Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MacBook Air....Who wants one?

• 16-01-2008 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭

ok,

Just looking at it..seems very nice.

No DVD drive was a big thing for me. Its all wireless. Sounds great if you have a good network in work and at a home.

I love the Hidden ports, but is there a lack of them..??

I think you'd have to be fairly up with technology to swap over to it. I know it looks easy to setup up etc.

How hot do Mac laptops get nowadays with the intels in them???

Anybody and thoughts?

Macbook Air - Yay or Nay? 62 votes

Yay - gimme gimme gimme
    0%
    Nay - not just yet thanks
    30%
    TrojanPhilipMarloweIllkillyaleeroybrownStokolanCreamy GoodnessSilverfishculabulakevmacWizZardenda1spartacus93K.O.KikieasmathiasDman001unclebill98lesleysmythHomer 19 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    69%
    Dr_TeethDadaKopfKintarō HattoriGordonzAbboPlacebojankHugh_CSarnOrielpatto_chandubmickBreezersmcelhinneymikemaccornbbSad ProfessorSQDDsrdb20jtsuited 43 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Its ok, found you all talking about in the the other tread....oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 aranidirlíon

Atari Jaguar
    pros

- sexiest laptop available and it's so light!
    - new larger trackpad supports multi-touch gestures
    - .16-inch thin, so thin it fits in a manila envelope

cons
    - doesn't have a user-replaceable battery, battery replacements: $129, free install
    - The micro-DVI out is single-link only, meaning it can drive a 24-inch monitor, not a 30-inch.
    - The speaker is mono only (not stereo)
    - Only one freekin usb port
    - 64GB SSD Macbook Air is $3000?! C'mon!

like the iPhone i'll be waiting for version 2 or 3.

No optical media, but there's a separate external you can snag for $99 and Apple's also announced a feature called Remote Disk that'll let the Air get data off the optical drive in any PC or Mac running the Remote Disk software. I think this is a good compromise but that the optical drive should be included free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Atari Jaguar
    I'm pretty sure a 64GB SSD is $1,500 anyway. Flash tech is v. pricey at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

I thought they bring out a multitouch UMPC instead of a barebones-type laptop.

Atari Jaguar
    lol epic mistype, I meant $1,500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Is the $3000 version worth the price difference? What spec difference is there but storage and CPU speed?

Atari Jaguar
    Laptop away from your main machine^;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

Atari Jaguar
    sounds disposable ;) being flash memeory, wouldnt the OS be ultra fast ? should have an external dvd, how do you install apps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

BanzaiBk wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure a 64GB SSD is $1,500 anyway. Flash tech is v. pricey at the moment.

the SSD costs €999 if you price it on the build machine page by picking the cheaper air.

Atari Jaguar
    Yus, a friend of mine is telling me atm that Samsung are selling 64GB SSDs in the states for $900.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Atari Jaguar
    Honestly the thing looks pants, some MBP plus points put into the MB form factor, then sliced and diced with a smaller chip, less powerfull and botched features.

I like mac kit, but I honestly don't see the target market.

What was really needed was a proper ultra portable MB (10-12"), or a 13" MBP. I don't see any reason to order the MBA over the MB.

Right now, I'm looking at getting a 15" MBP, I would have jumped all over a 13" MBP...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Massive disappointment that the Macbook Pros weren't updated. As for the Macbook Air; I just don't see the point of it. Sure it's thin, but the footprint is the same (actually fractionally larger) than the Macbook. Is the saving of 2 pounds really worth the sacrifices. I'm still waiting for a true replacement of the 12" powerbook.

I've no issue loosing the optical drive on an ultraportable (which this isn't) but the enclosed battery is a huge deal for me. I've had Apple recall three batteries on two laptops so far. Normally this is a great thing- you get a brand new battery sent out to you and return the old one in the same box- but are Apple going to ship you out new MBAs if their are issues with these machines? I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Atari Jaguar
    I don't see what the fuss is about. Handy computer for hot-to-trot business stylewankers and geeks with over-inflated salaries, but not practical for much else. Of course, if I was ever in a position (and I'm sure I won't) that an employer was going to buy me a laptop 'cos I was travelling so much, I'd go for it. As long as I had my MBP waiting for me at the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Lets add a poll ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

MacBook Air....Who wants one?

About 5 people. But its the biggest single product that's been announced in the past 2 weeks - from both shows. Apple is in the headline business. There isn't a forum that I've been on that someone hasn't been talking about it. Apple wont make the money back for the R&D costs of this product. They'll use what they learn from it elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

DadaKopf wrote: »
    I don't see what the fuss is about. Handy computer for hot-to-trot business stylewankers and geeks with over-inflated salaries.

Nicely put. Anyway this laptop seems to be a perfect example of fashion over function. I couldnt see myself having any real life use for it except browsing the net when out and about. Has it even got an ethernet port?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

There is a huge market for light, ultra thin laptops. They have cut out all the bulk that most of us never use, and have made an amazing looking laptop that you can comfortably use on your lap on an airplane. I have a 15" Macbook Pro. I rarely use the DVD player, never use the ethernet, never use more than one USB port at a time (bluetooth mouse and keyboard), never use an external monitor above 24". I find my Macbook Pro a bit bulky at times, and it gets hot and it is relatively noisy. The idea of a super-quiet solid state drive and a long battery life is appealing. I won't even bother to explain what I like about the laptop's design - anyone who likes the iPod already knows, and those of you who sneer at iPods probably wouldn't understand it.

I want one, and I know a lot more than 5 other people who want one. Only question for me is whether or not it's worth forking out the extra few quid on the SSD version.

Atari Jaguar
    This isn't an ultraportable though, which is what people wanted, it's just a thinner less powerful but speedier booting macbook. The market for people who want ultra thin laptops is
    hot-to-trot business stylewankers and geeks with over-inflated salaries.

imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭WUSBDesign

I get this feeling that it is a souped-up iPod...

Atari Jaguar
    WUSBDesign wrote: »
    I get this feeling that it is a souped-up iPod...

Surely you mean souped down:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭conor2007

Atari Jaguar
    eh
    if it was free - wee hay! happy days

otherwise i wouldnt give you any more than 500 for it

Atari Jaguar
    every travelling business man will buy one, everyone in japan will have one

mac air + mobile broadband modem = sex for business basically.
    Technology seems revolutionary, while it wont appeal to over weight gamers and poor folk like me, it definatley is not 'pointless'

Atari Jaguar
    true i spose - if i was earnin decent money a week - i would buy it
    think bout it just use it as what it is supposed to be for = travel
    cd - dont need - have usb and internet-wireless

tis sexy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

This isn't an ultraportable though, which is what people wanted, it's just a thinner less powerful but speedier booting macbook.
    you kidding me? 3 pounds is just epic!!

the reality is that if you can carry an A4 pad and not notice, you'll be able to carry this thing just as easily!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

I Want this so badly , and I have a strong business use for it , its going in my photo gear bag , but Im gonna wait till I get some re-assurance on the wireless capability front , I spent too many hours at work lately hunting down wireless n problems ..... but one good reliable test result/review and out comes the credit card !

mathias wrote: »
    I Want this so badly , and I have a strong business use for it , its going in my photo gear bag

That's one thing that would seriously tempt me to purchase it, more space for glass!! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Atari Jaguar
    Not remotely interested in the MBA. If it was actually smaller instead of just thinner, maybe. But it's useless as a primary machine which imo defeats the whole point of a notebook computer. It'll be grand no doubt for those fashionable-types with money burning a whole in their pocket but for everyone else... ?

Apple are really starting to annoy me. They refuse to release a decent prosumer mac, leaving large gaps between their consumer and pro line-ups, turning off hordes of potential pc-switchers in the process and yet they'll release a crippled overpriced macbook who's main selling point is that it can fit into a manila envelope.

Okay, okay, so I'm sure some people will love it but I just think Apple could have done a lot better.

But it's useless as a primary machine which imo defeats the whole point of a notebook computer.
    but I just think Apple could have done a lot better.

Well said on all that SP, as per usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

It's not perfect but it would suit me. I currently have a MacBook that was bought in preference to a MacBook Pro purely on portability grounds. If the MacBook Air was available at the time it would definitely have been my choice and the same goes for a few other people I work with.

That said, I would have preferred a 12.1" screen to make the overall package slightly smaller but I think that given the volume economics involved the screen cost might have actually pushed the price up by quite a bit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Atari Jaguar
    440Hz wrote: »
    Well said on all that ZEN, as per usual.
    *ahem*

lmao! OOPS

But sure ye both say all the right things anyway. I think I should just start calling ye SPEN or something.

Atari Jaguar
    battery life is 5 hours?

ask me bollix - i take everything back - i wouldnt take this for any more than 200 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭GUIGuy

Atari Jaguar
    As usual Apple are ripping of the Europeans... look at that price compared with the US. Now don't go on that one is vat inc... I know. The pre vat price is still way too high here.

Atari Jaguar
    conor2007 wrote: »
    battery life is 5 hours?

ask me bollix - i take everything back - i wouldnt take this for any more than 200 euro

laptop battery is less than 3 hrs?

Atari Jaguar
    babypink wrote: »
    you kidding me? 3 pounds is just epic!!

the reality is that if you can carry an A4 pad and not notice, you'll be able to carry this thing just as easily!

lols you really hate bec doncha:( While I agree on the sheer epicness of 3 pounds, it's still a moot point when you compare it overall. The MBA is lost in between an uber ultraportable and a thin macbook. I agree the thinness is great but it's still has the same footprint as an ordinary macbook. That makes no sense in my eyes, why strip a machine of real useability without giving the user a real benefit? I want an ultraportable to have user changeable batteries, 11/12" screen and maybe 2 USB ports for laughs. I want to be able to throw this into my handbag on a whim and go type/browse anywhere. If I got this, realistically it'll need some skin like everyother "Apple á la poser" product, will stick at awkward angles outta my handbag and then quite possibly be damaged in some way by a stray lip gloss bottle or summin. I really don't think it's worth the hassle tbh:p

Ultimately though, if this was 12", $300 less and fatter I'd be fighting people off to jump to the top of the queue. I'm a trainee liar, I can barely afford 2 A4 pads at the moment nevermind a $1799 posermachine. Believe me, I'd love to be able to afford it but my brain is rightfully telling me that it is an epic waste of my hard earned. Realistically if I was going to buy this over a plainjane macbook which I can purchase for €999, I'd need serious justification. "It weighs 3 pounds" is not serious justification imho. Maybe I'm just not indoctrinated enough yet with the Jobsien distortion field, but it's glaringly obvious that this machine has severe shortcomings. Revision 2, I'm there.

On a different train of thought, what's the issue with SSD having a limited write cycle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭merkuree

This isn't an ultraportable though, which is what people wanted, it's just a thinner less powerful but speedier booting macbook. The market for people who want ultra thin laptops is

imho.

I agree, at first sight it is not the traditional idea of an ultraportable. But as usual, Apple has decided to redefine the meaning of the concept. I was expecting something along the lines of the old Ti 12" book.....but having seen the machine, i think they might be right with this design.....

This machine, at first sight, might appear to have a similar footprint to the MB or MBP, but it is not the case. The machine is really ultraportable.

The top and bottom taper making it appear much smaller than an MBP.

It is lighter.

Plus, it is tough, all aluminum casing......if a machine was to drop onto a floor, I would put my money on the MBAir versus the MB or MBP anyday.....it feels rugged.

My biggest concern with the MBAir:

- Dropping it off your lap.....it's that small and light.

- Heat......it is solid aluminum......and it seems like there will be a real hotspot at the back of this machine after 2-3 hours of runtime.....

I don't think that the MBA is for everyone, but for those who need lightweight, functional computing with extended battery life.....I think Apple got it right for those folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Atari Jaguar
    for 1700 - a lot more

my macbook gets 4 hours with wireless on low light (no visibality issues)
    and pretty much four hours with some web in between essay/notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I'm in the market for a new laptop, I've been thinking about going Mac for a while, I need something light & portable, and I can afford it. So yep, I'm giving it serious thought.

Atari Jaguar
    merkuree wrote: »
    I don't think that the MBA is for everyone, but for those who need lightweight, functional computing with extended battery life.....I think Apple got it right for those folks.

As much as I love OSX and Apple as a whole, I respectfully disagree. 2/3 revision of this, sure I'll take it but right now it's a decidedly average machine with the fact that it's thin as the selling point imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Atari Jaguar
    This thing looks like it would just snap. Laptops are meant to be portable, I dont want to have to worry about breaking it in a strong wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭merkuree

yeah, I hear you......

in photos, it looks a little 'fragile'......but it is well built, I believe it would withstand far more abuse than the MB or MBP.

Like I said, it's not for everyone......i believe apple opted to design an ultra based on the assumption that folks want the smallest footprint with long battery life, full graphics and and the highest spec proc that will work in the config'.....(but understanding that you can't have it all)

Other manufacturers have adopted an approach of 'decent proc, HD, memory and video ram in a slighty larger footprint that will support that config.

I like the way that Apple have solved the problem......but I would still opt for my MBP......

But I can see how folks who travel constantly might like the MBA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭triple h

If i was given a MBA for free i would be over the moon.It would be so cool to have one. I could bring it on holidays and do so much with it. I like action holidays where a lot of walking and climbing is involved and seen as 7KG is the most i could carry ( 1kg for every 10kg you weigh) this would be perfect as it would weigh feck all.

But would a MBA stand the hacking of an action holiday. After seeing the video above ( the drill) I am wondering would a paperclip go through the MBA ( well you know what i mean, i hope)

But after saying all that my real answer is no. I can never see myself getting a MBA. If i got one for free i would bring it on holidays and post a video on youtube after my holiday letting people know if the MBA could take been dragged around on a rough holiday. If i bought a MBA i would not risk it. Lets hope some crazy clown gives the MBA a rough time and we will all know.

Still would not buy a MBA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,823 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I'm still trying to figure out why the majority here are against the Airbook (yes I'm calling it that. The Apple Airbook).

WE KNEW IT WAS COMING!

No DVD drive = makes sense in an ultraportable in the age of the internet.
    Low port number = makes sense considering it's an ultraportable -- so you don't lug masses of crap around with you. Although a FW port would've been lovely.
    Encased battery = probably to prevent warping? I dunno about that one.
    And goddamn, it's SMALL & LIGHT, but with a decent-sized screen! Awesome!

tl;dr
    I want one, you don't. STFU, they're not going to change a thing.

lol! Atari is almost doing better than the MBA hehe!

Atari Jaguar
    K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    I
    I want one, you don't. STFU, they're not going to change a thing.

lol of course they will. Evolutions happen;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭triple h

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    I'm still trying to figure out why the majority here are against the Airbook (yes I'm calling it that. The Apple Airbook).

I agree 100%.

Sorry i may not have explained myself above. I always do that, leave out some stuff.

I think the MBA is awesome. I would never get one ---- MAIN REASON ---- i do not really like laptops. I have never owned one and never really want to buy a laptop.I have played around with laptops ( windows machines) I have no need for a laptop. If that changed i would most likely buy the MBA, swear to god, i would.

So yes if i was to go out tomorrow and buy a brand new laptop/ macbook ( whatever) it would be the MBA. But i can't see that day coming cause .... i do not need one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Atari Jaguar
    Can't someone just not be turned on by something? I don't see people people 'against' anything. It just doesn't work for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,823 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I'm in despair!
    All this negative buzz about a hotly-anticipated (?) product has left me in despair!