Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who sang YNWA first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,471 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

This thread is dangerously close to bringing the place down to F365 forum levels.

Mr Alan and Tauren are big giant babies, it's a song, who the f*ck cares.

The first people to sing it were in a girlie musical, go and support them.

astrofool wrote: »
    This thread is dangerously close to bringing the place down to F365 forum levels.

Amen.

A mod should lock this piece of sh*t cos its just gonna go round in circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

Guess what we sang to the Liverpool fans after the 77 cup final:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPtzt0D2OF0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,254 ✭✭✭✭event

Mr Alan wrote: »

Archimedes-i care because YNWA is part of Liverpool history and is one of the things that makes our club special imo, Utd fans trying to rape that heritage claiming they sang it first pisses me off. sad but true.

ah here
    I cant deal in hypothetical situations that are that out there. There is no way that Utd sang it first. Despite wat Tauren might want say.

hate to be pedantic, but you dont know that. There is no way you could, unless you were there. By the same logic, there is no way tauren can prove united sung it first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

astrofool wrote: »

You're probably one of those annoying people who go around saying, "its only a game" after someones team loses, correct?

ok event, i agree, but my explanation of the origins of the song in the football world actually makes sense, whereas Taurens one requires more faith than christianity!

ps.you dont hate being pedantic, you love it! closet manc if ever there was one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,327 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

You're probably one of those annoying people who go around saying, "its only a game" after someones team loses, correct?

ok event, i agree, but my explanation of the origins of the song in the football world actually makes sense, whereas Taurens one requires more faith than christianity!

ps.you dont hate being pedantic, you love it! closet manc if ever there was one ;)

OH HELL NO!

Nope, i'm not taking that. Not a chance. NO WAY.

More faith the CHRISTIANITY!? How very dare you!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

you are actually bang wrong there.
    and if you could be wrong about that.... then... you could be wrong about other stuff too

Of course i could be wrong about some stuff.

just not this :)

Tauren wrote: »
    OH HELL NO!

Nope, i'm not taking that. Not a chance. NO WAY.

More faith the CHRISTIANITY!? How very dare you!

LOL:D

ya big baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,471 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Unless there is a recording of the crowd for every match anywhere since that song was first sang, then there is no way you can be "right", at most, like your sponsor, "probably".

Event! i think you being so pedantic all the time has spread to other users! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Jaysus just noticed a tonne of arguments about this on youtube too. ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

If people don't want to read about stuff like this, don't look at the thread :) If people want to discuss this sort of stuff, let them :)
    Personally I really couldn't care less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,254 ✭✭✭✭event

pfft, tbh i just cant stand the way some pool fans go on when they win something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

RE*AC*TOR wrote: »
    I sincerely doubt a song from a relatively obscure Rogers and Hammerstein musical was sung to any great extent by football fans. Its as likely as modern fans breaking into a spot of Evita or Les Miserables. It was only really with the popularity stemming from the Pacemakers version that the song spread to the terraces (primarily at Anfield) and became an anthem of sorts.

Aren't ManYoo fans happy enough with "United Road"? That's their anthem. I know it inspires the shít out of me.

Thread pwned.

And LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,895 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

event wrote: »
    pfft, tbh i just cant stand the way some pool fans go on when they win something

What like some United fans go on about 1999 all the time

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Thread pwned.

And LOL.

How old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Doesn't matter if United sang it first, they still boo it now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭joe316

Just letting people know i had nothing to do with the start of this thread, i think i posted that comment in the midweek prem thread and then the next thing i notice is a seperate thread with my op, so i didnt want to go and start another flame war. This forum is full of utd vs pool threads already so didnt want to start another one.

I enjoy a bit of banter but sometimes it goes too far and petty in here sometimes, just my 2 cents anyhow.

joe

zAbbo wrote: »
    Doesn't matter if United sang it first, they still boo it now...

And occasionally parody it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

How old are you?

24. But I'm about 8 at heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

I was watching the Spurs v Man City FA Cup Final replay from 1982 a while back on ESPN Classic and the Spurs fans were singing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

who cares if united sang it first,we(pool fans)think its ours,we are famous for it and it means the most to us.

Sadly celtic fans sing it better these days but ill always see fields of athenry as their song.

Utd Fans Did Not Sing It First!

and Celtic fans sing it better? pfft! they have Chelsea Dagger playing when they score a goal ffs!

Ladies and Gentlemen.....

i present you............................. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11MQnQ8QjJs

ah wat a night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

to be honest, i dont care who sang it first. i dont like the song. leave liverpool and celtic sing it away, doesn matter one but to me. united have more than enough songs to sing. its not a united song and i hope i never have to hear it at old trafford. have heard it there before when celtic were there and it wasnt long being drowned out.

if united sang it first, then so be it, the fact of the matter is, that united fans hate it and it is not a united song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,841 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ladies and Gentlemen.....

i present you............................. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11MQnQ8QjJs

ah wat a night :)

Goosebumps!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Give me the United Calypso any day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Give me the United Calypso any day...

here u go -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yf9k7b40pyY&feature=related

another version - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zymh8_Ku9zs&feature=related

i predict, this will be sung for the majority of the 90 minutes next sunday week. i was at the lille game last year and i dont know hoe they did, but lads stood up for 15 mins solid and sung it over and over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy