Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where should I go ?

• 02-01-2008 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

going with 2 male friends and they are letting / leaving me sort the holiday. We are all pretty experienced skiers and have been to various resort across europe with Soldeu in Andorra and Zell am See being my favourites. Looking to Ski in the Alps this time, perhaps Austria. Dont really want a long transfer though. Any recommendations folks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

For good skiers, I reckon you can't do better than the big French resorts. My personal favourite way to do this is to fly to Paris (there's always a fairly cheap fare available), then get an overnight train to Modane (www.sncf.com) and get a bus to Les Arcs or Tignes or Val d'Isere. Les Arcs and Tignes both have youth hostels which provide lots of food and excellent craic at reasonable rates.

Doing it this way means you can take a week off work and get 8 or even 9 days skiing.

If you have a shorter time, then Andermatt is a fairly short train ride from Zurich, and has some great black runs and off piste. Not a big resort, so better for long weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Saalbach. There's a taxi shuttle service from Salzburg airport that's quite reasonable (about 35€ each e/w I think) (holiday shuttle I think its called). Transfer takes about an hour. Skiing and nightlife are excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Mr.S wrote: »
    slopes where pritty easy and offpiste was quite limitied but still a good week:)
    Off piste isn't really limited but it is generally not allowed and you do have to know the area well. I know a guy who spent 2 whole seasons down there and he only had good things to say about the off-piste (apart from the avalanche he managed to get himself into). As for on-piste the area is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

Just back from Val D'isere in December, an amazing place, very good for intermediates. Its huge on piste and the off piste is massive.

I have loads of info on it at home if you need it, I just need some time to type it up. Food and Drink can be expensive but you can do things alot cheaper if you want.

For two main courses and a bottle of wine you are looking at ~€65-75

If its a boozy holiday your looking for you really need to stick to the "Happy Hours" in the pubs though, where you get the two for one. Otherwise you will be paying ~€4.5 to 8 per beer.

Transfer time is 3 hours I think, its cost us €100 for Person + Bags return from Geneva airport.

I really loved Val D'isere though I will definitely be going back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 osgur

good stuff lads thanks