Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Halifax stuff!!

• 16-01-2008 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭

Just got this mail:

[FONT=&quot]Following on from your entry to the Late Late Show Halifax Calendar Competition, your entry has been shortlisted as one of the photographs that will be displayed in a photo exhibition that is currently being developed that will travel around 6 of the Halifax branches nationwide for certain dates between February 2008 and May 2008. The exhibition will showcase the 12 winning photographs from the Calendar Competition as well as 24 shortlisted photographs. [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]I am requesting permission to use your photo in this exhibition, if you could email me on confirmation of this that would be greatly appreciated.[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]I will email you on the finalised schedule for the exhibition with the different branches and dates once they are finalised.[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Congratulations and thank you very much

[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]I have absolutely no intention of letting them use one of my photos after seeing some of the total crap they include in the calender. It's gas how they try to stroke your ego with the "congratulations" tap. They get to use one of my photos, which in all modesty was way better than a lot of the ones that got their grand, for free!!

Not sure which one but these are the two that were entered:

1DFBE728D42840FF94DF722FB047DB41.jpg

1E6CA2BD4AA84792A5FC437D2A4BE017.jpg
    [/FONT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

you're dead right... I wouldn't give em the steam off me piss after that sham of a competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Fair play Danny, your dead right. Hope you also said why, though they'd probably take that as sour grapes!.

I've disagreed, as we all have I'm sure, with the winners of a lot of photo contests, but that one took the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Hats off to you Danny for not allowing it to go ahead.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

That's some stand to take, Valentia!

But I think it would almost be worth it to let them, just so as to show the public what the judges overlooked in choosing their 'top ten'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Good stuff Danny, maybe they will send Howard around to beat the crap out of ye!! :) insert message to encourage Danny on the board... :)

10.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

If anyone is interested, here is the mail I sent them:

I assure you that it isn't generally in my nature to be so negative but I'm afraid I would prefer if you didn't include my photograph in the exhibition.

You may or may not be aware that this competition has created a significant amount of controversy on the internet. This arises mainly from the quality of some of the winning shots. While judging a photo competition is a very personal and subjective exercise there can be no excuse for allowing photographs that have been severely manipulated, and very badly manipulated, into the winners enclosure. I don't know how you managed to get decent prints for the calender, though I'm told that one of the offending photographs was further manipulated before printing. I really think that this is completely unacceptable practice.

Anyway, Tom Lawlor was one of my favourite photographers in his Irish Times days and I really don't believe that he made the sole decision on the winners.

By the way this isn't sour grapes because I didn't win anything. I have subsequently seen many entries by other people on boards.ie that were far superior and fitted the theme better than a number of the winners. I would. immodestly, include my two in that category.

Obviously all of this is not of your doing so I would appreciate it if you passed on my comments to those directly involved in influencing the judging.

Take care,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Hats off to you, I'm not exactly a professional, or an expert either for that matter, but I do know crap when I see it. Dam right your photos are much better, and much less edited than the ones I've seen.

~NevF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Nicely put!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Fair play to you Danny. Your work is always high quality, and it's good to see people standing up for that. Brilliant email too.

nevf wrote: »
    Dam right your photos are much better, and much less edited than the ones I've seen.

~NevF

Thanks Nevf. Not edited would be better ;) Though I did change the colour of the wall behind the swallows and the boy/dog shot is not a set up and is 100% genuinely spontaneous.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Fair play to you for doing this. A weaker photographer would probably jump at the chance of such ego stroking. Its nice to see some standards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Well done for that reply, it was excellent. I am a big fan of your dog shot, (the now infamous attention it got on the internet, digg etc).
    You put the argument across clearly and succinctly. You were definitely speaking on behalf of everyone here. Oh, and welcome back again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

I didn't personally enter the Halifax comp but generally isn't there a waiver that by agreeing to enter the competition regardless of winning or not that you agree to allow them to use the image you entered for their own further use in the future? I remember that was a condition a few years ago with some AIB calender. If you still have an email from when entering your image it could be a good idea to see what small print they have in there!

I really hope that this isn't the case with this one Valentia. You have more than enough grounds to refuse to let your image to be used. The winning were a pile of shi*!

pete4130 wrote: »
    I didn't personally enter the Halifax comp but generally isn't there a waiver that by agreeing to enter the competition regardless of winning or not that you agree to allow them to use the image you entered for their own further use in the future? I remember that was a condition a few years ago with some AIB calender. If you still have an email from when entering your image it could be a good idea to see what small print they have in there!

I really hope that this isn't the case with this one Valentia. You have more than enough grounds to refuse to let your image to be used. The winning were a pile of shi*!

Yeah, I thought that too. But she did email and she did ask and I said no. If it was one of the original conditions than there is sweet FA that I can do about it. I wouldn't annoy myself with it TBH. I doubt that they will though, in the circumstances.

Borderfox wrote: »
    Good stuff Danny, maybe they will send Howard around to beat the crap out of ye!! :) insert message to encourage Danny on the board... :)
    That guy can be scary...

2197193463_42f4960c7a_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Sorry couldn't resist.
    991923690088822169138048_2197193463_42f4960c7a_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Even if it was was in the terms I can't imagine they'd want more bad publicity was using photos against the photographers wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Class, lol
    Dades wrote: »
    That guy can be scary...

2197193463_42f4960c7a_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Fireman

You're spot on Danny with you're letter, What a cheap shot to use you're shortlist shots. I hope the other photographers will do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

I was only talking about that today, and the winning photo. I still can't quite believe that one..

Nice one Danny :D Let us know if they have the guts to get back to you!

:D:D

Love the alterations!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

Good man Danny....stick it too em !....

2 smashing photos by the way both deservedly should've been picked !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

daveirl wrote: »

Think there was a number of threads about this, think this was one of the longer ones http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055178449&highlight=halifax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Got the same email, gave them the go ahead to be honest - It's my name up on the wall at the end of the day!

I might not have liked all the shots that made the top list, but I may as well put some up.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Got the same email, gave them the go ahead to be honest - It's my name up on the wall at the end of the day!

Boooo ... sellout. LOL.

Can see your point, but I'd have to agree with Danny's stance.

I might not have liked all the shots that made the top list, but I may as well put some up.

Hmmmmmmmm! :( Nothing to do with not liking the top list TBH. Principle is the word that comes to my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

It's my name up on the wall at the end of the day!.

... of 6 banks!

Hmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Funny that it's the talented photographers pictures that they are choosing to use in the exhibitions.

I bet the other photos didn't blow up very well, what with all the modified pixels and all ;)

I agree with you Danny though. It's a joke that they can allow the winners they did and then ask to use your photos in an exhibition with no recompense other then your name on a plaque.

Love the swallow family picture, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

Danny 1
    Fajitas 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭bernard0368

I wonder about this I am sure Halifax had an idea in there heads when it came to this calender, plenty of advertisment (the late late) etc. Then they produce a very poor qaulity calender. Danny and fajitas fair play on your respective stances. I didnt enter but if they did ask to use a photograph hmm I think I would probably let them. It is nice to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

Yeah, I'm a sellout too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

I got the mail and a phone call.

I asked the girl if she was aware of the controversy over the contest in the "photography community". She said she had not heard any negative comments about the winner(s). She said the judging was down to one person, Tom Lawler.

Danny to each they're own, and fair play for standing by your principles. But I think you and pretty much everyone on this forum has taken this "competition" way too seriously and have gotten very upset over nothing more than a marketing exercise.

I entered this particular competition with one motive, to win 1000 or 10,000 euro. It sounds petty, but that's the truth. Do I feel jaded or ripped off because some questionable entries we're judged ahead of me? Not in the least. I hardly gave it a 2nd thought.

If it was Nikon, Canon or SWPP or ANY organization that had a link to photography, my motives and expectations would be completely different, as I'm sure the results would have been.

Having said that, I was told that Tom Lawler would open each exhibition himself and I would be invited to attend. I am looking forward to this, and will not hesitate to ask him what his citeria was for selectin the winners.

out of interest, my response to them was

I do grant permission to use my photo of my son in the exhibition detailed below.

His name is Thomas.

Thanks, look forward to seeing the schedule.

well done fajitas and Valentia - EDIT - and ROJO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

To me this is strange - they pick some (not all) not-so-great shots for the calendar and then use excellent ones for the exhibition. I can't help but think there's some commercial/marketing motive behind that. For the life of me though I can't think what...

I do admire the principle or not allowing a shot to be used.

But I would have done what fajitas did. :)

RoryW wrote: »
    Danny 1
    Fajitas 0

I wholeheartly disagree.

I'm not in any way trying to get one up on Danny.

I don't see what's wrong with getting my name up somewhere, even if it is a bank. I can see Danny's point
    I entered this particular competition with one motive, to win 1000 or 10,000 euro. It sounds petty, but that's the truth. Do I feel jaded or ripped off because some questionable entries we're judged ahead of me? Not in the least. I hardly gave it a 2nd thought.

I agree.

As regards the photos being up on the walls of a bank, so what? There'll probably be more people seeing it than if I had an exhibition in one of Dublin's small galleries, or indeed, on Flickr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

I'm with Al. Not trying to put down Danny at all! I just felt it was an opportunity I couldn't refuse. Any publicity is good publicity!

Lads and lassies.....

eas first. I don't know what you are on about. I didn't take the results of this competition too seriously. I just commented on the crap that was selected as winners. It didn't effect my blood pressure in the least.

As far as Halifax, a bullion euro multinational, asking if they can use one of my photographs to decorate their offices for FREE, now that's s different kettle of fish. I don't remotely feel as if I am taking a great stand here, I simply can't see how I could act any differently. It really is using people in a very inappropriate way. Massaging their ego so that they don;t have to pay for something that they can well afford to pay for. What really saddens me. yes it does actually, is that people fall for it and allow themselves to be used in this way. I genuinely cannot understand it.:(:confused:

I don't mean we will fall out over it lads but it does turn the ol' stomach.

P.S. Just to be clear, I have a tendency to give away my stuff. It's not like I do photography for money. The opposite in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Sorry I'm rather late to the party on this, but does anyone have a link to the winning entries? I'm really curious to see the crap that won. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

I rememberwatching a programme on learning to paint years ago and the artist said "never give away a painting for free...even if you only get a few bob for it its better than giving it away..unless its a gift"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

Valentia wrote: »

eas first. I don't know what you are on about. I didn't take the results of this competition too seriously. .

Valentia, in my opinion, based on reading numerous threads discussing the competition, I think you took it too seriously. Not meant as an insult, it's just an observation.
    As far as Halifax, a bullion euro multinational, asking if they can use one of my photographs to decorate their offices for FREE, now that's s different kettle of fish.

True, if halifax where asking me for rights to decorate their offices for free I would tell them where to go. I gave them permission to use one of my images as part as a touring exhibition. In my view somewhat different.

How much satisfaction I'll get out of the fact that one of my photos is to be hung in 6 banks over 3 months is close to zero. The amount of satisfaction I'll get from the look on my wife + sons face when they see the picture hung in the exhibition will be greatly more.

Again, well done for keeping your principles intact, at least when there's no $ involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Sorry I'm rather late to the party on this, but does anyone have a link to the winning entries? I'm really curious to see the crap that won. Thanks.

Well my crap winning entry can be seen here on flickr:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thirdfox/1842012482/

as for the rest of the winning entries... oh, a quick search on halifax brought it up:
    http://www.halifax.ie/index.jsp?nID=591&pID=285

enjoy!

Nice to see lots of boards members getting recognition for the quality of their shots.

And now to put on a flame suit ;)

Thirdfox wrote: »

See you there mate! :)

eas wrote: »
    Valentia, in my opinion, based on reading numerous threads discussing the competition, I think you took it too seriously. Not meant as an insult, it's just an observation.

Of all the people on boards, I think Danny certainly wouldn't be one to take such a competition seriously, especially considering the quality of images and the other competitions and displays his images have been used for (especially that damn gannet one. LOL).

It's one thing to take your photography seriously, and it's another to take a competition seriously. I think Danny most certainly takes pride in his photography, and it shows.

There are many great photographers on this site, some entered that competition and some didn't. There is a difference between wanting any publicity and holding to your standards and principles.

I assume you mean flame retardant suit?

Where are you getting yours, and what's the largest size they come in?

No idea - I'll just use what's inside my sofa I suppose (hope it's not asbestos) :D

Good spot - of course I had meant to say flame retardant suit...wouldn't want to be fanning the flames even more!

I didn't take it as an insult. I really don't know what to say to convince you otherwise except to say that I have a reasonable idea of my own mind.

True, if halifax where asking me for rights to decorate their offices for free I would tell them where to go.

But that is precisely what they are asking you to do!

Again, well done for keeping your principles intact, at least when there's no $ involved.

Wow talk about a backhanded compliment ;) You really don't know me at all!!

Well my crap winning entry can be seen here on flickr:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thirdfox/1842012482/

I'm certainly not including you in the "crap" bit as I'm sure my previous comments at the time show.

Valentia wrote: »
    I'm certainly not including you in the "crap" bit as I'm sure my previous comments at the time show.

My comment wasn't directly at you Danny :) I was just reminding Lex in a subtle(?) way that it is always better to be polite when on the forums - you never know who is reading what you say - but no offence meant to anyone (hence the use of smilies).

Seems like this competition has just gotten everyone into a rotten mood...

Did anyone enter the Smithsonian photo competition? (Trying to subtly(?) change the subject :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

I wholeheartly disagree.

I'm not in any way trying to get one up on Danny.

I don't see what's wrong with getting my name up somewhere, even if it is a bank. I can see Danny's point

Not meant that you were trying to get one up on Danny. I can see both points of view and just agree more with Dannys, hence the 1-0 scoreline :)