Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CLONMEL 3th feb 25,500 guaranteed

• 10-01-2008 11:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭

SUNDAY 3RD FEB 25,000 GUARANTEED

1. Who is running the event. (celtic poker and Atlantis casinos)
    2. The purpose of the event ( commercial )
    3. Date and Location of event (clonmel park hotel sun feb 3rd )
    4. Registration and Start time of event. ( reg 5pm start 6pm sharp )
    5. Any prerequisites ( no)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (tickets can be purchased at Atlantis casinos Carlow, clonmel also tickets can be won at celtic poker events and every tues, thurs and sunday 9.30pm at atlantis casino carlow between now and the event)
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.(entry 200 with one top up or rebuy for 100)
    9. Cost of registration ( 20 euro )
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.( 25,000 euro GUARANTEED)
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips ( 10,000 )
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.(10,000 )
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes ( 30 MIN BLINDS )
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill ( FULLY Dealered professionally trained )
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules( yes )
    20. Is there a tournament director yes liam delaney
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. tournament director has the final say

huge amount of side games available suitable for every budget. from texas to omaha

CASH GAMES START SUNDAY 12 noon and will continue over the week

there are also two tournaments one on Monday 4th 10 k guaranteed and one on tues 5th 10 k guaranteed both will be 7pm for reg and 8pm start

same blinds as above
    100 euro with one rebuy or top up for 50

contact paul lucey 086 042 0350 for any details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

will the structure be posted on celtic poker tour website?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (tickets can be purchased at Atlantis casinos Carlow, clonmel also tickets can be won at celtic poker events and every tues, thurs and sunday 9.30pm at atlantis casino carlow between now and the event)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.(entry 200 with one top up or rebuy for 100)
    9. Cost of registration ( 20 euro )
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.( 25,000 euro GUARANTEED)
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips ( 10,000 )
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.(10,000 )
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes ( 30 MIN BLINDS )
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill ( FULLY Dealered professionally trained )
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules( yes )
    20. Is there a tournament director yes liam delaney
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. tournament director has the final say

huge amount of side games available suitable for every budget. from texas to omaha

CASH GAMES START SUNDAY 12 noon and will continue over the week

there are also two tournaments one on Monday 4th 10 k guaranteed and one on tues 5th 10 k guaranteed both will be 7pm for reg and 8pm start

same blinds as above
    100 euro with one rebuy or top up for 50

contact paul lucey 086 042 0350 for any details

lol at part not answered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

u got there just before me nicky:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Hmmm, with the Celtic Poker Tour competing with the established presence of BigSlick, could there possibly be an overlay at a CPT event?? Surely such a thing is unheard of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Atlantis Casino

100% of rebuy or top up going into prizepool

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

100% of rebuy or top up going into prizepool

thanks

considering that there is a €20 reg fee, why is 100% of the initial buyin not going to the prize pool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭pete1234

could u post up the blind structure please??

100% of the entry fee, 100% of the rebuys and 100% of the top-ups will create the prizepool. Sorry for any confusion.

Structure for the tournament is as follows,

10k Starting stack with one re-buy or top-up also 10k.
    30 Min clock.

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    150/300
    200/400
    300/600
    400/800
    600/1200
    800/1600
    1000/2000
    1500/3000
    2000/4000
    3000/6000
    4000/8000
    5000/10000
    6000/12000
    8000/16000
    10000/20000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

From the CPT website, Sunday February 3rd 2008
    COURSING FESTIVAL
    MAIN EVENT
    The Clonmel Park Hotel
    Clonmel
    Entry €200+20 one buyback or top up @ €50
    €25,000 minimum guaranteed

Registration 5pm
    Start 6pm

So is the rebuy €100 or €50???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

From the CPT website, Sunday February 3rd 2008
    COURSING FESTIVAL
    MAIN EVENT
    The Clonmel Park Hotel
    Clonmel
    Entry €200+20 one buyback or top up @ €50
    €25,000 minimum guaranteed

Registration 5pm
    Start 6pm

So is the rebuy €100 or €50???

Look get off their backs, they always decide these things nearer the day, sometimes on the day & sometimes when they see how things are going

A bit like the TV show "It'll be alright on the night" like fcuk it will

kakak1 wrote: »
    Look get off their backs, they always decide these things nearer the day, sometimes on the day & sometimes when they see how things are going

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭The Istanbul

kakak1 wrote: »

Guys

I dont understand why people are persisting in 'having a go' at these organisers: as poker players we should be delighted- two well structured professionally dealer dealt games with 100% of monies (excluding reg fees going into prizepool) and one of these games guaranteeing €25k regardless of numbers.:D

I am a regular customer of BSP and, in my opinion, they have always run a superb show with excellent structures, dealers and prizepools. I have also played a number of CPT events and welcome the fact that they are now striving to match what Big Slick are doing. I hope they continue with dealer dealt 100% prizepool (excluding reg) events:)

It is a pity the two events clash as I, for one, would love to play both events and now have a choice to make: pay €320 for a shot at a piece of a min. guaranteed prizepool of €25k with many unknowns OR pay €250 into what I know will be a super game but with what is likely to be a higher standard field!

BTW: where are all the professional dealers going to come from? BSP have their own excellent team: having played in a fairly recent CPT dealered event many of the dealers were as far from professional as the Pope is from scoring Pamela Anderson:(. Carfax's training camps would need to have been very busy since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭pokerbratz

I talked to mike at c.p.t. and he confirms that the main game is €200+20 with one buyback or top up @ €100, typo by the website people. With over 10,000 visitors to Clonmel he reckons there is plenty of players to go around plus I guess betfair wanted a presence, they are giving C.P.T. A WSOP package and are launching it at the park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭chillimetro

pokerbratz wrote: »
    I talked to mike at c.p.t. and he confirms that the main game is €200+20 with one buyback or top up @ €100, typo by the website people. With over 10,000 visitors to Clonmel he reckons there is plenty of players to go around plus I guess betfair wanted a presence, they are giving C.P.T. A WSOP package and are launching it at the park.
    thanks for the info MIKE:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

Guys

I dont understand why people are persisting in 'having a go' at these organisers: as poker players we should be delighted- two well structured professionally dealer dealt games with 100% of monies (excluding reg fees going into prizepool) and one of these games guaranteeing €25k regardless of numbers.:D

I am a regular customer of BSP and, in my opinion, they have always run a superb show with excellent structures, dealers and prizepools. I have also played a number of CPT events and welcome the fact that they are now striving to match what Big Slick are doing. I hope they continue with dealer dealt 100% prizepool (excluding reg) events:)

It is a pity the two events clash as I, for one, would love to play both events and now have a choice to make: pay €320 for a shot at a piece of a min. guaranteed prizepool of €25k with many unknowns OR pay €250 into what I know will be a super game but with what is likely to be a higher standard field!

BTW: where are all the professional dealers going to come from? BSP have their own excellent team: having played in a fairly recent CPT dealered event many of the dealers were as far from professional as the Pope is from scoring Pamela Anderson:(. Carfax's training camps would need to have been very busy since then.
    have to agree competition is good for poker players, so here are the choices we have to make. choice 1/go to big slick event listen to kelly for 3 days but know that this will be a professional run tournment which will improve your poker game overall or choice 2/go to c p t event hope it will be what is promised play for 3 days and leave demented/depressed and find out that your new years resolution to improve your overall poker game has taken a major step backwards and your back to square one ...........the choice is yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

A couple of weeks ago,Macspower specifically asked (here on boards) if CPT and the Atlantis casino were linked in any way. the reps from Atlantis Casino came on here and stated catagorically that there was absolutely no link between them.(more than once as Macs was pretty sure)
    Then they come back on here and jointly announce a big tournament they are ruinning.(CPT and Atlantis Casino are proud to present etc etc etc)!!
    And people wonder why we have doubts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

SAY NO

to Cpt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

connie147 wrote: »
    Then they come back on here and jointly announce a big tournament they are ruinning.(CPT and Atlantis Casino are proud to present etc etc etc)!!
    And people wonder why we have doubts?

Intentional slip Connie?? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭gondorff

Tinytony wrote: »
    Intentional slip Connie?? :p

Damn! you beat me to it. Well spotted.

Connie,

have no doubhts that Celtric poker and Atlantis casino are two seperate comnpanies but with the same goal in mind. That is to bring a professional tournament and prizepool to clonmel. It doesnt matter whether their is 20 or 200 people 25 k is Guaranteed.

Over the 3 days the cash games will be amazing with names already signed up for our 5k min buy in texas no limit 25/50 blinds.

The dealer will all be professionally trained from the `Atlantis casino Carlow and Clonmel.

Paul 086 052 0350 for further details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Will cash games be raked at celtic poker rates or atlantis casino rates.Im not sure what celtic pokers rates are but from what i hear there pretty heavy rake,whereas the casino rake is pretty reasonable?

Paul

A question for you re the guarantee/prizepool-will it all be available as cash or be broken into cash plus buy-in's to other tourneys? how does the WSOP package fit in?

The last two posts in this thread have asked specific questions.

Any chance we might get an answer, this event is on next Sunday.

I notice your competitors Big Slick come back almost immediately with a reply, what's your reason for the delay

I spoke to Mike at CPT , he confirmed that the CPT rake is 3% or less.

The WSOP package will have no bearing on the prizefund in Clonmel as that package is going to be an exclusive freeroll for CPT/betfair customers in the coming months.

We are hoping for a great crowd in Clonmel for our 3 fully dealered tournaments and that will be reflected in the prizepool.

Going by feedback so far we estimate the prizepool on sunday to be over 50 k

Paul any rooms left in the clonmel park hotel?

Sorry, but no rooms left, will make a few calls around tomorrow and if i find anything i will let you know.

for anyone arou8nd tonight we are getting kicked off with a couple of cash games at the atlantis casino Carlow, i know a couple of our regulars will be down, so if antbody looking for a game, we will start about 10.30pm. ( will be down there myself for a game tonight

best of luck to everyone during the festival whereever you may be playing.

Paul

what time do the cash games start in the clonmel park on sunday , any on before the tourney starts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

Any results for this? Runners and prizepool etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

€44,000 in prizepool i think, 170 or so runners i think.It was 3 or 4 handed when i left at 8.Not sure whos left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MrPreachan

Any results??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Did they make public how many rebuys there were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

tipp86 wrote: »
    €44,000 in prizepool i think, 170 or so runners i think.It was 3 or 4 handed when i left at 8.Not sure whos left
    Did they make public how many rebuys there were?

44,000= 170 entries and 100 rebuys.

i played in this tournament last night and i have never played against such bad poker players in my life which is about 90% of the field,they can never fold top pair and will chase a draw for all there chips.by the time we got to the final table it became a crap shoot like all CPT tournaments the average stack was 6 big blinds which meant no play with 8 players left at one stage the average was 285,000 and the blinds where 25,000/50,000 which meant people where all in or fold.i can saftly say that i will never play with cetlic poker tour ever again if there was ever a field of donkeys and fish it was in the park hotel last night

gigetheman wrote: »
    i played in this tournament last night and i have never played against such bad poker players in my life which is about 90% of the field,they can never fold top pair and will chase a draw for all there chips.by the time we got to the final table it became a crap shoot like all CPT tournaments the average stack was 6 big blinds which meant no play with 8 players left at one stage the average was 285,000 and the blinds where 25,000/50,000 which meant people where all in or fold.i can saftly say that i will never play with cetlic poker tour ever again if there was ever a field of donkeys and fish it was in the park hotel last night

I know the reason you all left the Minella but had you all stayed we would have had about 50 runners.

One player reported he was moved to another table & was placed directly behind the button & was then informed he could not paly a hand until the blinds came back to him :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

What time did this finish at today

How many runners did you estimate to be there.

Assuming the 170 is correct I would have thought that only 100 re-buys was a little small, I would have expected it to be closer to 140 / 150. Again another player thought there was 200 players. I suppose we'll never really know, but sure you get what you pay for in this life.

Did any of our lads cash :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭caoimh36

I couldnt agree more plus the clock didnt have no of players, rebuys, average stack like most tourney clocks. The TD was reading this info off a sheet of paper - seriously dodgy, how that guy from the Atlantis could say on here that 100% prizepool would be paid is laughable. Big Slick FTW. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

How many times does this have to happen before peolple vote with their feet? I wasnt in clonmel but if i was i would prefer play a 20 runner big slick game than a "25k Guarantee" with CPT.

Once bitten........

well dave there where heads up around 8 this morning there where 173 runners and yes there where more than 100 rebuys and top ups but like all cpt events we will never know the so called td didnt have a clue he make a bad calls at a table i was at and the hole table disagreed with him and he still overruled the table a joke CPT=CRAP POKER TOURNAMENTS

caoimh36 wrote: »
    I couldnt agree more plus the clock didnt have no of players, rebuys, average stack like most tourney clocks.

Standard for CPt tournaments. It's not as if they can blame the software either. Ther's a reason for it and even players i know who are regulars at CPT are beginning to ask questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

Anybody that supports these games deserves to get shafted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I enjoyed myself, table I was at that the standard was excellent overall, there was 6 very good players on it, but I'd say this was just variance. Got a bit drunk and talked a women into calling my 33 120k push with A8 with 26 players left. 44k was an ok payout and about the average skim off the top by most tournament organisers. Poor Bops got two outed with 11 left by some fish called Whitty obv couldn't be irishmob as the villian held 44 and Ian only plays AA KK (QQ) on the button. Think Ian/George were 5th/6th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

come on now george be fair no one asked u to play.have the balls and say why u played.i have often seen u play for draws and with top pair.i had aces busted twice last nite against 75 and48off,but you dont have to go to cpt events for that to happen.every major tournments have at least 35% donkeys and nearly all final tables become a crap shoot so lads if ye played last nite be fair and dont come on boards badmouthing them as i said no one asked ye to play. by the way i will be playing the big slick event tonite because its guaranteed... ps well done on your cash last nite george and to ian witty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

taliban wrote: »
    come on now george be fair no one asked u to play.have the balls and say why u played.i have often seen u play for draws and with top pair.i had aces busted twice last nite against 75 and48off,but you dont have to go to cpt events for that to happen.every major tournments have at least 35% donkeys and nearly all final tables become a crap shoot so lads if ye played last nite be fair and dont come on boards badmouthing them as i said no one asked ye to play. by the way i will be playing the big slick event tonite because its guaranteed... ps well done on your cash last nite george and to ian witty

Taliban speaks sense;)

The amount of cpt bashing that goes on in this forum is bewildering TBH,the same rants are prattled out time and time again,they started a thread promoting their tournament,so why not leave them to it,good luck to them..
    The weaker the field for what is a substantial prizepool the better,this is a plus not a drawback!

BTW well done George and Ian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I enjoyed myself, table I was at that the standard was excellent overall, there was 6 very good players on it, but I'd say this was just variance. Got a bit drunk and talked a women into calling my 33 120k push with A8 with 26 players left. 44k was an ok payout and about the average skim off the top by most tournament organisers.

Poor Bops got two outed with 11 left by some fish called Whitty obv couldn't be irishmob as the villian held 44 and Ian only plays AA KK (QQ) on the button. Think Ian/George were 5th/6th

Excuse me......bops raises with J-10 off ......fish reraises with 44.....Bops calls
    Fish AHEAD.............

As\far as standard at CPT.
    Amazingly bad standard of player......I got all my chips in with blinds at 75-150 AA v J-7off on jack high flop.... 7 on turn.......said she cant ever fold top pair.
    And who busted me on final table.in 5th.....same "Lady" limps on button with K-5
    bb 22 ...FLOP K-5-2.....She pushes....i call with my 2-2-2 5 on river.

14 hours play 55minutes break
    no coffee--tea--water...

But I enjoy playing with such bad players...I blend in nicely

Gonna take it easy and head up for cash game later tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

I had great craic last night @ the CPT!!

Firstly, I really enjoyed watching the poker at my first table for the first hour - i had a really poor table - it was like a good comedy show, just sit there (waiting for a big hand) and enjoy the comments/moves/calls - they really are funny!!

The general standard is puke, but isn't that what we want? to be better than our opponents? In saying that, half of the last 18 were very decent players - and there was i'd say 50 players of high standard from the 180

The prizepool looked fair enough to me, i didn't rebuy/topup and i know alot of other people who didn't either - basically anyone who got over 25k at the break without rebuying didn't topup afaik.

I had a choice between going to this game and the other one - i chose this game due to the large number of bad players and the guaranteed prize pool

The other game should have been a decent game with 40/50 runners, but from what i had seen, they ventured in and out in dribs and drabs and decided that their wouldn't be enough for a decent game - all the organiser had to do imo was guarantee 10k and they would have stayed, i spent the first 20 mins of the game going around to the tables to slag all the traitors, there was easily 30 players that were in the other place before comming over to the CPT

I'm not going to clonmel tonight, but if i was i'd head down to kellys for a decent game - 40/50 runners - nice size, good skill level, decent game

gl

Excuse me......bops raises with J-10 off ......fish reraises with 44.....Bops calls
    Fish AHEAD.............

WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Muppet Open pushes for 120k
    Bops looks down at TJs in the Big blind (20k) and stack of 400k and decides he'd like to bust said muppet and is probably racing

Flop Jxx
    Turn x

muppet gets up from table and says gg (sigh)

river 4

yeeeeeehawwwwwwww!!

george can confirm action - how the fk is your memmory that bad??

wd btw ; )

Guys

You got to stop badmouthing the CPT-nobody forced people to go there-we all followed the guaranteed money and the 100% prizepool. They obviously made a decision to match what Big Slick has always offered (ie good dealers and 100% payout) and, combined with their guarantee, this won the day for them.

As regards the structure I thought it was very good and certainly wasn't a crapshoot when I was knocked out with blinds at 3k-6k (KK no good V AQs all-in PF for 100k pot when the AQ flushed with a K on river:().

The point about player standard being generally poorer is correct but so what-they pay's their money etc etc.... One sure thing is they weren't quieter-I had my head fried by the Joe O'Reilly wannabee poker professional teacher lookalike from Carrickmacross:(

As regards debate about the 100% prizepool surely anybody who made the final table could have insisted on a chip count and done their sums from there (factoring in a few k's for top-ups!). Of course CPT should have had a tournament clock but this common sense solution could have been applied if anybody had dounts about the payout.

Wll done to the guys on cashing: who won in the end?

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I enjoyed myself, table I was at that the standard was excellent overall, there was 6 very good players on it, but I'd say this was just variance. Got a bit drunk and talked a women into calling my 33 120k push with A8 with 26 players left. 44k was an ok payout and about the average skim off the top by most tournament organisers. Poor Bops got two outed with 11 left by some fish called Whitty obv couldn't be irishmob as the villian held 44 and Ian only plays AA KK (QQ) on the button. Think Ian/George were 5th/6th

sat on nicnic left for a couple of hours late in the tourney, it was great fun as he was locked but still playing 3 times better than the average @ the table - his exit hand was funny, yerwan was folding the A8 until nicky told her that he was "terrified and trembling with fear"!! this got her back up enough to make the silly call! nic played it well, he wanted the race - it's just a pity he only has one leg!!

considering i folded 88 utg (wow!!!! i'm a rock shhhhh!!) he was vul to loose the race

you have to look at these types of games as a social outlet, more a bit of fun than a poker game - people were giving out about the stack/BB ratio, but the game had to end sometime and at 6am there was still 12 players left and i had to be home an hour away at 7.30 or else i was fooooked. i didn't sign up for a 2 day game - that's my only gripe - it was too long

anyways i look forward to the next one, in 6 months or so! - any more than that would probably be very bad for your game :)