Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 - Hawaii

• 07-01-2008 5:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

Hi, myself and my friends have just decided to do the J1 in Hawaii, but we're wondering whether we should do Maui or Oahu. From what I've heard, Maui is much less built up, and is more focused on beach and house parties, particularly in the Kihei region, and that Oahu is more built up, especially in Honolulu.

Just wondering, is there many J1ers that generally go to Oahu? What's the beach party scene like there? I've read about all the Maui beach parties but not so much Oahu. I know there's less built-up more beachy areas in Oahu too but not much about the parties! I'm keen to have some amazing beach parties!!!

The reason I'm leaning more towards Oahu is because it's more built up and there seems to be more to do. Also, with increased business it's pretty obvious that there'll be more jobs available on Oahu.

Does anyone have any information about the "things to do" or job availability on Maui, or alternatively the beach or house party scene on Oahu?

Also I'm going with 2 friends, we're all girls and if there's anyone looking to share accommodation, or meet up, givvus a shout at maeve.mcquillan2@mail.dcu.ie

Any help would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Flynn

Hey can't exactly answer your questions on where you should base yerselves but I think it's quite hard to get work over there fullstop.. My buddy went over last year with some friends (his sister lived there at the time) and he couldn't get work.. although he didn't try that hard either..

I'm planning on passing through on my RTW and will be passing thru around summer so mite see ye there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭becah

A friend did her J1 in Maui last year, she absolutely loved it, loads of beach parties, surfing, road trips etc, so annoyed I couldn't afford to visit her!!!

She and her mates found work really easy, they mostly did waitresing/hostesing etc, found the tips so good that they were able to make a stop to New York for shopping on the way home!

She says it's quite easy to get work if you look for it.

However, she said accomodation could be a problem, some people she knew in other houses were evicted without much warning, I don't think the landlords go too easy on Irish partyers!
    But if you don't cause too much noise or thrash the place (unlike many of the Irish in the likes of San Diago etc....) , you should be ok accom-wise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

spent the summer in Oahu in 2002...soooooooo long ago!
    Anyhoo, I was a scuba instructor so had no real hassle finding jobs...but your right bout maui being less built up. Oahu is pretty busy, but there's a super buzz there all the time. We were living bout 20seconds from Waikiki beach. bout a 30 minute walk to the base of diamond head...no harm island hopping...kuai<sp?> is even nicer than the rest apparantly...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭goodgodholmes

Thanks for the advice everyone. Einstein, when you say Oahu had a "super buzz", was it a beach party type or clubbing? I hear the police are quite strict about beach parties there. I am U21 so I can't go clubbing.

I'm starting to lean more towards Maui.

Thanks for the help becah, it sounds like your friend had a great time! She didn't happen to mention anything about how lenient the police are about beach parties? If not it's grand!

Thanks everyone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Empsey

Hey I just posted about a similar dilemma, i want to find out info about Maui before i book. I'm just worried becoz i heard its expensive and hard to get jobs, but I really want go go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I spent 5 months in Hawaii. Stayed in Maui for 3 months then traveled around for 2. While i overall enjoyed it i found it to be expensive for accommodation and eating out. There was feck all nightlife. the house and beach parties are okay but you get sick of them. you'll miss a busy pub or nightclub. and the native locals don't like whitey or mainlanders on their island. While they still will talk to you i always found they resented us. When i asked my American friends if they got that vibe too. They said yeah and that they've always hated mainlanders and tourists.

any Irish that were there didn't seem to stick around too long. the leave after 6 weeks or so and go traveling. The jobs they could find were crap aparently. And if you are going to Maui i'd suggest renting a car. not the easiest of places to get around.

Neamhshuntasach, what did you think of Oahu? Would it be appropriate for a J1? I'd probably be looking to stay outside the city, in a Maui-like place if I did go to Oahu. Would that be at all possible?

The only place i seen that i thought was suitable enough for a J1 would be the west coast of Maui. Kihei, Lahana, Kanapali, etc. Granted i wasn't there on a J1 and was more interesting in going to see the islands. I was with Americans and they rented a car.

Oahu is a pretty cool place. The nightlife is not that great though. Don't remember any nightclubs, think there might have been 1 or 2 in Honolulu. There isn't much of a beach or house party scene there either. You can stay outside the city but it will be very quiet. Hawaii overall never struck me of a J1 type of place. I think i'd prefer to go somewhere busier and cheaper if i was doing one.

Yeah I've heard that the west coast of Maui is great. That's where a girl I know went last year. I was thinking of staying in Lahaina. It's great talking to people who've already been :D

i didn't know it's not possible to edit posts here :(

Anyway, just wondering if anyone has any advice on, if I get accommodation before I go, where I could get a few roommates? websites, etc. Thanks!

i've used craigslist in the past. Just select hawaii as the state and search for subletting or roommates or whatever titles they are using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 naomi g

Heading to Hawaii the first of June coming back 4th of september. Just 2 of us going so far. We go to Lit looking for people to share accomodation with. Flights booked to Honolulu but thinking of changing them to Maui. Any1 interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭oisin_t

In a similar situation here myself. Me and my mates were lookin at maui at first, but after talking to a few ex-hawaii j1'ers they recommened Oahu. we were thinking of staying close to Waikiki for ease of jobs (so iv been told?) and there is loads of accomadation there (not too sure on price though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bazzman

I was in Lahina in 08, and by far d best summer i`ve had, use lucky though that friends had arrived a good while before me and that they had acc sorted by the time i arrived. think they found it very hard to get it and it was very expensive but you couldnt of got a better house.

wasnt on a j1 so was lookin for work bt whoever looked for work that i lived with got it, some didnt get any hours but what they got was enough, dont want to b workin too much when u are there.
    no nightclubs at all, just house parties n beach parties, natives arent keen on irish ppl destroyin their island, bt if u dont abbuse it u will b fine

if ye do stay on Maui make sure u go to Honolulu for a few days n do a skydive n make sur that u have enuf money to get a video of it coz i didnt n im regrettin in so much now, would love to b goin bac this summer.
    Enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Rocheykid

I've had a few surfing buddies go to Hawaii and they said the nightlife is only going strong from October to February during surf season on the North Shore so thats useless to the J1 people,not sure if it's worth the trip in the Summertime really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Nimhuirj

Hi, myself and my friends have just decided to do the J1 in Hawaii, but we're wondering whether we should do Maui or Oahu. From what I've heard, Maui is much less built up, and is more focused on beach and house parties, particularly in the Kihei region, and that Oahu is more built up, especially in Honolulu.

Just wondering, is there many J1ers that generally go to Oahu? What's the beach party scene like there? I've read about all the Maui beach parties but not so much Oahu. I know there's less built-up more beachy areas in Oahu too but not much about the parties! I'm keen to have some amazing beach parties!!!

The reason I'm leaning more towards Oahu is because it's more built up and there seems to be more to do. Also, with increased business it's pretty obvious that there'll be more jobs available on Oahu.

Does anyone have any information about the "things to do" or job availability on Maui, or alternatively the beach or house party scene on Oahu?

Also I'm going with 2 friends, we're all girls and if there's anyone looking to share accommodation, or meet up, givvus a shout at maeve.mcquillan2@mail.dcu.ie

Any help would be appreciated.
    hi maeve i am having the same dilemma i was on maui last year and got offered my job back this year. i can't decide between maui and honolulu. tbh there weren't that many beach parties in maui because there are all houses on the beach in lahaina, and people will complain. if anyone is interested in meeting up i am going with 3 others