Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does he wanna get jiggy?

• 12-12-2007 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys,

I was with a guy that i've liked for ages last Friday night. There was a big gang of us out for Christmas drinks and everyone was really wasted. We ended up sh*gging and although it was good it wasn't great cause we were both really hammered. He emailed me yesterday and said -

Friday night was great fun but could've been alot better if we weren't so f*cked. I'll try and make it up to you.

Now, I realise this may sound very juvenile and silly but I'm just wondering if that means he's going to ask me out at some stage. We are both 27 btw. I emailed him back saying I had too and then he said gotta go do some work. I was half expecting him to eamil me today asking me out but nothing yet. I have a vague recollection of him asking me for my number on Friday but I don't think I gave it to him, not cause I didn't want to, just cause we were wasted and i got distracted. I know him through a friend so I'm thinking maybe he mailed me just to be polite and now I won't hear from him. I feel like an idiot even writing this but it was my first one night stand and I don't know how these things work. I've met him a few times though so it wasn't a typical one night stand in that sense..

Sorry for rambling on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The fact that he waited until yesterday to email you about a drunken encounter on Friday says to me that he didn't regret it and is definitely interested in doing something more with it.

Perhaps he may contact you closer to the weekend to see what you're doing. He may be hoping to see you again in the company of mates (sober) before he goes the whole hog of asking you out.

You can be pretty confident though that he's interested. If you're getting restless, why not ask him out? If he's nervous about asking you out, he'd be relieved that you took the first step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

the longer it goes on the less likely either one of you are to make the first move. ask HIM out, its the 00's you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭McSween

i would say he definately wants to be close to you again at least! this time without so much alcohol involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

email him back

"You can make it up to me this weekend"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I doubt any man would be nervous about asking a girl out after shagging them. Talk about a sure thing, absolutely nothing to be nervous about so i highly doubt this is why he hasn't asked you out.

The impression i got from his email was 'booty call'. You did it once you'll do it again sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

email him back

"You can make it up to me this weekend"

yeah i wouldn't do that.otherwise he will (understandably) assume you've got a f*ckbuddy situation going on.But he didn't have to contact you,so that's a really good sign.and don't mind him saying "i can make it up to you" in the email,that's just standard flirty speak(god how i miss flirty speak:( !!!)

defo make a move girl!!imagine how good it will feel when you realise he's into you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Friday night was great fun but could've been alot better if we weren't so f*cked. I'll try and make it up to you.
    could mean:

1) I would like to see you again, take you on a date, get to know you better, who knows after that?

or

2) I would like to have sex with you again, while we had fun Friday night I reckon we can have a lot more fun if we're not so pissed ...

or perhaps a combination of / median between the two.

If I sent that message to a girl after sex (one-nighter or otherwise) it certainly would NOT mean "I have absolutely no interest, and I'm just trying to be polite ..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Patience lady, he will be in touch. When he emails you again, just email him back and put your mobile number on the end. In the meantime I'd have yourself waxed and moisturised to within an inch of your life.

Oooh I love anticipation!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Sounds like he is testing the waters to see your reaction to a potential fúckbuddy situation.
    A drunken shag after a work Christmas do would not put a typical Irish guy in relationship mood imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

One thing I didn't mention in my original email is that we work together. I was too embarassed to put that into my mail! So I see him everyday now and it's a little awkward. I'm thinking maybe he only emailed me that to be nice cause we work together. He did ask me if I got home okay and stuff though. We don't work side by side but I have to walk by him to get to the kitchen. He's being really nice to me, as in 'Hey, how are ya? God, what a long week...' Chit chat basically but no email asking me out this weekend. I'm just gonna sit back and see what happens, chances are nothing will but if it's meant to be it'll be.
    I instigated the sh*g at the party. I can be really sexually aggressive and forward when I'm drunk and I keep getting flashes of things I was saying to him. At the time it seemed sexy but now I just feel foolish and a bit slutty which I'm not but he doesn't know me that well so he might think I am...oh, god guys....what would u think if a girl was really really forward sexually...I'm talking REALLY forward.
    I think it's fine to be that way with a boyfriend but you shouldn't act that way with a guy you work with the first time you shag!!
    Any opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'd like to hear from Wibbs and Marksie if possible. Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

sureimsure wrote: »
    One thing I didn't mention in my original email is that we work together. I was too embarassed to put that into my mail! So I see him everyday now and it's a little awkward. I'm thinking maybe he only emailed me that to be nice cause we work together. He did ask me if I got home okay and stuff though. We don't work side by side but I have to walk by him to get to the kitchen. He's being really nice to me, as in 'Hey, how are ya? God, what a long week...' Chit chat basically but no email asking me out this weekend. I'm just gonna sit back and see what happens, chances are nothing will but if it's meant to be it'll be.
    I instigated the sh*g at the party. I can be really sexually aggressive and forward when I'm drunk and I keep getting flashes of things I was saying to him. At the time it seemed sexy but now I just feel foolish and a bit slutty which I'm not but he doesn't know me that well so he might think I am...oh, god guys....what would u think if a girl was really really forward sexually...I'm talking REALLY forward.
    I think it's fine to be that way with a boyfriend but you shouldn't act that way with a guy you work with the first time you shag!!
    Any opinions?

I can't see anything coming of this tbh. He's had all week to do something, he's seen you everyday. I think if he wanted anything more than sex out of this he probably would have approached you by now.

A lot of men do not like the ''slutty'' type. As in, in his mind you're probably not the kind of girl to take home to meet the mother.

In future, if you like a guy, don't give it up so easily. Plus if you're soo sexually forward when hammered then you might not want to get so hammered in future, as this could land you in some tricky situations. And don't be so flattered if he's all over you at the next work outing, like i said earlier in the thread, he probably thinks if you did it once, you'll do it again easily enough. In fact, half the office probably know of it now so don't be surprised if you get a lot more attention from the lads at the next work outing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

OP: How would you feel about asking him directly?. The fact that you work together and only received an email and he is only making pleasantries for you at the moment. It may be that he is awaiting some sign or a more in depth mail.

The only sure way is to ask and guage his reaction. Plus work isnt necessarily the best place to bring something like that up.

How were you around him? friendly, distant, preoccupied?

He may well not want anything more, but he may and be shy.

The mail he sent you was loaded to an extent it was almost as if he was trying to gauge your reaction.

Did you indicate that you may be interested in meeting again in your reply or was it as sparse as what you have just said?

He may very well be sitting back waiting for you to say something more and you are siting back waiting for him to say something more. One of you make the first move. You dont have to be sexually forward about it, maybe a simple "dinner would be a start" or similar message may be suitable

he may also have been checking that you were OK with it and nothing more. But the fact remains you wont know until one of you asks. be proactive. If the moutnain gdoesnt move to mohammed, mohammed must move to the mountain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

McSween wrote: »
    i would say he definately wants to be close to you again at least! this time without so much alcohol involved

Sounds like he wants another shag to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭sobriquet

sureimsure wrote: »
    One thing I didn't mention ... really sexually aggressive and forward when I'm drunk ... really really forward sexually...I'm talking REALLY forward.

Ok, that does change things somewhat. If you kicked all this off by telling him how much you wanted to jump his bones, then from the get-go he's probably not thinking you're looking for a relationship at all. If he on the other hand is interested in more than another ride, he might be holding off because he doesn't want to look foolish in light of your last encounter (ie, thinking that you could end up thinking jaysus what an eejit, I only slept with him and now he's mad about me).

Marksie's right, you're going to have to make yourself a bit clearer.