Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"No dogs Allowed"

• 23-01-2008 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭

Another fecked up Anti-Goth Story from the UK.

===================================================================

Goth who walks fiancée on a leash is banned by bus driver who told
    him: 'No dogs allowed'

By CHRIS BROOKE - More by this author » Last updated at 20:12pm on
    22nd January 2008

Given that she describes herself as a human pet – and is happy to walk
    around on a lead – Tasha Maltby is used to odd looks and even odder
    remarks.

But nothing had prepared her for the reaction of the bus driver who
    allegedly told the self-styled Goth and her boyfriend: "We don't let
    freaks and dogs like you on."

Miss Maltby and her fiance Dani Graves were so angered they have
    complained to the bus company of being "victimised".

Scroll down for more...
    Goths

Going walkies: Dani Graves and girlfriend Tasha Maltby were allegedly
    barred from a bus

"It is definitely discrimination, almost like a hate crime,"
    19-year-old Miss Maltby said yesterday.

The music technology student had this defence of her lifestyle.

"I am a pet, I generally act animal like and I lead a really easy
    life," she said.

"I don't cook or clean and I don't go anywhere without Dani. It might
    seem strange but it makes us both happy. It's my culture and my
    choice. It isn't hurting anyone."

The bus driver, however, has obviously not been listening.

He has repeatedly refused to allow Mr Graves, 25, and his "pet" on to
    his bus in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire.

Last month, with Miss Maltby on a leash as usual, the couple tried to
    board a bus at the bus station.

The driver, who was off duty, was standing near the door.

Mr Graves alleged: "He shoved me off the bus. He called us freaks and
    he called Tasha a dog.

"He said, 'We don't let freaks and dogs like you on'.

"He basically grabbed my T-shirt and slammed me backwards.

"I got a bit angry and called him a fascist pig."

In a separate incident, police were called when the driver, who has
    not been named, refused to allow other passengers on board after the
    couple ignored his orders and sat down.

The couple, who live on benefits in a council house and plan to start
    a family, have been friends for years.

They started going out together in July and became engaged in November.

Paul Adcock, of bus company Arriva Yorkshire, said: "We take any
    allegations of discrimination seriously.

"Mr Graves has already contacted us directly and as soon as our
    investigation has concluded we will inform him of the outcome."

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=509713&in_page_id=1770

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

This thread gives them the one thing they want.

Attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

Too...many...doggie style...jokes...must...resist....!!!
    The music technology student
    I generally act animal like and I lead a really easy
    life," she said. "I don't cook or clean

So pretty much the average student then? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I honestly don't think this is discrimination. If she wants to act like a dog then prepare to be treated like one. She is playing a role and the driver is playing one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I'l give you another fecked up anti goth story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Yup, they are looking for attention walking around like that, dont think your man was justified though.

TBH, I think most people would react in fairly similar ways, so I think an apology from the bus company and maybe a free years pass or something would suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

That girl goth no self respect....

i'll get my coat....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I wish I had a human pet :(

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    I'l give you another fecked up anti goth story!

Why is it "another fecked up anti goth story!"? is being lead around on a lead and acting like an animal the norm within the Goth community?*** It seems to me that he had an issue with that and not with them being Goths, I think his reaction would have been the same for members of any sub-culture (Goths/Emo's/Chavs/Hippys etc) of society.

***Just to point out I've nothing against Goths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Goth chicks are hot, not dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

at least they didnt try kill everyone in the local school or something like most goths...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

That was just stupid of the driver. Didn't he realize that refusing these people would just open a major can of worms and would ineivitably get reported? Would it have killed him to just bite his lip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

bus drivers hold the right to refuse anyone for there own reasons...
    as i found out myself, i wore baggy pants a hoddy and a baseball cap.... he thought i was a thug and didnt want me on his bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

*Page* wrote: »
    as i found out myself, i wore baggy pants a hoddy and a baseball cap.... he thought i was a thug and didnt want me on his bus

They do not have a right is physically assault you by forcefully grabbing you and pulling you off the bus, the same was a bouncer or security guard can't legally lay a finger on you only the Garda here and the Police in the UK can and them only if you have or are suspected of committing a crime.
    I've heard of people winning assault cases for less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

*Page* wrote: »

Really? I hate bus drivers. Not letting someone on is one thing, but calling someone a dog is another.

Pretty sad though - a human pet..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

The Queen wrote: »
    Really? I hate bus drivers. Not letting someone on is one thing, but calling someone a dog is another.

Pretty sad though - a human pet..

but she wears a leash and she thinks she is an animal, so what wrong with calling her the name of what she wishes to be?..

but the bus driver shouldnt of pushing her and what not, he went a few steps to far imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

A Goth is not just for Christmas...

...if you carve and store it right it will last you well into the New Year...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I wonder if she was one of the really sexy goths, or one of the more seen fat rotten ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

FunkZ wrote: »
    I wonder if she was one of the really sexy goths, or one of the more seen fat rotten ones?

See HERE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wait. She acts like a dog all day, wants to be treated like a dog, yet when she does get treated like a dog, she complains?

Moron.

6th wrote: »
    See HERE.

Should she not legally be wearing a muzzel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

seamus wrote: »
    Wait. She acts like a dog all day, wants to be treated like a dog, yet when she does get treated like a dog, she complains?

Moron.

Good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

She should be neutered

6th wrote: »
    Good point.

But are dogs actually barred from buses in the UK? (or even here for that matter :confused: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Just remember to keep it out of direct sun light at all time.....
    boneless wrote: »
    A Goth is not just for Christmas...

...if you carve and store it right it will last you well into the New Year...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Baudelaire wrote: »
    But are dogs actually barred from buses in the UK? (or even here for that matter :confused: )

the dog thing is purely at the bus drivers discretion, here at least

was hoping to read that the bus driver chased her off the bus with a rolled up newspaper :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

biko wrote: »
    Goth chicks are hot, not dogs.

Riiighhht.... :rolleyes:

There are good looking girls who unfortunately become goths. Luckily most grow out of it by 19 odd.

This girl and her man are clearly fcuktards (she is getting married at 19 after going with the guy for 4 odd months ffs). The bus company should bar them for life. The driver had a point tbh, I can imagine some kids crying the whole journey in fear of these two.

edit- looked at the photo. **** me, he even gives me the creeps.

The girl would get hittage if she had a wash and dressed normally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    The girl would get hittage if she had a wash and dressed normally.

Dressed Normally?
    I'm the last person to stand up for attention seeking kids but what the hell are you babbling about?

Wossack wrote: »
    the dog thing is purely at the bus drivers discretion, here at least

was hoping to read that the bus driver chased her off the bus with a rolled up newspaper :(

Or a bucket of water :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Dressed Normally?
    I'm the last person to stand up for attention seeking kids but what the hell are you babbling about?

Alright then.

I substitute the word "normally" for "attractively"

The have a wash point still stands. Ive had meals in KFC with less grease than her hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭denashpot

sick puppies' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

That's ruff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Baudelaire wrote: »
    Or a bucket of water :D

he was prolly too afraid of getting splash back when she did the shake-dry thing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

a family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

seamus wrote: »

Moron.

Pretty much what i was going to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

freaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

1) I think they look cool.

2) That chick is kinda hot. In a weird way.

3) Does this make me one who is into beastality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Wonder does she **** on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Naos wrote: »
    2) That chick is kinda hot. In a weird way.

I would hit it.
    Like the fist of an angry god.

tbh wrote: »
    a family

Maybe they should have replaced "start a family" with "start a litter" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Combine:
    1. she gets walked around by her partner on a leash
    2. they live on benefits in a council house
    3. they've time to make this big a fuss over the incident

What a pair of attention-whoring-feckless wasters! I'm sure they probably also claim that it's because of society being unwilling to accept their lifestyle that they don't work for a living.

Real goths I've no problem with but most of the ones I see about are clearly just at it for the shock factor and the attention, as such I just see them as immature little twits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

Regardless, they shouldn't have been kicked off the bus!

They seem alright to me tbh:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/check/player/nol/newsid_7200000/newsid_7205800?redirect=7205835.stm&news=1&bbwm=1&nbwm=1&bbram=1&nbram=1
    (BBC News interview)

..and let me just say, I find the amount of venom in this thread totally baffling. Get over yourselves!