Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: 5X03 - "Not For Attribution" [***** SPOILERS WITHIN *****]

• 16-01-2008 3:28pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "NOT FOR ATTRIBUTION" -

Episode Title: "Not For Attribution"
    Airdate: January 20th 2008

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    "

They're dead where it doesn't count." - Fletcher

Mayor Carcetti's master plan for the police department is leaked to the press, sending the brass into a panic; Marlo turns to Proposition Joe for help with an enviable problem; executive editor Whiting and managing editor Thomas Klebanow drop a bombshell on the newspaper staff; Michael finds temporary respite from his life on the corner by taking Dukie and Bug on a trip; McNulty shares some inside info with Gutierrez, but her subsequent story doesn't cause the splash either envisioned; McNulty, undaunted, looks for a new ally in Freamon.

Next Episode: 5X04 - "
    : "Transition"
    - January 27th 2008

Verdict? 14 votes

High Wire (5)
    0% 0 votes
    Razor Wire (4)
    92% 13 votes
    Barbed Wire (3)
    7% 1 vote
    Wire Frame (2)
    0% 0 votes
    Chicken Wire (1)
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

watched it earlier and it is a pretty good episode, with the killing of the old man it showed the softer side of omar at the end, although how long will that last, im expecting some serious revenge on his behalf, with both mcnulty and omar on marlow's case it seems unlikely that he will make it through to the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Easily the best episode of the season thus far with loads to chew on. If there was a poll I'd give it top marks.
    I'll save further comments for later to not risk spoiling people as I thought this episode wouldn't be available till next week.
    Hooray for "On Demand" :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Well that was a brilliant episode;

Some of the funniest tv ive seen; McNulty trying to jog Barlow's memory about the ribbon while he was farting and talking to his wife on the phone about woodstain
    McNulty wrote:
    most of the guys up here couldnt catch the clap at a mexican whore house!
    :D But at the end Lester comes on board as an unlikely ally :)
    Lester wrote:
    give the killer some ****ed up fantasy, somethin real bad

Marlo has too much money. A nice problem to have :D
    Prop Joe wrote:
    it aint easy civilising this mother****er

Poor Butchie, bad way to go out. Looking foward to Omars payback :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

i hope Omar gets biblicle with Chris & Snoop after that ****. can' t believe they done that. and i really can't believe Lesters going along with McNulty madness, the scene where he's banging the chic on the car was classic McNulty, he didn't even brake stride to show the badge. Tis going to be interesting to see what happens to Daniels now, kinda happy that we're finaly going to find out what is in "The File" but i don't want to see it hurt his career. at least with him in charge Baltimore stands a chance!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'll try and add a poll later. For got all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Brilliant episode. Best yet out out of the 3. We knew Chris and Snoop were cold but damn! Poor Butchie. Torturing and killing a blind man,wow those guys are great :rolleyes: Omar's tears at the end,it was a 10 second scene but just shows how brilliant the Wire is,even with that hat he was wearing.I really hope he blows Marlo away,and Chris and Snoop.

We also got a nice segment with Michael and Dukie,it would be great to see them somehow escape that life like Namond did,but it doesn't seem likely.

At first I didn't like the idea that McNulty had and was surprised Freemon is going along with it. At the end of the day they are they same in how they see the police department,and based on how it is run,I don't think it is out of character for McNulty to be doing such a messed up thing.

It will be interesting to see what exactly Daniels is hiding. Does anyone else think it has something to do with them losing a baby or something,and then somehow money being involved? He had no kids with the ex-wife,she talked about how they had "already lost enough".

What a show,everytime those end credits roll I realise I am counting down how many episodes are left,and its getting shorter and shorter. When episode 4 comes out next week I will be able to watch 4,5,6 and 7 in a row :D

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Poll added...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Fantastic - much of the good stuff's been said above. Line of the night is for "It ain't easy civilizin' this motherf**ker" :D It did make a good point though about the life led by the likes of Marlo - what need would they have ever had for the likes of a bank?

The scene with the kids was nice but sad because I cannot see it ending well for Michael. He's mixed up far too much with Chris and Snoop and now that Omar's coming after them, it's bound to be trouble.

McNulty's twisting of the crime scenes was good and it was definitely funny him exclaiming aloud about his various finds to utter disinterest. What a cry from the feigned over-the-top enthusiasm on other cops shows - this is how it is. Lester coming on board at the end was a surprise but, in many ways, it makes sense. Lester is highly intelligent and he can calculate the pros and cons of McNulty's actions and finds himself in favour of it.

Daniels for commissioner? No I bet it won't end so sweetly. Why do I have a feeling that his secret will sink him and we'll end up with Rawls?

Snoop and Chris' killing was one of the most cold blooded in the show so far - I jumped a few times. They showed zero compassion. I think Omar will deliver retribution at some cost.

Finally, the news room. Those re-structuring moments and people being called down echoed with my own experiences a few years. They even threw in a "going forward" for authentic office BS. Mr. Faker though is surely not doing anyone any favours by making stuff up again to impress people - is there a risk of him undermining some quality journalism to come?

Brilliant show - only seven episodes left though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭fish fingers

great episode. Omar is gonna open a can of whoop ass on Chris and Snoop, and not time enough. Prop joe as per usual had the best lines:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

during the killing of butchie it seemed as if snoop was somewhat affected by it and knew that it was completely the wrong thing to do. I think she realises that pissing omar off is a bad idea.

Trippie wrote: »
    during the killing of butchie it seemed as if snoop was somewhat affected by it and knew that it was completely the wrong thing to do. I think she realises that pissing omar off is a bad idea.

ye she seemed worried about herself,she didn't give a toss about the blind man tied to a chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

i have to say highlights

at the end, tear in omars eye, you know theres gonna be revenge, delighted hes back in the scene

and mc nulty giving it to yer one at the back of the car,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Mainstay

I think Marlo going for to Antigua to check his money will cause him more hassle then its worth for him.

Seeing McNulty nailing the chick was funny but the fact he managed to change into a decent person just to p*ss it all away again is depressing but since when has "The Wire" been a cheery show.

With the return of Omar it wll be interesting to see what Michaels position, he was not happy about killing people over them talking, how will he feel about defending people who killed a blind man.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Mr E wrote: »
    Poll added...

Nice one.

One question though. How did you do it? PM me please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

im gonna predict marlo will get stuck there by the authorities temporarly and omar will come back and cause some hassel , this way marlos status wont be effected in our eyes, hell still be a mean SOB :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Oh its so on between Omar and Marlo, can't wait.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

That wan in the bank in Antigua was a bit of alright.

Also, I'd love to know how McNulty can get himself into that kind of state and still manage to **** beautiful blondes on his car bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Marlo in the Bank was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Anyone else think Omar was going to turn the corner and come face to face with Marlo? That would be too cheesy for the Wire though.
    Was it mentioned before where Omar was?

I'm guessing it was some coastal resort in Mexico.
    That's where his boyfriend Ronaldo is from anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

The season is really starting to pick up now. Great episode!

McNulty's going down. I can see one of the younger news reporters exposing what he's done.

Tampering with a body under a CCTV camera wasn't the cleverest of ideas.

I was thinking the same but I wasn't a CCTV camera its an "overhead camera" for taking pictures of the bodies. Mcnulty is gone off the rails but he still "good police" I dont think he going to make a mistake like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Looks like Cheese is going behind Prop Joe's back in his attempts to get Omar back to Baltimore in order to war it out with Marlo. Cheese must have his eyes on Marlo's corners. Remember the way Cheese was starring at Marlo at the last Co-Op meeting...

I thought it was a bit out of character to see Marlo in the Caribbean. He seems like the type who would never leave Baltimore for love nor money in case something goes down and he ain't around to fix it.

tvnutz wrote: »
    When episode 4 comes out next week I will be able to watch 4,5,6 and 7 in a row :D

Did a few episodes leak out a tap or something?
    That's a shame if that's the case. The Interweb is destroying TV I tells ya.

Looks like Cheese is going behind Prop Joe's back in his attempts to get Omar back to Baltimore in order to war it out with Marlo. Cheese must have his eyes on Marlo's corners. Remember the way Cheese was starring at Marlo at the last Co-Op meeting...
    I didn't notice that in the Co-Op meeting, but he was looking a little pissed at the 1:1 meeting with Prop Joe to clean Marlo's money. Still and all Cheese is hardly the sharpest tool in the box as we've seen in previous seasons. I think he just gave up Omar for 'the cheese' rather than any grand plan.
    I thought it was a bit out of character to see Marlo in the Caribbean. He seems like the type who would never leave Baltimore for love nor money in case something goes down and he ain't around to fix it.
    True but this was a trip to protect his whole future, as above money is a good motivator. Besides i'm sure it would only take a few hours to go and confirm his moneys all there, then back to Baltimore.
    Did a few episodes leak out a tap or something?
    That's a shame if that's the case. The Interweb is destroying TV I tells ya.
    Shut up and download them! It'll be like the way I watched seasons 1-4 a few weeks ago. It's great to watch them back to back. :D Either that or you can wait for RTE to air them. Ah RTE :rolleyes: (probably schedule them at 2:55 on Tuesday mornings.....) At least TG4 are showing some eps now.

Anyone think Marlo is the spitting image of US poker player Phil Ivey?

I think the creators alluded to this last season when Marlo was playing high stakes poker.

In fact, that must have been Omar's best line. Marlo scooped a huge pot with his full house beating a flush, then Omar storms in with 2 handguns and says "I don't know much about poker but I'm guessing my pair of fives beats your full house" before making off with the bankroll.

phil-ivey.jpg

vs

inspiring_jamiehector2.jpg

Ivey is a bit lighter, skin tone wise, but it's uncanny, IMO.

i don't think Cheese wants Marlo's corners for himself but i do think he a bit pissed off with his position in Joe crew, from the looks of things Slim Charles is more important in the crew then Cheese.

did anyone cop the way the cashier at the bank looked kinda worried when she read Marlo's name aloud! maybe it was nothin but i think something might come of it!

Jay Ru wrote: »
    i don't think Cheese wants Marlo's corners for himself but i do think he a bit pissed off with his position in Joe crew, from the looks of things Slim Charles is more important in the crew then Cheese.

It's because he was annoyed Joe didn't want to go after Omar. Season 1 Spoilers...

Cheese wanted Omar because Omar shot Cheese in the leg and killed Stinkum in a Season 1 episode.

Didn't someone kill Cheese's dog as well?

jayteecork wrote: »
    Didn't someone kill Cheese's dog as well?

That was himself. It got badly injured in a dog fight and he shot it leading to one of the funniest scenes in the Wire where they have him on the wiretap saying "I shot my dog",and the cops assuming he is talking about a guy. :D

I think its safe to say,Cheese's motivation for going behind Joe's back was revenge and money,I don't think he is the type to think beyond that.

tvnutz wrote: »
    Cheese wanted Omar because Omar shot Cheese in the leg and killed Stinkum in a Season 1 episode.

that was Wee Bay that got shot in the leg, Cheese didn't appear until series 2! :rolleyes:

Jay Ru wrote: »
    that was Wee Bay that got shot in the leg, Cheese didn't appear until series 2! :rolleyes:

Ye I know,I was thinking of when Mouzone shot him,in the arm it was actually. Have to rewatch the seasons in order. I recently watched 4,then 1,then 3 and then 2 so my timelines are all over the place. You are right on Weebay being shot when stinkum was killed. I think it was mainly because Cheese was p!ssed that Omar stole the whole shipment last season and just walked in Joe and got him to buy it back!

Of all the "bad guys" between Marlo, Chris, Snoop, and Cheese, it's definitely Cheese on the way out first.
    Can't believe the guy has lasted till season 5, he's thick as pig****e.
    He's Prop Joe's nephew isn't he?

Ye Cheese isn't the smartest,don't think he is Joe's nephew though. Can't remember really. Like I said,will have to watch them in order. Just tonight I was watching the Season 2 finale on FX and on now are 2 episode from season 4 on TG4. :p

I still havent seen this yet. Probably get a chance on Thursday. If I'm lucky!

rkm wrote: »

Well there ye go. Did they creators or writers ever comment on Randy have the same last name as Cheese? Supposed to be his father? Hardly a common name!

Just watched it there. was pretty class.

Jimmy is going down a bad path. He'll be dead on in jail by the end of it