Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Camera - 8mph over - F*cking Extortion

• 22-01-2008 2:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

I feel no guilt or remorse. I feel angry and resentful.

I have four points on my license from the speed camera at lucan. On both occasions the road was completely empty and I was clocked doing 93 in an 80! Both times!!
    Is this a fix??

I did 93kmph on a completely empty 3 lane road and got done. 8 mph over the limit! I was up from the West on rare visits. One was New Years Day two years ago. The other was 0330hrs before Xmas. I have never had an accident in 10 years of driving. I am not a speed merchant or boy racer. Gay Byrne can shove the summons up his arse until such time as he comes to Galway and stops the weekend drag races on the dual carriage way near where I live. This is such Irish hypocracy.

The speed limit is completely inappropriate. I want my road tax, VRT, duty on petrol, road tolls, VAT and exorbitant insurnance charges back as well as my vote in last election as I believe they were all collected under false pretenses!

Can anything be done about this farce of a sytem??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

13kmph over the limit ;)

Look, ffs it's not the end of the world. Watch the speed next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I got done for being 8kmph over it at the ****ing spa hotel :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Speeding is speeding at the end of the day. Theres not one rule for you and one for everyone else and 8Mph is a lot in fairness. If you had of said 2-3mph, yeah I'd say the camera was calibrated arseways or something..

Put it this way, if your wages were short €8 next week would you go ah sure feck that its only €8 or would you think that was a lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Why dont u just do whateveryone else does?

Wait for the ticket to go to summons and stand up in court and say "Judge, I never recieved it in the post"

I'm not saying this is the right thing to do but everyone else does why shouldnt u?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

It's one of the most known cameras in Dublin...

Just slow down to 80 like the rest of us, indeed it's stupid as hell but if you pay attention you shouldnt get caught.

Hard luck man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭woodseb

your speedo always overestimates what speed you are doing, so it was probably reading close to 100kmh, while in a 80km zone, its a fair cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

There was a TV ad that showed the difference between hitting a young girl at 30MPH and 40MPH, 10 MPH makes a huge difference in stopping distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

And the road is only two lanes where the speed camera is.

To quote Denis Leary "life sucks, get a helmet".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Yip - have to agree - the speed limit is the speed limit.

While it's frustrating to have an inappropriately slow speed limit on that road, it very well signposted, so it's not like we don't have fair warning.

I was done at the same spot back in the MPH days (I think I was caught for 58MPH in what was then a 50MPH zone). I paid my fine and have never broken the speed limit on that road since.

Not that it's any consolation to the OP, but I drive that road almost daily, and I don't ever recall seeing an accident on that part of the road (I'm open to correction), so maybe that speed trap is actually saving lives.

Food for thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The speed camera is well known, you can get below 80 from anywhere up to 110 in the time you see the lines *at night* and you still got caught? Twice?!

But yes, that road should be 100 along the entire grade seperate section. They need to close the median breaches and do something about left in, left outs at Kew Park and just before the Spa outbound first though - they're dangerous enough at 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

woodseb wrote: »
    your speedo always overestimates what speed you are doing, so it was probably reading close to 100kmh, while in a 80km zone, its a fair cop

Your speedo always overestimates your speed? where have you gotten your facts from??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

listermint wrote: »
    Your speedo always overestimates your speed? where have you gotten your facts from??
    To be more accurate, legally, it isn't allowed to underestimate it. Most cars will overestimate though. We've had zillions of threads / posts on this in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

you were speeding, get over it and try to learn your lesson this time or it will be 6 points soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭woodseb

listermint wrote: »

basically, the manufacturers err on the side of caution when caliberating speedos, sometimes can read between 5-10% higher which can be proved if you have a sat nav in the car too which gives you an exact reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

You got caught twice by the same fixed speed camera!?!??!

ah HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHA

:):D:):D:):D:):D:):D:):D:):D:)
    The speed limit is completely inappropriate. I want my road tax, VRT, duty on petrol, road tolls, VAT and exorbitant insurnance charges back as well as my vote in last election as I believe they were all collected under false pretenses!

This is just an example of you paying the 'intelligence' tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

I doubt that particular speed camera has saved lives, I'm not adverse to putting the hammer down when I feel the need & my halo is fairly well tarnished at this stage. But I've driven through that speed trap every working day for the past 5 years or more & never got a flash.
    Its not that difficult really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Caught twice by the same camera? Now that's silly. That speed camera is a mini-celebrity at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

cjt156 wrote: »
    I doubt that particular speed camera has saved lives, I'm not adverse to putting the hammer down when I feel the need & my halo is fairly well tarnished at this stage. But I've driven through that speed trap every working day for the past 5 years or more & never got a flash.
    Its not that difficult really.
    well tbh if you don't get caught the first time, it would be pretty silly if you got caught in the 5 years after that.

Cremo wrote: »
    well tbh if you don't get caught the first time, it would be pretty silly if you got caught in the 5 years after that.

Like the OP = my point. Thanks for helping clear that up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

I heard it was going to be in the next Big Brother:D

OP: to be fair, it is a draft limit for that road but probably not by much as you are about to enter the major traffic black spot of Lucan/M50....

To be honest, most weekdays it hard to get up to 50mph/80kmph there....

A much bigger safety risk there is that Bus Eireann buses sometimes drop people off just at that sliproad into Lucan....
    Savman wrote: »
    Caught twice by the same camera? Now that's silly. That speed camera is a mini-celebrity at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

That speed camera is down a bit from the Leixlip onramp onto the N4. There is a warning sign for the camera, and most people know by now it's there as it's been there for several years.

The onramp is quite busy and quite short. Without enforcing a reduced speed limit coming from the M4 onto N4 it would be quite a lot more difficult for people coming from Leixlip and Celbridge to get onto the N4, as traffic would probably not slow until the traffic lights further on in.

To make it even more dangerous there is an off ramp for Lucan down a bit as well as a meridian crossing for the Spa Hotel.

The N4 does not become 3 lanes until near Liffey Valley.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    I don't ever recall seeing an accident on that part of the road (I'm open to correction), so maybe that speed trap is actually saving lives.
    There's been a few, I've nearly been in a few myself. People slam on the brakes when they realise all of a sudden there's a camera there, some idiots will even be doing under the limit already and jam on the brakes slowing to a crawl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

JHMEG wrote: »
    That speed camera is down a bit from the Leixlip onramp onto the N4. There is a warning sign for the camera, and most people know by now it's there as it's been there for several years.

The onramp is quite busy and quite short. Without enforcing a reduced speed limit coming from the M4 onto N4 it would be quite a lot more difficult for people coming from Leixlip and Celbridge to get onto the N4, as traffic would probably not slow until the traffic lights further on in.

To make it even more dangerous there is an off ramp for Lucan down a bit as well as a meridian crossing for the Spa Hotel.

The N4 does not become 3 lanes until near Liffey Valley.

Also, less than 200 metres from that camera there is an entrance onto the dual carriageway, right after the footbridge crossing the road. The entrace point requires drivers to be stopped before entering the carriageway and provides a ridiculously short entrance 'lane'.

The speed camera is there because the M4 speed limit is 120 kph and then drops to 80 kph when the M4 ends and the road becomes the N4. If someone was driving at 120 kph at the camera point and there was no camera there, it is highly likely that they would crash/swerve dangerously when someone came onto the N4 at the point I described in the previous paragraph.

stevenmu wrote: »
    People slam on the brakes when they realise all of a sudden there's a camera there, some idiots will even be doing under the limit already and jam on the brakes slowing to a crawl.

The bane of my evening commute - doing less than the limit in the outside lane; hit the brakes on seeing the camera. And, you know, if you shoot them they call it a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

OP look you were over the limit so whats the problem. The road has two lanes, exit just before it, traffic lights after it, onramp just after it, traffic blackspot.

Sure we may as well put the limit up to 120 kph so you can speed past all these things :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Here is the Speedometer info . Full document is here.

2.3.6. the checking device used to measure the actual speed of the vehicle must be accurate to at least ± 0,5 %;

2.3.6.1. if the tests are carried out on a track, the surface thereof must be flat and dry and provide sufficient grip;

2.3.6.2. if a rolling-road dynamometer is used for the test, the rollers must have a diameter of at least 2 m. In the case of speedometers intended for mopeds, the test may be carried out on rollers with a diameter of at least 400 mm;

2.3.7. the speed displayed must never be lower than the actual speed. Between speed V1, read on the speedometer and actual speed V2: there must be the following relationship with the test values specified in item 2.3.5 and between those values:

0<= (V1 - V2)<= 0,1 · V2 + 4 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Some of the speed limits in Dublin are rediculous alright and most ignore them. Can't believe you got stung by that camera twice though, it's a very obvious one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

That camera is also known as "The Culchie Trap" i know at least 20 people done on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

93kph in an 80kph zone is more than 16% over the limit which is a fair bit. Proportionally its like doing 140kph in a 120kph zone which I'm sure you wouldn't argue against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

I got done for being 8kmph over it at the ****ing spa hotel :|

i've heard from a number of different people that you are allowed 10% over the speed limit before they will give the points. Your on the button, so you get em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

That camera is also known as "The Culchie Trap" i know at least 20 people done on it
    yeah yeah, yawn yawn.
    "you were over the limit, get over it", "be like everyone elce and take it lying down", WTF?
    Yeah that's great advice. The OP was not that much over the limit IMOP. But thats me. No, I do NOT speed or advise people to do so.
    "Culchie trap" That's nice. Hope you get caught somewhere you are not familliar with coming from a higher limit down to a lesser limit.
    What will you call that then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

cashmni1 wrote: »
    yeah yeah, yawn yawn.
    "you were over the limit, get over it", "be like everyone elce and take it lying down", WTF?
    Yeah that's great advice. The OP was not that much over the limit IMOP. But thats me. No, I do NOT speed or advise people to do so.
    "Culchie trap" That's nice. Hope you get caught somewhere you are not familliar with coming from a higher limit down to a lesser limit.

I agree its a pure revenue racket...And tbh i'm not critising the bloke for speeding. I'm a pure Lead foot. No need to be wishing the like of hat on me..Chill:D.. It is actually known as the "Culchie Trap".. As stated by a friend of mine who was nabbed by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

I agree its a pure revenue racket...And tbh i'm not critising the bloke for speeding. I'm a pure Lead foot. No need to be wishing the like of hat on me..Chill:D.. It is actually known as the "Culchie Trap".. As stated by a friend of mine who was nabbed by it.
    Point taken, and of course I would not wish that on you. (just a bit of a rant)
    In fact I just hate the whole system and have a bit of a gripe about the whole "saving lives by nabbing speeders" attitude.
    To save lives you must improve the roads and improve the standard of dirving. The revenue and do-gooders just annoy me! Didn't mean to sound a bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

That camera at the Spa has been flashing more frequently this past few months - maybe I'm just in and around the right (wrong) place at the right time? Always sit at 80KM/H from Leixlip down. Sometimes there is a GATSO on the left side eastbound just after the Leixlip merge but before the Spa camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 greatdeeds

The Garda that run that patch around Lucan/Liffey Valley/N4 seem to be fairly hardcore as regards speeding.

I completely agree that its a revenue generating excercise....

You only have to be pointed towards the number of horrifying fatalities on the roads to demonstrate that it is not speed on its own that is casuing this mayhem...

And as such u doing 20 kmh over the limit on good standard of road at a 'quiet hour' should be of very minor concern to the guards and other state agencies if they realistically wish to reduce the carnage....

Those points u got are 'soft target' stuff, and prety much worth sweet fa as regards realisticaly saving lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭mountain

Quick question for the OP,

how far over the limit is acceptable?

Anyone else is of course free to answer as well.
    Personally, i find myself over the limit, eg 115-120K in a 100, and i think to myself. well if i was done i would have no complaints.

Basically it a limit, so if break it, take your medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Ha!

Got caught there myself last November. Doing 88kph in the 80 zone.
    Life sucks, get a fu*king helmet!

Look, you have'nt a leg to stand on, you were over the limit, hence you were nobbled, stop whinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Hope you get caught somewhere you are not familliar with coming from a higher limit down to a lesser limit.

When that happens, I usually find the middle pedal works best for me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Hope you get caught somewhere you are not familliar with coming from a higher limit down to a lesser limit.

I've found myself to be fairly competent in this thing called "reading", and theres these big black, white and red signs about 300/400 metres advanced of said camera with "80 km/h" written on them. As well as a nice pictogram of a camera about the same distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MCMLXXXIII

Speed limits are fickle. 60mph on (most) Irish Motorways, 65-75mph on an American Interstate (depending on the state), and no speed limit on a German Autobahn (unless you are in a downtown area). IMO, German roads have the steepest drop-offs and sharpest turns.

All public roads use civil engineers as designers and they stamp the plans with a speed limit the road was designed to handle (longer entrance/exit ramp lanes for higher speeds, etc.). Sometimes the government makes the limit faster and other times slower. The point is – a politician makes the final decision on the speed of the roads.

Here is the challenge: try to find a politician to raise the speed limits (or drop enforcement) after literally 100 years of governments “educating” the public through speeches and television commercials that say "slower speeds save lives" and politicians running campaigns saying that they are going to make towns safer for everybody. It would almost be political suicide as outraged victims of traffic accidents, those that are slow drivers anyway, and environmentalists worried about emissions, would publicly voice their opposition.

IMO, those cameras make the roads more dangerous than before. Here’s why: previous to cameras, there had to be an actual guard on the road to catch you breaking the law. Now, cameras are able to catch every speeding vehicle without pulling each person over and writing citations. Here is the issue. I can go out, get really drunk, and drive home. As long as I am driving under the speed limit the camera will not catch me. A real person needs to be on the road to see swerving and erratic driving. Also, plenty of accidents happen while people are driving the speed limit – the risk of injury just increases.

Which would you rather have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭esskay

As regards the accuracy of a cars speedometer, I asked the very same question before and Unkel provided the definitive answer.

Quote:
    2.3.7. the speed displayed must never be lower than the actual speed. Between speed V1, read on the speedometer and actual speed V2: there must be the following relationship with the test values specified in item 2.3.5 and between those values:

0 <= (V1 - V2) <= 0,1 · V2 + 4 km/h.
    Linky

This means that an actual speed of 100km/h can mean a speed read on the speedometer of between 100km/h and 114km/h

And 180km/h indicated could be as little as 160km/h...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Bee

milmo wrote: »
    I feel no guilt or remorse. I feel angry and resentful.

I have four points on my license from the speed camera at lucan. On both occasions the road was completely empty and I was clocked doing 93 in an 80! Both times!!
    Is this a fix??

I did 93kmph on a completely empty 3 lane road and got done. 8 mph over the limit! I was up from the West on rare visits. One was New Years Day two years ago. The other was 0330hrs before Xmas. I have never had an accident in 10 years of driving. I am not a speed merchant or boy racer. Gay Byrne can shove the summons up his arse until such time as he comes to Galway and stops the weekend drag races on the dual carriage way near where I live. This is such Irish hypocracy.

Can anything be done about this farce of a sytem??

Temper Temper!:rolleyes:

I would suggest anarchy, its not too hard to do! :)

g292.jpg

Until cameras are installed outside of Pub's, schools and accidents blackspots they should be destroyed until the so called powers that be get the message!

The £uckwits that re-elected the FFer's The Pee Dee's and the Telly Tubbie Greens have a lot to answer for and those idiots who failed to use their vote well? Don't get me started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭badlyparkedmerc

What I don't like about our enforcement is there's an assumption in there that only a minority speed. There's only a minority who recklessly speed, but in the real world everyone speeds to some extent.

In Holland last year they issued 10 million speeding tickets in a country where there are 7 million drivers.

http://www.iht.com/articles/ap/2007/12/14/europe/EU-GEN-Netherlands-Speeding-Tickets.php

This rigourous but generally only gently nagging enforcement has created some of the safest roads in Europe.

In Ireland with our points system we're precluding from enforcing limits this completely, if we did half our drivers would be off the road.

What we're left with is our half-assed system where probably less than 2% of our road mileage is routinely checked and usually only stretches where a higher speed would be appropriate. If this catches a routinely reckless driver it's by dumb luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭VeVeX

dingding wrote: »
    There was a TV ad that showed the difference between hitting a young girl at 30MPH and 40MPH, 10 MPH makes a huge difference in stopping distance.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Dnf6ib823vM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

I'v said it before and I'LL say it again. Spin the dice go to court. The chances of you being summoned are not great, and even if you do go Court you will probably get off. The gardai are a huge organisation they have no time and have and all the problems of a massive corporation. the left hand has no idea the right one is off sick today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

Would a few of ye not just go out and vandalise that camera 1 of the nights? Pick a nice rainy night when the local gardai are hiding indoors in case they get a chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

If only it were that easy. I know where all the fixed cameras in my area are (mainly empty boxes ) It was always mobile cameras that caught me. or rather failed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I live close enough to the camera but ain't gonna be doing anything to it.... maybe a bag over it or something.... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

milmo wrote: »

I did 93kmph on a completely empty 3 lane road and got done. 8 mph over the limit!

I love the way you went from Kph to Mph in the one line, did you write down 13Kph first, but though 8Mph sounded less??

But as everyone else has said, get over it, it not going to affect your insurance (shouldn't anyway) and might make you think about your speed more often, cant be a bad thing.

Bee wrote: »
    The £uckwits that re-elected the FFer's The Pee Dee's and the Telly Tubbie Greens have a lot to answer for and those idiots who failed to use their vote well? Don't get me started.

Yeah, because Enda and the boys would have radically altered the system by now & we'd all be driving VRT-free V8s on Autobahns with no motor tax and petrol at 10cents a litre; dammit when will we learn...