Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best of Luck to The Blizzards

• 30-01-2008 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭

As some of you will know I've been mixing some tracks for The Blizzards with Joe Egan in his 'The Loft' facility in Clara Co.Offaly.

One of the supposed 'Demo' tracks is being used in a Film already. I may buy a Castle, a Jet and a Hovercraft when the royalties arrive....

Next week they start the album proper with Michael Beinhorn in Windmill and Dublin engineer Stef Sofia Eqing the Compression and Flanging the Feedback.

It's good to see an Irish band on their second album spending good Record Company money in Ireland. I can think of a few who pi**ed off to the UK and US to record - something which the Blizzards chose not too.

Now if they'd only stop trackin' up so many bleedin' harmonies......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Excellent news! Its great to see high profile guys like these making use of Irish studio talent. I'll have to keep an eye on their progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Quit whoring your wares! :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Not selling nothin!
    Just a bit of Kudos to lads who are spending Euro 100k+ and keeping it Local- Respect and Ting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

I remember doing La Cheile and The Blizzards supporting us. I not into them at all but remember thinking "This is actually ok!" I think they had just got signed that day. There was great buzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

Best of luck them. They'll bloody need it!!;)

You're not wrong there Barry!
    It'll be difficult for them to move onto new countries....
    However they're going at it hard. I've NEVER in my 25 odd years met a band that works harder.

They're very serious about what they do, so much so, they recorded 4 songs from scratch in 2 days 11am to 6pm-ish ( excluding mixing which was a couple of hours per track)

While the results are not perfect they're a damn sight better than a lot of the stuff that gets released here. I'd love to post a track but I'd have a Universal 'Cease and Desist' writ by the morning!

They're like a 'Pop Factory' with the drummer and bassist laying keeper tracks while the guitar player is down stairs practicing his lines...
    Then they do guitars while Backing Vocals etc are being rehearsed downstairs....

A terrific example of how to get the most out of studio time..... a thing ANY band could do...... but in my long and fraught experience, don't!

thats the way to do it!! f**kin get in, DO IT, and get out. No arsing about.

Though they wouldn't be my cup of tea, fair play to them. However, me being just a totally cynical bast*rd, I'd just be wary if I was in a band spending 100K on an album, when it will all have to be recouped, and the UK and beyond has yet to be cracked. Have they cracked Ireland yet?
    I dunno...but I'm maybe TOO cynical about music...

go n'eiri an bothar leo ar aon nos..

BarryCreed wrote: »
    thats the way to do it!! f**kin get in, DO IT, and get out. No arsing about.

Though they wouldn't be my cup of tea, fair play to them. However, me being just a totally cynical bast*rd, I'd just be wary if I was in a band spending 100K on an album, when it will all have to be recouped, and the UK and beyond has yet to be cracked. Have they cracked Ireland yet?
    I dunno...but I'm maybe TOO cynical about music...

go n'eiri an bothar leo ar aon nos..

Well, to be fair I'm speculating on the 100k .... though it can't be to far off. I've been told they sold close to 30,000 of the first album in Ireland, a success in any man's terms, I think.

Never the less if they make an album they're happy with and it isn't a success - well they weren't short of conviction to get into debt , and that's to be admired.

And if it is a success, they're laughing.

They're putting 'their' money where their multi tracked mouths are!!

indeed they are, and even if the worst comes to it, they've done more than I've ever done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

I've done some photo stuff of them, very cool band. Lynchy is great to shoot live, and Bressie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i think there's a general vibe i'm getting from all this information. it's something i've suspected for a while but the Blizzards are the most blatantly careerist band i have ever seen.

sorry to burst the bubble, but the blizzards will not break through in other countries. guarantee it. and the 100k+ they're spending on studio time here is not going to be paid off selling records.

Sorry for being so cynical but i think a stable sense of reality is needed in this thread.

jtsuited wrote: »
    i think there's a general vibe i'm getting from all this information. it's something i've suspected for a while but the Blizzards are the most blatantly careerist band i have ever seen.

sorry to burst the bubble, but the blizzards will not break through in other countries. guarantee it. and the 100k+ they're spending on studio time here is not going to be paid off selling records.

Sorry for being so cynical but i think a stable sense of reality is needed in this thread.

There's no bubble being burst, because there's no bubble. It's very obvious that the job in front of them is huge.

What do you mean by careerist ? - every artist who's been successful has had a career plan. How familiar are you with other band's careers?

That is reality, perhaps you have a more romantic (unrealistic) view?

The point of my post is to tip my hat to a bunch of guys who are passionate enough about their music to put everything they have on the line for it.... and keep it local.

That's a Good Reality.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    What do you mean by careerist ? - every artist who's been successful has had a career plan. How familiar are you with other band's careers?
    Very familiar. Let's not get into it.

careerist as in their artistic output seems purely to be created in order to have a career. now you can say that's the nature of the game and whatnot, but you'd be wrong.
    there have been many irish bands who have tried to do this and ended up suffering in the long run (The Revs being a blatant example).

They simply come across as people who want to be in a band that becomes famous. A fairly shallow reason to continue making music. and one that ironically will cause them to not attain their goal.

It's a really long drawn out debate we could get into here, so let's not.

The point of my post is to tip my hat to a bunch of guys who are passionate enough about their music to put everything they have on the line for it.... and keep it local.

That's a Good Reality.

really? you reckon it's their music they're passionate about? seems like they're more passionate about the 'success' they may have than anything else.

Have you ever listened to them? Not a band that sound passionate about music in any sense, let alone their own.

really? you reckon it's their music they're passionate about? seems like they're more passionate about the 'success' they may have than anything else.

Have you ever listened to them? Not a band that sound passionate about music in any sense, let alone their own.

I'm just not into them, too bland for me, and too many cover songs in their sets (bad idea IMO), but if they make a few bob out of it, let em off....

But I would say that one doesn't need 100K to record an album these days..
    Being big in Ireland means nought in the grander scale of things IMO. There are more people living in Manchester than here...

Very familiar. Let's not get into it.

careerist as in their artistic output seems purely to be created in order to have a career. now you can say that's the nature of the game and whatnot, but you'd be wrong.
    there have been many irish bands who have tried to do this and ended up suffering in the long run (The Revs being a blatant example).

They simply come across as people who want to be in a band that becomes famous. A fairly shallow reason to continue making music. and one that ironically will cause them to not attain their goal.

It's a really long drawn out debate we could get into here, so let's not.

"Very familiar. Let's not get into it."

No lets I say. this is the ideal forum for such discussions - it's very easy to post on a board such as this and make a sweeping statement without backing it up with anything concrete. I'm prepared to back up everything I say.

After all, as the old adage says, What have a**holes and opinions got in common? ....Everyone's got one!!

"careerist as in their artistic output seems purely to be created in order to have a career"

Of course we're now into intangibles, there's no definitive on this one. Perhaps you know the guys better than I and their motivations ( I've only met some of them once). My opinion is that you don't work that hard on your music without passion. Interestingly you refer to their output as 'artistic' - they would be pleased with that though they seem to see it more as 'Pop' in the good sense (Squeeze and Semisonic were mentioned in discussions)

"now you can say that's the nature of the game and whatnot, but you'd be wrong."
    I didn't say that. My point was and is that it's good to see a band who have the option of spending a substantial sum out of the country deciding to hire a local studio and local engineer.

"They simply come across as people who want to be in a band that becomes famous."
    A statement like this in a public forum surely warrants clarification in fairness to all parties. What evidence have you? or is this just what you 'think' with no evidence?

"It's a really long drawn out debate we could get into here, so let's not"

There's no better place in my opinion....

"seems like they're more passionate about the 'success' they may have than anything else."
    On what basis is this statement made? Do you know them? Do you own their CD? Have you ever been to a gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I'm just not into them, too bland for me, and too many cover songs in their sets (bad idea IMO), but if they make a few bob out of it, let em off....

But I would say that one doesn't need 100K to record an album these days..
    Being big in Ireland means nought in the grander scale of things IMO. There are more people living in Manchester than here...

Wouldn't be mad about their music either, but I'd reckon who ever is stumping up 100k to make a record + the publicity which will make the recording budget look like a night out, has plans further afield than the aul' sod.
    I wouldn't though, seems like the usual Irish band thing, the all sound like the next big thing about a year to late. MAybe their producer will de-genericify their sound, wha? Mind You, hooking them in for 100k that one can re-coup from them over the next few years, sounds like a plan come to think about it. I wonder does the record company get any action from the tours.

That's what Beat Detective and Auto Tune is for..... innit?

so many bands over the last few years, not just in ireland were "the next big thing"...

True.... However I'd place a large wager on yer one Adele bursting through big style this year, in the United States of Europe anyway...

Adele :confused:

id say there's no money to be made in music anymore, stick to the day jobs folks! :(

Spose!
    There's definitely nothing to be made unless it's any good !!

You'll notice I've not expressed my opinion on their Music either...

What bands are better Niall, I'd be interested in hearing them?

well, i wont say the blizzards are ****e/good. its like me saying that the spice girls latest album is s***e, as im not a pop music fan, so if i was a fan of the music the blizzards make, that genre, id be able to give an opinion.
    im just a cynical bollo*

I'm not! I still get a monster buzz from the whole heap of Music/Show Biz...

Have a listen to -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/6music/

online. There should be something there to get the juices flowing again!!

Oh and the programmes are online for a week so if you want to listen to Bruce Dickinson's Metal show at any time ...you can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I'd be astounded if they're spending €100k on the album, but then again Republic of Loose managed to spend €90k on Aaaargh, so nothing's impossible.

30,000 copies of an album in Ireland is respectable enough - to compare Director sold 16,000 and Paddy Casey 170,000, but Ireland is a small market. I'd imagine they'll be able to make a reasonable wage constantly doing the toilet circuit in Ireland (Dolan's, Spirit Store, Cyprus Ave) with the occasional Ambassador gig thrown in every year to top up the funds.

They haven't got a hope in hell of breaking out of Ireland though - their sound is too provincial and vernacular to translate.

Good luck to them all the same, as long as there are underage girls and yerman Bres is in the band, they won't have to go back to farming for a living.

magpie wrote: »

Good luck to them all the same, as long as there are underage girls and yerman Bres is in the band, they won't have to go back to farming for a living.

:D:D:D

aye, a bit too much talk about yer mans muscles and the fact he played rugby, what about the music!!!???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Yes, but the arctic monkeys write insightful, abrasive, clever, witty lyrics. The Blizzards write trite bar-room platitudes about 'Please don't go to New York' and similar paddywhackery.

im more of an out on a limb man meself...

Careful! I didn't say "better"! I was also careful not to say they don't deserve the 100k, because I personally don't know the guys so they could very well deserve it.

But I think The Kinetiks for a start are an Irish band I'm really enjoying at the moment. Ham Sandwich, Red Kid...I realise it's not really fair to compare these bands to The Blizzards who are after the pop market, but personally I find them more exciting.

Cool, I know the names ok and have heard bits.... however from what I've heard of all 3 I couldn't imagine them taking THE BIG STEP....

magpie wrote: »
    Yes, but the arctic monkeys write insightful, abrasive, clever, witty lyrics. The Blizzards write trite bar-room platitudes about 'Please don't go to New York' and similar paddywhackery.

Ah leave da poor lad alone.... his bird legged it off to the US on him!

It's not the musicianship. It's like there's so many bands who think they are the Small Faces or something. Artic Monkies get popular and it's all aboard the band wagon, same with Waterboys back in the day etc.

Or.... equally back in the day...... what were they called? 4 piece, mouthy singer, guitar player used a lot of echo....
    Everybody use to sound like them.......tip of my tongue.......ah.......................................................................................................................u2!

studiorat wrote: »
    It's not the musicianship. It's like there's so many bands who think they are the Small Faces or something. Artic Monkies get popular and it's all aboard the band wagon, same with Waterboys back in the day etc.

or worse still, The Big Faces

faeces?

Yer man's gone very quiet, isn't he?

After blowing zillions of dollars, thousands of tweeters and hundreds of Vu meters The bould Blizzards' Album 'Domino Effect' get released today.

Best of Luck to them, I say.......... again.

I'm not sure it sounds quite as good as the expenditure would suggest though ....

that fcukin 'Trust Me I'm a Doctor' single is rubbish.

And I mean below your average rubbish rubbish.

Horses for courses i suppose.

that fcukin 'Trust Me I'm a Doctor' single is rubbish.

And I mean below your average rubbish rubbish.

Horses for courses i suppose.

I'll pass on your regards ...

please do.

i'm wonderin who the hell buys the blizzards records. Only people I've ever heard say anything good about them were Mullingar locals.

please do.

i'm wonderin who the hell buys the blizzards records. Only people I've ever heard say anything good about them were Mullingar locals.

College types I guess.

They sold 27,000 of the first album and that single sold about 1500 last week and up to Weds this week 888, 222 physical and 666 Downloads ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭hexagramer

i cant stand all these 'the this' and 'the thats' that sing 'saturday! saturday saturday *foottapping on the knee*' lingo, but i do like some certain radio freindly stuff.

i remember when i was kid 'indie' to me was growing up with anto and george furey of the fureys and they were big into there oasis, the verve stereophonics etc, i thought that was real rock an roll then,

sorry lads but i think indie nowadays from my perspective is very trendy, and is one big massive cat-fight to be on the radio these days. sad:(

ill stick to my heavy metal, true. true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

Have to stick my horrible little shrub nose in here. The fact that they are a good pop act is perfectly respectable and congratulations to them for pulling off some seriously hard work, rising from the bottom and getting a nice record deal and a sincere congrats to them for that.
    If you work hard you will reap the benefits. There is however an element of ('I worked with the Blizzard so I am pushing their album status to help them in any way I can') self promotion. Paul IS entitled to do as he pleases, thats how I read it, it doesn't bother me in the slightest, I would do the same, I am just pointing out my read on the gig.

In the underground of the Irish music industry the real rock 'n roll lies within the surf rock bands who are living by the rock n roll lifestyle tooth and nail. They are doing european tours, getting loads of hits on my-space but only ****ty unknown record labels who at best can manifest a tour and a cheap video want them. These bands are drug dealers, fighters, musicians, lovers, artists, singers vocalists call them scum or call them artists, whatever. Bit of both in my opinion but they live like poor rock stars and hats off to them, their music actually rocks like it or not and its hot.

Within the pop realm there are people who are the new age clinical rock stars, don't smoke or do drugs, and in fairness to them they don't want to have anything to do with that dark and depressing lifestyle, they just want to be in a band playing nice gigs in front of anyone who will listen and put up with their boring stage presence and non provoking lyrics and buy a nice house. On the other hand you have Pete 'facking' Doherty who wants to live and die the rock n roll dream and genuinely does so. The guy puts Mr Gallagher and his 90's hard man bull **** antics to shame. He is true rock n roll scum, so respect to him for trying at such an anal time in music history.

They are 2 worlds apart both these spiritual entities. Whatever you go for there is plenty of room for both. But is there? Answer is kind of. The majors are not signing the drug dealers because they don't want to give or risk their money with genuine working class musicians and its a shame because rock n roll is dying a slow miserable death because of this, the labels want the easy going happy band that isn't too much trouble it seems. The fact that concerts have become so restricting they are not worth a **** anymore. You cant smoke or drink and next year you cant fart at a gig without some foreign **** face (that was in prison before he became a security guard wanker) coming up to you and asking you to get out. Overpriced crap. Intimate gigs is all thats left and the same rules apply there, the only difference is that you can really hear the band and see them without having to smell some dudes armpit in the process....

So where is it all going? I don't care anymore. Kurt would be turning in his grave if he knew how dead its gone, it's a no wonder he shot himself in the head.

you sir (dav nagle) must be on drugs to have written that rubbish...

does anyone else get the impression that the blizzards are really just a spinoff of Niall Breslin's rugby career going down the pan?

pretty laughable in this day and age that they're the only Irish band making half an impression on the Irish charts.

dav nagle wrote: »
    There is however an element of ('I worked with the Blizzard so I am pushing their album status to help them in any way I can') self promotion.

As if I would Dav!

I'm not sure 'pushing' anyone's album here will make the slightest bit of difference.

My involvement is on the extreme periphery of the Blizzards (mixed a few demos/ B Side and helped sort out a few things for them) .

For the record, I admire their work ethic and the couple of guys in the band I do know a little seem fine honest men.

Their project might be of interest around here as it's a local band who are going through the whole Major Label process. I for one am always fascinated by the whole thing.

The put monumental effort into making their album work, but I felt it was a project driven often by engineering, and I'm not sure it's a sonic success despite that.

does anyone else get the impression that the blizzards are really just a spinoff of Niall Breslin's rugby career going down the pan?

yes. if he looked like angus young, the teenage girlies wouldn't care less about him...

That be the business we call Show!

pretty laughable in this day and age that they're the only Irish band making half an impression on the Irish charts.

Don't forget The Squipt!