Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hi im new

• 18-12-2007 5:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

hi im looking for some advice for a good airsoft gun for me to start off with something cheap aswell :D:D ive watched some airsoft games and there quite intresting so i wanna get into a good sport and this seems to be the one for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Hi and welcome to the forum and to airsoft.

First thing to do is read through the stickies (yes, I know there are a lot). They contain information about manufacturers, retailers etc that you'll find useful.

Find an airsoft gun that you like the look of and buy it (assuming it's within your budget). They all do pretty much the same thing.

If you are still not sure what to buy, come along to one of the airsoft sites and most players will let you have a look at their guns, and even test fire them.

I hope you have a high limit on your credit card...buying airsoft gear is addictive :D

Cya around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Hi and welcome to the group.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Welcome ,
    There is a few lads from the Bray/Wicklow area
    that are forum regulars here
    including one of the mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's all personal preference IMO. In my limited knowledge of the sport I just assume there all more or less the same. Starting off any ol yolk around the €150 mark will do the trick, just pick one you like the shape of.

You'll want yourself a big electric gun as your specific about skirmishing, the GBBs are more show pieces and are probably more trouble than there worth in a game but there much better looking guns and have moving parts, there just plain cool.

I went with a Thompson M1A1 because it's just a legend of WW2.
    come along to one of the airsoft sites and most players will let you have a look at their guns, and even test fire them.
    It's not nearly as dirty as it sounds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

also one of the retailers is located in bray if i remember correctly,they do collection aswell.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 colt25

ok im 15 if that helps my mom has bought me saftey gear mask etc but the gun is up to me my budget is about 40 smackers i was thinking about this big boy http://www.speedytoys.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=1422 or an electric one http://www.speedytoys.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=1735 so what do you guys think:D:D:D

vtec wrote: »
    also one of the retailers is located in bray if i remember correctly,they do collection aswell.,
    seriousley were and how can i get in contact with him

www.irishairsoftsupplies.ie

and those links are only cheapy crap, they wont last longer than a few days use., if you cant afford a good one at the moment either keep your money and save for a while longer or looks for used stuff in the "for sale" section.,
    oh and welcome, :)

edit, its only fair i show you the other shops aswell although there not in bray,
    www.eirsoft.ie
    www.airsofteire.com
    www.mainirishairsoft.com

thet are the main ones.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

colt25 wrote: »
    ok im 15 if that helps my mom has bought me saftey gear mask etc but the gun is up to me my budget is about 40 smackers i was thinking about this big boy http://www.speedytoys.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=1422 or an electric one http://www.speedytoys.com/shop/item.asp?itemid=1735 so what do you guys think:D:D:D

See, the problem there is that they are crap. Buy from the retailers in the newbie stickies, you cant go wrong after that. Speedy Toys stock junk that will break within 1 month.

This I highly recommend: H&K JG G36C. It's a bit over your price range, but is totally worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

so much for stickies

dam those websites are like wow big money but i suppose expensive hobby i was thinking about this http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=37&products_id=81

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Colt25, its a bit of a personal question but how old are you?

he's 15 hive,

yeah thats fairly decent, although not all that usable in a skirmish if thats what your after., best to save up and 150ish is actually cheap for an AEG, they can get up around the 400ish and higher.,

Colt25, its a bit of a personal question but how old are you?
    14 almost 15 i said my last post im 15 but im almost there

Have that shotty, it fires 1 bb per pump, its mostly plastic except for the heat shield, the inner barrel is not connected to the outer plastic one, so sometimes the bb clips the outer barrel and goes off in a random direction. Save up colt, get an AEG, the MP5 PDW is nice, maxforce has one methinks, and at €85 your not gonna break the bank.

ive decided what im getting im gonna reavle it after crimbo and one gun ive had my eye on for a good while is the colt 25 anytime i found one they dont ship to ireland so if you find one tell me thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

if you want something that will last you will have to spend over €80 at least.
    The Double Eagle UMP on Eirsoft would be a good buy.
    Or that mp5 on irish airsoft supplies would also be a safe bet.

Oh and welcome to boards:D

Have that shotty, it fires 1 bb per pump, its mostly plastic except for the heat shield, the inner barrel is not connected to the outer plastic one, so sometimes the bb clips the outer barrel and goes off in a random direction. Save up colt, get an AEG, the MP5 PDW is nice, maxforce has one methinks, and at €85 your not gonna break the bank.

i have that MP5 aswell, there very good and perfect for a starter getting into the sport., its streets above anything in the links you posted above colt.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Hey colt, just letting you know you can get very decent stuff for around 120 on eirsoft.ie

The good thing is the price you pay is more an investment, you can always sell on your gun for close to cost minus whatever if its in good nick, and the latest dboys, jg cyma stuff will last longer with improved materials in the worky bits, and they have lots of parts available.

That 40€ sh1te would be plastic internally and break, and no parts available.

Get a 100€ or so gun and It'll be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

hey colt, im a newbie too so dont feel alone

im also so from bray! :D

the lads here will set you right!

:cool::cool::cool:

www.rsov.com is this website a good gun seller because my mother maid a deal with me i get a cheap one first and see how i like the sport then if i do after about a mounth or so i get me a nice http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=22_31&products_id=7 so if you noa good worth while gun on that web site within the range of about 30 euro tell me cause i have my eye on the ak or the shot gun or the aeg uzi with a very reasonable price im very misguided with this sport dont have a bloomin clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Honestly dude, you would be way better off just attending a few skirmishes to see how it suits you. get a feel for the game. Then you'll know whether its for you.

what age are you? i think you have to be 16 for hrta?

*waits to be corrected* :rolleyes:

blay1 wrote: »
    what age are you? i think you have to be 16 for hrta?

*waits to be corrected* :rolleyes:

14 almost 15 i read on the hrta ebsite if you are under 18 u need to be acomanied by a adult and you need a gun with 328 fps the cheapest thing i can get with the closest fps is 300 but that arena thing im not so sure about i dont think you need a 328 fps for that

328fps is just the limit anything above that is illegal in ireland.

most come in at around 280-300 fps

make sure anything you buy fires at or below 328 fps

edit: you just get your parents to sign a waiver form and bring it to hrta, you dont need an

adult i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

www.rsov.com is this website a good gun seller because my mother maid a deal with me i get a cheap one first and see how i like the sport then if i do after about a mounth or so i get me a nice http://www.eirsoft.ie/store/product_info.php?cPath=22_31&products_id=7 so if you noa good worth while gun on that web site within the range of about 30 euro tell me cause i have my eye on the ak or the shot gun or the aeg uzi with a very reasonable price im very misguided with this sport dont have a bloomin clue

rsov's great for cheap good starters but with the christmas rush itll be a while before it reaches ya,also as hive said attend a few skirmishes!

ok im going to the hrta when is it next on and how much in

its on saturday and i havent got a clue how much it is in!

iv never been! though i would love to go!

any chance of bumming a lift off ya?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Prices and details are on here http://www.hrta.ie/

its on saturday and i havent got a clue how much it is in!

iv never been! though i would love to go!

any chance of bumming a lift off ya?:D

was about to ask you. have no fecking idea were it is, is it the arena place or what or is it the outside place if anybody can tell me were it is or were its nere and can i get a buss to it

its in swords, i dont think its on a bus route.

the website can tell ya where it is

its in swords, i dont think its on a bus route.

the website can tell ya where it is

ok im gonna check the bus routes just have a look

ask in the hrta thread they'll tell you whats the best bus to get

ive decided what im getting im gonna reavle it after crimbo and one gun ive had my eye on for a good while is the colt 25 anytime i found one they dont ship to ireland so if you find one tell me thanks

41blqNvtMwL._AA280_.jpg This?

Whatever you're into mate :p

They seem to be non-existent ATM, Marushen had a NBB out a while ago though.

dont bother buying a cheapo, if your not sure if you'll be into the sport then just come up to HRTA and take a rental for the day, you'll have a great laugh and then after that you can decide what you want.,

41blqNvtMwL._AA280_.jpg This?

Whatever you're into mate :p

They seem to be non-existent ATM, Marushen had a NBB out a while ago though.
    oh man i love that gun ever since i seen it in metal gear solid 3 nice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

you'd have a fairly difficult time finding an airsoft version of that i reckon

you do realise it's tiny right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Think i saw a springer version of that once...

:Dive found it so many times and i almost had it except the website was making me pay a xtra 300 big ones for a 8 euro gun just to get it delivered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Wtf? Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

That yoke wasn't in mgs3 was it?

You surely have made a mistake, look at the state of it!
    Although it did feature in taxi driver, make a rig like he had and your good to go!

Rent a gun at hrta first, see if you like the sport, then you can ask for a loan to get a decent clone from eirsoft, rsov etc.

i think it was in one of the bond films., (not confusing it with the PPK)
    and its known as a "ladies" gun.,lol

it was ocelots first gun but snake easley disarmend him and suggested a revolver i love small guns easy to hide

I think I remember that, didnt realise it was a colt 25 though.

Anyhoo, you're mad in the head wanting one of those! There are spring models available, rsov.com have a metal spring version, but with the shipping charges, just tack it on to a bigger order.

Also someone said a nbb version was around, but would be hard to find.

Wouldnt be much use at hrta though.

oh man i love that gun ever since i seen it in metal gear solid 3 nice...

the tokyo marui detonica would be the closest

http://www.rsov.com/product_info.php?cPath=105_142_150&products_id=1041 this is a acm might get it. but this is the gun im getting. http://www.rsov.com/product_info.php?cPath=105_142_162&products_id=735. i might be at the hrta skirmish
    if that gun is "newbish" can some one give me some advice on another one on that website. ps dont suggest eirsoft them prices wow i just wanna get a nice acm cheap gun so i can get a feel for the sport

http://www.rsov.com/product_info.php?cPath=105_142_150&products_id=1041 this is a acm might get it. but this is the gun im getting. http://www.rsov.com/product_info.php?cPath=105_142_162&products_id=735. i might be at the hrta skirmish
    if that gun is "newbish" can some one give me some advice on another one on that website. ps dont suggest eirsoft them prices wow i just wanna get a nice acm cheap gun so i can get a feel for the sport

youll come across a lot dearer prices than that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

the prices for some of the stuff on eirsoft are on the lower-end of the scale, (the stuff for around 100-150)

the best thing for you to do is head out to hrta for a day, rent a gun and see if you like it (you will :) ) then save up some money and get a proper clone aeg

the spring shotgun your looking at might be fun for a few minutes out in your back garden, but you'll be out-ranged and outgunned on a skirmish field

although rsov.com and other chinese retailers may look cheaper at first, you have to take into account shipping cost and there is also the possibility of customs charges when it gets here