Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baltar dead?!

• 09-01-2008 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭

The episode Downloaded showed Baltar was in Six's head. Also one of the episodes (same one?) kept hinting at a big question...just how did baltar survive the initial attack? In the miniseries, a shockwave ripped apart his home and swallowed him up. next thing we know, he's wandering desperately toward helo Agathon, Boomer and their shuttle. No 6, and no explanation.

So did I miss something? or is there a big twist lying in wait for us?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

As far as i know, the original caprica Six shielded him from the shockwave. She told him to get down, and stood in front of the shockwave, giving her (current) life to save him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭IamBeowulf

Kiith wrote: »
    As far as i know, the original caprica Six shielded him from the shockwave. She told him to get down, and stood in front of the shockwave, giving her (current) life to save him.

That's what I originally thought. Ever since then, they're stuck in each other's heads, like ghosts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭Talisman

I still expect Baltar to be revealed as the final cylon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

No,They played out that song. Blatar is as human as they come. I'd be pissed if they made him one at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

He is human. She Shielded him from the blast, she loves him and he has never in his life loved anyone as much as he love dher in that episode.

Now i am still waiting and have been since the episode downloade dover a year and 1/2 ago i have been waiting for the greatest scene in TV history. Baltar/Six/Head Baltar/Head Six. All 4 of them in a room together. What a scene that will be. Me Cants waits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

User45701 wrote: »
    Baltar/Six/Head Baltar/Head Six. All 4 of them in a room together. What a scene that will be. Me Cants waits

Yeah that would be good.

Baltar is human. I can't see them making him a Cylon. I don't think the writers are stupid enough to do that. He so badly wants to be one that it's almost impossible at this stage.

IMO it's between Starbuck, Adama and as an outside bet Cain

If it's not Baltar then the options are few if the last cylon is a major recurring character.

Lt. Gaeta/Dee Dualla/Lee Adama/Admiral Adama/Tom Zarek/Doc Cottle

It can't be Cally - Cylons need humans to reproduce.

I would also eliminate Laura Roslin because she had cancer and cylons don't get ill unless they encounter a few hundred years old space probe.

I don't buy the Baltar has been proven to be human malarky. Saul Tigh, Anders, Chief Tyrol and election rigger Tory Foster were all human and considered themselves human until their cylon programing jump started.

Sharon Valerii is the only character that has been revealed to be a cylon who struggled with their inner-self before realising that they were a cylon. Baltar has had the same struggle questioning himself and if you look back at the episodes throughout the series there is evidence that he is a cylon. Several times he pulled things out of thin air regarding cylons that have proved to be true and aided the humans.

Here's a few incidents off the top of my head (spoiler tags for those that haven't watched the series.
    1 -
    Fingering the PR guy as a cylon in the pilot mini series.
    2 -
    The cylon detector.
    3 -
    Knowing which part of the cylon base to hit in the attack. (1x10 The Hand of God)

Compare that to of how little use he was to cylons in providing insight in to the humans.

The major factor that would discount Baltar is the fact that the space probe didn't affect him, but I live in hope that the final five are immune to what ever the infection was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Its freaking Zak Adama!

Talisman wrote: »
    If it's not Baltar then the options are few if the last cylon is a major recurring character.

It can't be Cally - Cylons need humans to reproduce.

I would also eliminate Laura Roslin because she had cancer and cylons don't get ill unless they encounter a few hundred years old space probe.

I don't buy the Baltar has been proven to be human malarky. Saul Tigh, Anders, Chief Tyrol and election rigger Tory Foster were all human and considered themselves human until their cylon programing jump started.

Sharon Valerii is the only character that has been revealed to be a cylon who struggled with their inner-self before realising that they were a cylon. Baltar has had the same struggle questioning himself and if you look back at the episodes throughout the series there is evidence that he is a cylon. Several times he pulled things out of thin air regarding cylons that have proved to be true and aided the humans.

Here's a few incidents off the top of my head (spoiler tags for those that haven't watched the series.
    1 -
    2 -
    The cylon detector.
    3 -
    Knowing which part of the cylon base to hit in the attack. (1x10 The Hand of God)

Compare that to of how little use he was to cylons in providing insight in to the humans.

The major factor that would discount Baltar is the fact that the space probe didn't affect him, but I live in hope that the final five are immune to what ever the infection was.

Hmm i had always thought that baltar was not a cylon, and i assumed that since he is the chosen one and all. But its a good point,
    - That was a logical choice based on reason. He was an outsider who had almost unlimited access to the ship.
    The cylon detector.
    Was this more a sign of his genius to me because they do know that cylons are susceptible to certain types of radiation
    Seemed like a true random guess to me, i really don't think he knew and it was a total random guess, maybe influenced by the angel or god him/herself.

I dont think its the prez because she had cancer, ive always considered geata
    but after Razor i have begen to suspect Kendra Shaw

Cylon God: "I can see things, your life Kenrda Shaw, the things youve done, things you felt you had to do, all leading to this moment....... Do you wish to be forgiven my child"
    Kendra "Yes"

Being Kenda would be very infulentual but also what abbout Thrace? i mean how did she survive?
    Ive alwas thought the final 5 ressurrect to earth and if you search boards ive been saying this for since we where first introduced to the concept of the final 5, this can now be partially supported by Thraces line "Ive been to earth, i know where it is and im going to take us there" After the cylon gods line "Kara thrace will lead the human race to its end, she is the herald of the apocalypse the harbinger of evil, they must not follow her" What if i am right and the final five ressurect to earth, then if Thrace was the final cylon it would explain her dying. Now on a wild idea.... maybe she does not know she is a cylon and believe that any human who dies goes to earth.
    Its freaking Zak Adama!

Ye a strong possibility but that would mean that somehow adama didnt know his own child was a cylon? we know the cylons cant replace a existing human so i don't get it.

Possible
    Ive always thought it could be Karas mother as well because that wouldmean she is 1/2 cylon, this would explain her amazing skills and her endurance levels as well as her mother knowing she has a special destiny. Cylons cant get cancer ye but they have never captured one and forced it to smoke for 40+ odd years to test the effects. If smoking does damage the lungs and cause cancer its possible a cylon could suffer form this also because its physical damage caused by toxins, they can suffer from radiation and other infections

Just stumbled across this : Ronald D. Moore Interview from April 2007. It gives an insight into the choice of the four characters revealed as Cylons in the season 3 finale and eliminates the chance of Admiral Adama and Laura Roslin being a Cylon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Several times he pulled things out of thin air regarding cylons that have proved to be true and aided the humans.

1 -
    2 -
    The cylon detector.
    3 -

Most of those things could be explained by Chip Six leaving bits and pieces in his subconscious. Note that in all those cases, she was whispering in his ear while he was coming to his conclusions.
    User45701 wrote:
    we know the cylons cant replace a existing human so i don't get it.

How do you figure that?

Stark wrote: »
    Most of those things could be explained by Chip Six leaving bits and pieces in his subconscious. Note that in all those cases, she was whispering in his ear while he was coming to his conclusions.

How do you figure that?

My working theroy is that the final 5 are 1/2 human. It is the only thing that would explain how they are different and how they age. the 7 dont age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

How do you digure the 7 dont age? Perhaps there bodies are just routinely replaced and upgraded.

The only Cylon that supports your theory is Tigh.

As for Baltar being a Cylon I thought for sure
    in the episode where its all from the PoV of 6 on earth
    that they declared it there and then... but oh ho, just her imagination :p

Havent seen razor yet - giving that a pirate now.

Unfortunately as the series has gone on the amount of plot-leaks has been getting enourmous: so even I can't hazard an intelligent guess at who the final cylon is. I will admit that the circumstances around the mysterious (and imaginary?) 6-chip are suspect. As are a lot of things. Unfortunately it leads me only to believe that there is a true sense of divine intervention going on behind the scenes. Something omniescent is going on anyway - too many strange occurences. Too many prophetitic goings on.

It will be nice to get season 4 so we can close the book on this.

Overheal wrote: »
    How do you digure the 7 dont age? Perhaps there bodies are just routinely replaced and upgraded.

The only Cylon that supports your theory is Tigh.

As for Baltar being a Cylon I thought for sure
    in the episode where its all from the PoV of 6 on earth
    that they declared it there and then... but oh ho, just her imagination :p

Havent seen razor yet - giving that a pirate now.

Unfortunately as the series has gone on the amount of plot-leaks has been getting enourmous: so even I can't hazard an intelligent guess at who the final cylon is. I will admit that the circumstances around the mysterious (and imaginary?) 6-chip are suspect. As are a lot of things. Unfortunately it leads me only to believe that there is a true sense of divine intervention going on behind the scenes. Something omniescent is going on anyway - too many strange occurences. Too many prophetitic goings on.

It will be nice to get season 4 so we can close the book on this.

That much is clear but what i cant fathom is who is god/(s)? I mean razor
    Was he/it the cylon god? he said his children consider him to be god, does that mean everyhting we have heard about the cylon god is meaningless? but he could see patterns?
    When its all over will it just turn out the 12 cylon models are perhaps the 12 gods of the colonies?

That confuses me because if they have not yet realised they are gods or "become" gods yet then how do you explain head six/head baltar? also god is guiding baltar that much is for sure.

Its all so confusing... Hopefully this strike will end this week and they can get back to work. Hopefully we will finish this season this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

fix the quote there User I got totally confused. Its my fault for putting a loose [/quote] tag in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,162 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

Righty this is getting out of hand a bit.
    Simple logic: How can they be chips when Caprica6 had absolutely NO knowledge of her supposed alter ego in Baltar's head and in fact had her own mysterious manipulator pretending to be him. The chip theory was ruled out plain as day.

Also 6 was never on earth, it as Caprica I believe.

Too much commentating/Too little watching of the actual shows :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

how about the Cylon are actually the chosen ones to find Earth & not BSG humans?? in fact earth could be a populated by Cylon but we just don't know it ourselves, albeit a diffrent version of Cylon... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Well Baltar seemed to know something about Gaeta which he whispered to him that prompted him to stab him. Though I don't think it's him.

But knowing that
    Tigh is one means that they've been around for forty years. More, at least back until since whenever Tigh joined the military. Which would seem to be very far back for the Cylons to have created them (the 'final 5', or rather the original 5 models). And there seems to be only one copy of each. Perhaps they weren't created by the earlier Cylons at all, but secretly by the colonial government? Which could have prompted the first Cylon war as the earlier Cylons realised they were being made obsolete.

I never did get how Baltar made it off Caprica. Being shielded by a Six would seem enough to survive that blast.

MOH wrote: »
    Well Baltar seemed to know something about Gaeta which he whispered to him that prompted him to stab him. Though I don't think it's him.
    I think that Baltar threatened to name him for being responsible for some atrocities on New Caprica.