Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Shot You've EVER hit...

• 12-12-2007 10:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭

Graeme's thread about Rating your year gave me an idea for this thread...

What's the Best Golf Shot You've Ever Hit?

Why was it so good - Pressure? Improvisation? Guts? Technique? Importance? Meaning? Competition?

I'm actually having trouble coming up with one myself here, I don't play much "official" competitive golf, save for the odd few Opens at my own course...

But, we play a kind of friendly matchplay competition in my local boozer and the first year I played I was one-down on 17th tee. Won 17. Had honour on last (18th, Killeen, Par 3, 145 all carry over water) and hit a beautiful 8iron to the centre of the green.

It really put the pressure on my opponent who had also just lost the lead and he found the water.

I'm sure there'll be many more exciting than that from the rest of you!

For pure technique, I hit a spectacular (if I do say so myself!) drawn 4iron around a small tree to the par-5 18th from about 200yards in Craddockstown earlier this year. I was, being honest, the most surprised person on the golf course after I did it! One of those shots you try and aim for a 'decent' result (ie, up round the green) and end up pulling it off perfectly... one of the most satisfying shots I've ever hit and set up a closing birdie. Always nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Hollystown in the Barton Cup 2nd round last year. Squandered a 4 shot lead and were only one up going to 16. Pushed tee shot right on the par 3 into deep rough. Partner did well to get the ball to 25 feet. They were about 12 feet, putting for birdy. Knocked in a big sliding 25 foot raker to get par. They 3 putted and we went dormy 2. Won 17, and job done!

Felt good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

Not to name drop but played a Pro am in the k club with Mr Mcginley this year, european open. Played the short 15th into a strong wind and hit my best drive of the day. Had just over 110yards in according to Pauls caddie, so I hit my pitching wedge, one bounce on the green and stopped about an inch from the hole for a tap in birdie, net eagle. Paul was well impressed, didnt even bother to putt himself.
    I dont think i've hit a decent shot since, but it was probably the best shot i ever played when it mattered, and what a buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

mccutchie wrote: »
    Not to name drop but played a Pro am in the k club with Mr Mcginley this year, european open. Played the short 15th into a strong wind and hit my best drive of the day. Had just over 110yards in according to Pauls caddie, so I hit my pitching wedge, one bounce on the green and stopped about an inch from the hole for a tap in birdie, net eagle. Paul was well impressed, didnt even bother to putt himself.
    I dont think i've hit a decent shot since, but it was probably the best shot i ever played when it mattered, and what a buzz.

Good Job Man - that's hard to top...

Personally, if it'd been me I couldn't have resisted a "Try join in on the next one Macker, will ye!" quip on the way to the next tee. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

good question... it's hard to think of one, but i'll go for a 6-iron i hit to the 17th green in matchplay when i was about 17. More for the situation than the shot itself.

I was 5 down with 7 holes to go in a club league game a few years back. Walking off the 12th, one of the guys who had been walking round supporting my opponent said "this game's over" just loud enough for me to hear and he walked off to watch one of the other games.

I won 4 of the next 5 to be one down going up 17. Stuck my drive in the semi-rough. He put his second into the greenside bunker and i cut a 6 iron in to about a foot from the hole and a gimme. As sweet a strike as you can hit. There was a good crowd watching us by this point too as we were one of the last group's on the course.

We halved the 18th with pars and the match finished all square. Never been so chuffed with a half!

Just thinking, have twice holed my PW for an eagle on par fours - once in Citywest Lakes, once in Skelligs Bay... never had a bonafide, on-par-five-in-two-one-putt eagle though... had a couple of near misses though...

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Just thinking, have twice holed my PW for an eagle on par fours - once in Citywest Lakes, once in Skelligs Bay... never had a bonafide, on-par-five-in-two-one-putt eagle though... had a couple of near misses though...

I can remember holing a wedge at the par 4 9th of my club in scotland. I'd put my drive into the ditch in front of the green though so it was only a birdie. :D

Never had an eagle.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Great thread again....

After a horror drive on the 13th in Mount Juliet, one St. Stephens Day...
    Left side, ball well above the feet, I hit a 3 wood with 40 yards of draw (leftie) over trees onto the back left of the green to 15 feet.
    Driver off the deck second shot onto a par 5 in Sunningdale new course was pretty cool too.
    Holed a 100 yard shot on a par 4 once, never holed in one, several 'regular' eagles, no albatros yet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Had just done a lesson on bunker play, was out with a pal same day and we were waved through by a group who proceeded to watch me put it in a fairway bunker.

I had earlier bemoaned my tendency to try and play the hero shot, rather than take my punishment (bear in mind I'm sub ten rounds lifetime here).

Anyway, 140 yrds out, decent lie in bunker, lesson fresh in mind, green 10 feet over ball height. Declared intention to play hero shot. 7 iron to within a foot.

What I really enjoyed, other than my mate telling everyone in the pub, was putting a lesson into play, and meaning the shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Playing the 4th hole in our place, par 5, relatively good drive up the middle, about 210m out, out with the 3 wood, bashed it up the left with a little cut on it, landed on the green and rolled up to about 18 inches, was delighted with a tap-in eagle :D

Been waitin ever since to do it again :eek:

Think I'll be waitin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

When deciding 'best shot' I would rate the situation very highly, so I'm going for a chip for my best shot ever.

First round of the Barton this year. We were 4-up after 7. Lost 8&9 and were only 1-up after 12. 13th hole was a 230yd par 3. My partner hit it pin high, but 40 yards left (twat!). Had to come out of rough, over trees and a bunker. They on the front fringe and looked like getting back to level. I put it stone dead, and they didn't get up and down, so we went 2 up. Closed out the game after that. So satisfying!

When deciding 'best shot' I would rate the situation very highly, so I'm going for a chip for my best shot ever.

First round of the Barton this year. We were 4-up after 7. Lost 8&9 and were only 1-up after 12. 13th hole was a 230yd par 3. My partner hit it pin high, but 40 yards left (twat!). Had to come out of rough, over trees and a bunker. They on the front fringe and looked like getting back to level. I put it stone dead, and they didn't get up and down, so we went 2 up. Closed out the game after that. So satisfying!

I have to say, there's something particularly satisfying about pulling off a difficult chip shot... I love hitting good drives, crisp powerful iron shots and pinning the odd wedge, of course (when I'm not hitting it sideways, that is). But, I guess, because that's your full swing and the one you practise so much on the range etc it feels more "regular"...

But when you're faced with a tough chip, and you need to improvise a bit, it's a great feeling when you nail it. Nothing better in competition than not having to use the putter :)

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I have to say, there's something particularly satisfying about pulling off a difficult chip shot... I love hitting good drives, crisp powerful iron shots and pinning the odd wedge, of course (when I'm not hitting it sideways, that is). But, I guess, because that's your full swing and the one you practise so much on the range etc it feels more "regular"...

But when you're faced with a tough chip, and you need to improvise a bit, it's a great feeling when you nail it. Nothing better in competition than not having to use the putter :)

I think whats most satisfying is (and this is the same for, say a tough 'risk and reward' 5/6/7 iron shot into a green) when you hit it well, and it feels good and looks good, but you still don't know if it's going to come off until you see it actually land where it needs to. Your standing there, afraid to breathe, in case it affects the ball. And that split second where you see it land softly and run down to the hole is magic. That's the reason I play golf. You might only get 2 or 3 of those shots in a year, but it's worth play 40 rounds just for those moments. And it's impossible to descibe that to someone who doesn't play golf.

As you said hitting a big booming drive is well and good, but you only need one glance at it to know it's going to be grand. Although I did have one drive that I'd rank as one of my best shots. Driveable par 4 when playing it down wind. And I just hit a perfect drive to about 5 feet and put in the putt.

My partner hit it pin high, but 40 yards left (twat!).

Jaysus One Cold Hand, I'd love to be your partner, when can we play together??:D:D

JCDUB wrote: »
    Jaysus One Cold Hand, I'd love to be your partner, when can we play together??:D:D

Don't worry, I'm much more subtle (sp?) and encouraging when were actually playing. You'd love playing with me!!

Good Post One Cool Hand.... good point about how you don't know for sure how good a chip shot is til you see it stop... still, that feeling of bending to pick up the tee when the ball is only halfway on its way to its destination is pretty sweet too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Not competitive shots but two spring to mind.
    Both par 3's.

One was a chip from the bunker which rolled straight into the hole for par.

Second was a chip from behind the green (which was a good 8ft above me so I could only see the top of the flag) and it went straight into the hole. Didn't even "clang" of the flag! If it hadn't it would have certainly rolled off the green as it all sloped downhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

2 memorable ones this year

18th hole par 5, water in front of green. hit good drive, then hit 18* rescue to 6 foot, ball stopped pretty much straight away, pin was tight to the front so water was in play. Best thing was there were loads of lads having a drink on the balcony watchin the shots come in, I got a big applause and few well dones when I slotted it - amazing feeling, happiness shared is way better

The other was in club fourball matchplay final, 16th hole 3 down 3 to play, long par 3 220 yards. opposition hit first onto green. I hit to good shot to back of green but left a 25-30 footer downhill across a number of breaks. needed putt as they were dead for 3 so was looking like game over. Spent 5-10 minutes studying putt and when finally decided to take the putt still wasnt sure, so hit and hoped. About 6 foot from the hole I knew it was in. The sound of the ball hitting the cup was majestic. They were gutted. Lost on 18 though :(

Stringy's reminded me of my shot of the season. I was far too many over par at the time, but...

I was playing the 18th at Hollywood Lakes. Wind was blowing a gale into the face. Hit a drive straight up the middle, and was left with about 155-160 to go. Pin was right at the front, very close to the water. Wind was so strong i went with a 4 iron which i blasted low and dead straight into the wind. The win caught it, but it made it pin high, dropped dead about 3-4 feet away. Holed a little curler for the birdie. Got a few pats on the back from the guys i was playing with too so i left the course feeling pretty good!

Only had about 31 points for the round, but it's amazing how a good finish can leave you in high spirits!

stringy wrote: »
    2 memorable ones this year

18th hole par 5, water in front of green. hit good drive, then hit 18* rescue to 6 foot, ball stopped pretty much straight away, pin was tight to the front so water was in play. Best thing was there were loads of lads having a drink on the balcony watchin the shots come in, I got a big applause and few well dones when I slotted it - amazing feeling, happiness shared is way better

The other was in club fourball matchplay final, 16th hole 3 down 3 to play, long par 3 220 yards. opposition hit first onto green. I hit to good shot to back of green but left a 25-30 footer downhill across a number of breaks. needed putt as they were dead for 3 so was looking like game over. Spent 5-10 minutes studying putt and when finally decided to take the putt still wasnt sure, so hit and hoped. About 6 foot from the hole I knew it was in. The sound of the ball hitting the cup was majestic. They were gutted. Lost on 18 though :(

Donabate by any chance Stringy??
    Spent a couple of summer afternoons sittin up there suckin back large bottles alright..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dunser

Was playing Matchplay in Mountwolsey and was playing 2 handicapper. my drive went about 180 and laned on edge of fairway but about 130 or 140 from Green. took out my 8 iron and stiched it and it landed on Green and rolled about 19 feet and sank in hole for eagle, I was playing off 21 at time. Still have the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

JCDUB wrote: »
    Donabate by any chance Stringy??
    Spent a couple of summer afternoons sittin up there suckin back large bottles alright..

yep thats my backyard

dunser wrote: »
    Was playing Matchplay in Mountwolsey and was playing 2 handicapper. my drive went about 180 and laned on edge of fairway but about 130 or 140 from Green. took out my 8 iron and stiched it and it landed on Green and rolled about 19 feet and sank in hole for eagle, I was playing off 21 at time. Still have the ball

See THATS why it's impossible playing 21 h'cappers in matchplay. You probably do it every week as well!!

Only messing! Well Done!! What are you off now, a lot lower I presume??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dunser

Well Cold hand ,after a lot of lessons and practice, I am not off 18.4, getting there slowley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

dunser wrote: »
    I'm guessing that was a birdie, nett eagle or else thats a very short par 5 (310 yds):confused:

For me there are a good few, one of which was in the Barton Shield in City of Derry a couple of years ago. My partner hooked his drive off the 3rd (par 5), down another fairway. I was left with about 240yds over trees and the flag was tucked behind a bunker...and the ball was above my feet!! Hit a high draw with a 4 wood to about 3 feet and my partner tapped in for eagle.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Playing Metro Cup in Hollywood Lakes a couple of years back. Was 2up playing 14 when my opponents caddy turned up to assist him for the rest of the round. This caddy, probably in his 60's, was obviously sent out to help the young fella I was playing. Over the next couple of holes the caddy started pulling every trick in the book - getting his guy to slow his pace down between green and the next tee to upset my rhythm; standing very close to me when I was playing a shot, etc.

Anyhow, I lost the 14th when I stuck one into the cabbage on the left so went to the 15th now only 1up. I could feel the pressure getting to me as I was beginning to tighten up. Then our team manager arrived in his buggy to see how I was doing. Squirted a low drive down the RHS leaving me behind a tree. Could only punch the ball a little further down the RHS leaving it in the rough about 30 yards short of the green. My opponent came up just short of the green in two but was a cert to get up and down in 2.

My ball was on a downhill lie in 2-inch rough. A little chop-down on a PW got it running towards the green a little to the left of the pin. The contour of the green and pace on the ball brought it rolling right into the hole for a birdie! Won the hole and now was 2up again.

Really enjoyed that feeling of seeing the ball drop after the antics of my opponents caddy, but mainly because it looked like I was going to lose a match I was in control of for so long, and the increasing pressure.

Hit a 5-iron to 8 feet on the par-3 17th (?) to win out 3&1.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It'll be difficult to make a post here without sounding boastful.

I've played for many years, and sometimes a drive is solid, an approach shot is satisfying, a pitch memorable, a recovery shot epic etc. A good putt is a good putt though. Pick your line, "feel the weight" and it's a bit of luck after that tbh.

My most recent memorable shot was a drive on the 14th in Lahinch. Wind quartering off the right and helping a little bit. I wanted to hit it up into the breeze and let it turn over. I swung smoothly and didn't rush it, and I knew at impact I'd absolutely nailed it. One of my playing partners (a low single figure player) said "good god". The ball went 370 yards in total. A smooth wedge 2nd shot to a hole of 450 yards. Regulation par but it was a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

A few years back I was playing in Grange Castle. It was before the changes were made. On the 10th tee I knocked the ball down about 50/60 yards .. didnt make the fairway (shocking I know!) but I took out my metal 5 and lined it up. I knew I could get it up out of the rough. I took my time, set up right and struck it sweet. It sailed through the overhanging big Oak? tree and bounced just before the green to the right. It rolled to about 4/5 feet of the pin, which I duly dropped for a birdie. I was dead chuffed. It had been an up and down front nine and I picked my game up on the back after that shot. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Event nothing of importance, but for the laugh in the pub later, I'd say my best shot was at the 18th in Thurles. It was just a friendly scramble that I was playing in, so other family members down beside the green. We were one over gross at the time, and just wanted to finish on level at least.

Anyway, 150 yards out, playing our third shot(bit of a disaster, its a Par 5 btw). I hit an 8 iron, high and hanging. Comes down about 5ft from the pin. Nice to sink the putt, then in the pub, and it turns out we won. Just such a laugh.