Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Manbags" and other male accesories

• 10-12-2007 7:39pm
    Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭

Rite what do ye all think of this?? I get slagged for wearing a scarf and carrying a bag like this. Personally I think it looks classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

That's the average Irish bloke for ya, I came home wearing fingerless gloves (one of which was holding my gfs hand) and my brother called me gay. Not everybody likes manbags but I personally think the retro adidas and puma ones look great. I still have a "schoolbag" type bag for uni but I suppose it looks a bit immature. And whats wrong with lads wearing scarfs?! Unless you wear a scarf with a t-shirt of course - that would make you a tosser :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

honestly?

gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

It looks good, there is nowt wrong with having a bag for god's sake!! And to not wear a scarf in this weather is pretty stupid tbh!

So, this must be why a lot of irish guys dress so badly...because their insecure friends call them "gay" or whatever for wearing nice stuff. Forget what your friends think, and wear what you like. It's always good to be slightly original too. Please don't take note of what others say because they are just jealous of what you are wearing and why they didn't think of it first. They slag you to make themselves feel better for wearing awful clothes and especially bad shoes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

If it's very cold, I wear a scarf. Not sure about the bag. It reminds me of primary school in the '80s. It looks just like the leatherette Liverpool, Man. Utd. ones that EVERYBODY had. One poor guy had an Everton one:) I'd prefer the courier/record type bag. But then I rarely carry anything that doesn't fit in my pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

what does a guy really nead a manbag for.. women have makeup, perfume and god knows what else, hence the need for the bag.

Guy has phone, wallet, smokes and mp3 if that, your coat not got pockets?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I mainly use it for college stuff, and for that its handier than a big feckin backpack. I also think it looks better. Also as Jimmy Carr once said "I thought bring gay was liking another mans c**k up your bum!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

Totally depends on the man!!! The majority of men couldn't pull off wearing a bag but the ones who do are usually really confident and it looks cool on them! :)
    That bag is funky, I like it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

It's so funny what is considered 'gay' in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I think it looks very studenty, which is ok if you are a student, but if you're not I'd be thinking like Wisesmurf and wondering what you actually need it for. I wouldn't be too keen on it tbh, I think it can look a bit gay but it depends on the guy, same with scarves.

lol...how the hell do one of these bags look gay? And scarves?!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

nah its cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Depends on whether you want ot be a metrosexual or not. Personally, i wouldn't use it. I'd use the fabric ones you throw around your shoulder and it hangs down around your waist. But these "fashion" bag things, nah, not for me. Then again, i'm totally against men wearing make-up. Whatever happened to the manly men? This country is getting too metro...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Unless you had some pron, a sandwich and some cans in it then I'd say its a bit too metro >_>

Anyone who thinks blokes are getting "too metro" usually sounds a bit conceited to me, they're the kinda girls who say they like they like men who don't scrub up when actually they only like extremely good looking men who don't scrub up. If you aren't extremely good looking and can't pull off the scruffy look, you will look like a scruff. The most awful looking girl can wear tons of make up, tummy-controlling pants, push up bra's, do everything to get a man better looking than she deserves - so whats the big deal?

The bag looks fine, more a fan of the Adidas ones myself though. And like that other poster says, unless you're taking it up the arse you're not gay. Nothing wrong with looking after yourself and wearing nice stuff, I just laughed at my brother when he said that to me cos he was walking around in 10 years old football shorts and a sweater :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stratospheres

Its hard to pull off but if you can, I think it looks hot tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 mcquickerson

Im all for mabags, but Scarleh for ye OP

My sister has that bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I like it.

Like others have said, only certain people can pull that kinda thing off but when they do it looks great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Cianos wrote: »
    It's so funny what is considered 'gay' in Ireland.

"Considered" has ten letters in it. How gay is that?:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

always carry a bag. practical, more than anything else; nine times out of ten it's 100% empty, but that means there's room to put stuff in it, as a result my hands are always free for my phone cider and spliff; it's hardly rocket science!

oh, and if you're going to carry a record bag around, make sure there's records in it. (although that was a bit more of a 90's thing i guess :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

There are two types of people that carry manbags. Gay guys and trendy as fúck guys. If your not the latter your in the former. Of course you could be both.

Simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭martin84

Oh well, im the latter. go me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

lol...how the hell do one of these bags look gay? And scarves?!

Like I said, it depends on the guy (and the bag), but carrying a bag can look gay. Same with scarves, I hate when guys wear them as an accessory (ie when it's not actually cold) with those blazer type jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Its hard to pull off but if you can, I think it looks hot tbh!

+1 Although, if you've f*ck all in the bag and don't really need it then it's a bit too metro!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Like I said, it depends on the guy (and the bag), but carrying a bag can look gay. Same with scarves, I hate when guys wear them as an accessory (ie when it's not actually cold) with those blazer type jackets.

scarves look hot with blazers..... eg Jude Law! I love that look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

That's the average Irish bloke for ya, I came home wearing fingerless gloves (one of which was holding my gfs hand) and my brother called me gay. Not everybody likes manbags but I personally think the retro adidas and puma ones look great. I still have a "schoolbag" type bag for uni but I suppose it looks a bit immature. And whats wrong with lads wearing scarfs?! Unless you wear a scarf with a t-shirt of course - that would make you a tosser :)

Nothing wrong with fingerless gloves, scarfs, dirka towels or man bags. Most of the people who say manbags are gay are just idiots. A load of my friends are curriors in the city centre and wouldnt use any other bag. I myself have one and its the best, really comfy to carry. Only got it last week!
    Sawa wrote: »
    So, this must be why a lot of irish guys dress so badly...because their insecure friends call them "gay" or whatever for wearing nice stuff. Forget what your friends think, and wear what you like. It's always good to be slightly original too. Please don't take note of what others say because they are just jealous of what you are wearing and why they didn't think of it first. They slag you to make themselves feel better for wearing awful clothes and especially bad shoes!!

Very true, i wouldnt say that they are jealous of what you are wearing, more they are too insecure to pull it off. If you like it, wear it, and fk anyone who thinks otherwise.
    Wisesmurf wrote: »
    what does a guy really nead a manbag for.. women have makeup, perfume and god knows what else, hence the need for the bag.

Guy has phone, wallet, smokes and mp3 if that, your coat not got pockets?

Phone, wallet, smokes, car keys, money, a book for the bus, the swords exress timetable, plectrums, penknife(used it 2 times this week), portable nokia charger. The average man has evolved and stopped depending on his girlfriend to lug around all his daily crap. Even your list of stuff annoys me. If i had all that **** stuffed into my jean pockets id be very irritated(i wear skinny jeans)

*Lees* wrote: »
    Totally depends on the man!!! The majority of men couldn't pull off wearing a bag but the ones who do are usually really confident and it looks cool on them! :)
    That bag is funky, I like it! :D

Nothing depends on the man, anyone can pull a bag like that off. The only trick to "pulling that bag off" is weither you care what people think when you go out. Why should you care what people think of what you wear? You dont have to get their aproval. I couldnt give a toss what anyone thinks of what i wear, i like the item, so ill wear it..

So only women can wear accessories like that?

With regards to that bag, i think its a tad tackey and quite frankly a bit ugly. No offence. I got a real nice canvis (i think it is) bag in zara downstares in dundrum. Its a very dark blue and it will age very gracefully. Those birght man bags imo generally tend to be more of a "trip to the gym" type bag more than an every day "i actually use this bag for usefull sh1t" type bag.. if you know what i mean.

Im going to go work on my car now, i need to compensate for lack of manlyness in this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

wixfjord wrote: »
    Rite what do ye all think of this?? I get slagged for wearing a scarf and carrying a bag like this. Personally I think it looks classy.

If I saw someone wearing that I'd assume they were gay tbh.

:rolleyes: Yourself!:p

:cool::D

imred wrote: »
    If I saw someone wearing that I'd assume they were gay tbh.

even if they had a beard?

red_ice wrote: »
    even if they had a beard?

Oh well that changes everyhing! ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I wear my manbag with pride and you wont catch me in the George pub!! I use it though. Mine is very lightweight so its not like a burden to carry it.

The only people who seem to have problems with manbags are homophobes!!
    [/joking!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

If I saw someone with that bag I'd think they played for the other team, yeah.. or at the very least was a bit too effeminate/metro.

If you carry around enough things to require a bag, then you get a bag. To most men a bag is a practical object, very few would buy a bag as a fashion item and only then consider what to put in it..

I would judge a bag based on its volume, empty weight, material strength, security, harness/strap design, water resistance etc. The fact that the OP has posted on this forum leads me to believe he regards his bag (and most likely his scarf) as primarily a fashion accessory, something that his friends have picked up on, hence the slaggings. :p

I doubt the OP is buying the bag as a fashion accessory, more as a fashionable solution to a problem (having too much crap to carry around). If he bought the bag and had nothing to put in it yet still carried it around, then yes he'd be open to ridicule. However I very much doubt anyone would buy a bag without having anything to at least put in it. I couldn't give a crap if anybody thought I was gay, Irish blokes can't dress themselves anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

if jack bauer can have a manbag then anyone can. he's totally the polar opposite to gay.

jack-bauer-in-action.jpg

if it was me, i'd go for an less vibrant colour than the one in the original post.

Cremo wrote: »
    if jack bauer can have a manbag then anyone can. he's totally the polar opposite to gay.

jack-bauer-in-action.jpg

if it was me, i'd go for an less vibrant colour than the one in the original post.

Yeah Jack Bauer's one looks ok. It was the style and colour of the first one that put me off.

lol

"Well if Jack Bauer wears one maybe I can wear one too". Make up your own mind ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

http://www.laptopshop.co.uk/crumpler-sticky_date_black-std007-laptop_case-2-cc7.htm#

i got one similar to this in navy with a red stripe, its a laptop bag but use it sometimes as a "bag" - fcuk yeah, no queer gola bags for me!

"no queer gola bags for me"

Woah... ur so macho, do you keep Yorkie bars in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

use my "manbag" most days, for work it holds my lunch and paper when walking to work, if heading off out for the day, possibly my mobile or mp3 player if not using them, ocasionaly my wallet, could be any amount of stuff in there when traveling, ie going on holiday, passport, mobile, mp3 player, chargers, sunglasses, spare contacts, glasses, a good book, etc etc

the scarf may be making an appearance again soon, and the skull cap has been on most mornings in the last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

it is perfectly well to carry a 'manbag' :i am a student!:Dand oh,yes,i love my scaft too!!

but that from OP...is in a dangerous zone..without proper your (face)physical appearance,you really could end up look like gay...and fingerless gloves?!i say i will never go that far...i have only seen girls using that kind of bag+that kind of gloves!!

i say lets post people photos here see what do we think about it:D

Dr_Teeth wrote: »
    If I saw someone with that bag I'd think they played for the other team, yeah.. or at the very least was a bit too effeminate/metro.

Thats odd ken, i recall you coming into netshop when i worked there carrying a man bag a good 4/5 years ago! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

so are we going to post more pics of our manbags, or is that goin a bit far or a bit odd

lol

"Well if Jack Bauer wears one maybe I can wear one too". Make up your own mind ffs.
    It was the style and colour of the first one that put me off.

If you would read my post correctly you would see that I'm not changing my mind, the gola bag looks gay imo, Jack Bauer's doesnt as its more of a manly style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

red_ice wrote: »
    Thats odd ken, i recall you coming into netshop when i worked there carrying a man bag a good 4/5 years ago! haha

I think you've got the wrong chap Red_Ice, I was a DNC regular! Anyway, the only type of bag I carry around regularly is a laptop bag, with a laptop in it. :P

Dr_Teeth wrote: »
    I think you've got the wrong chap Red_Ice, I was a DNC regular! Anyway, the only type of bag I carry around regularly is a laptop bag, with a laptop in it. :P

i beg to differ! I recall you spending alot of time in the cafe, and it was a manbag! I know you were a DNC regular, but you did frequent the cafe a fair bit :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Scarves no problem.

Manbags?

If I'm being Honest?

Gay.

Edit: (but thats because I'm incredibly insecure in my masculinity :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

how can a shoulder bag be gay for fups sake? Ok, the green gola one looks a bit studenty, tacky and cheap imo (i have an aged leather one, a bit smaller and holds my book, mp3, phones, lipbalm, moisturiser and some screws and stuff for fixing things) River island have some nice bags and they are probably in the sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Can someone tell me wtf is the point of fingerless gloves? I can't see the point unless you happen to be fingerless.

Surely your fingers remain cold. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭pinklady2

I like the bag and the scarf idea noting wrong with it,bag works well for college once you are happy with it who cares what everyone thinks. :)