Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If i tell a girl she is a ride will she take it as a compliment or think iam rude ?

• 14-12-2007 12:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭DubLegs

Depends if the girl understands the slang term really. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

lucozader wrote: »
    thank you

Are you serious?
    Licozader - "You're a ride"

Girl - *slap*

There are much better ways of expressing yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

If you want to compliment her - sure it's not rude

I might not use that exact phrase though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Depends on your accent and the tone you use!

If you have a big common skanger accent.. it may be a lil intmidating.

My friend is the biggest bogger in the country and when she says it I can't help but laugh. In general it is kinda rude but also kinda funny when used appropriately.

Maybe don't use the term 'ride'.. not just yet..
    Replace it with a different word, a more classy word.

(of course if you're already close to this girl and you two have a good laugh then I'm sure she'd find it funny)

But do NOT say it to a randomer!! :D

you will get slapped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I would suggest that you learn some manners and etiquette.
    If such a statement was said to me not in jest and by a person I don't know or hardly know
    they would be lucky if the only thing they got was the cold shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

A certain type of girl (skanger) may feel complimented but on the whole, any girl with a bit of class will just think you're an uncouth prat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

meh, i wouldnt use that term to tell you the truth if somebody said that to me i wouldnt take it as a compliment tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

just don't give out about the fact that she's smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭LikeOhMyGawd!

Thaedydal wrote: »
    ...If such a statement was said to me not in jest and by a person I don't know or hardly know

Let's get real, that's never going to happen.
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

LikeOHmygAWD: read the charter on off topic unhelpful posting. Your postings today are bordeline at best and i am sure you are not directing that directly at another poster are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Are you saying it as a compliment or a way of getting with her? Cos if it's the latter don't but if you're just saying it as a compliment there's certain ways of saying it that'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

This is not a PI, moved to AH.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Well, if she's not a roide she'll probably be insulted, so you have to be careful!
    Post a pic and we'll tell if it's ok to say it to her.

btw, does she wear hoopy earings? If she does then fire away, you'll be guaranteed a shag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

a guy told my ladyfriend that she had "a bangin' body" randomly on grafton st. she took it as a kind of backhanded compliment...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

you will get slapped

Your a big roide ya know luv.

/slaps arse

OP :: Anyway depends on the girl. Personally I think it doesn't sound so suave, Romeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

I rather the old-fashioned "You have a nice smile"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

lucozader wrote: »
    thank you

if you where told your Ma was a ride would you take offense?

layke wrote: »

/slaps arse

GRRRRR! OK, I heard a discussion about "arse-slapping" on the radio a few weeks ago...girls, if a guy just comes up and gives it a pinch/slap, how would you react? oh it REALLY riles me, to any guys that do it, have a bloody bit of respect and behave like a gentleman! *are there any of those left*?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

Do you have a girl in mind you want to say it to or is it just a general question? It's not really the nicest compliment to give someone, you could say it in a different way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

Agreed ozzyoh. It's so ignorant. I slapped someone for doing it to me before in a club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well stop giggling like school girls when I do it then if ya don't like it! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

r3nu4l wrote: »
    A certain type of girl (skanger) may feel complimented but on the whole, any girl with a bit of class will just think you're an uncouth prat.

Not necessarily true. It's not an insult, it's just a lil crass. However, if said in the right tone and not in a sleazy way then whats the problem?
    Have to say, I'd never slap anyone across the face for calling me a ride! If they slapped my ass or somethin....thats a whole different matter!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

She would probably take it as a compliment from an ignorant dickhead.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

OP this is a classy way to approach women all the people trying to put you off dont know what they are talking about infact if a women doesn't take this as a compliment and immediately try to have sex with you it may be because you made a mistake and she is in fact not a roide at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

wouldn't telling her she's beautiful be better than you're some ride?!?

its a bit more polite and sounds better.....

Mweelrea wrote: »

it sounds gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Might be more polite and sound better but it doesn't convey the fact that you want to bone her as clearly as saying she's a roide!

jester77 wrote: »
    Might be more polite and sound better but it doesn't convey the fact that you want to bone her as clearly as saying she's a roide!

"BEAUTIFUL" is a tad cheesy I have to say....lol..."you have nice eyes/smile" would work tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Yeah but he's talking about everything, not just her smile etc

jdivision wrote: »
    Yeah but he's talking about everything, not just her smile etc

Well saying "you're a roide" is taking it a tad too far..."hot" would be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

`beautiful is cheesy but women seem to prefer being called beautiful as opposed to you're some ride.

In cork men also say i'd flah her...cant say if it works as a compliment though!

ozzyoh wrote: »
    Well saying "you're a roide" is taking it a tad too far..."hot" would be better

how about saying your not a bad bit of ass

Rob_l wrote: »
    how about saying your not a bad bit of ass

Hmm....no I wouldn't say that if i were u!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

GRRRRR! OK, I heard a discussion about "arse-slapping" on the radio a few weeks ago...girls, if a guy just comes up and gives it a pinch/slap, how would you react? oh it REALLY riles me, to any guys that do it, have a bloody bit of respect and behave like a gentleman! *are there any of those left*?

sorry, ya just reminded me of an incident in me local club. i fancied the arse of this little blonde but couldnt work up the guts to go over to her so was basically flirting with her from a distance for ages. said girl gets fed up waiting and comes up behind me one night and grabs me arse.

unfortunetely for her it wasnt my arse but my brothers (i get this "twin" thing alot with him, dont see it myself) and he's just split up with his wife so he's in full on "all women are bitches" mode and just starts laying into going " what the **** are you doing! do i look like a peice of ****ing meat to you!!" poor girl just stood there in shock like a rabbit caught in a cars headlights, stuttered , and then just bailed it :D:D

took me fecking months to undo the damage.

in regards to the OP. it depends how and when you say it. cant hurt after youve ridden her :)

`beautiful is cheesy but women seem to prefer being called beautiful as opposed to you're some ride.

In cork men also say i'd flah her...cant say if it works as a compliment though!

"flah"? ewwww

sorry, ya just reminded me of an incident in me local club. i fancied the arse of this little blonde but couldnt work up the guts to go over to her so was basically flirting with her from a distance for ages. said girl gets fed up waiting and comes up behind me one night and grabs me arse.

unfortunetely for her it wasnt my arse but my brothers (i get this "twin" thing alot with him, dont see it myself) and he's just split up with his wife so he's in full on "all women are bitches" mode and just starts laying into going " what the **** are you doing! do i look like a peice of ****ing meat to you!!" poor girl just stood there in shock like a rabbit caught in a cars headlights, stuttered , and then just bailed it :D:D

LMAO!! Now that's funny!! :) Your poor bro....

Hows about "fantastic" ;)

Ozzyoh, i had a friend who had a bad habit of pinching and slapping a girls a** in pubs & clubs, he got plenty of slaps for his troubles and rightly deserved as well. I'm talking about four years ago, i think he learned his lesson.

how about jaysus look at the gee on you

Ozzyoh, i had a friend who had a bad habit of pinching and slapping a girls a** in pubs & clubs, he got plenty of slaps for his troubles and rightly deserved as well. I'm talking about four years ago, i think he learned his lesson after though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Just tell her you'd "love to knob the box off of her". She'll appricate that.

Barlow07 wrote: »

Ozzyoh, i had a friend who had a bad habit of pinching and slapping a girls a** in pubs & clubs, he got plenty of slaps for his troubles and rightly deserved as well. I'm talking about four years ago, i think he learned his lesson.

awww lol....well i hope he still doesn't do it....yes, "fantastic" is also good!!

I had some guy tell me I had "beautiful breasts" once....I didn't know whether to be offended or laugh, as he put it so elegantly lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

"You're a ride"

*slap*

"OK then, you're not a ride"

*slap*

It's a no win situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Are you planing to say that before or after you pull the trench coat apart and wiggle it around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭witchywoman

Zulu wrote: »
    Just tell her you'd "love to knob the box off of her". She'll appricate that.
    warning.... this definatelywill get you slapped!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Many years ago (about 18) my friend had some cousins over from Sunderland.

I saw the girl cousin and told my friend that I thought she was a ride.

He went back and told her what I had said.

Later that day, I called back around to his house.
    The cousin came out and went nuts.

Apparently calling someone from Sunderland "a ride" is akin to calling them a slut.

My friend knew this, but decided it would be funnier to see her go nuts at me.

Moral of the story; don't call a girl a "ride".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

How about 'I think your a stunner' rather than 'your a ride'. Not as corny as beautiful but classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

r3nu4l wrote: »

Good point. And usually you'll know which ones, because, odds are they'll come up to you first with it.

" Will you ride her, will ya?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Well not that its rude per sé, but if you said it to me, you wouldn't be getting up my skirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Nightwish wrote: »
    Well not that its rude per sé, but if you said it to be, you wouldn't be getting up my skirt.
    I think you're a ride.

Damn my loose tongue.