Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Faceless Hoodie

• 10-12-2007 6:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭

This latest addition, the faceless hoodie, to the Skanger wardrobe gives them total anonymity.

Would you be happy to have gangs of young men wandering the streets effectively wearing masks?

Should these garments be allowed?

While we are at it, can we ban Burberry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Hagar wrote: »
    This latest addition, the faceless hoodie, to the Skanger wardrobe gives them total anonymity.

Would you be happy to have gangs of young men wandering the streets effectively wearing masks?

Should these garments be allowed?

While we are at it, can we ban Burberry?

Dont all skangers look the same anyway.........hard to tell one from the other....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Feck! I wan't one! Midnight ops and paintball protection for the win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

Delighted. It would appear that Babylon is burning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Years old but i suppose if it keeps them warm?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Why don't we ban Hallowe'en masks too? or balaclavas or fake beards or sun glasses or wigs or face paint or clowns or mimes (not a bad idea!) or make up or large swimming goggles or ice hockey masks or.... you get the idea!

Trying to ban an item of clothing is ridiculous.

/EDIT unless, obviously, it has guns for sleeves and is stuffed with cocaine (and not the pure stuff, the bad stuff that kills people)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

The spokesman from the makers says it all "responding to their customers needs" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Why don't we ban Hallowe'en masks too? or balaclavas or fake beards or sun glasses or wigs or face paint or clowns or mimes (not a bad idea!) or make up or large swimming goggles or ice hockey masks or.... you get the idea!

Trying to ban an item of clothing is ridiculous.

/EDIT unless, obviously, it has guns for sleeves and is stuffed with cocaine (and not the pure stuff, the bad stuff that kills people)
    They should be encouraged. Before you used to have search scumbags before you found their balaclavas. Now wearing these gives us carte blanch to search them because if you're wearing one you're probably up to no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

the name of the company making them is reassuring.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Been around for quite a while with many companies making them. The first ones I saw were with skulls on them for the Emos about a 2 years ago

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'd be seriously scared if people were walking behind me wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

The brick wall anyone calling for the banning of these is going to run into is the islamic burka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

WTF?!

is this the new Burka for Dublin ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Stephen wrote: »
    The brick wall anyone calling for the banning of these is going to run into is the islamic burka.

simple then ban the burka too
    and htis clothing is not the same as a burka which is worn for religous reasons

They'll be barred from going into most pubs and all banks anyway.
    Ther are asking to be picked up by the fuzz!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The company, Criminal Damage, aims directly for chavs and hooligans, trying to win market shares from such as Burberry and Stone Island.
    Money to be made lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I want one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭hottstuff

Wayhay!!
    If only the boyzz at the mayday riots had these then they wouldn't have given SF & Celtic a bad name!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Anyone else think 'Spiderman' when they saw this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

These have been around for ages. Like it's been said already anyone covering they're face for non religious reasons is probably up to no good and should be tormented by the police.

Someone I know just came back from England and decided to head up town wearing one the last day. Said it keeeps her face and head warm, which is why she bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

How do you breath wearing one of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

D.T. Jesus wrote: »
    How do you breath wearing one of them?
    There not airtight you may breath as normal.

ScumLord wrote: »
    There not airtight you may breath as normal.
    Perhaps they should be :D

Darwin awards anyone?

For warmth?
    Let's go for a forest walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What the Stig wears, off duty?

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

because OBVIOUSLY the only people who wear hoodies are "scumbags"

god i hate this site more and more these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

because OBVIOUSLY the only people who wear hoodies are "scumbags".
    Let's all try and guess the trade or profession of the person in the picture. :rolleyes:
    No marks for saying male photographic model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭hottstuff

because OBVIOUSLY the only people who wear hoodies are "scumbags"

god i hate this site more and more these days.

You want the hoodie without the stigma?
    Blame the scumbags that give them a bad name , not the people who hate the ***ing things!!!
    anticon-masked-hoody.jpg

Let's all try and guess the trade or profession of the person in the picture. :rolleyes:
    No marks for saying male photographic model.

I'm pretty sure I know who is behind the mask. My cousin did a lot of modeling for them awhile back, and that was one of the items he modeled. I sure as **** hope it's not, if it the tiny bit of respect I had for him is gone. He's a terrible actor who now makes money working 9-5 and doing the odd photo shoot. The fact that he looks like a twat makes him perfectly suited to modeling items of clothing similar to those in the pics.

Hoodie by Lady Sovereign
    For a second ill be the fashion police and im just looking at your garms you been on too many catalogue sprees
    With your grannyfied curtain designs, your hurting my eyes,
    You really should revise your dress sense before you walk on by,
    Im kinda mixed up in this disco inferno,
    Baggy jeans and a tight top, lemonade and pernod
    Im sticking out like a sore thumb but i aint concerned though, no, uh oh,oh oh oh (boogie)

Fling on an A D I D A S hoodie and just boogie woogie with me
    Ohhhhh...
    Or you can just. put on your dancing shoes and get loose
    Can you get loose can you??

So i was up in this trendy bar mingling
    My keys around my neck were jingling
    And you was looking at me like it was my bling
    You was staring at me like to say i was ginger
    I was dishing out out the same dirty looks trust me your the minger

Errrr, whos she, whos that, whos her??
    The bouncer was approaching me coz i was dressed really inappropriately
    No hood, no hats, no this, no that
    Lets rolluh olll uh olll ..(out)

Right everybody, if youve got someone who cant dress properly, yeah you need to direct them this way.

Why not just cut up all your old clothes and make a quilt so i can wrap myself up when im feeling cold,
    Why not dash your ugly boots on the fire and burn them down to charcoal,
    If your not feeling the way that your bedrin is dressing dont be stressing send them in my direcion please,
    Black shoes , white socks, no uhh ohhh
    Polka dots, no uhh ohhh
    Flowery frocks, no uhh ohhh
    Just boogie woogie with me!!!

I saw one of these when I was in NY. It had a face painted on it.

Woo, England banning something again? These are the same people who banned teenagers from wearing hoodies in shopping centres.
    He said: "We are a street wear company that develops fashion items in line with the demand from our customers."

Uhm, the demand from our customers .. as in a nuclear war? judging by the picture on the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Looks like one of the Roswell aliens escaped and made himself a suit out of camo sleepingbags.

Could Chav culture be a front for the invasion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

they can be found in the fairyhouse markets. I think they're 25 or 30euros. That one there with the plastic discs looks stupid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

what about muslim women...should we ban them???:eek:

kona wrote: »

Sure, why not.

It would make for interesting times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

layke wrote: »
    Anyone else think 'Spiderman' when they saw this?

I just thought gimp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I say fcukoff with banning that crap. I understand the reasoning but no, its a touchup on free speech and all of that hullaballoo.

What should still applly is the same rules regarding Motorcycle helmets: if you want to enter a Bank or shop, etc etc. for example, you will be required to take off the face cover. You can be sure, for example, Tesco Security would be buzzing over if you were walking down the dairy aisle in your motorcycle helmet with the visor down, and the same rule simply applies to these new masks.

Fair play to the maker of it - they know a good market when they see it. How many teenage muslim girls will be alll over this :rolleyes: but cmon seriously evein I want one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Good to hear you've no problems with a bunch of skangers following you down the street wearing one.
    Just wait till you describe what they looked like to the cops after when they attack you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

zero19 wrote: »
    I just thought gimp...

Somebody with a limp? Why? Do people with limps wear masks.

OR do you think "Pulp Fiction" references to a sadomasochist's slave that happened to have limp means all sadomasochistic clothing represents a "gimp"?

There is ignorance and then there is stupidity, some people should just pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Good to hear you've no problems with a bunch of skangers following you down the street wearing one.
    Just wait till you describe what they looked like to the cops after when they attack you.
    exactly, id be more worried about the gang that was following me than what they were wearing, makes no differece if there dresses as snow white and the seven dwarfs, the face covering makes them no more or less dangerous., a classic case of blame the tool not the act, theres always gonna be muggings, robberies etc even if this was banned, they' use something else,.,
    I think it looks cool., and since when are hoodies ONLY worn by skangers?:confused: you'd be more likely to fine them wearing ancient columbia outdoors jackets and lacoste tracksuits with Nike TN runners than hoodies,.

kona wrote: »
    good idea!
    No muslim women = no muslim babies (& frustrated muslim men)
    100 years time no muslims = no east - west tensions caused by religous dischord.