Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you get random PM's?

• 19-01-2008 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I was just looking at the 'when did you lose your virginity' thread, and a comment regarding somebody getting lots of PM's from the wimminz for being the sensitive type etc.

Just got me wondering, do you ever send a user a PM on the off chance of true love? Or even just to say "hi, you're kewl...". It just struck me as odd that we all interact every day but rarely on a one to one basis.

As for me, I've had some interesting conversations with a couple of boardsies, but can't recall how it came about. You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I've had someone compliment my sig, but that's about it. Not sure I ever got around to replying either... Other than that it's all been business and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Well naturally, it is Neil Gaiman after all! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well normally I'd get some from lurkers in the Martial Arts forum.

Latest one I got was from a lurker in the WoD thread.

I've had some from the Fitness forum too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Mirror wrote: »
    I was just looking at the 'when did you lose your virginity' thread, and a comment regarding somebody getting lots of PM's from the wimminz for being the sensitive type etc.

Just got me wondering, do you ever send a user a PM on the off chance of true love? Or even just to say "hi, you're kewl...". It just struck me as odd that we all interact every day but rarely on a one to one basis.

As for me, I've had some interesting conversations with a couple of boardsies, but can't recall how it came about. You?

Ha, nah Snyper was just messing.
    I've never gotten any PMs in that way. I wish.

I had a few PM convos with fellow Galwegians but thats about it.

Other than that it's usually weird PMs by people mistaking me other people (when are you coming back to Kildare (?) ), pop fans in Galway asking if I want to start a band or else Biko giving out to me about my signature (by far the most common PM I get)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Everything from people hitting on me to congratulating me on my postcount to asking me to be on a swim team, good times. Not too often now that I am not that active due to college work.

Yeah I just had a quick look back through mine, can't view any back past 150, though I apparently have 284... I'm sure I had some actual conversations but they must be way back! Everything else is business related.

Maybe we should start a 'PM a Day' program, where everyone sends at least one person a PM for something not related to business. "PM'D: Bringing Boardsies Closer" :D

Or alternatively, we base it around a thread. Each of PM's someone posting on the thread and reports back on the thread with our findings regarding the person we PM'd. Flush out the psychos and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

get really feck all pm's, gotten about 5 this month in total, mostly people saying sorry when i lock a thread in the PMP forum and asking me where i bought my iphone.

pretty much never
    well i have a lot i just dont think theyre random

I was having a PM convo with a girl here in Galway last week and mentioned I was writing a travel book, she said I could go to her for proofreading. Sent her the first chapter for some feedback and she never got back to me.

It must have been bad:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I don't really get random PM's here, on some other forums I'm on I get them all the time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Get a good few normal ones from other boardsies regarding stuff we had been chatting about in various forums but had one conversation last year with a girl about adoption which I didnt expect after posting in a thread about same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I was having a PM convo with a girl here in Galway last week and mentioned I was writing a travel book, she said I could go to her for proofreading. Sent her the first chapter for some feedback and she never got back to me.

It must have been bad:(

Maybe she was drunk at the time?

Or she could be still looking at it or hasn't got around to it. Patience!

Or maybe it was just ****. Send it to me and the the party begin! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hi ladies I'm 20, and living in Carlow. Very lovable. PM me :)

I don't get many PMs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Nope, never get random PMs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

cooperguy wrote: »
    Nope, never get random PMs :(

Me neither. Why don't you guys like me? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

I rarely get any PMs (goes in to corner to sob)
    But then I rarely send any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Rarely get random ones.

Do give random ones :D - Its an interactive site, so why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I never get random PMs from people hitting on me but I do get random PMs, usually
    with regard to threads I've started/posted on. I once got a very kind PM from a boardsie
    after posting about my aunt being unwell. It was really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I guess now that I recall I have gotten the odd PM about a personal issue. Wont get into detail obviously.

Usually though if I get a PM its about an ifraction :p cmon ladies love me.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭TimTim

I think i've gotten one in the time that I've been here.

the dee wrote: »
    Me neither. Why don't you guys like me? :(
    Cos your avatar looks fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

Sent one to a guy last year thinking he was in the same course as me in Galway...

Thats all ever :D

PM me to make a new friend hahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I never got one, but it's nice to see I'm not alone.

We could all PM each other so that we feel loved, kinda like a support group for the chronically unlovable!

Maybe we should start a 'PM a Day' program, where everyone sends at least one person a PM for something not related to business. "PM'D: Bringing Boardsies Closer" :D

Good idea. Or maybe one day a week/month we could have a "PM a stranger" day...

Endasaurus wrote: »
    Sent one to a guy last year thinking he was in the same course as me in Galway...

Thats all ever :D

PM me to make a new friend hahahahaha

I'm in Galway, I'll be your friend.

Well let's give it a go so! We need to pick a day first. And maybe move it on to a blog, closest thing here would be a forum and I can't imagine we would get that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Only ever had 2 PM conversations. One was with regards to finding a singer for a band, and the other was a prank convo (pretty sure it was someone I know). Aside from that, it has just been biko giving me a spanking

Biko seems to enjoy abusing others... I feel left out.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've gotten random pms from people asking about laptops or the it in sligo but I don't really count those.

There was a thread a while back asking who your boards neighbours were (the people beside you on the user list). I posted up my neighbours and not long after I got a pm from one of my neighbours saying hi. She also promised to try and post more often (they had 19 posts at the time). I wonder did she keep her promise.

I've gotten a few pms from people late at night who are bored and notice that I'm online. I also get many pms from women who want to proclaim their love for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

One or two... not enough though! I hate signing in and not having any unread pms!

/hint

I have gotten a good few since I regged
    some were perverts ,
    most were querys regarding posts of mine :)

some were perverts

She says in innocence with the words "So Slutty" emblazened across her sig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

My inbox is full.

Form an orderly queue.

She says in innocence with the words "So Slutty" emblazened across her sig.

read the post it links to underneath :mad:

Well and good, but ye haven't changed the words effectiveness, thereby ruining you're point. You're still just calling yourself a slut. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

I hardly ever get any PM's. I've never had any random ones, and come to think of it I haven't any in months:(

Maybe if my avatar was hotter I'd get sexier PMs!

*goes off to photoshop lingerie onto the ladybird*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sometimes. I'm practically beating off demands for sex with a stick since becoming a mod.

being off??

No body likes a liar Havok.

The Queen wrote: »
    being off??

No body likes a liar Havok.
    True that. But I like Havok, so the results cancel one another out and I'm left floating in a void of uncertainty. Doomed for eternity because of my love for Havok.

Somebody call Shakespeare, I've got some good material here.

Havok doesn't call the next day though. I think that's why I like him. Being used by a mod turns me on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

HavoK wrote: »
    I'm practically beating off with a stick.

Fixed that for you:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

gerky wrote: »
    Fixed that for you:D

Yes, I am that lazy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I used to get lots when I was an AH mod. Most were really annoying ones from people I banned.
    I don't get many these days (thankfully. I just don't be in the mood of replying most of the time, but do out of courtesy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I've gotten a good few random pms, some about personal stuff, others about pictures that I've posted, a few about my journal thing...I'm terrible for writing back though, I'll read one then plan to come back and reply later on in the day and totally forget...oops!

Oh there was a thread about me once, regarding a pic in KYN. I had no knowledge of this until months later when a mate googled my username for some reason. I lolled.

/runs off to find the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I very rarely initiate a PM convo unlss it's something that I can't post in public, which is rare
    Get people trying to sell me stuff after reading something in a thread :rolleyes: ; quite a lot lately in fact. Spam is everywhere.
    Have had some very helpful advice from a few people though; you know who you are ;)
    A few complimenting sigs in the past and quite a few looking for mp3s of 90's dance tunes
    No offers of love or anything...seems my female repellent works just as well in cyberspace as it does IRL :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Oh there was a thread about me once, regarding a pic in KYN. I had no knowledge of this until months later when a mate googled my username for some reason. I lolled.

/runs off to find the thread

Your friend googled the word mirror and found your picture??? random