Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 80-Colin Robinson *SPOILERS* you have been warned

• 20-01-2008 10:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭

Fair play and hard luck to Colin Robinson
    He was unlucky not to finish Eddie Sanchez in Belfast last year too

Dutchman (6-4) had an easy time with Northern Ireland's Colin Robinson at heavyweight. Jarred by a pair of knees to the body, then hurt by thudding kicks, it was two jabs that saw Robinson (9-4) dropped and dazed for Mario Yamasaki's stoppage after just 17 seconds of the opening round.

Full article
    http://www.sherdog.com/news/articles.asp?n_id=10879

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Watched it last night. Good jab that floored him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Watched it last night too...I felt he should have been aware a the propensity of the Dutchman's kicks...

Interesting that he chose to stand with him. The interview on ufc.com with him showed him saying he was gonna strike cos it would be better for the fans and he's there for the fans.

Fair play to big Colin, nobody else dares strike with Hardonk and people forget just how good of a strikler Hardonk is. No shame for Colin, I hope the UFC gives him another fight when they come back to europe, he does give it 100% regardless of whether or not he's overmatched.

those leg kicks were sick. Hardonk learns a sprawl and he's gonna be a serious threat in that division. Anyone else notice Ernesto Hoost in his corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

Anyone else notice Ernesto Hoost in his corner?

Yeah, Joe Rogan pointed him out before the fight. Robinson just couldn't get started, there were some heavy kicks there. Given his age, I don't know if the UFC will have him on a show again when they could showcase a younger fighter instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Robinson just isn't cut out of the UFC unfortunately. His inability to apply a basic armbar against Eddie Sanchez was proof of that - although he did give a spirited performance - and at his age, can he really learn what's required in order to stay in the UFC. He has decent hands for sure, but unfortunately - he was picked apart by Hardonk, which is fine in standup - but I think a better gameplan should of been devised. If the UFC goes back to the North at anypoint, he will probably get a call - but I doubt it otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

" Fight of the Night awarded to Paul Kelly and Paul Taylor (Each fighter given a $35,000 bonus) " , seen on another thread. These two blokes started of at a tremendous pace, trading punches like there was no tomorrow. Explosive. But before it even started, I, well, suspected that they put 2 English fighters against each other so there'd be at least one English victory for the night ?

I suppose there's only one way to be certain and that's if they fight an American, but in the mean time, how would you rate these two fellas against an American/Brazilian ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

I don't think he was ready for the kicks alright.
    I got talking to him after and he hadn't seen the replay (though even only 17sec!)
    He said it was the kicks that did it, I didn't want to piss him off by mentioning the jab, but I think he meant he was concentrating on the kicks and let the jab through.

He did say he wasn't out though, but I'm sure most guys wouldn't say they were hurt.
    Here's some picks I took at it. My favorite pic is with Ernesto Hoost, 4 time K1 Grand Prix champion.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/iankiernan/sets/72157603764810768/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

he was out for sure, he buckled and fell as he tried to stand, he's just lucky Hardonk showed restraint when he went to the ground and personally i think arguing with the ref and your corner staff isn't being a good loser in my opinion and wont win you any brownie points for another shot on a show of that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

he was out for sure, he buckled and fell as he tried to stand, he's just lucky Hardonk showed restraint when he went to the ground and personally i think arguing with the ref and your corner staff isn't being a good loser in my opinion and wont win you any brownie points for another shot on a show of that level.

But if he was out like you say, then maybe he just didn't know any better at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

Fozzy wrote: »
    But if he was out like you say, then maybe he just didn't know any better at the time

That is true but im not sayin he should have known better, i'm simply saying to go from arguing with the ref to what looked like his corner staff applying a passive sort of restraint because of his discust at the call is not the sort of thing that'll get you asked back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭goo

lafors wrote: »
    I don't think he was ready for the kicks alright.
    I got talking to him after and he hadn't seen the replay (though even only 17sec!)
    He said it was the kicks that did it, I didn't want to piss him off by mentioning the jab, but I think he meant he was concentrating on the kicks and let the jab through.

He did say he wasn't out though, but I'm sure most guys wouldn't say they were hurt.
    Here's some picks I took at it. My favorite pic is with Ernesto Hoost, 4 time K1 Grand Prix champion.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/iankiernan/sets/72157603764810768/

Cool photos. You're so ****ing tall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

hah i only copped now that your man is dwarfing big c, werdum and grove! 6'8"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

hah i only copped now that your man is dwarfing big c, werdum and grove! 6'8"?

If you mean me....I'm not 6'8"!!! Make me sound like a freak ;)
    I'm just below 6'6" according to a medical I had to do last year.
    So them lads are enlarging themselves for their stats ;)

Now if only I could put on more weight and I'd have that Tim Sylvia.....with a shotgun and a brick :)

And about Big C, I still think no lad wants to admit he's knocked out, but as drunkmonkey said he's lucky Hardonk stood back, he could've gotten a few more shots in before the ref stopped it.

And there's only 1 man not going to get asked back and thats Eklund, if he didn't want to fight then why show up? If he wanted the fight on the ground then he should have stood up and tried to go for the takedown, Stout was never going to just lie(sp?) down for him.