Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sage Francis- Threewrite 'remix'

• 23-01-2008 12:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

Hi was wondering if anyone could help me out, i recently left my MP3 player on a plane losing all my music, im trying to put the collection back together, there's one song i cant seem to find its sage francis threewrite remix, have searched everywhere for it to no avail,
    it starts with a soundbite form the film Donnie darko i think, it goes,
    'Now im gonna tell you a little story, its a painfully dsad story about a younng man looking for love in all the wrong places, his name was Frank'
    Has a very distinctive beat which may have been mixed by 'the Expert' from MJEX, any help would be very appreciated,
    thanks,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭conor2007

never heard of it

but what song was it in by mjex?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL-mjuwl93g&feature=related

that it - hasnt got the intro = but the expert did use it and its kinds like the title you described

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I haven't heard this song by Sage before. Anyone know where I can find some of his cd's in Dublin?

I have a about 10 mp3's that I got off his site a few years ago but I'm looking for more of his stuff. :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

it wasnt really an MJEX song, the Ex done a remix for Sage (as did a lot of other people) for some competion.

It was posted on the ye olde Creative Controle web site many moons ago but i havnt seen it since. I'll be seeing Ex this weekend and see if he has it lying around anywhere...he owes me a favour :)

Joe Robot -> If you want to pick up any Sage stuff, Tower is probably your best bet, it'll probably have his last 2 albums which where good but not up to alot of peoples standard. I would suggest trying to get your hands on Personal Journals, Road Tested or Still Sick (urine Trouble) or Sick of Waiting...you'll have to buy on-line for them though.

Jaysus - Nearly forgot....if your looking for a Sage CD, pick up Hope by Non-Prophets...Sage on lyrics and Joe Beats on production...its a fantastic listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    it wasnt really an MJEX song, the Ex done a remix for Sage (as did a lot of other people) for some competion.

It was posted on the ye olde Creative Controle web site many moons ago but i havnt seen it since. I'll be seeing Ex this weekend and see if he has it lying around anywhere...he owes me a favour :)

Joe Robot -> If you want to pick up any Sage stuff, Tower is probably your best bet, it'll probably have his last 2 albums which where good but not up to alot of peoples standard. I would suggest trying to get your hands on Personal Journals, Road Tested or Still Sick (urine Trouble) or Sick of Waiting...you'll have to buy on-line for them though.

Jaysus - Nearly forgot....if your looking for a Sage CD, pick up Hope by Non-Prophets...Sage on lyrics and Joe Beats on production...its a fantastic listen.

Cheers, actually the non-prophets stuff is my favourite. I have some of the live tracks, can't remember where I got them online though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 headzilla

Boom-Bap if you could get your hands on a copy of it id be forever in your dept, iv managed to get my hands on two or three other versions and none come close to the experts, the beat fits the song so perfectly! i hope he won it,
    ye i got hold of it on the old creative site, Sage sounds similiar enough to Messiah J.
    Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 itstheexpert

Hey,

Was sent a link to this conversation so I thought I'd join and help yiz out.

I did remix "Threewrite" for Sage for this competition he was having. I actually did two versions. One was an old beat I had (double bass & horns etc..) that was a song by MJEX that never made the cut. Sage really like it and talk of being on the original MJEX track was discussed but it never materialised unfortunately.
    The second remix I started from scratch specifically for the song (acoustic guitar, strings & bells etc...) A day or two after I put it up on the old website I took it down as Sage wasn't that into it and MJ & I loved it so we wrote a song to it called "Good Samaritan" which hasn't found it's way onto anything yet but it will one day!

So let us know which one it was and i'll try and find it and upload it for ya.

It was definitely up on the creative control website, thats where i got it, What really stood out was the best, without a doubt the best version of the song iv ever heard, would be great if you could upload it expert, one of those songs id listen to everyday

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That expert fella is such a nice lad.

Have greta time for the two lads, there's alot of dribble on the Irish Hip Hop scene, they're doing their upmost to give it a good name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 itstheexpert

headzilla,

I was just wondering which version you are talking about. Was the beat mainly comprised of

1) drums/bass/strings and horns ...kinda 1993 era straight banging hip hop or

2) drums/bass/strings/bell type loop and acoustic guitar...softer more emotional ??

Cheers.

Pretty sure it was the second one with the Accoustic guitar, defo more emotional than the other versions iv heard,
    Thanks Expert appreciate this again