Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should the Munster Football Championship be abandoned for 08

• 28-01-2008 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭

With Cork possibly not entering should the Munster Football Championship just be abandoned for the year.
    Maybe Kerry could play in Leinster and Kilkenny maybe also forced to field a team so that you have a nice even number of 10 team. (2 first round fixtures and then 4 quarters)
    The other 4 can be told 'to hell or to Connacht'
    The positives on all this would be both the Connacht and Leinster Championships would have better quality teams and the Dubs wouldn't retain their title:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭63587614

Funny, then we could introduce the Champions League fromat, team seedings player transfers and sin bins aswell.

Ya nice try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

and you suppose all this could be organised and implimented before the start of the 2008 championship season do you? Sure were as well field the kilkenny hurlers versus the dublin football team while were at it and see who are the true champions of leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

No.

Kerry shouldn't be allowed to benefit from Cork's squabbling.

Anyway whatever about the league Cork will be around for the championship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

kevmy wrote: »
    No.

Kerry shouldn't be allowed to benefit from Cork's squabbling.

Anyway whatever about the league Cork will be around for the championship

The whole problem is that it will be a major disadvantage to Kerry. No proper game before the All-Ireland Quarter Final. It would be like the Galway hurlers of yesteryear.

gucci wrote: »
    and you suppose all this could be organised and implimented before the start of the 2008 championship season do you?

You tell me!

Sure were as well field the kilkenny hurlers versus the dublin football team while were at it and see who are the true champions of leinster

And the winner can take on Duxie Walsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

What about Limerick? I recall they almost won the championship a few years back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Tomthepost wrote: »
    And the winner can take on Duxie Walsh

in the big court or small court?

What about Limerick? I recall they almost won the championship a few years back

You answered yourself Eamon 'a few years back' All downhill since. In fact if the Limerick hurling team played the Limerick footballer in the big ball game they would probably win.

gucci wrote: »
    in the big court or small court?

I suppose you would have to play it in thirds to be fair. A bit of big ball, hand ball and small ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

The whole problem is that it will be a major disadvantage to Kerry. No proper game before the All-Ireland Quarter Final. It would be like the Galway hurlers of yesteryear.

The question was "Should the Munster Football Championship be abandoned for 08" with the other suggestion being that Kerry go into Leinster and "the rest" put into Connacht.

I don't want this to happen. So I said no. I know that if the Munster Championship is carried on as always then Kerry will be at a slight disadvantage. Tough. It's not like the badly need another All Ireland. By putting Kerry into Leinster you are giving them a big advantage. More games of a higher standard but still only 1 team that could beat them

I also disagree with lump the rest in with the losers in Connacht thing thats implied there. Connacht are doing pretty well on our own thanks very much we don't want Kerry's cast offs. Bring Kerry to Castlebar in June and we'll see who wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Should the Munster Football Championship be abandoned for 08

Of course not, nor any of the others either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

With Cork possibly not entering should the Munster Football Championship just be abandoned for the year.
    Maybe Kerry could play in Leinster and Kilkenny maybe also forced to field a team so that you have a nice even number of 10 team. (2 first round fixtures and then 4 quarters)
    The positives on all this would be both the Connacht and Leinster Championships would have better quality teams and the Dubs wouldn't retain their title:p

How you got so many to bite is beyond me but well done :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, that's a lot of rearranging for one championship game, Cork v. Kerry! Just scrap the Munster championship:confused: full stop! ;)

It does highlight the fact that it's a 2 team championship with 1 county guarenteed a Q/F place and another a last 12 place. If only Ulster and Leinster teams had that advantage.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Opplock

Nice provocative thread. Cork will be there for the championship - in what shape and with who as manager remains to be seen. Whatever the outcome I don't think Kerry will get too ahead of themselves wondering who they will play in the All-Ireland final. Too cute for that.

They must be smiling inwardly at the amount of blood letting going on in Cork (again).

<S-Mod edit> You don't need to add your blog entry in each post, it looks rather annoying>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Jaysus, that's a lot of rearranging for one championship game, Cork v. Kerry! Just scrap the Munster championship:confused: full stop! ;)

It does highlight the fact that it's a 2 team championship with 1 county guarenteed a Q/F place and another a last 12 place. If only Ulster and Leinster teams had that advantage.
    fair enough its a 2 team championship i wont disagree there
    but is it an advantage? Monaghan nearly caught us on the hop cause of the 6 week gap. if Kerry had a few more games before hand would there have been one point in it
    the 10 games in 2005 didint stop Tyrone the best team that year still won

how come Aintrim didnt win more hurling all-irelands under the old system when they got straight to semi after coming out of 1 team championship!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

scaramanga wrote: »
    but is it an advantage? Monaghan nearly caught us on the hop cause of the 6 week gap. if Kerry had a few more games before hand would there have been one point in it
    the 10 games in 2005 didint stop Tyrone the best team that year still won

how come Aintrim didnt win more hurling all-irelands under the old system when they got straight to semi after coming out of 1 team championship!!

Which is it, Kerry either want more games or they don't? To get more games either means scrapping the Munster championship or the Munster finalists entering the Qualifiers earlier.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 timmieriordan

Seanies32 wrote: »

What?

I regard Leinster as the weakest province! The strongest province is Ulster (4 teams), followed by Connaught and Munster (2 teams each) followed by Leinster (one team).

PS: Scrapping any of the provincial championships would be a bad idea but the gap between the provincial finals and the quarter finals needs to be narrowed. 6 weeks is far too long for any team to go without a competitive game.

What?

I regard Leinster as the weakest province! The strongest province is Ulster (4 teams), followed by Connaught and Munster (2 teams each) followed by Leinster (one team).

PS: Scrapping any of the provincial championships would be a bad idea but the gap between the provincial finals and the quarter finals needs to be narrowed. 6 weeks is far too long for any team to go without a competitive game.

Agree Timmie!
    Limerick and Clare could possibly make a Leinster final while they would struggle to do so in any other province.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

My thinking is that Cork are just going to use this as an excuse when Kerry win the three in a row to say "ye didn't beat a proper Cork team" :)

Anyway, I think the players are correct.

I think Teddy Holland has to get the title of dumbest most ignorant f.u.cker in Ireland. Everything he has done makes him seem more and more like a three year old clinging on to a toy.

Someone needs to ask him "Teddy in what situation can you see any of the the thirty footballers ever trusting you and respecting your judgement?"

There's no way Cork are going to be able to field a team until Holland is gone.

If he had any sense he might try to redeem some respect by saying for the good of Cork football he is regretfully stepping aside.

I think what is going to happen is that Cork aren't ever go to play Meath.

Once the county board see the players are serious and aren't going to back down, then they are going to have to back down.

Also everyone in Kerry is having great fun laughing at the stupidity of it all.

Sure Holland never won a tournament of significance and in-fighting is a common reason they blame for this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

You answered yourself Eamon 'a few years back' All downhill since. In fact if the Limerick hurling team played the Limerick footballer in the big ball game they would probably win.

Lad it doesn’t matter if these team are serious contenders or not. The lads on their team put in a serious effort all through the year and have earned their championship regardless or their chances.

I’m not getting at you with this statement, but it’s that sort of statement that propagates the rich man poor man situation we see with the intercounty teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

In fact if the Limerick hurling team played the Limerick footballer in the big ball game they would probably win.

Limerick footballers are not as bad as most people seem to think. 4 point win over Louth today is a good result. Reckon they'll do pretty decent in Div 3 this year. I see nearly everyone got their prediction wrong here. :D:D:D

Still alot of the hurlers are savage footballers. Imagine how good they would be if they had a proper pick. I can't see them finishing outside the top 4 in div 3 and as previously stated they could be good enough to reach a Leinster final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

What?

I would put Leinster well ahead of Connaught. After all Laois are a strong second after Dublin and the third team Meath beat Galway (the second team in Connaught). In fact I would go as far as saying that Laois, Meath, Westmeath, Wexford and Kildare would give the connaught a good rattle. Neither Mayo nor Galway could reasonably expect to win Leinster. So based on that I would say that Leinster is a good bit ahead of Connaught.

dixiefly wrote: »
    I would put Leinster well ahead of Connaught. After all Laois are a strong second after Dublin and the third team Meath beat Galway (the second team in Connaught). In fact I would go as far as saying that Laois, Meath, Westmeath, Wexford and Kildare would give the connaught a good rattle. Neither Mayo nor Galway could reasonably expect to win Leinster. So based on that I would say that Leinster is a good bit ahead of Connaught.

Yesterdays results
    Galway 0-15 Laois 1-9
    Limerick 1-10 Louth 0-9
    Tipp 4-20 Kilkenny 1-5
    Antrim 1-13 Wicklow 1-8

I reckon Leitrim would give Leinster a 'good rattle'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Yesterdays results
    Galway 0-15 Laois 1-9
    Limerick 1-10 Louth 0-9
    Tipp 4-20 Kilkenny 1-5
    Antrim 1-13 Wicklow 1-8

I reckon Leitrim would give Leinster a 'good rattle'

Galway should improve this year and Mayo were unlucky not to get a draw even though they were expected to lose and did.Leitrim are a very tough team to beat in Carrick-On-Shannon but the above Leinster teams are the bottom of the barrel in Leinster bar Laois.With Wicklow never winning a Leinster title and Kilkenny only fielding a team in the league since 1999.Laois are pretty bad but put up a spirited performance in Galway and Louth are very inconsistent.