Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temp job questions

• 31-12-2007 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭

Im in the hunt for a new job, but i reckon its going to take quite some time as jobs in my field dont come up that often. SO in the meantime im going to temp.

I visited tempjobs.ie and put my CV in and i basically want to try a few different type of jobs, just to get some different experience and keep me busy.

Ive never temped before so havent a clue how it all works, do they just ring me every week and tell me where they have jobs for the next day/week? Should i actually go into a recruitment office or should submitting my CV through that site be enough?

How much generally is the pay, is it the same for every differnet job you do or what why does it work?

I did a search on boards but couldnt really find anything.

Im actually looking forward to doing something differetn for a whie and meeting new people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It depends what work you get. I knew someone who was temping in the same office for months. Another person changed from week to week.

You can indeed be called on the Monday and asked to show up at X on the Tuesday.

Submitting your CV through tempjobs should be enough :) but there is no harm following up with a telephone call to the agencies on Wednesday. Basically anything to get their attention is a good idea.

Pay depends on the job, but it's normally around the 10 - 11 EUR per hour mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I temped with La Creme in Cork for about 10 months a while back. Sometimes I was in a job for 2-3 weeks, sometimes I had 3 jobs in a week. I could get a call at 9am in the morning, asking me to be at the office as soon as possible.

I really enjoyed the variety of it all. Some of the work was dull and some was interesting. Sometimes I was just the switchboard operator and receptionist, other times I was an office administrator. Over the course of the 10 months I received about 5 or more permanent job offers.

if you're stuck and thinking about your career then temping isn't a bad way to keep the money coming in and gives you a chance to see different jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Have put my Cv and contacted a 2 agencies, both had asoulutly nothing at the moment which doesnt sound good, i though I was going to have a choice of different jobs from which to choose!

Im going to pop into them to register with them tomorrow. I dnt have to wear a suit or anything do I? I remember there was a thread awhile about it. TBH i dont think i'll bother, i'll keep it for my proper job interviews!

Also, what way does tax work? Do the agencies sort all that out?
    Plus i know I have to pay the agency some of my salary, so if i get a temp job with 12quid an hour, do i have to pay the agency some of that?If so, usuall how much?

If any of you can provide more info that would be cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 MariaJ

Hi Gary,

I work for a recruitment agency so these are the tips we give everyone.

No you should not have to pay the temp agency any of your salary. When they send you out they charge the client say €20 and of that they give you €12 and keep the rest.

When you go for interview you will make a much better impression if you wear a suit. It depends exactly what sort of work you are looking for but if you are interviewing for admin type roles you will be better thought of the more effort you make.

The way the agencies operate varies from agency to agency and this includes how many jobs they have on. Remember that you are a valuable commodity and deserve to be treated properly - this includes having your phone calls returned and being told all the relevant details about temp assignments - not just being given a company name and told to turn up.

Hope this helps. Good luck with your interivews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Its so frustrating not working.

Ive sent my cv to loads of agencies online and not 1 got back to me. So i rang the local agencies and arranged appointments.

Both have said there is very little at the moment. I was ideally looking for something in a finance office, as i think i may like to move into that area in the future, but both just have warehouse work, which i really dont want to do - its just not me! But beggers cant be choosers, i said if they dont have anything else by late next week, i'll do a bit of warehouse work till some office type work comes up.

They also had a call centre type role for 9weeks that would be ideal, but i dont have relevant experience, despite me working in an office for 2 years which involved loads of calls from the public - im also educated to degree level, how hard can call centre work be!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 MariaJ

Hi Gary,

Do you mind me asking where you are looking for work - are you in Dublin? If you are then there are plenty of jobs both temp and perm around at the moment. However, it does depend on your qualifications and work experience along with your computer skills. I totally understand what you say about being degree educated so how hard can it be to work in a call centre. It can be frustrating but many employers just want to see that you have done that kind of work before - not whether you are capable or not.

What sort of work you can get really depends on your CV - especially when it comes to office work. If you don't have experience in the areas you are applying for it is quite difficult to get a new start. That said, if you only looking for temp work it should be easier. But the quality of the temp work you get might depend on your computer skills. Did the agencies you sign up with test your skills?

MariaJ
    www.juliaross.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Mrbrianmolko

Thanks for the answers.

Only La Creme did the test your skills tests - i did really well but they havent anything suitable yet. La Creme seem by far the most professional.

But I got a temp job doing call centre type work and data entry with another company. Its for as long as I want, so is handy until I find a job in my profession. The work is grand and im doing well at it, but its in the city centre (the far side from were im coming from) so i have to get 2 buses, i didnt think it would be such a trek for me. The job is only 10euro an hour which is crap, and only took it cos im desperate (other agencys offered me at least 12euro an hour) but then i found out today that I only get 35hours a week (i presumed 39) - so im really only going to be getting 350euro a week, minus tax, prsi, bus fares, lunches etc and im just thinking - I probably wont be much worse of staying on the dole and getting 180 cash for doing nothing? then wait out for a temp job paying at least 11euro an hour and that doesnt involve a 2 hour trek in and out?

What do yis think?

€10 an hour is poor for a temp job in Dublin. Your first job can often be low though, but with a bit of experience you can get more.

I'd definitely tell the agency that you'd prefer better paid work.

Ye it is. Im gonna ring the agency in the morning and tell them its not worth my while trekking in for that kind of money and that i cant face doing it again.

Will they be highly pissed, as this temp role was available to me for a few months if i wanted? Im gonna ask her to try find me something better paid and more local and ill go back on the dole till then

I found that honesty was always best when working with temp agencies. They get lots of people who start a job on Monday and then don't show up on Tuesday. This annoys the agency and rightly so. They place their reputation on the line with the employees they send out.

What I would do in such a situation is agree to finish the week, thus giving them notice, rather than leaving them in the lurch. Remind them that you are still willing to work, you'd just prefer something either closer or paid a little more.

While you are temping, you may be eligible for casual workers dole. Go in and talk to the Dept Social & Family Affairs and they will help you. I was on the dole when I started temping. When I told the dole, I was moved to the casual workers hatch. I got dole for the days work wasn't available to me, and I didn't on the days I worked. Hence when I worked for a month, I got no dole, if I didn't work for a week I got dole. It meant that I didn't have to sign on and off the whole time.

Have been temping in a job for a week, delighted with it was enjoying the work. But then the manager informed me today that all temps were being let go due to cutbacks. There was other temps in my office to and they were told the same so wasnt just me!

Anyway my boss offered me the job fulltime straight up, told me the salary and told me to consider it etc.
    But unfortunatly its not the right way for my career,its a job i enjoyed and pay was decent but i think its to dead end and not in the right direction.

Anyway the agency then rang me and told me ive to go for an interview on Monday for another job - didnt think they dd interview for temp jobs? Do they or is she putting me forward for the permanent job (its advertised on the internet)? I forgot to ask her and with the interview on Monday at 9am wont be able to ask!

By the way has anyone ever worked for PIAB? Thinking of applying for a fulltime job with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

I temped - years ago - and found Orange Recruitment to be very good.

Have been temping in a job for a week, delighted with it was enjoying the work. But then the manager informed me today that all temps were being let go due to cutbacks. There was other temps in my office to and they were told the same so wasnt just me!
    That's quite common. Temps cost money and you can be left go with a day's notice. It's not personal in the slightest.
    Anyway my boss offered me the job fulltime straight up, told me the salary and told me to consider it etc.
    But unfortunatly its not the right way for my career,its a job i enjoyed and pay was decent but i think its to dead end and not in the right direction.

It might not be the right job for you, but you should be flattered by it. At least you know that you're working well.

Anyway the agency then rang me and told me ive to go for an interview on Monday for another job - didnt think they dd interview for temp jobs? Do they or is she putting me forward for the permanent job (its advertised on the internet)? I forgot to ask her and with the interview on Monday at 9am wont be able to ask!

This can happen with long term temp jobs. Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 commiegirl21

I've always found Michael Page to be good for temping. They only do finance/accounting jobs so might help you get into that area. I just submitted my C.V via the website and they called me straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭GaryL

Temping is probably the easiest way to get your foot into a decent office job without a college qualification. I don't understand why someone would turn down so many permanent offers but each to their own I guess. I just find starting a new job the worst part of it so starting a new job every month isn't my cup of tea.

Anyway, a lot of companies pay their staff money for recommending a friend to work for the company.

I was a temp in one company before christmas. I got put forward for an interview for a long term contract and I'm now working in a group where everyone is at least 6 years older than me with a lot more experience.

GaryL wrote: »
    Temping is probably the easiest way to get your foot into a decent office job without a college qualification. I don't understand why someone would turn down so many permanent offers but each to their own I guess. I just find starting a new job the worst part of it so starting a new job every month isn't my cup of tea.

Anyway, a lot of companies pay their staff money for recommending a friend to work for the company.

I was a temp in one company before christmas. I got put forward for an interview for a long term contract and I'm now working in a group where everyone is at least 6 years older than me with a lot more experience.

I have a degree and am waiting to try find something in the area, thats why im temping and not taking the job offers.

TBH i love starting anew job every weeks, it means you dont have to give a **** about the job - meaning the pressure is of and you can preform better abd be yourself a lot more.

I have a degree and am waiting to try find something in the area, thats why im temping and not taking the job offers.

I was in a similar boat. Just finished my PhD and had a job lined up. Problem was, it didn't start for another 9 months. Temping filled that time perfectly, and it was fun (for the most part) too.