Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pats Go 16 - 0

• 30-12-2007 4:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭

Thought there would be a thread already up. Oh well, discuss:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Go Giants!

new_york_giants.jpg

It's not on my telly. Any live streams? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's not on my telly. Any live streams? :p

Your busto Ass should win some monies and get a TV upgrade IMO. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Manny7

Way too close for comfort, great game to watch though. 3 more games to go now...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Congrats. Brady and Moss broke their records aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

deprog%202006%20fotos%20-%2016.jpg

Hut Hut Hut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

**** off and die ntl.

That's all i have too say on the matter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Thats the thing though will they win the superbowl.
    Who are they facing?

Well, they are now huge favorites for the superbowl - and they have already beaten the Colts so far this year.

They still have three tough games remaining assuming that other games go with form (the Jags won't roll over and be tickled). A lot to do - but betting against them would be stupid to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

They were favourites beforehand,didn't need to win this match to be favourites!

That was a Colts team without Harrison and a few questionable calls that went for the Patriots when they were trailing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Crapjob Sean

16-0 feels pretty good

One game at a time.
    Next one should be against the Titans or Browns.
    Nothing's guaranteed but I like the Pats

kmart6 wrote: »

That was a Colts team without Harrison and a few questionable calls that went for the Patriots when they were trailing!

Oh yes, of course - good points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭walt colman

kmart6 wrote: »

You lost without a 36 year old Harrison, in the Colts 'Home Theather Surround Sound' home field, and you forgot to mention the multiple calls against the Patriots.

The Charges and Jags worry me more then the Colts in New England in January.

We have taken your records, now we will take your Superbowl Champion status!!!!

Go Patriots. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Fair play to them. I am glad they did it. I always like watching sporting history being made live. Speaking of which, here is link for that brady moss td
    http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d8058d7f1

Of course the Pack will teach them a lesson in the superbowl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

16-0 feels pretty good

One game at a time.
    Next one should be against the Titans or Browns.
    Nothing's guaranteed but I like the Pats

That's unlikely. It's more likely to be the Steelers, Chargers or the Jags.

I'm making a prediction here and now:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

More records:
    • Most points in a season: 589
    • Most TDs: 75
    • Most consecutive wins [regular season]: 19 and counting

Records missed:
    • Single season pass yardage record
    • Single season passer rating record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭bobby wade

Congrats to the Pats on a great achievement. Need to win out now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Crapjob Sean

Slow coach wrote: »
    That's unlikely. It's more likely to be the Steelers, Chargers or the Jags.

Thanks.
    I was a little worse for wear last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭westair

Hate to be a party pooper but I am not at all comfortable with what I see at NE's games - that first sack of Brady was a sack and got called back because of a slight infraction, hey even the game commentators who droll over Brady sniffed at the flag. Then there was an obvious pass interference by NE which was ignored - then... the 15 yard penalty at the punt which looked like it should have been to the Giant's favour as the Ref first announced - and so on. Did you hear the commentators on that one? In short I trust Belichick about as far as I could throw a grand piano. Once a cheater....

In the pre-game coverage on the NFL channel Marshall Faulk - a guy I have a lot of respect for - said that the Patriots ought to have an asterisk on their record this year and I absolutely agree as do other commentators this morning.

daveirl wrote: »

The late hit on the Giant player is what I am referring to and which I thought originally was the penalty. At first the replay showed this a fews times but it just disappeared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

westair wrote: »
    Hate to be a party pooper but I am not at all comfortable with what I see at NE's games - that first sack of Brady was a sack and got called back because of a slight infraction, hey even the game commentators who droll over Brady sniffed at the flag. Then there was an obvious pass interference by NE which was ignored - then... the 15 yard penalty at the punt which looked like it should have been to the Giant's favour as the Ref first announced - and so on. Did you hear the commentators on that one? In short I trust Belichick about as far as I could throw a grand piano. Once a cheater....

In the pre-game coverage on the NFL channel Marshall Faulk - a guy I have a lot of respect for - said that the Patriots ought to have an asterisk on their record this year and I absolutely agree as do other commentators this morning.

Change the record will you. Any of the pundits I have listened to any of the coaches I have talked to have now admitted that when you play a team on form you got to keep up your poerformance for the full game as in the end you will get punished. To say the Patriots got calls their way last night yes they did as did the giants how about the first interference call on moss in the first half that was waved off.

Seriously westair I have read through your posts and you sing the same tune all the way through Patriots cheats referees helping tyhem etc etc. When teams are in form in any sport and dominating anything that happens in their favour always gets scrutinised as cheating of sorts and decisions against get ignored. So come get off the Patriots cheat bad wagon.

The Giants Lost the game for the Giants last night. They gave up penalties and fizzled out of the game and let NE have 21 pts unanswered. Both teams had decisions go against them now move on.

Change the record will you. Any of the pundits I have listened to any of the coaches I have talked to have now admitted that when you play a team on form you got to keep up your poerformance for the full game as in the end you will get punished. To say the Patriots got calls their way last night yes they did as did the giants how about the first interference call on moss in the first half that was waved off.

Seriously westair I have read through your posts and you sing the same tune all the way through Patriots cheats referees helping tyhem etc etc. When teams are in form in any sport and dominating anything that happens in their favour always gets scrutinised as cheating of sorts and decisions against get ignored. So come get off the Patriots cheat bad wagon.

Listen Tallagh I am not the only one saying this - you have a problem listening to it though so why don't you settle down and accept the fact that the Patriots have a huge question mark over them for quite a lot of people. I may be the only one on this board saying so but that does not mean that it is not being said in football circles by many others. Keith Olbermann for God's sake made a huge thing over how the Pat's cheating was handled by the NFL and did an excellent "Special Comment" on the issue. Many many respected figures in Sport and former footballers are saying this. Grow up and accept the criticism - you can't just shout it down.

What I saw and the three others who watched it with me was a hit out of bounds but we could go on and on -
    [SIZE=-1]Vince Wilfork's attempt at poking the eye of Giants RB Brandon Jacobs in the third quarter was at ejection level - even Chris Collingswroth during game commentary said so.. but nothing happened. This may in fact be looked at later by the NFL but I wouldn't hold my breath. [/SIZE]

Listen Tallagh I am not the only one saying this - you have a problem listening to it though so why don't you settle down and accept the fact that the Patriots have a huge question mark over them for quite a lot of people. I may be the only one on this board saying so but that does not mean that it is not being said in football circles by many others. Keith Olbermann for God's sake made a huge thing over how the Pat's cheating was handled by the NFL and did an excellent "Special Comment" on the issue. Many many respected figures in Sport and former footballers are saying this. Grow up and accept the criticism - you can't just shout it down.

I need to accept critism haha im not the one in the lime light :rolleyes: As for these critics all of them its 50/50 right down the middle of respected critics as to opinions about the Patriots. 2 sides to every argument. Dont forget it is THEIR opinions and the difference between them and us is they get paid for it. It doesnt take a monkey to see that decisions went against both teams. I did actually admit there was decsions the Pats got they shouldnt but that swang both ways last night something you failed to mention in your argument.

I need to accept critism haha im not the one in the lime light :rolleyes: As for these critics all of them its 50/50 right down the middle of respected critics as to opinions about the Patriots. 2 sides to every argument. Dont forget it is THEIR opinions and the difference between them and us is they get paid for it. .

I agree that opinions are split - this is why I posted becasue I only saw accolades being attributed to the Patriot's "success" - I wanted to balance things off and point out that not everyone thinks that this is a deserved success. The thing that bothers me is the issue of cheating and how it might eventually play out for the game. The NFL failed the fans when it did not react more harshly against Belichick and his cheating - this sort of thing is ultimately bad for the game. The NFL even went as far as destroying evidence - in spite of the fact that the commissioner [SIZE=-1]Roger Goodell [/SIZE]said that they violated rules. It was a given that this would raise suspicions. Look at baseball and the disasters that have plagued them for years - they have lost so much fan support because of the corruption that they simply ignored until it all spilled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

I agree that opinions are split - this is why I posted becasue I only saw accolades being attributed to the Patriot's "success" - I wanted to balance things off and point out that not everyone thinks that this is a deserved success. The thing that bothers me is the issue of cheating and how it might eventually play out for the game. The NFL failed the fans when it did not react more harshly against Belichick and his cheating - this sort of thing is ultimately bad for the game. The NFL even went as far as destroying evidence - in spite of the fact that the commissioner [SIZE=-1]Roger Goodell [/SIZE]said that they violated rules. It was a given that this would raise suspicions. Look at baseball and the disasters that have plagued them for years - they have lost so much fan support because of the corruption that they simply ignored until it all spilled out.

here, here! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Manny7

Marshall Faulk has had a chip on his shoulder about the Pats since they beat him and the rams in the superbowl, he never wastes an opportunity to have a go at them so I wouldn't be too interested in what he has to say.

Manny7 wrote: »
    Marshall Faulk has had a chip on his shoulder about the Pats since they beat him and the rams in the superbowl, he never wastes an opportunity to have a go at them so I wouldn't be too interested in what he has to say.

Or on the other hand - he might just be another one of the voices who don't like what they smell coming from the Patriots methods - either way he is entitled to his opinion in spite of the Boston area reporters doing a job on his motives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Giants gave them a bit of a scare I'd say; Took them a while to get going but eventually did and deserved the win in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭bobby wade

referinging's been bad all round this year, Bears tonight had 2 awfulPI 's calledon them

Ok this is annoying me more as a football fan than a Pats fan to see the media making such a cock and bull story out of any NFL team.

A:

Goodall didnt come down too hard on Bill B as he knows the cheating goes on from every NFL team he isnt stupid. Anyone who firmly believe the Patriots ARE the only ones is a naive simpleton. If he came down harder it would reflect on the NFL as a whole rather than an fook up by individuals.

B:

Media opinions tend to be a joke anyway as you will notice that there is a lot of biasism due and that includes ex players Faulk being one 2001 enough said. Fans opinions count just as much as any media figure in my eyes after all most comments said in media tend to be journalistic opinions based other peoples opinions which causes a two sided vicious circle.

C

Baseball hasnt lost that much support and cannot be compared to NFL at present as the MLB has drug problems knocking around as yet the NFL drug problem is minimal.

D

Again I go back to my comparision of other sports when 2 sided opinions make an ass of sports take Man Utd their success led to jealousy in other teams and talk over the years of how decisions always went their way in old trafford and Alex ferguson getting extra minutes thrown onto games but we all know that is BS(im a pool fan by the way). When teams are at the top they will take flak because of the success.

E

Now back to the Pats - Firstly dont tell me for one minute they do not deserve the 16-0 they fought hard in certain games to scrape wins but when a successful team needs a result sometimes scraping a win is proof of the luck teams get again comparions Man U scoring 2 last minute goals in europe against the run of play. YES the pats havent been perfect this year but they aint alone my friends if they were rooted to the bottom of the NFL we would not be having any of these arguments and the media wouldnt care less.

Last point sorry for the length do you honetly care though us Pats fans and the team themselves give a flying fook at the end of it all whether anyone likes us? No we dont. We have our opinions to and are entitled and as fans will defend our castle.

bobby wade wrote: »
    referinging's been bad all round this year, Bears tonight had 2 awfulPI 's calledon them

Agreed standards in the refs seem to be terrible and it has been noticed all season long if you read around the Patriots articles :)

Lol, comparing what happened in week 1 against the jets to current drug problem in MLB and with Barry bonds etc is just hilarious. It doesn't even come close.

cooker3 wrote: »
    Lol, comparing what happened in week 1 against the jets to current drug problem in MLB and with Barry bonds etc is just hilarious. It doesn't even come close.

There has been much more in baseball than the recent drug problem - the betting problems of the 1980s, the drug dealers in the 1990s - but baseball is not just about MLB, far from it. The grassroots - the kids playing in schools and neighbourhoods formed the backbone of the game and gave it its identity as "America's Game". This has been seriously eroded from all the scandals. Loss of trust in the "heroes" by the younger generation has been the real loss.
    IMO the NFL should take note not to accept cheating as an everyday event as some on this board have suggested.

Meant to say a minimal KNOWN drug problem :D;)

IMO the NFL should take note not to accept cheating as an everyday event as some on this board have suggested.

Well I for one have never said that and think that all of it needs to be stamped out in every sport. But in America they have a habit of pushing problems under a carpet and forgetting about it as it will affect sponsors and money if they come out. The MLB have been critiscised for decades but ignored the critics and the problems. But I spend alot of time in the US and will be an athletics director for a sports camp in the summer and I dont know todays kids are smart and ignore the problems at the top. Ok a small percentage will get sucked in but most kids once they learn of the dangers and the problems faced by taking drugs or doing illegal activities usually stay away.

In fact the newer generation will end up weeding out the said problems as the more years that go by and the more people actually thinking for themselves and staying away from old school dealings the more awarness is provided. The NFL will most likely be found out. Not in the next 10 years but it will happen and you all think the Patriots are the only ones breaking rules??

I am not saying NFL doesn't have a drug issue. I think all the major north american sports are very lax when it comes to this issue. I am saying comparing this to what happened with Jets in weak 1 is laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

and you all think the Patriots are the only ones breaking rules??

But they were the only ones caught. If other's do it, then it's unfortunate for them that they were caught in what would be their perfect season. But there are those that would argue that it's because they were cheating they got a perfect season.

I'm sure if they had the luxury of hindsight, they wouldn't have cheated, and probably still would have gotten 16 - 0, but you have to acknowledge that they were caught doing something to give themselves an unfair advantage, and no-one else was. In which case people are within their rights to argue a case.

davyjose wrote: »
    But they were the only ones caught. If other's do it, then it's unfortunate for them that they were caught in what would be their perfect season. But there are those that would argue that it's because they were cheating they got a perfect season.

I'm sure if they had the luxury of hindsight, they wouldn't have cheated, and probably still would have gotten 16 - 0, but you have to acknowledge that they were caught doing something to give themselves an unfair advantage, and no-one else was. In which case people are within their rights to argue a case.

You honestly think the cheating caused the perfect season dont make me laugh. Everything done this year in a Pats game has been criticised. The tape scandal, Apparently now referees are helping the Pats out :rolleyes: Im done arguing this point believe what you want. The simple fact is there are other teams and players breaking rules daily and still doing after the Pats getting caught. One thing I do agree with Westair is that the NFL shouldnt sit by and accept it but unfortunately they would rather push it under the carpet why do you think Bill B got a light punishment. At the end of it all the NFL would rather not tar their own image to sponsors and the hands that feed them.

I never said that. Re-read my post. What I did say is that if people want to argue that point (not me personally) then you have to sit back and accept that the Pats were the architects of those criticisms. They f**ked up, not me, or Westair, or anybody else.
    Look, I KNOW it didn't have an impact on their perfect season; that's what makes doing it in the first place so damn stupid.

davyjose wrote: »
    I never said that. Re-read my post. What I did say is that if people want to argue that point (not me personally) then you have to sit back and accept that the Pats were the architects of those criticisms. They f**ked up, not me, or Westair, or anybody else.
    Look, I KNOW it didn't have an impact on their perfect season; that's what makes doing it in the first place so damn stupid.

The Pats are architect of one critism and one critism only the taping of the game. Which all of us pats fans said yes they shouldnt have done it.

Nobody said you or westair or anyone else fooked up but points were brought in here to be discussed. Other points like westair went on about referees what has this to do with the camera incident?? see this is where us Pats fans then jump to defend them when BS such as the NFL and Refs making it easy for the Pats to win which is just pure tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Danger_Dave

The Pats are architect of one critism and one critism only the taping of the game. Which all of us pats fans said yes they shouldnt have done it.

Does that one critism tarnish the perfect season even a small bit for a patriots fan? , to say it was a major factor in them getting 16-0 is a bit laughable but to say it had no impact is the same. I think its a great achievement and made for some of the best football all season, ravens, eagles, giants, etc..

To get to Davyjose point which has also been said in the thread previously , they got caught no one else. Sure other teams are probably doing it but there not the ones who were caught, there not the ones who got the perfect season and there not the ones who got off extremely lightly. If the punishment was severe and the pats went on to make 16-0, then the pats would be vindicated but they didnt get a severe punishment, so it will in my eyes and many other fans, including Patriots fans that the perfect season will always be some what damaged.

Im biased im a Jets fan, i still respect and admire what the patriots, however ill always think its slightly tainted.

The point about the scandal is that it may not have been - and many feel there is evidence to suggest - a one off occurrence. On the 16 Sep NFL's commissioner Roger Goddell went on TV live to discuss the videotape scandal and said at that time that the Patriots were asked to turn over all videotape and photos from previous games and that the team could face further punishment than what had been announced. There had been previous charges about this same issue. Then when all this evidence was destroyed it have rise to much skepticism that there was a cover up. So the NFL have only themselves to blame for all the talk and [SIZE=-1]Belichick[/SIZE] has himself to blame for being caught in this web.

In addition there have been a few instances where the wireless connection of visiting teams to Gilette park have stopped working during games - so some coaches had to resort to hand signals during games there because they couldn't communicate with upstairs staff - this is fact not in dispute - only to be told that there was a "difficulty" with the radio frequency there. Maybe but -all in all this gives rise to suspicion that some monkey business is at work and you can't stop people from feeling that all is not on the up and up there. It matters not whether they are alone in this cheating scandal - the NFL ought to have investigated them and anyone else charged with cheating. It is not good for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

but tainted none the less...

Yeah, and this will all blow over. I'm not a Pats fan, so I don't really give a damn, but if I were a Pats fan, I would be so pissed off for putting a question mark over it. Did they not think they were good enough to make the playoffs? Surely they must have been aware of how good they were - so why even attempt to cheat? That's what kills me about it.

As it stands I think cheating or not, they would have got 16 -0, so I congratulate them (just wanna make that clear).