Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applying to Gort na Coiribe (when?)

• 28-01-2008 11:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

How late do you think one could leave their application till? I hear talk of people getting theirs in now (for08/09) but that seems a bit early...

My mam will have a fit if I go asking her for 800 euro after she just paid 1200 for my second moiety in Corrib....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

As far as I can remember they were pretty much full by May/June last year so I'd say you might be ok for awhile but if you want to stay there the sooner the better.

You have to pay 800 euro up front?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 mralanduggan

Well i want to apply right this second but i hear there was a huge que outside when they opened the office yesterday. and if you ring them they say you will prob not even get a house together if you apply now...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

janeybabe wrote: »
    As far as I can remember they were pretty much full by May/June last year so I'd say you might be ok for awhile but if you want to stay there the sooner the better.

You have to pay 800 euro up front?? :eek:

Aye that's the deposit for security, damages etc

Ya I was just surprised that they'd make you pay that much this far ahead. Suppose it's different everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭TheInvisibleFie

As of Tuesday Gort na Coribe were only taking waiting list applications and the list for that was a mile long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭reganovich

Just apply anyway ad get your name on the waiting list...thats how i got in.do the same for cuirt na coiribe or else find a house in Dun na coiribe..itll be way cheaper in dun and youll be beside gort na coiribe too so you wont miss out on the craic....check out new student accomodation in town as well its near dominic street..i.e you live more less in town but your a 5 min walk from college too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

I'll still have to pay €800 and then risk losing 100 of it if I don't get a place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

I should probably start looking for accomadation. Ah well.

I'll still have to pay €800 and then risk losing 100 of it if I don't get a place

So they ask you for 800 to get on a waiting list, and then if you don't make it off the waiting list they only give you back 700? 100 for putting your name on a list is a bit extreme. It's not you that's cancelling!

That messing about alone would put me off the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Many of the student accom complexes offer the same kinda deal. I know Corrib did aswell when I applied for this year. Disgraceful but when demand exceeds supply.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 mralanduggan

Thats all wrong if you are going on the waiting list you dont have to pay deposit... and you only lose the 100 if you are cancelling if you dont get the course.... you can be on the waiting list with only your application... they dont take your deposit now...

That makes a hell of a lot more sense! There's no way I'd pay 800 to get on a waiting list, never mind letting them keep 100 if a space didn't free up! Thank God this was my first and last year of student accommodation. Couldn't handle having to find a place again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭N1njapirate

They're refusing applications now..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

Good for ye, Gort is a shite-hole.

The management are bollixes, they barged into my friends house one morning and started taking photos of the place (post party mess) and took a half ounce of hash that was lying on the table. They rang the guards about the half ounce, but nothing could be done BECAUSE THE STUPID MANAGEMENT HAD MOVED THE EVIDENCE AHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Also, the place is full of spoilt brats who get their mammys to pay for everything.

Good for ye, Gort is a shite-hole.

The management are bollixes, they barged into my friends house one morning and started taking photos of the place (post party mess) and took a half ounce of hash that was lying on the table. They rang the guards about the half ounce, but nothing could be done BECAUSE THE STUPID MANAGEMENT HAD MOVED THE EVIDENCE AHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Also, the place is full of spoilt brats who get their mammys to pay for everything.

That's why I like the place I live. I never see the managers unless I have a problem. (In fairness, there have been quite a few problems!) I'm not in the main part of my complex and the managers don't like having to walk down to my apartment!

It's like living in private rented accommodation without having to deal with paying rent and bills every months, or even worrying about having to buy light bulbs!

I had heard that Gort were very strict.