Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compliment or smart-arsed?

• 14-12-2007 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭

Question for the girls...

Last night, i went out to smoking area of club with smoker friend. (I dont smoke myself, but went for the company).

I see 3 cute gals and utter the following line

"Wow - if ye didnt smoke, ye'd be perfect"

They retorted "Well, if you did smoke, you'd be perfect" and walked off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Probably smart - arsed. You kind of insulted them so they got you back. As a smoker, I'd be offended if someone said to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Smart-arsed and a little bit rude. I don't smoke but if I did I wouldn't want complete strangers coming up to me and complimenting on *my* personal choice. A choice which doesn't affect you at all. How would you feel if someone came up to you in a pub and said 'Wow - if you weren't fat, you'd be perfect'? It's mean and you don't need complete strangers commenting on your life choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP was rude first, so they were kinda rude back.

Next time try - "If you weren't fat you'd be perfect" or even "if you weren't black you'd be perfect" Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Actually ergonomics kinda hit the nail on the head - you can't really say that to people and expect a good response. I know you meant they were nice etc but pointing out someones flaw as a reason they're not good enough doesn't really work.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Hardly a PI.
    Moved.
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

More self-righteous than anything. You deserved to have your drink thrown on your head for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

the dee wrote: »
    Probably smart - arsed. You kind of insulted them so they got you back. As a smoker, I'd be offended if someone said to me.

It's a bit of a snotty remark tbh. What did you expect them to say back????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Last night, i went out to smoking area of club with smoker friend. (I dont smoke myself, but went for the company).

smooth man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Wow! You're either incredicbly dumb or incredibly c0cky, not quite sure which! Do you think these "cute" gals will return the next night, equipped with nicorette patch on their arm and come onto you?

You big eejit!!! Were you just thinking out loud or was it supposed to be a chat up line? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

you should have asked them if they've ever smoked the hairy pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Jaysus OP, it must be a slow day for you in work.

You had a bit of banter with a couple of birds that lasted two sentences, end of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Surprised you had to ask if it was a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

A smart comment to make, but I completely agree with you. The amount of girls who would be otherwise perfect dating material, that are ruined because of a filthy, disgusting, useless habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Finally, someone who doesnt wanna hang me for it.

True though. The nicest most gorgeous girl out there can put you off her with that habit. Im gonna get kicked for this too, but ill say it anyway. The sooner they make cigarette smoking illegal full stop, the better.

Yep, and most gorgeous looking, stunner of a man can put me off by being so anti-smoking he finds is appropriate to go into a smoking area and dis the people in there! Cockiness and/or arrogance are such a turn off - arrogant w*nkstains. Get over yourself! May you be plagued by a massive addiction before your next birthday, then see how you feel!

Actually, I'm sure you have no nasty habits yourself do you? Ever pick your nose/scratch your balls/Bite your nails/Fart in Public/Belch Loudly/Get stupidly drunk......all massive turn-offs, even to some of us smokers......but of course you didn't do any of them things, because you are Mr. perfect!!!

Seriously though, if you're lookin' for a potential mate and you cant stand smokers, STAY OUT OF THE SMOKING AREA!! There you go, simple!! Watch out for the cute-gals left behind when the other cute gals go out smoking....approach the non-smokers left behind......and practice some better chat-up lines! Score! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

A smart comment to make, but I completely agree with you. The amount of girls who would be otherwise perfect dating material, that are ruined because of a filthy, disgusting, useless habit.

They drink too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    May you be plagued by a massive addiction before your next birthday, then see how you feel!

Plagued? Plagued?

Last I heard it was a personal choice to start smoking.

You knew full well when you started that they are both addictive and bad for your health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

How is drinking too much a bad thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I don't think the OP was rude. Those girls must feel bad about their "personal choice" or they wouldn't have been so sensitive about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Finally, someone who doesnt wanna hang me for it.

True though. The nicest most gorgeous girl out there can put you off her with that habit. Im gonna get kicked for this too, but ill say it anyway. The sooner they make cigarette smoking illegal full stop, the better.

I agree. It's all very well for them to say "It;s our choice" but smoke travels into the non smoking areas and the rest of us don't want lung cancer, thanks very much.

Yep, and most gorgeous looking, stunner of a man can put me off by being so anti-smoking he finds is appropriate to go into a smoking area and dis the people in there! Cockiness and/or arrogance are such a turn off - arrogant w*nkstains. Get over yourself! May you be plagued by a massive addiction before your next birthday, then see how you feel!

Actually, I'm sure you have no nasty habits yourself do you? Ever pick your nose/scratch your balls/Bite your nails/Fart in Public/Belch Loudly/Get stupidly drunk......all massive turn-offs, even to some of us smokers......but of course you didn't do any of them things, because you are Mr. perfect!!!

Seriously though, if you're lookin' for a potential mate and you cant stand smokers, STAY OUT OF THE SMOKING AREA!! There you go, simple!! Watch out for the cute-gals left behind when the other cute gals go out smoking....approach the non-smokers left behind......and practice some better chat-up lines! Score! :p

Firstly, no im not cocky, or arrogant just making an attempt at being friendly ("Hello" is a bit dull and leaves you wondering "where to go from here".

Secondly, ill approach the ones inside the club when the DJ turns the music down so i can hear what their saying

Thirdly, no i have none of those habits. Im not Mr Perfect by a long way, but if you want a name for me, Mr Basic Hygene will be acceptable.

Fourthly, how is what i said such an insult? Ive basically told the girls their very good looking.

Finally, how am i chatting them up? Ive yet to hear of a girl who jumps out at you when you say hi to 3 of them at once.

Answers on a postcard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Lesson #1 about women - Anything...ANYTHING...that can be somehow in any sort of way picked up as an insult will be, and therefore you forfeit any brownie points / nice points that you may have picked up over time :)

- You told them they were good looking (sounds like chatting up) but would be better if they didn't smoke...

🤪

Firstly, no im not cocky, or arrogant just making an attempt at being friendly ("Hello" is a bit dull and leaves you wondering "where to go from here".

"hello" would probably have worked better for you though....didn't they all walk off???? ....or if you genuinely wanted to compliment them a simple "looking well girls" would have sufficed, no need to insult the fact that they are smokers though.....they didn't insult you or ask to or expect to be insulted by you, a stranger.
    Secondly, ill approach the ones inside the club when the DJ turns the music down so i can hear what their saying

Pray tell, what on earth did people do before the smoking ban if there were no smokin areas?!?
    Fourthly, how is what i said such an insult? Ive basically told the girls their very good looking.

You've insulted them, just like if ANYone said to you, you'd be perfect if.......blah blah blah. Many girls who smoke, still believe they are perfect (and they damn well are alot more perfect than some non-smokers I know....) if you have an opinion about smokers, don't air it in the smoking area of a premises where alcohol is being served, you might have been lucky last night, but in future, keep it zipped, for your own sake, that's just my advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Patronising and smart-arsed. See: "you don't sweat much for a fat girl".

I do like their response though - to the OP, what were you thinking would happen? That they would all give up smoking because they have put you off and then have their way with you? :)

Starting to smoke is a personal choice but stopping is a different matter completely...I'm not a fan of smoking but I wouldn't judge someone by it. I'm sure non-drinkers don't walk into a pub and proclaim loudly that everyone might be really nice if they didn't drink!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

You're a complete and utter idiot with the social ineptitude of a mongoose at a tea party.

azezil wrote: »
    You're a complete and utter idiot with the social ineptitude of a mongoose at a tea party.

Yes, well your armpits smell. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 The Dudette

If some stranger commented on my smoking (in a smoking area) in a negative way, I'd be a little annoyed. However, the girls did sound a kinda rude themselves and I don't think you actually meant it in a nasty way. You just could've phrased it better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

to translate: OP "If you didn't smoke, I'd totally ride both of ye"
    Girls: "thank christ we smoke then".

Yeah the phrasing was a bit off. I guess i could work on that. Still, im sure the girls got over it.

Probably more than you "veryangryman"...They are probably laughing about it now!

🤪

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

tbh wrote: »
    to translate: OP "If you didn't smoke, I'd totally ride both of ye"
    Girls: "thank christ we smoke then".

I was one of those girls, and let me tell you.. QFT

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

i sometimes envy the smokers, they seem to be havin a good ol' chin wag outside the pubs and clubs...i'm sometimes tempted to light up and join em

philstar wrote: »
    i sometimes envy the smokers, they seem to be havin a good ol' chin wag outside the pubs and clubs...i'm sometimes tempted to light up and join em

Indeed - Smoking Areas FTW :D

Non-Smokers who have a problem with smoking/smokers should stay away though....all other non-smokers welcome, as long as you bring drinks :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Ohhh this is a hard one...I would have thought it would be a compliment, but then reading the posts saying it's smart-arsed...they make sense also. I think I tend to side more with angryman cos I absolutely DESPISE smoking and don't see why anyone would do it...

ozzyoh wrote: »
    Ohhh this is a hard one...I would have thought it would be a compliment, but then reading the posts saying it's smart-arsed...they make sense also. I think I tend to side more with angryman cos I absolutely DESPISE smoking and don't see why anyone would do it...

Bit would you go to a smoking area in a pub/club and say to a smoking guy who was sh1t hot that he would be perfect if he didn't smoke, as a conversation opener?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

OP was definitely rude and lucky to get out alive. Surprised none of the male smokers responded.

IMO a pr1ck thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Bit would you go to a smoking area in a pub/club and say to a smoking guy who was sh1t hot that he would be perfect if he didn't smoke, as a conversation opener?

Lol....I have to say probably not....even if he was really hot and then I saw him smoking, I wouldn't WANT to be with him anyway - let him kill himself if he wants to, I won't make any comments on him!

OP was definitely rude and lucky to get out alive. Surprised none of the male smokers responded.

IMO a pr1ck thing to say.

They did respond. They laughed.

Half of you dont get the fact that i was out to have a laugh, not pull. If i was trying to pull, id have gone back to those girls. Probably not the funniest thing ill ever say, but sure if i got a laugh or 2 out of it, then no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Thirdly, no i have none of those habits. Im not Mr Perfect by a long way, but if you want a name for me, Mr Basic Hygene will be acceptable.

Finally, how am i chatting them up? Ive yet to hear of a girl who jumps out at you when you say hi to 3 of them at once.

Answers on a postcard...

you're basically criticising lifestyle choices of people you don't know in a very public place where they're suppose to be enjoying themselves, not to be judged by every moron who thinks he has something interesting to say.

then to think you thought they might be complimenting you is pretty disturbing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

Well I don't smoke but I think thats a rude thing to say to someone you don't know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

I smoke and think it's pretty gross, bad for ur health etc etc etc. And while the "you should quit, it's bad for you comments" don't bother me in the slightest I would interpret someone saying "you'd be perfect if you didn't smoke" as being a patronising and negative comment. If you'd said somethin like you're great looking. FULL STOP. Engage in conversation and THEN said, you should quit those things, they're bad for ya, I reckon you would have been much more sucessful.
    But if you had smoking so much...why try to chat up smokers?? :confused:

Lola123 wrote: »
    I smoke and think it's pretty gross, bad for ur health etc etc etc. And while the "you should quit, it's bad for you comments" don't bother me in the slightest I would interpret someone saying "you'd be perfect if you didn't smoke" as being a patronising and negative comment. If you'd said somethin like you're great looking. FULL STOP. Engage in conversation and THEN said, you should quit those things, they're bad for ya, I reckon you would have been much more sucessful.
    But if you had smoking so much...why try to chat up smokers?? :confused:

Argh! :eek: For the last time.

WAS NOT CHATTING THEM UP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Filthy and disgusting? Jesus.

"Cigarettes killed my father... and raped my mother"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

A tad smart arsed

everyone has flaws.... so what you said was fairly rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

A tad smart arsed

everyone has flaws.... so what you said was fairly rude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

That's a savage line OP. You're a legend. I'm going to use that....

I used to smoke, and it was that kind of comment by a girl that made me really give quitting a go. If it works for men, why not dish it out to the women too.

Good man,

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

OP you be stolz mah name! LOl

Anyway...I would have told them that they had nice tits. That would learn em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭....shell....

had a comment like that passed about me one night too.........****ing muppet he was lucky i didn't slap him! i don't see why it affects other people. if i want to smoke i'll smoke thats my choice.ya theyre bad for you bla bla bla we've all heard it but at the end of the day its a personal decision and i wouldn't stop just to please someone whos a complete stranger...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Self-righteous and no social skills. You'll go far OP.