Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai vehicles v PSNI vehicles.

• 28-01-2008 8:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭

I see there is a thread elsewhere about the merits of the two forces but which ones have the best vehicles?

We have all seen the old armoured Land Rovers but at the weekend on the way to Ikea I saw a new model Range Rover.

Who has the better vehicles in terms of suitability, on board equipment and comfort for those operating them?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Obviously I'm going to say we do. It makes no sense to have Gardai driving a Yaris or a Focus. Completely embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

psni wrote: »
    It makes no sense to have Gardai driving a Yaris or a Focus. Completely embarrassing.

:confused: Why exactly is it embarrassing? Seems like there might be a meat and two veg problem linked.

...I decided to reply to the most pointless thread of the day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The Police in England drive Fiestas. What is so different between that and a Yaris?

In terms of suitability it is better to spend your budget on smaller cars rather than Range Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

The Police in England drive Fiestas. What is so different between that and a Yaris?

In terms of suitability it is better to spend your budget on smaller cars rather than Range Rovers.

i would have to disagree on your point on small cars, maybe in large towns and cities they're okay, but to have them in country stations is ridiculous,there are some subdistricts which only have a yaris or fiesta as their main or only vehicle, not a good idea. even just for the safety of the crew bigger cars are better.

as for brand new range rovers, maybe not the best idea,when there are plenty of other suv's out there to choose from which are a fraction of the price of a range rover.

so to summarise, small cars = bad, range rover = bad, medium sized saloon and cheaper suv's = spot on

So it is most likely 50:50 then. Different horses for different courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

The smaller cars should be used in the cities only for early and late shifts only. Bigger engine cars for country stations for power and safety in the event of a collision.

As for on board equipment, currently we have the traffic signs, Mepro lights and of course the lights and sirens board. Every car should be equipped with a speed gun.

Question: What is the purpose of the siren toggle button? I switched it on there one day and nothing happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭theAwakening

Nog,
    Apparantly the toggle allows other drivers on the road to hear what direction the siren is coming from, thus allowing them to move out the patrol car's way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Brady

Guys PSNI wins hands down!

Special Branch have a whole host of the following cars: unmarked R32 Golfs (personally ive seen a silver one, but below is a back one), V6 Passat W6's, Mondeo ST24's and even Evo 7's

Theve also got the new Skoda's i know it doesnt sound good, but they are wicked quick! also the unmarked ones look mean!

0106.jpg

0108.jpg

Notice the lights on the dashboard

0001.jpg

0104.jpg

skoda.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

The PSNI have their own dinky cars:

Ice_cream_van1.jpg

Nog,
    Apparantly the toggle allows other drivers on the road to hear what direction the siren is coming from, thus allowing them to move out the patrol car's way.

Does it change the siren tone? Was tempted to try it last night in an estate at 4am but thought the residents wouldn't be impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭alfie

TheNog wrote: »
    Does it change the siren tone? Was tempted to try it last night in an estate at 4am but thought the residents wouldn't be impressed.

It does indeed.

dub201.jpg
    we have a few nice cars too, There's also a whole load of BMW's doing the rounds no pics but here's a linky to a discussion on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PRND

Well those Garda cars would do the job alright but none of them are to get too excited about.

The sort of cars that the family man with 2.4 children would drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

It isn't about which cars look better,it's about performance.I will let the Gardai on the forum speak about the cars' performance

Not at all. It's all about cool cars. The reason people watch those English police shows is because they hoor round in Scoobys, T5s and Evos at high speed. Put them in a Focus saloon or a 1.4 Astra and nobody would watch.

That is true to a certain degree. Looks are important as well as performance. If a gow saw 2 guards in say a Micra the gow would probably laugh but if the gow saw 2 guards say in Subaru Forester or in a weapon of a car like below they would know straight off they mean business.

carbonmotors.jpg

carbonmotors3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

I have to say I think the gardai have some savage looking cars, in fairness they are really nice. But I must admit I love the sporty looking ones they use in England, they're so cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Obviously horses for courses and Im sure in reality is the PSni have their fair share of bangers just like we do.

The Mondeo is a nice car too drive and lets remember, civilian cars have to reach better safety standards than police spec (health and safety being different). The Focus is a little lack lustre and I personally have my doubts about its ability at anything approaching high speed. Road grip seems poor. Our jeeps used by Traffic are fantastic.

Inside is good on the new models being shipped out, new siron/light control is dead handy to use compared to the old one (a disaster).

Biggest complaint? Lack of extra safety equipment such as bull bars and cages.

look at the US and other european countries and honestly, they arent as great as TV makes it out too be. Spain and Italy has crap cars with WW2 radios except the great looking but impractical sports car that the traffic guys got from ferarri or lamborghini or whoever it was. The US barely knows what digital / Tetra radio is.

PSNI would be well equiped overall I would imagine as they are a new and well finances police force but as time goes by that might change but then again, we can actually arrest people without armoured backup most of the time so why would we need an armoured jeep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭belfast stephen

Brady where those picture taken was it a show or somthing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Biggest complaint? Lack of extra safety equipment such as bull bars and cages.

Why don't ye have that though?

that's ridiculous..
    We're talking about an extra 1000-2000 euro here for a lot of extra safety..
    Cages should be on min spec for traffic cars at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

Well, i heard that in the southside of Dublin they drive big SUV's and in Limerick they drive something else.. Just to it in with what most people in the area drive..
    My local garda drives a very nice family type car, big and fast! .. but he only got thats off his insurance after a trailer fell off a tractor in the vilage and went flying down the hill and plowed into the garda's Car!!! wrote it off completely!

didnt know there was so many members of the police on Boards! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

i actually did my dissertation on the standard of the cars many moons ago.

the only thing i think we're ahead on are the motorbikes, The Fjr 1300 is ahead of the uk's pan european which is what we've upgraded from. Think they have the transalp aswell where we have the new deauville.

i have the pleasure of driving the unmarked subaru forester too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

the psni are just cooler... seen there passat the last day t32 or somthing like that... them had a meeting with there bike safe officers... the head officer for it was boosting about driving 187mph around the north west 200 track when it was a public road... respect... saying that ive also had a irish bike cop say that to me also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

anto-t wrote: »
    the psni are just cooler... them had a meeting with there bike safe officers... respect...

Is that you ALI G? :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Many of the divisional traffic corps have 3.0L mondeos now.

Standard car course does not entitle you to drive this, only the advanced.

And we all know how easy it is to get a standard, never mind an advanced car course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭markontap

On the topic of cars.. What's the purpose of having marked focus' or similair sized marked cars in the Garda fleet? I can understad the use of the Fiesta in community policing maybe but I can't see any advantages to having a Focus over a Mondeo.. Is there ay particular reason behind this?

Chief--- wrote: »

And we all know how easy it is to get a standard, never mind an advanced car course.

st220?

Evidence of this?
    Cos I doubt it very much..seems to be a myth that floats about the whole time..like them using the 2l yaris.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

ClioV6 wrote: »
    st220?

Evidence of this?
    Cos I doubt it very much..seems to be a myth that floats about the whole time..like them using the 2l yaris.

Eh its no myth.

Generally traffic corps with motorways in their division get either the 2.5 or 3.0l mondeos.

old car course = you can drive them
    this years car course = no no, advanced only.

oh and its not the st220, its the 3.0l v6.
    The 204PS 3.0V6 replaces the 170PS 2.5V6 not the 220PS ST220

Chief--- wrote: »

Don't despair Chief---, there's a new course to qualify to 3.0L, its specifically designed for RSU's but will meet a standard between basic and advanced car course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

So that means I now have to take two courses to drive the performance cars? Fantastic. Another long waiting list and I'm sure it'll become a practical requirement if wanting to join the Traffic Corps in one's future career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

So that means I now have to take two courses to drive the performance cars? Fantastic. Another long waiting list and I'm sure it'll become a practical requirement if wanting to join the Traffic Corps in one's future career.

If members stopped applying for chiefs all the time the state would have no choice but too dish out courses.

Imagine if you could carry a gun on 'Chiefs', would be the same scenario. No qualified people and sweet FA courses.

if wanting to join the Traffic Corps in one's future career.

Could never understand how anyone would sacrifice a career as a policeman to join the traffic corps :D

st220?

Evidence of this?

its true about the mondeo, think ford replaced the 2.5 with the 3L so they use the 3l on the advanced now. doubt traffic have them, we certainly dont :mad:

drove the 2.5 on the course, some car to go!

CLADA wrote: »
    Could never understand how anyone would sacrifice a career as a policeman to join the traffic corps :D

We arent that bad!:cool:

bryanmurr wrote: »
    its true about the mondeo, think ford replaced the 2.5 with the 3L so they use the 3l on the advanced now. doubt traffic have them, we certainly dont :mad:

drove the 2.5 on the course, some car to go!

Ah right right...thanks, was curious about that!
    Makes sense all the same..

I'd say so alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

The Mondaeo and new aventus seem like good preformers.

The amount of unmarked mondaeo's the gardai have is unreal, there pretty easy to spot tho.

The Gardai also have an unmarked subaru impreza.

The Mondaeo and new aventus seem like good preformers.

The amount of unmarked mondaeo's the gardai have is unreal, there pretty easy to spot tho.

The Gardai also have an unmarked subaru impreza.

I wish!

I know from a very realiable source. I could, but perhaps shouldnt say which branch use it, but it is fact. I dont mind if people believe me or not.

Well he is a Garda..traffic corps If i'm correct?

So..he should know?

Some fairly cool PSNI cars on the tv earlier for the George Bush procession. Load of black Range Rovers, bullet-proof Skoda Superb. Audi A6. All the armoured Land Rovers at Stormont looked cool too. Bush's cars were impressive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Havn't seen an impreza but subrau forrester is a familiar sight round these parts

Now that machine is good to go

Well he is a Garda..traffic corps If i'm correct?

So..he should know?

Traffic corps dont have it, much more elite unit than that! They also have top of the range BMW cars & jeeps, but I think that is pretty widely known.

Traffic do have 3l mondeos........I was in one. amazing car with phenomenal acceleration

foinse wrote: »
    Traffic do have 3l mondeos........I was in one. amazing car with phenomenal acceleration
    It's hardly amazing in the context of European Police cars. I'm not talking about the one off publicity cars you see but many European forces are driving cars which make a family saloon with a blue oval look pedestrian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 MerseysideManc

Brady wrote: »
    Guys PSNI wins hands down!

Special Branch have a whole host of the following cars: unmarked R32 Golfs (personally ive seen a silver one, but below is a back one), V6 Passat W6's, Mondeo ST24's and even Evo 7's

Theve also got the new Skoda's i know it doesnt sound good, but they are wicked quick! also the unmarked ones look mean!

0106.jpg

0108.jpg

Notice the lights on the dashboard

0001.jpg

0104.jpg

skoda.jpg

Did you mean traffic branch instead of special branch. Surely special branch are suppose to go un-noticed. Either way PSNI have some awesome cars. Saw a Subaru Impreza in Belfast one day too. My fav is still the Land Rovers though, 3 litre V8, 4 tonnes awesome

No its used by one of the special branches perhaps for undercover operations?

Should I name to unit which uses it? Its not in the public domain so maybe I shouldnt? What do gardai think?

Anyway, I havent seen it myself so I cant be 100% sure but the guy who told me would know.

Really all Garda cars should have on board computers so they could do there own reg checks etc Would led to more efficent policing and less pressure on control I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

All very Police Interceptors-ish....:eek:

dscd0742.jpg
    Courtesy of UKEmergency.co.uk

dscd0335.jpg

dscd0436.jpg

The on-board computers (MDT) are a handy piece of kit. Stats show that vehicles equipped with MDT conduct a vast amount more vehicle checks than those without. Its easy pickings when you just input a vehicle you aint happy with into the comp and get a reply in a few seconds. And yep, it cuts down radio traffic too, everyone's a winner....except billy criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭manaka

Nice wheels guys. Ever drive any metman? What size of engines are on the landrover/rangerovers? Are they quick, good handling? I want to drive one!! Must get a C1 licence first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

The gardai, in fairness, are starting to wake up and smell the coffee! In recent times, there has been a lot more unmarked cars espicially, subaru's, bmw 's and the same ilk! The biggest thing lacking in garda cars is on board equipment imo! We're streets behind, i know a whole sub district that doesnt have a speed gun because it was too old to be changed to kilometres! Thats crazy, every car should have one!

One thing that is good about driving in the gards is the training imo, if you can get it, the advanced training is good! Teaches great pursuit techniques and all that, its just too hard to get! :)