Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TM Glock 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey1666

Irish Ek wrote: »
    hey guys. lookin at gettin a pistol in the next few days and am wonderin if ye have any suggestions? have been lookin at the Tokyo Marui Glock 17 from airsofteire.com? do any of ye have any experience with this? reliability, accuracy and just overall performance?? also is it strippable for cleanin purposes etc? and what els would i need to purchase (gas wise, size/amount of bb's?) thanks for any info...

http://www.airsofteire.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=48&category_id=21&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=26

That looks pretty good and the reviews say its a really good gun. Otherwise you'll need green gas and alot of pellets preferabley 3000 to start with.

http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=41
    http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

green gas could damage that if its abs, 134a might be better

:cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Joey1666 wrote: »
    That looks pretty good and the reviews say its a really good gun. Otherwise you'll need green gas and alot of pellets preferabley 3000 to start with.

BBs. Airguns fire pellets. They're made of lead. BBs are plastic. Big difference ;)
    blay1 wrote: »
    green gas could damage that if its abs, 134a might be better

Very true. General idea is that you don't use green gas in any Japanese pistol. (As most of them are abs and it can't take the stresses). They do however work just as well with less powerful gasses as they're tuned for it.

The pistol has "Takes standard 134a gas or green gas" in its spec list.

I just assumed. my bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Irish Ek

Very true. General idea is that you don't use green gas in any Japanese pistol. (As most of them are abs and it can't take the stresses). They do however work just as well with less powerful gasses as they're tuned for it.[/quote]

is there a reason why u dont use green gas guys?? if i was to use the less powerful gasses (TM 134a), would this have any affect on the gun? make it less powerful/ accurate etc... Are Tokyo Marui a good gun to get? would the ABS plastic be sturdy enough? sorry for all the questions, im new to this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Green gas is generally only used in a GBB with a metal slide, that gun will be grand on 134a don't worry, Tokyo Marui are the best brand many will tell you, that glock is lovely has great night sights and all

Master of the Universe

zero19 wrote: »
    is there a reason why u dont use green gas guys?? if i was to use the less powerful gasses (TM 134a), would this have any affect on the gun? make it less powerful/ accurate etc... Are Tokyo Marui a good gun to get? would the ABS plastic be sturdy enough? sorry for all the questions, im new to this!!

I just told you! :p It's because the plastic internals of Japanese gas blowbacks cant handle the power of green. So you use less powerful gas. But they're tuned to use that, so it doesnt matter.

Tokyo Marui make brilliant AEGs. Other companies make better pistols though. If you want a glock, the best brand to get is KSC. (Also known as KWA) They can take green gas or propane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

only bad thing about TM is that they done make metal guns, not a big deal on the glock though since the real one is mostly a type of plastic too.,

Master of the Universe

vtec wrote: »
    only bad thing about TM is that they done make metal guns, not a big deal on the glock though since the real one is mostly a type of plastic too.,

As I was just saying, glock = KSC. forget about Marui ;)

Master of the Universe

o1s1n wrote: »
    Yes it is.

Great great. sorry for stearing the topic off.

It might be worth mentioning that finding M9 parts is like looking for hens teeth these days. so much so i just gave up and stick to my HFC one instead., the SIGs, USPs and glocks seem to be a lot easier to get parts for.,

I plan on trying not to break it :)

But good point and to be honest i dont have a clue yet.

I plan on trying not to break it :)

But good point and to be honest i dont have a clue yet.

lol, i dont think any of us plan in breaking them but sh*t happens huh.,:D
    their a great pistol though, i prefer the looks of the M9 over everything else.,

lol, i dont think any of us plan in breaking them but sh*t happens huh.,:D
    their a great pistol though, i prefer the looks of the M9 over everything else.,

Heh yeah i think this will be my first :)

o1s1n wrote: »
    I just told you! :p It's because the plastic internals of Japanese gas blowbacks cant handle the power of green. So you use less powerful gas. But they're tuned to use that, so it doesnt matter.

Tokyo Marui make brilliant AEGs. Other companies make better pistols though. If you want a glock, the best brand to get is KSC. (Also known as KWA) They can take green gas or propane.

thanks for the replies guys. i want a glock 17, as similar to the real thing as i can, cos i was firearms training recently with a glock 17 in switzerland and i loved it. when i decided on the glock, it was a toss between the the tokyo marui (airsofteire) and kwa (eirsoft) versions. i chose the tokyo marui version as i thought it would be better (cos it was 50euro more expensive??). would the kwa version be better for relaibility etc so?? woul it be more realistic (it dosent look realistic on eirsoft's website??) thanks...

http://www.airsofteire.com/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=shop.flypage&product_id=48&category_id=21&manufacturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=26
    http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_reviews_info.php?products_id=85&reviews_id=91

dont mind the pics, they looks grand in the flesh, Although id go for something like a G18c but you obviously have your reasons for going with the G17.,

theyre two different guns.

Airsoft : Tokyo Marui Glock G17 (3rd Gen)
    Eirsoft : KWA Glock 17 Railed

No 3rd gen on second one.

Airsoft: length = 186mm
    Eirsoft: length = 202mm

Different lengths.

Airsoft: Holds 25 rounds
    Eirsoft: Holds 23 rounds

Different capacitys.

All in all it looks like the more expensive one gives you some extras. You should delve into the €100-110 pistols on eirsoft. theyre pretty nice. But not glock 17

Master of the Universe

KSC and KWA are the same company. How it works is - KSC are made for Japan, KWA are made for export. So certain things are left off the KWA version due to copywrite. As far as I know, it doesn't have the trigger safety. The KSC one does though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

I've got a TM and a KSC 17 and would definatly recommend the TM.

Both are third generation (grip and rail), have working trigger safeties and are excellent copies but the TM comes with optional night sights and a definate two stage trigger (if you've shot the real version, you'll know exactly what I mean).

Both are very accurate but I think the TM might be slightly more so.

I only use 134a gas as green is a bit too powerful for it.

both are fully strippable.

I use a G17 at work and the TM is ideal for trigger control and drill training as it's such a great copy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

two stage trigger (if you've shot the real version, you'll know exactly what I mean).

That's cool...I didn't realise that. I didn't think any airsoft pistols had that feature.

yeah. you pull it back and take up the first stage slack, then the trigger pull gets heavier and you have to increase pressure to fire.. the KSC unfortunatly don't do that..it's just one smooth pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

I use a G17 at work and the TM is ideal for trigger control and drill training as it's such a great copy.

I use a leatherman at work and feel somewhat emasculated right now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

yeah. you pull it back and take up the first stage slack, then the trigger pull gets heavier and you have to increase pressure to fire.. the KSC unfortunatly don't do that..it's just one smooth pull.

Yeah, I've used the real 17 and liked that feature a lot. I think I'll be getting myself a TM :)

Master of the Universe

The KWA doesn't, the KSC does. Okay I've never fired a real pistol, but I have my g19 here. It has the safety blade. You pull once, get to a point where you feel resistance, then have to pull again harder.

It's what I was saying previously about KSC/KWA. The KWAs had the feature taken away for export. That's why I didn't buy one from eirsoft :(

yeah, it's real good. if you're up in the aim and want a nice smooth shot, it's brilliant..

And after taking a shot. if you let the trigger out slowly, you can hear the trigger click to reset and theres no need to let the trigger all the way out. with practice, it's easy to get used to firing rapidly aimed shots with the the trigger only going back to the reset point.

It really is a great copy

Master of the Universe

And after taking a shot. if you let the trigger out slowly, you can hear the trigger click to reset and theres no need to let the trigger all the way out. with practice, it's easy to get used to firing rapidly aimed shots with the the trigger only going back to the reset point.

N.O.I.P was only telling me about that the other night. Never thought of trying it out with an airsoft pistol. It works alright.

do you mean, after you pull the trigger safety, the trigger pulls back a small bit then you get resistance or just resistance after you pulled the safety bar?

what job do you do? :D

plases dont say the guards :p

Master of the Universe

do you mean, after you pull the trigger safety, the trigger pulls back a small bit then you get resistance or just resistance after you pulled the safety bar?

Sounds like you said the same thing twice? :confused:

You ease the trigger back, you feel resistance then you pull again and it fires.

why not the guards?...lol

Im in the market for a Glock too and was gonna go with either the G18c or that ugly bastid STi from MIA, (it makes up for it in firepower).,
    I never heard about the 2 stage strigger in airsoft, this TM G17 sounds good.,

why not the guards?...lol

the guards dont use glocks :p

"do you mean, after you pull the trigger safety, the trigger pulls back a small bit then you get resistance or just resistance after you pulled the safety bar?"

I've just re-read it... it made sense in my head, trust me. I knew what I meant...

My appologies

blay1 wrote: »
    what job do you do? :D

plases dont say the guards :p

the cops use 38s, and i know a fella in ERU and they dont use glocks either, they use sig saurs (sp). If anything it would have to be a private hitman :D or british cops or something.,SO19/CO19 and the like.,

i know they dont use glocks that why i said "dont say the guards":D

i'm not a guard.. UK police..

I've got a TM and a KSC 17 and would definatly recommend the TM.

Both are third generation (grip and rail), have working trigger safeties and are excellent copies but the TM comes with optional night sights and a definate two stage trigger (if you've shot the real version, you'll know exactly what I mean).

Both are very accurate but I think the TM might be slightly more so.

I only use 134a gas as green is a bit too powerful for it.

both are fully strippable.

sorted!! (i think?!). wanted to get a pistol that was as accurate to the real thing as could be got, and with the two stage trigger the TM version sounds like the one to go for. so youd def recommend it ya?! i know its only made of abs plastic but does it still feel solid?? thanks....
    so what kind of work you in to to say you usin a glock?!

i'm not a guard.. UK police..

did you post on the "should the gardai be armed" thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

i have the KWA Glock 18 with the trigger saftey almost sure its has the 2 stage trigger ,i find it better than the TM

Master of the Universe

Gatling wrote: »
    i have the KWA Glock 18 with the trigger saftey

If it has the trigger safety it must be the KSC version then. Where'd you buy it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AirsoftEire.com

The TM Glock 17 is very solid in your hand, the plastic doesn't even look like plastic; it has a nice matt finish with authentic trades. Seperate glow-in-the-dark sights are also included which are a nice touch.

Our site does say that you can use green gas or 134a gas, primarily because the ambient temperature in Ireland never causes green gas to operate at its full pressure (for at least 9 months of the year anyway). You will also find that 134a gas is very ineffective with our current temperatures (around 8-12*C) in a skirmish. 134a is so popular in Japan because it is better suited to their climate. Although the Glock 17 is optimised for 134a, there is no real problem with using green gas with our temperatures.

I often find that green gas won't even fully cycle my KSC USPs metal slide with outdoor temperatures.

Anyways, 0.2g BBs are also fine for the TM Glock 17.

Steve

I've just got in and checked out both my KSC and the TM

I was wrong, the KSC does have a very small first stage, ... about a millimetre or two of slack before the second stage. The TM one has an obvious first stage, about 8-10 millimetres of idle pull and I much prfer this one.

The piece feels nice in the hand and seems to have a stronger recoil spring when racking than the KSC..

Maybe the only option would be to either get to a skirmish site or somewhere like MIA where you could try before you buy...
    did you post on the "should the gardai be armed" thread?
    Yeah, I've joined the debate...

Master of the Universe

Which KSC glock are you testing? is it a 17?

My 19 has about 8-10mm of slack too.

Maybe the only option would be to either get to a skirmish site or somewhere like MIA where you could try before you buy....

Yep, always the best option. I've yet to come across a person at a skirmish who didn't want to show their gear off.

Yeah, a 17... It's about 2 years old now so maybe it's an older model... maybe the new ones have been improved...

Yeah, I've joined the debate...

yeah i tthought i knew you from somewhere! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭BFSL

definate two stage trigger (if you've shot the real version, you'll know exactly what I mean).

I use a G34 for practical pistol and target, just slightly longer than the G17 they have a terrible long creep from the factory but that can be modified to some degree but I have never seen a Glock with a 2 stage trigger, this is because of the safe action that is built in.

It's called the New York trigger set up because the NYPD apparently requested it. It's an adaption/replacement of the trigger spring module and used mainly in law enforcement pistols.

They wanted the first stage to disengage inital the internal safeties and prepare the firing pin, with the heavier second stage to drop the cruciform and fire the shot. The rationale being that the heavier pull would result in fewer accidental discharges. It's possible that your pistol, being for practical pistol and non LE, has a standard trigger set up...

I've just read on a Glock website that the single stage of the RS Glocks is exactly 10mm so that will show you how realistic these pieces are.

on that note, the TM has full Glock markings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

My Walther P99 has a two stage trigger which is half the reason I bought it. It makes purposely aimed shots a lot more accurate with the first trigger pull. Since getting it, my groupings have closed in dramatically over my old Sig