Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs in Dublin

• 20-01-2008 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hey guys,

I don't know which section this should go under, so I'll just post it here.

I've been here for a week and I've been having a great time. The Spar sandwiches have made for a good lunch and the two professors I have for classes are far better than any I've had back home.

Unfortunately, Dublin's night life is downright perplexing. We've only delved into Dublin twice for a night out and I've yet to find a low key relaxing pub. So far we've been to Fitzsimmons and the Bleeding Horse, and they're great if you enjoy tons of loud music and watching all the american girls in the program get hit on. I know everyone has their own favorites, but any recommendations for a nice, lower scale, relaxing pub to chat up other students and locals?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

are you looking for a studenty pub or just an old mans pub?
    Most pubs will play music at night especially if its a student crowd. maybe doyles beside trinity?
    ive not been out in ages, damn exams. must find one of these so called quiet pubs!
    karma beside christ church cathedral is pretty cool and music isnt too loud.
    im stumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 JoanneT

The Porterhouse North in Glasnevin/Phibsboro is good fun. Open til 2.30am on Fri and Sat. They serve nice food til 10om every evening I think, nice beer garden with heaters. It's nice for the more chilled evenings. Generally the people who go there are quite nice and friendly. Try it out and let me know what you think.

Oh and if you want to have what people describe as the best pint of Guinness in Dublin, try the Gravediggers which isn't far from the Porterhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Avoid Temple Bar basically and you'll pretty much be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭GavMan

If u want quieter boozers, stay out of the city centre and got to locals like Matt Weldon(slipper), Autobahn, The Viscount etc would be ur best bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

i second the porterhouse call. yeah temple bar is pretty much a no go for someone who wants a quiet night but then again why would ya :D

Try hitting the baggot inn on baggot street. Get to pull yer own pints there. The novelty might be nice for you. Have to leave a credit card for like a deposit though.

Brian Boru in glasnevin is also fair quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Quinns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

The long stone behind pearse street garda station is great for a slightly lower volume of music and a good buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Try Ryans of parkgate street,a great traditional pub.All ages frequent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

The Ginger Man just off Westland Row. Great spot and rarely busy bar a Saturday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

The Globe on George's Street would be a good choice, The Stag's Head on Dame Court is very laid back and they play traditional music downstairs certain nights if you wanna go there instead - it's a very traditional bar which doesn't suit some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TedMosby

Thanks for all the suggestions, I'll definitely be checking those places out.

I guess I should clarify a bit more what I'm looking for. So far we've just gone down to Temple Bar and essentially the night has turned into every girl in our program (we've got a 32 girls and 6 guys in the program) getting hit on and subsequently making out/going home with random irish dudes. And while that's all right and grand, I'd like to at least have a shot in hell of meeting/hooking up with someone while I'm here.

I'm not trying to be some massive player or anything, I'm just looking for more of a student/local scene where I can actually hear myself talk and make conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

TedMosby wrote: »
    turned into every girl in our program (we've got a 32 girls and 6 guys in the program) getting hit on and subsequently making out/going home with random irish dudes.

Just let us know where yous are going :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

TedMosby wrote: »
    Thanks for all the suggestions, I'll definitely be checking those places out.

I guess I should clarify a bit more what I'm looking for. So far we've just gone down to Temple Bar and essentially the night has turned into every girl in our program (we've got a 32 girls and 6 guys in the program) getting hit on and subsequently making out/going home with random irish dudes. And while that's all right and grand, I'd like to at least have a shot in hell of meeting/hooking up with someone while I'm here.

I'm not trying to be some massive player or anything, I'm just looking for more of a student/local scene where I can actually hear myself talk and make conversation.

What were you thinking going to templebar?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Abraham

Yeah, Phibsboro/Glasnevin is doing OK in this discussion with the Brian Boru, Porterhouse, Gravediggers and the Autobahn but it's deffo the Gravediggers for me. They say the barstaff in there just bury bodies all day and work nixers in the pub that night.
    At closing time, they say "we'll have one for the grave".

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Only been in the grave diggers once but it was a nice spot. Doubt you'd be pickin up too many ladys or gents in there, though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

O'Reillys or the Sub lounge as its known now, under tara street station is the ideal spot, its a nice bar, music all week, dj on friday and saturday nights, not crowded, good place for a relaxed night out few drinks and the like... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭charlesodowd

The Cat and the cage in drumcondra can be cool enough