Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New scam for gettin ripped off at ATM's

• 25-01-2008 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

My brother was telling me that this happened to a girl he works with. Apparently her and a friend were at one of the ATMs outside Jervis St Centre on Henry St. She went up and was putting her pin in when this little Roma kid came up to the side of her with a magazine screaming at her to buy it and waving it in her face so she was turned to tell him to fook off and her friend was also trying to get him to piss off aswell. Anway her friend turned around to see another one of these Roma kids touching the keypad on the ATM. She roared at her friend to turn around and when she did there in front of her was 400 euro sticking out of the ATM. They saw the 2 little Roma kids pissing it up Henry St and away. Just a word of warning to all you folks.

Watch out for it folks. Or even better if you see a little roma kid walkin around with magazines just say nothing just point like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Isn't that just stealing, not a scam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There's been a few threads about this already but anything to keep people aware is good I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

i think I saw the little tart. Is this him?
    http://www.plan59.com/images/JPGs/vc52boy.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

How would the law see it if you punched one of these children in the face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

That kid looks pure EEvil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Reminds me of a time when some kids grabbed a load of cash just as I took it out of a pass machine on O'Connell St.
    I grabbed a hold of the one with the cash and started yelling at him to give me the money back.
    First he let out a whistle and told me it was a signal for his big brother and his mates to come get me.
    Next a couple of do gooders started hanging out of me telling me to "leave the poor young fella alone".
    I ended up dragging him down the street telling him I was taking him to the Garda station.
    He eventually threw the money on the ground, spat on me and ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

They must have ran off with her bank card then... as you'd have to remove that before the cash would be dispensed... also there is the loud beeping sound it makes to tell you to remove your card as well... you'd think she'd have heard that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

i think I saw the little tart. Is this him?
    http://www.plan59.com/images/JPGs/vc52boy.jpg

That picture is wrong for about seven hundred reasons...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Google "the hands resist him" painting. Bet it was those kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

briantwin wrote: »
    Watch out for it folks. Or even better if you see a little roma kid walkin around with magazines just say nothing just point like this
    Or you could point like this, although that may be illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

have and would condone a good thump in the head for any of the little basties that try this. the beeping isnt all that loud that you would hear it if you where on the street with traffic going by and trying to get somebody to piss off.

Anyone who would bad mouth you for thumping one, deserves a thump aswell.

And the cash coming out without the card being taken?

It happened to a friend of a friend.. it's a textbook bullsh*t story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Well regardless of any truth or not to this particular story...distraction cons are very common...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Cheeky little feckers. I wonder how many times they've got away with it so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

They must have ran off with her bank card then... as you'd have to remove that before the cash would be dispensed... also there is the loud beeping sound it makes to tell you to remove your card as well... you'd think she'd have heard that.

Its getting very CSI in here :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    How would the law see it if you punched one of these children in the face?

The law doesn't see most of these kids as they're illeagal.
    So you'd really just be swinging your fist at legal thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

This has been a stratagy used in war for hundreds of years. Fake left go right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

I always find that if a child is annoying you in any way shape or form it;s best to tell them straight that there's no Santa, or if you're a bit shy, turn to your neighbour and announce "I was heartbroken when I found out there was no Santa Clause!" as loud as possible!

It worked in the pub on Monday!
    Stupid kids wrecking my drinking time, that'll show them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Its not a friend of a friend. Its an aquaintance of mine. She works with my brother. As for taking the bank card. Whats the point if you dont know the PIN? Of course the card came out before the money I didn't say anything contradictory to that. If you think its a bull**** story ,fair enough. It would be a real shame if something like this were to happen to such a street savvy and open minded person as yourself.

The moral of the story is that if any kids come up to you while you're using an ATM, punch both sides of you and perhaps throw in a round-house kick, chuck norris style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 King of Faces

Archeron wrote: »
    That picture is wrong for about seven hundred reasons...
    List 10.

Although this doesn't add any validity to the below story, Ulster Bank ATMs get you to put in your card and take it out at the start, so there is no delay when you're getting money back.

Its not a friend of a friend. Its an aquaintance of mine. She works with my brother. As for taking the bank card. Whats the point if you dont know the PIN? Of course the card came out before the money I didn't say anything contradictory to that. If you think its a bull**** story ,fair enough. It would be a real shame if something like this were to happen to such a street savvy and open minded person as yourself.

So what happened to the card then? The money wouldn't come out unless the card had been removed. Who removed the card and where did it go?

I'm just pointing out a hole in this story as it's very much your standard urban legend cautionary tale with a dash of racism thrown in. Unfortunately judging by the replies this particular story appears be giving people the idea that it's acceptable to physically assault children on the basis of a story which has holes in it. Feel free to furnish us more details though, and I'll be happy to accept your story.

Just went and had a look on Snopes as well and it turns out they have a very similar story:

http://www.snopes.com/crime/warnings/jostle.asp

Actually Monkeyfudge you're bang on the money, i spend my days browsing different forums and sites and post made up stories all in the hope of inciting some racist attacks on children around dublin. Jesus, its always the same. I put it up to inform people of what i heard and just a warning to say be vigilant.As i said this is what i was told. And if its on another site then maybe that might strengthen the argument that this actually goes on and is not just as you think a fabrication of a bored office worker with aspirations for the racist culling of children. Its only advise, you dont believe it and thats fair enough. Just dot imply that i made it up or stole the idea off another site. I don't start many threads on this site and i really dont crave attention enough to make up a story like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

if its on another site then maybe that might strengthen the argument that this actually goes on

I don't think you know what type of site snopes is

I do think you heard the above story and belived it to be true thats how most of the stories on snopes start and are kept going. My mother has related stories she heard from friends and co-workers that turned out to be false, my fav being the guy taking a pee while skiing story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i don';t see that many stories have to be made uip to get people against the romas or whatever thay are called
    i was in dublin city during the day for the day for the first time in years just before christmas
    now i've drive through many tim,es since i moved to the west and i've seen the visual differences to the populus (sp) but a bit of hanging round showed a huge change
    went into a lovely little itallian resturant and got some expresso , propper italian stuff like youd get on the continent which was a treat sat outside as it was a bright day and straight away these junkies come up to me saying giz this and giz that so i told them straight to bugger off and the stumbled up the road
    then these romas come allong begging
    and when yer man in the resturant comes out to shoo them away they slip into the palce and start approaching the customers
    any how the junkies come back and start telling the romas to f off and all hell breaks out itallians screaming at romanians yelling at junkies
    needless to say i knocked the cofee and left

later on i was in the bk on oconnell st taht used to be the kylemore and everybody there is polish which is fine and fair play to them as its probanly not the most fun you can have while at work
    so in come some more romas bog standard design half frozen kiddy on the arm headscarf no me and miserable looking
    so the manager a big baldy polish guy comes over and is all i've told you before get out and they are all can i use the toilet

now i'm not saying that i saw them stealing but the attitude is obviously that of the kinda people that will bent the law to suit their measure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Racism i hear?

See this from breaking news(http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfcwqlkfau/), it involves a 15 yr old Romanian boy(whether Roma or not) committing said scam on ATM's
    'Step Three: While the person is distracted one of them, unseen, presses the button telling the machine withdraw €200. The money pops out and is taken swiftly while the account holder is distracted and oblivious to what is happening.

Garda Niall O’Reilly, of Pearse Street station explained that the “teen and an accomplice approached the injured parties and held a magazine in front of the screen after the PIN number had been entered. They distracted them and then took the €200 from the machine unnoticed.”'

Hardly an urban legend.

Another involving a 12yr old Romanian girl(whether Roma or not)
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfeyqlkfey/
    A 14-year-old girl, who is facing 12 charges over an alleged bank machine scam, has been remanded on continuing bail pending directions from the Director of Public Prosecutions.

It is alleged that she netted more than €2,000 from the thefts.

The Romanian girl, who is residing in west Dublin, arrived in Ireland in February and has since been the subject of a number of arrests for stealing money, €200 in all instances, from people at ATMs.

Hardly an urban legend.

See this article in the newspaper (http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x283/gurra2011/Misc/DSCN0159.jpg ).
    Its not related to Roma kids but verifies that all skimming at ATM's that has occurred in this country has been committed by ahem 'non-nationals'.

Miss Dillon of the IPSO(Irish Payment Services Organisation) states that 'The gangs come into the country for a few days and leave. They travel around the country. Every single county in Ireland has been hit. The people involved tend to be Eastern European. No Irish people have been involved to date

Hardly an urban legend.

Look more liars for you to chastise Monkeyfudge :

http://www.politics.ie/viewtopic.php?t=20012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

I found a similar case from portadown.
    www.portadowntimes.co.uk
    I notice that the women arrested have addresses in Dublin

Is that article about ATM fraud from the Daily Mail? hehe

So what happened to the card then? The money wouldn't come out unless the card had been removed. Who removed the card and where did it go?

Was wondering that myself.

gurramok wrote: »
    Racism i hear?

See this from breaking news(http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfcwqlkfau/), it involves a 15 yr old Romanian boy(whether Roma or not) committing said scam on ATM's

Hardly an urban legend.

Another involving a 12yr old Romanian girl(whether Roma or not)
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfeyqlkfey/

Hardly an urban legend.

See this article in the newspaper (http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x283/gurra2011/Misc/DSCN0159.jpg ).
    Its not related to Roma kids but verifies that all skimming at ATM's that has occurred in this country has been committed by ahem 'non-nationals'.

Miss Dillon of the IPSO(Irish Payment Services Organisation) states that 'The gangs come into the country for a few days and leave. They travel around the country. Every single county in Ireland has been hit. The people involved tend to be Eastern European. No Irish people have been involved to date

Hardly an urban legend.

I think the issue here is the racial sterotyping I've got a hundred stories just like those cept the person doing all the bad things is Irish and no one wants to here about that. The crap in the last paragraph no Irish people have been involve to date is just that crap - those ATM scams were happening long before the big influx of people from eastern europe and else where it just makes for nice headlines now as it plays on peoples fear and racism.

I still haven't heard what happened to the bank card.

There's actually some good advice in that Snopes article by the way on staying safe at a bank machine.
    There are precautions folks can take to lessen their chances of being victimized when using ATM or cashpoint machines. While some work to protect users from having their financial information stolen and others to lessen the chances of being mugged at the machines, they all bear taking to heart:

* Always shield your PIN from prying eyes. Use your body to block anyone's view of the keypad, or cup your non-keying hand over the pad as you use it. Do this whether you're at an ATM, a gas pump, or inside a store.

* Don't use an ATM if people insist upon standing around it. Politely ask them to move aside, and if they refuse, go somewhere else. If you find yourself being crowded while in the middle of a transaction, hit the "Cancel" button, remove the card from the machine and go elsewhere.

* Don't use any ATM that appears to be out of the ordinary. Turn up your nose at cashpoints sporting signs affixed to the machines or instruction screens asking you to do things that don't seem right (such as entering your PIN multiple times). Report these discrepancies immediately to the bank in question or the police.

* Get into the habit of using the same ATM for almost all of your transactions so as to better recognize when something is different with the machine. Be wary of any changes you see on its outside. If the ATM is affixed to a bank, walk in and ask why the changes were made.

* Never take advice from "helpful" strangers about how to get your card back if an ATM keeps it. Report a machine-trapped card to your bank as soon as possible so that the card can be deactivated if it is was not kept for legitimate reasons.

and watch out for jedi street urchins who can remove your card and money using the force

God damn younglings... they can read your PIN right out of your mind as well.

ztoical wrote: »
    I think the issue here is the racial sterotyping I've got a hundred stories just like those cept the person doing all the bad things is Irish and no one wants to here about that. The crap in the last paragraph no Irish people have been involve to date is just that crap - those ATM scams were happening long before the big influx of people from eastern europe and else where it just makes for nice headlines now as it plays on peoples fear and racism.

Why is it crap when the watchdog IPSO disagrees with you?

Of course Irish people have robbed others from ATM's. Can you find proof that Irish people have been involved in skimming? (now i say skimming not a junkie holding his syringe to an ATM user type robbery)

The sophisticated ATM car skimming has been reported as primarily carried out by non-nationals, it's been highlighted as fact and you deny it.

Why is it crap when the watchdog IPSO disagrees with you?

Of course Irish people have robbed others from ATM's. Can you find proof that Irish people have been involved in skimming? (now i say skimming not a junkie holding his syringe to an ATM user type robbery)

The sophisticated ATM car skimming has been reported as primarily carried out by non-nationals, it's been highlighted as fact and you deny it.

I don't deny that non-nationals have carried it out but I think your over sensationalising it as it plays on peoples fears of the big evil eastern european. Can you prove that no irish person has ever been involved in skimming? The roma and other eastern europeans are becoming the irish version of the fear of attack by a black man in the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I would assume that the person grabbing the money is standing to the side of the machine that the money is dispensed on and couldn't reach across to the side that the card comes out without being noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

i just got bank from the bank machine and it gave me the money first and then it spit out my card. Think it was a TSB one.

the south americans are great for the aul scams. such precision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

There's actually some good advice in that Snopes article by the way on staying safe at a bank machine.
    I agree with ya here monkeyfudge...

breakingnews.ie seem to have left out an important part of the story.

Bold bit is left out:
    Card entered, pin entered, amount entered, card removed, money given

There's always a delay of a couple of seconds between entering the amount, the bank authorising the transaction, the card coming out, the card being removed and the money coming out...

I'd imagine it'd be difficult to distract someone from one side long enough for the guy on the other side to enter the amount, wait for the transaction to be authorised, wait for the card to come out, remove the card, wait for the money to come out and then grab the money...

The first post makes it sound like they just noticed someone touching the keypad and were pissing down Henry st with it in a split second...

Too many holes in that story for me to believe it...

Although having said that the ATMs in places like Spar and Centra sometimes ask you to put your card in and remove them before going about the transaction. It'd be slightly less time and you wouldn't have to worry about the card being taken out to steal money but those also have to wait for the transaction to be authorised before the money comes out... Plus you're in a shop, probably surrounded by people and if there's small Roma kids hanging around an ATM in this day and age I'd imagine the manager and staff would be wary of them and usually kick them out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

It's hardly innovative. People should be aware of this sh*t when they use an ATM anyway ffs. I would've actually slapped the sh*t out of the kid.

I don't deny that non-nationals have carried it out but I think your over sensationalising it as it plays on peoples fears of the big evil eastern european. Can you prove that no irish person has ever been involved in skimming? The roma and other eastern europeans are becoming the irish version of the fear of attack by a black man in the US

LOL...so you put onus on me to prove no Irish person has been involved in skimming yet its me digging up info to prove you wrong.
    There have been no newspaper or court reports of Irish people involved in such activity, can you dig up such info? (hint: try a google search)

Irish people ram raiding ATM's with JCB's don't count as we are specifically talking about skimming.

The IPSO of which every single banking institution in this coutry operates has membership disagree with you and proclaim no Irish person has been involved, yet you call them liars! :D

Your the one playing the race card, i'm highlighting a tiny minority of foreigners who are involved in skimming activity.
    In case your wondering, I work with 7 hard working eastern europeans so try not to play the race card on that one.

LOL...so you put onus on me to prove no Irish person has been involved in skimming yet its me digging up info to prove you wrong.
    There have been no newspaper or court reports of Irish people involved in such activity, can you dig up such info? (hint: try a google search)

Irish people ram raiding ATM's with JCB's don't count as we are specifically talking about skimming.

The IPSO of which every single banking institution in this coutry operates has membership disagree with you and proclaim no Irish person has been involved, yet you call them liars! :D

Your the one playing the race card, i'm highlighting a tiny minority of foreigners who are involved in skimming activity.
    In case your wondering, I work with 7 hard working eastern europeans so try not to play the race card on that one.

I was trying to keep this on topic with the OP - with the telling of that story it shouldn't matter what race the children are - same goes for all the skimming and what not going on with. My issue isn't wither or not people are scamming ATM's they are but the fact that alot of people on this thread started sharing stories of "i saw this roma do this" or "i heard this story about a roma.." Monkyfudge posted a good list of what you should be doing at ATMs to protect yourself from fraud - people should go and read that rather then freaking out about hoards of roma children coming to rob them.

And do I call the ipso lairs? I guess I do as I think its very brave/foolish to stand up and say never about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

I used to watch a program on UK TV about how to avoid being scammed. They actually showed you how they can skim your ATM card. In the UK it is easier as we have swipe cards to top up our mobiles. (you give the card over, say how much you want and they swipe it then the credit goes straight to your phone)

They attached a fake card reader to a ATM machine in a spar in London, went back a few hours later, removed it and then took it back to the lab. They got one of the top up cards, attached it to a PC via a card reader and reprogrammed it with one of the numbers scanned from the dummy reader.

They then went to a ATM and drew out £500 with it! Seriously! It was called the sting or something. They used to show you loads of scams and how the con artists do it so you would know how to aviod them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Heh.
    I know a guy who did that. He's in jail now.
    Heroin addiction + owning a JCB = tomfoolery.

I was trying to keep this on topic with the OP - with the telling of that story it shouldn't matter what race the children are - same goes for all the skimming and what not going on with. My issue isn't wither or not people are scamming ATM's they are but the fact that alot of people on this thread started sharing stories of "i saw this roma do this" or "i heard this story about a roma.." Monkyfudge posted a good list of what you should be doing at ATMs to protect yourself from fraud - people should go and read that rather then freaking out about hoards of roma children coming to rob them.

And do I call the ipso lairs? I guess I do as I think its very brave/foolish to stand up and say never about anything.

Well, if alot of people are reporting stories especially with backup from courts/gardai/newspaper reporting of such reports, then its an issue wth certain Roma children involved in such activity.
    Scamming(which i cannot verify myself but go by the courts and gardai events) and aggressive begging by them(i have seen this) are a day-to-day issue with the Roma community, just have a walk around the city centre and you'll see them.

I'd rather believe IPSO than yourself on the skimming reports, hope i'm proved wrong when Irish gangs start skimming which hasn't happened yet that we know of.
    Ipso and the Garda recently issued a Christmas warning that organised criminal gangs, mainly from eastern Europe, have already stolen more than €3.5 million this year by skimming.

To sum up as someone said, if your at an ATM, you have to be careful and have common sense no matter what nationality of a person is around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Myth wrote: »
    Although this doesn't add any validity to the below story, Ulster Bank ATMs get you to put in your card and take it out at the start, so there is no delay when you're getting money back.

That last one I used didn't, but it was also so old it had a green and black screen, was made by AT&T and I suspect was steam powered...

Are you thinking of their little Easycash ATMs? All the brands of those - Ulster, BOI, AIB - make you do the card swipe but its for mag stripe cards only - all of them have to hold on to the chip cards because being able to read the info off them would defeat the entire purpose of the chip (the smartcard does the actual encoding work itself during the transaction).

Terry wrote: »
    Heh.
    I know a guy who did that. He's in jail now.
    Heroin addiction + owning a JCB = tomfoolery.

Hehe, Irish gangs tend to do the up front physical violent approach on ATM's rather than the cunning and sly approach of the foreign gangs(clarification for ztoical, so far they are 'foreign' :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

Just remembered the name of that show! It was called The Real Hustle. Here are some vids to show how easy it is to skim ATM machines!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxFA3FlcOo8 Fake ATM Card Reader
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtOJGd0Y7s4 Fake machine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2G45jiJuDYM Card Switch

The last one could easily be done in Dublin as there are lots of 'people' begging on crutches.