Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Lives Of Others to be remade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Its on my to-watch list. Have the dvd. Ive heard great things about it. Did you like it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Tusky wrote: »
    Its on my to-watch list. Have the dvd. Ive heard great things about it. Did you like it ?

Only just got the DVD the other day, and haven't watched it yet. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Tusky wrote: »
    Well I for one have actually seen it! It's great. Why remake it - the story couldn't really be applied to many situations beyond the context of East Germany in the Cold War (or at least nothing springs to mind), so if the only plan is to make the film again but in English, why even bother?

I don't mind remakes as much as some people and feel that if a remake turns people onto the original then they can accomplish some good. Take Dawn of the Dead as an example. A remake which did'nt simply rethread the original but brought enough fresh ideas to let it stand on its own. How many people saw the remake and then discovered the origianl film and its counterparts as a result?

Remember not every one is a film geek like many of us are. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

To quote Yahtzee 'I've got stuff in my crisper drawer thats older than that'

I don't mind remakes as much as some people and feel that if a remake turns people onto the original then they can accomplish some good. Take Dawn of the Dead as an example. A remake which did'nt simply rethread the original but brought enough fresh ideas to let it stand on its own. How many people saw the remake and then discovered the origianl film and its counterparts as a result?

Remember not every one is a film geek like many of us are. :)

Good remakes are few and far between though, and I find the opposite is true, in that a remake often puts people off the original. Take for example The Wicker Man, I knew a fellow who absolutely refused to watch the original version, because of their dislike for the remake.

And honestly, even if people did like a remake, as you say yourself, not every one is a film geek like us, so are they even going to be aware of an original? Never mind actually tracking one down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

go watch it guys. best film i've seen in years.

Good remakes are few and far between though, and I find the opposite is true, in that a remake often puts people off the original. Take for example The Wicker Man, I knew a fellow who absolutely refused to watch the original version, because of their dislike for the remake.

And honestly, even if people did like a remake, as you say yourself, not every one is a film geek like us, so are they even going to be aware of an original? Never mind actually tracking one down.

I can understand anyone not wanting to see the original Wicker Man after enduring the hilariously bad remake, which I believe was the best comedy of 2007.

The success of the Dawn remake allowed Romero to raise financing for Land. Chances are if the remake had never happened then chances are it would have been a long time before he made another film. In the 15 years before Land Romero made only two films, one of which has yet to recieve a proper release yet. He's currently working on his third film since the release of Dawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Oh joy! My eyes always get tired reading those pesky subtitles.

Normally I laugh raucously at Karls sob-sessions whenever he hears a classic movie is getting remade but on this occasion I think I'll share a tear with him. There's no need to remake this particular movie. It's already completely palatable to English speaking Westerners as it is.

Sydney Pollack? Sydney Polhack more like. Yeah I said it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Shameful stuff. This got a fairly wide release over here and I know a good few people who have seen it who wouldn't usually watch foreign films. Would it not be more cost effective to advertise / promote the original, or give it a general release?

As pointed out some remakes are fine (Dawn of the Dead was indeed great, but that was an old classic that benefited from revisiting with new technology and talent). But to remake something that was given a release less than 12 months ago, and was pretty damn good too? I really can't imagine anything being added to this.

Waste of valuable $$$ tbh. Feckers should give some smaller releases some money and exhibition space instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

just missed this in the cinema and have in on dvd at the gaff to watch, read and heard only amazing things from this film, i think its one of the very few movies that i haven't heard 1 bad thing, just have to finish geetting through the final couple seasons of sopraonos first(watching the whole catalogue back to back:))

oh ya and if it aint broken don't fix it, its shameful stuff....this whole hollywood trend on remaking stuff it just ridiculous at this stage!

whats the next spet remakes of remakes?? or parody of remakes???

Should point out that I think remaking The Lives of Others is a stupid idea. Much like the proposed remake of the Orphanage, which was only released in America two weeks back.

Similarly did anyone hear they were remaking The Edukators? Now I didnt really like this film but as an American film it would be even worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

My favourite German remake is "Triumph of the Will" which was remade as "Fahrenheit 9/11"

Pigman II wrote: »
    My favourite German remake is "Triumph of the Will" which was remade as "Fahrenheit 9/11"

Zing!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

This is fairly old news but pretty loathsome I agree. But a Hollywood remake was kind of inevitable I guess.

Undoubtedly they'll feel the need to add in a few Wachowski-like car chases and a big long monologue from Wiesler in which he explains himself to the audience. And I'm sure they'll manage to screw up the ending as well. It'll probably end with a big hug as the Shawshank-type music kicks in. All the depth and subtly of the original will be gone. God I hate Hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Ah no. I feel sick now... For anyone who has not seen it yet I cannot recommend it enough. It doesn't need a remake to appease dumbass Americans who cannot deal with subtitles. :mad:

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Thats shocking news - its such a great film.

Worst, most pointless re-make ever in my book is either Nikita (re-made as the Assassin) or that dutch movie where the guy gets buried alive (can't think of the name of it - great film)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Maximilian wrote: »
    Thats shocking news - its such a great film.

Worst, most pointless re-make ever in my book is either Nikita (re-made as the Assassin) or that dutch movie where the guy gets buried alive (can't think of the name of it - great film)

The Vanishing.

The Lives of Others is a truly great film and it beggars belief. Unless they plan to set it in the US with a CIA agent monitoring some arab-americans. Maybe get Paul Haggis in to write a "shove the message down their thoats" screenplay.

musician wrote: »
    The Vanishing.

The Lives of Others is a truly great film and it beggars belief. Unless they plan to set it in the US with a CIA agent monitoring some arab-americans. Maybe get Paul Haggis in to write a "shove the message down their thoats" screenplay.

Please, not Haggis. His films and screenplays have the most simplistic messages delivered in a manner which would embarrass a child. Oh look, no matter our skin colour were all really the same on the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Shamrok wrote: »
    Ah no. I feel sick now... For anyone who has not seen it yet I cannot recommend it enough. It doesn't need a remake to appease dumbass Americans who cannot deal with subtitles. :mad:

+1!!!

The movie is unbelievable, a masterpiece, it HAS to be watched :D....I know everyone has different tastes in movies, but christ.....look this one up!! I'm even listening to the soundtrack now, its brill!

I cant figure out what they will 'remake' though? Recreate 1980's Berlin, but with American actors? Or set it in a modern times? :rolleyes::(

Yet another reason why I've given up on Hollywood tripe....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

This is the worst news!
    God damn, God damn, God damn.

It doesn't need to be remade you wankstains.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

musician wrote: »
    The Vanishing.

That's it, good call. There should be Gold Star smilies dammit cos you've earned one mister. hmmm.

.........:)
    ....:):):):)
    .......:):)
    .....:)....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Boo, that's terrible news. But as CroppyBoy said, how are they going to do it?
    I cant figure out what they will 'remake' though? Recreate 1980's Berlin, but with American actors? Or set it in a modern times? :rolleyes::(
    The setting of the film was crucial; how are they going to recreate the tension of East Berlin? At a guess I'd imagine they'd turn it in to some kind of post-9/11 angst thing but even then I'm not entirely sure how that would work. This sounds like a completely pointless idea.

Old news on this one, but equally as ridiculous, considering the setting of the film being completely entwined in the plot... A remake of Joint Security Area titled Joint Security America.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Old news on this one, but equally as ridiculous, considering the setting of the film being completely entwined in the plot... A remake of Joint Security Area titled Joint Security America.

Well I give up on these idiots. I really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

This is completely unbelievable.. all for the sake of ignorant America. Modern "cinema" has gone beyond ridiculous now.. I'm surprised that there hasn't been more of a response to this. I didn't know this until recently, but Ulrich Mühe died shortly after this was released.. and his life almost mirrored the events chronicled in the films. I think its completely disrespectful.

EDIT: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0976234/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

yawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Let them remake what they want. If anything, it will make more people watch the original. Which I didn't think was *THAT* great...