Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Racism Question

• 17-12-2007 1:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭

Gypos? Is that an offensive racist term?

The reason I am asking is that on our company's intraweb there is a discussion board where someone has stated:

"It's not like we're gypos or can't afford it - we do have jobs." in relation to the lack of free drinks at the Christmas party.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

I would consider it racist. And particularly ignorant too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

yes it is go on hunger strike in protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Sure its an intranet so its not accessable by the general public? If you find it offensive then mention it to someone, if you dont then surely someone who is offended by it will report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Everything is Racist now and yes i'm sure Gypos is racist. Not a good idea on a work forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Well theres a band called The Starving Gypos http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Starving_Gypo%27s

So it cant be to racial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

In the context used there it was obviously meant to be an insult. 'Pikey' is the accepted nomenclature these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes I'd consider it racist, its also a stupid and ignorant thing to say.

However the lack of free drinks at a Christmas office party concern's me more, name & shame this place you work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Gypos? Is that an offensive racist term?

The reason I am asking is that on our company's intraweb there is a discussion board where someone has stated:

"It's not like we're gypos or can't afford it - we do have jobs." in relation to the lack of free drinks at the Christmas party.
    In that context, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Gypsies are a race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Given the context, definately yes.

Thing is, travellers are the only ethnic minority against whom racism is considered acceptable by most people. Frankly, until they lose the culture of omerta and stop protecting the criminals in their community, i'm not going to shed any tears for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Do gypsies have slang names for each other, like you whats up gypo or do they refer to each other as pikeys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

togster wrote: »
    Do gypsies have slang names for each other, like you whats up gypo or do they refer to each other as pikeys?

I believe they have this strange custom of naming their children and then in bizarro world fashion refer to these offspring using these assigned names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Rob_l wrote: »
    I believe they have this strange custom of naming their children and then in bizarro world fashion refer to these offspring using these assigned names

Now that's just downright odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Well theres a band called The Starving Gypos http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Starving_Gypo%27s

So it cant be to racial

Hardly think thats a good argument, what about the band **** With Attitude, doesn't make that term any less racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'd associate it with Bohemians fans, so while not racist, it's a terrible, terrible insult. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

I have heard a travellers refer to another traveller as a knacker in a derogitory way. In general though, the persecution complex is far too strong.

Most are called pa or nelly, so how do they distinguish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I'd associate it with Bohemians fans, so while not racist, it's a terrible, terrible insult. ;)
    True that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

has there ever been a quick racism question here :confused:

Someone call me when this hit's page 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

[sings in culchie accent] Jimmy looked at her with a twinkle in his eye,
    sayin' a gypo gave me this for you, it's a surprise. He said who wears it will live contentedly, providin' that they don't tell any lies.

And he handed her a blue green bangle....[/sings in culchie accent]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Senna wrote: »
    Hardly think thats a good argument, what about the band **** With Attitude, doesn't make that term any less racist.

Thats why the N word cant be used at all. It cant be ok for one race to use it and not another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I was watching that movie Pavee Lackeen recently so to answer your question "I've absolutely no idea" cos I couldn't make out a word they were saying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Gyppos was actually first coined in relation to egyptians,not gypsies.irish travellers arent gypsies anyway so none of it makes any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

if it is posted on your company intranet then it really is a stupid thing to say as chances are that it will get who ever posted a trip to HR to explain the actions

just remember kids racism is all fun and games untill some one makes a complaint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Degsy wrote: »
    Gyppos was actually first coined in relation to egyptians,not gypsies.irish travellers arent gypsies anyway so none of it makes any sense.

Well that depends on your definition of gypsy.

As a rule of thumb if you have to ask if something is racist, it probably is. If your man had said 'its not like we are all blacks .. we have jobs' he could have been sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

jsb wrote: »
    just remember kids racism is all fun and games untill some one makes a complaint

Haha, that made my day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

lets just hope these "gypo" folks dont learn to read!

cance wrote: »
    lets just hope these "gypo" folks dont learn to read!

I beg your pardon?.

[insert controversial, unfunny link between gypo's and begging underneath quote of Mairt's post here]

Mairt wrote: »
    Yes I'd consider it racist, its also a stupid and ignorant thing to say

Also, regarding this quote above..........I think you're attitude reeks of double standards when you take offense at the word "gypo" but find other, equally as rascist words fine.......
    Link and another link here

Watch it or he will kick the sh !t out of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Also, regarding this quote above..........I think you're attitude reeks of double standards when you take offense at the word "gypo" but find other, equally as rascist words fine.......

Tbh, he was referring to the food, rather than the people... Though I guess it's still derived from the racism aspect.....Ah it's too hard to be PC these days!

Abortions for some, miniture american flags for others!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Oh for ****s sake..has anybody got anything better to do these days?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Mairt wrote: »
    I beg your pardon?.

no need to beg mate, what can i clear up for you? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

do you really think if any of us had anything better to do that we would still be posting here

Sorry degsy, I didn't deliberately go trawling through Mairt's posts looking for occasions where he was blatantly racist, it's just that i remember seeing the first link at the time and thinking "I can't believe the PC brigade haven't jumped all over him for that"

I personally couldn't give a flying f*ck what he or anyone elses uses to describe different ethnicities (or i would have reported the post at the time) but i do think it's a bit rich for him to admonish someone else for using racist terminology towards one minority group while engaging in the same behaviour himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Novacastrian

PC sh1t drives me mad, so do gypos and knackers;)

I always wondered....

How do you do those linky thingies?.

Com'on man, share it with a brother dude :D

The easiest way is to type the word that you want to be clickable, highlight it, and then click on the "insert link" button and paste the destination link into the pop-up box.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That's disgraceful!!!!!

Gypos can afford a lot more than most would think.

That's disgraceful!!!!!

Gypos can afford a lot more than most would think.

That is true.

Has anyone ever been to the Tuam graveyard (or alternatively any graveyard where Travellers are buried). Their graves are immense, some with marble life-size versions of the Virgin Mary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

They don't actaully. A gypsy's mother chooses a name and then tells no-one, because demons or some crap'd get you if they knew your true name. So all gypsy names are technically nicknames.

No, it was because it used be thought they came from Egypt. (They actually derive from India, although they didn't even know that, it took clever linguists who live in houses to work this out)