the right direction.but dont beat him at clays he gets fair thick over it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Whizzo wrote: »

Probably a reapplication followed by a refusal ? Depending on where you live. Supers discretion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

its a transfer..icon7.gif
    could you transfer from rimfire to centre fire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

If the receipt from the gun shop says .220 you should be alright, the local Garda can just write the new make and serial number on your cert. I was changing a shotgun and he just asked me was it the same type of gun and amended my cert. there and then. Most of the Gardai wouldn't know the difference and to them it's the same calibre as they work on how big the number is, .220 ok .308 would be a new application. Just ask the dealer not to write .223 on the receipt.

If a rifle is .222 or .223 etc a dealer is obliged to put this on the note afaik.

Mellor wrote: »
    could you transfer from rimfire to centre fire?

a friend of mine went from .177 air rifle to 22-25o- on a transfer, our
    fao will let you transfer to anything up to a .25 calibre without a new application-above .25 its a new application. I have a 243 for fox shooting
    not deer hunting-just a straight transfer from 220 swift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Whizzo

My licence says .220, is that the normal designation for .22LR?

yes thats normal designation for 22 lr and wmr and 220 swift

I went from 22lr to 223 with the swift stroke of a pen and a Garda stamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Just ask the dealer not to write .223 on the receipt.

What a stupid piece of advice. Dealer is unlikely to risk his/her livelyhood in such a manner. And I wonder if you would be in possession of an unlicenced firearm as 220 isn't 223

Was just lookin at the remington 700 VTR. Nice lookin rifle but i dont know if that barrel would be suitable for fitiin a mod to. But what would i know im not a gunsmith.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 McGuigan

http://www.shootforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2740

just read this. far better depth in info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

McGuigan wrote: »
    http://www.shootforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2740

just read this. far better depth in info.

Check the date on the post before yours, it was 2008.
    Mods can one of ye please close this zombie thread, as there are dozens of the same thing already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

this thread is from 2008 :confused: