Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Lynch's working girls

• 15-01-2008 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭

RTE might well have done it again. Just when you thought they couldn't top the sheer awfulness of The English Class and The Roaring 20's they come up with Katherine Lynch's working girls.

What a run of form they are on.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

RIP Irish TV Standards
    the worst tv show rte ever broadcast is on right now. iv never puked watching tv until about 5mins ago when that woman was doing that trampoline/bungee thing.
    Let the abuse begin......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

After watching about 3 minutes of it, I couldn't believe my eyes and ears. Who on earth allowed such complete and utter stomach-turning crap to make it's way onto any kind of screen. It should never have made it past the nearest bin. And that's being polite. What an embarrassment - God help us all!

toilet humour is supposed to be funny. this misses the toilet and pisses all over the floor and the wall behind it.
    oh a colonic irrigation...now thats funny*

*thats me being sarcastic, incase you dont know what humour is after suffering this show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Aaagh, My ears!!!!!

Can I sue RTE for high-pitched-shriek-induced ear problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've seen more humour at a funeral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think ye're all mad, probably the best Irish comedy. Maybe ye haven't come into contact with characters like these but this show is spot on and hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

hahahhahahhahah

that is sooo ƒú©king funny

so many people on boards are so quick to critisise anything...

i for one will be watching it again next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

It was horrible! A mix of mockumentry and naked camera?? Pure tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Master-Decoy

hahaha thought it was ****in hilarious! "friends in hiaces" haha Im livin in mayo and I can tell ya that she's spot on all the way. Whatever about the classroom and the roaring twenties this was actually funny!Fair play she's ballsy! "stand by your van" haha knacker puns are always welcome! ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

:DNever laughed so much- it was so funny. She was very quick with the jokes when she was in public- some comedians on tv programmes like these are useless in real life situations, they need the jokes learned off beforehand, i.e I Dare ya (what a pile of rubbish). And don't get me started on how bad the Panel has gotten. This programme should have been given the Panels time slot. Or alternatively, is Katherine Lynch the coveted female needed for the Panel (who can actually be funny instead of just sitting there pretending to laugh at the fellas jokes)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I thought it was hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

kaji wrote: »
    :DNever laughed so much- it was so funny. She was very quick with the jokes when she was in public- some comedians on tv programmes like these are useless in real life situations, they need the jokes learned off beforehand, i.e I Dare ya (what a pile of rubbish). And don't get me started on how bad the Panel has gotten. This programme should have been given the Panels time slot. Or alternatively, is Katherine Lynch the coveted female needed for the Panel (who can actually be funny instead of just sitting there pretending to laugh at the fellas jokes)?

But all of the jokes in the "real life" situations were rehearsed to bits. It was utter crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭AngelinaJolie

I thought this was.... well..... underdeveloped.
    A great character with some great comic potential but..

I cringed a little.

Can we dis RTE please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

But she was just a natural- for example when the little boy was looking at the stuff at the stall, she was doing rehearsed jokes first but then he started messing and she told him to 'feck off ya little fecker'. It was just the way she said it, I couldnt stop laughing. A lot of the people she met were random, and she was able to say something funny. I know this is completely off the point but I cant stop laughing at the pictures of Holy Mary and Philomena Begley in the caravan- hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭AngelinaJolie

But she was just a natural- for example when the little boy was looking at the stuff at the stall, she was doing rehearsed jokes first but then he started messing and she told him to 'feck off ya little fecker'.

This is too close to Kilinaskully territory for me... and I just don't find that kind of humour funny.

I think overtly using the revered 'Father Ted' was dangerous as well.

But Singing Bernie Walsh was, and is, a good character.

But why make her a rapper in the end???

Believe it or not, I think country music is making a revival in Ireland (albeit in a gay, Dolly Parton and poor Joe Dolan is dead kind of way).

Thar's comedy gold in them thar hills!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Mangy_Cat

Is she a real traveller!? Great accent.. even betthar than Sir Blackie Connors of Glenroe fame (and he was proper traveller.)

Reminds me of Catherine Tate. Some people will hate this show and some will love it. Rural folk may have preference for it. ;)

Respect for Phillomena Begley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭becah

I thought it was hilarious, have to say I throughly enjoyed it. In this age of political correctness in Ireland, it was very daring, I'm quite suprised that RTE had the balls to show this though!
    "Bernie" was a great character and I found myself laughing out loud, something that rarely happens watching 'comedy' on RTE.
    I'm from the West myself, and I agree with what other posters are saying in that she took off a lot of 'characters' that you'd find in any town really well, it may not be appreciated by a lot of Dublin viewers, but Bernie is certainly alive and well in rural Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

Just for doing her impression of Deirdre O' Kane to Deirdre O' Kane at the meteor awards, I'll watch again next week. Thought that some of the writing in her commentary was quite sharp. The "father ted festival is a necrophilia nerdfest" line made me laugh out loud, something which The roaring twenties, making Jake, I dare ya and the english class absolutely failed to do. There was a lot of hit and miss material there too but overall, with clearly a minimum budget once again, I thought it was better than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭p2kone

at ted fest when all "the lads" in the pub start chanting "get your tits out for the lads etc ... "

she replies with "get them out yourself, ya fat bastard!"

that was hilarious,

this was actually a funny program, for a change!

Mangy_Cat wrote: »
    Is she a real traveller!? Great accent.. even betthar than Sir Blackie Connors of Glenroe fame (and he was proper traveller.)
    FYI: actually that is not true. He played the character very well though. His "brother"(or the other main traveller character) in the series was played by a genuine traveller.

I fail to see the humour in this show....people saying its very true to life etc, that dosent make it funnier, just shows how sad ireland is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Thought the show was very entertaining myself, even my wife came back in and sat down to watch it and she's a great barometer if something on t.v. is funny or just cringeworthy. As others have said, last nights character was spot on and she pulled it off brilliantly.
    I think, as also has been said, that people here just want to criticise everything that's on RTE and just make a habit of it these days. I get the feeling that if RTE showed the UK version of the Office first as it it people would still be here saying how awful and all the other usual stuff.

Jip wrote: »
    I get the feeling that if RTE showed the UK version of the Office first as it it people would still be here saying how awful and all the other usual stuff.
    yeah i probably would.....dont particularly see what all the fuss is about that show either (but iv debated that at length before so no need to go back there!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Wow, I can't actually believe people liked this. Different strokes, I guess. Thank god I've got satellite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭firebug_guy

OMG it was HILARIOUS!

She's our own Catherine Tate! :D I laughed so much, thought she done a brilliant job and cant wait for next weeks show.

While I appreciate its not everyones taste of humour, there are plenty of programmes on TV I dont like (or get) and others do. Each to their own I guess!

I loved when she went up to Deirdre O Kane and was like "Dya wanna here my impression of you. I'm Deirdre O Kane, I had a baby, Thats gas!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭chancer_007

thought she was brilliant interviewing at the mediocre awards
    i roared laughing
    not many programs can do that for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Catherine Tate was the first time that came to my mind also - couldn't help laughing at this tho..the whole meteor awards thing had me in stiches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 mrfreddred

Funniest thing I have seen poking fun at us Irish since Father Ted. Its about time we took the pokers out of our h@les and loosened up a bit. This mockumentary was an unexpected delight and gives two fingers to the PC obsessed....Cant wait till next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I liked this too. The comparisons with The Roaring Twenties and The English Class are just plain ridiculous. They were just badly done but whilst this may not have been for everyone it was nonetheless well put together and well written and produced. I would love to hear an interview with Katherine Lynch to hear her accent because the one she did last night was class.

I thought it she was definitely the factor that made it. She was very very sharp and was good at coming up with stuff off the cuff. I'm looking forward to next week.

Looks like its just gone over the Dubs heads. how can ye not think it's funny throwing ping pong balls to the "pussycat girls" "here's something for ye're act" :D

West, west, keep it country ya'll..

Don't know about the rap one next week, maybe should have kept her in the country an western scene she's more suited to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

ScumLord wrote: »
    Looks like its just gone over the Dubs heads. how can ye not think it's funny throwing ping pong balls to the "pussycat girls" "here's something for ye're act" :D

I'm from Dublin and I liked it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭bettedavis

couldn't agree more, she was great, confident and spontaneously witty unlike all of the female panellists on the panel, i cringe at the way mairead sits there and makes some inane comment which you just know she had prepared for days thinking it would be hilarious and then she says it, and the boys look at her with almost pity . also does anyone else find that the panel is great for the first bit, then they bring a guest on and it just kills the show, it doesn't gel at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Thought the show was hilarious, The whole room was in stitches with me. It was so good im kind of afraid next week will be a bit of a disappointment. :(

Edit: I wouldnt compare her to catherine tate though, Coz im not a big fan of hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

woooo232 wrote: »
    I'm from Dublin and I liked it!

I'm from the country and thought it was absolutely awful.:D

All she was doing was dressing like a traveller and putting on a traveller's accent and this is meant to be funny how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

it was actually pretty funny. At first i thought it was ****e but after a few minutes yer womans sheer ballsiness really started to impress :D
    Some hilarious stuff like singing 'sisters are doing it for themselves' to the 'nuns' "sure they hafta, the poor bastards!", singing on top of the table at the festival, and waving the dildo at yer man from westlife and saying 'will ye give this to loius for me??', was ****ing hilarious :D

edit:
    also for some weird reason i totally wouldve given her one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 LouthMouth

i was dreading this.

Jokes as old as Larry Gogan - CHECK (Friends in Hiaces)
    Stereotypical character - CHECK
    No plot - CHECK
    Mockumentary - CHECK
    Red carpet interviews done by a million people before since Dennis Pennis - CHECK
    Cliched rap thing at the end, done a million times like in Paths to Freedom- CHECK

BUT I laughed out loud loads. I couldn't help myself. I'm pretty au fait with the Irish comedy circuit and have never heard of this woman but I must admit she was quick-witted and original in places. Some of the throwaway lines, whilst obvious, were great (e.g. "Mobile?" "Home or Phone, now?"). Deffo watch again next week, this character could run out of steam pretty quickly but it'll be interesting to see the next two. Wouldn't compare it to Catherine Tate (who I hate) but I was thinking of Peter Kay's first series, That Peter Kay Thing, where he tried out one character an episode...some worked, some didn't and got to make Phoenix Nights out of it.

For once, fair play to RTE. And the Roarin' Twenties wasn't too bad this week...I didn't see last week's. As people have said on the other thread, keep the two main characters (the couple) and the sports nerd and work with them.

RTE should do this sort of thing more often, like Channel 4 did recently with a Comedy Showcase. They had 5 sitcom pilots and 1 sketch show pilot on consecutive weeks to test the water. To recoup their money, RTE could get people to text in their votes at the end of the run as to what one should be made into a series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭fitzyshea

I loved it! I think some people are too quick to criticise, wait until next week and decide then. I use to go and see Katherine Lynch a few years ago in GUBU on Capel Street where she put on shows like this with singing bernie walsh and busty lyrca, she is very funny and quick with the gags! I think most people who saw her before in GUBU loved her and wishes she was still there as her show was excellent. I hope RTE commission it for another series, its only 3 episodes at the minute but hopefully RTE will see sense and get rid of the crap, like Roaring 20's etc.

And no she is not a traveller.

fitzyshea wrote: »
    And no she is not a traveller.

Who said she was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭fitzyshea

Previous post by Mangy Cat

Check out link below for next weeks show
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/katherinelynch/index.html

Who said she was?
    The TV implied it. :eek:

She reminds me of Amanda Brunker.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

Rte are the standard bearers in absolutely dire comedies. I don't even give irish comedies a chance anymore, you don't need a crystal ball to know its going to be drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

"Ha ha ha. I'm doing a traveller accent. Ha ha ha. Knacker jokes - Hiaces. You know? Hiaces! ha ha ha"

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BnA

Absoloutely Brilliant

I didn't know it was coming on and I was kind of half asleep after desperate housewives. For the first few minutes I was thinking.... "What the hell is this about".... But by the end of it I was laughting out loud regularly.

As someone said earlier, her quick wittedness (if that's a word) with the public was what made it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

"Ha ha ha. I'm doing a traveller accent. Ha ha ha. .

You mustn't get around the country much, particularly parts of the the midlands, if you think that was explictly a travellers accent.

Jip wrote: »
    You mustn't get around the country much, particularly parts of the the midlands, if you think that was explictly a travellers accent.

Well she lived in a caravan.

I think it's pretty obvious the character was meant to be a traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i pay my licence fee for crap like this? i despair, i genuinely do..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I actually quite liked this. Her jokes were a bit hit and miss in the scripted sections but once she was doing stuff out with the public and doing the interviews at the meteor awards I thought she was hilarious. Will be tuning in next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

When is this repeated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Really, really bad. Cheesy, killinascully-esque ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭deemy

I thought it was hilarious. When she was in public. Wen the lads said get your tits out and she said get ur own out ya fat fcuk was classic as was the 'her pits are so hairy its like she has bin laden in a head lock'.Who did ur one wit sharon shannon think she was wen she was pulling her away. Massive star that she is and all :rolleyes: I don't think its anything like kilnascully as that is pure scripted tripe. best comedy rte have done in soooo long. Must agree the panel is gone to sh**te.