Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Times when you should question your religious belief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Always question Religion. Never take what you are told for granted. Seek out your own answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What a f*cking moron

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Religion results from an inability to question in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

A religion thread? In AH? Oh estebancambias is gonna love this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

In that third picture i swear i thought the tumour ahd grown a hand :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Dude!
    Sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

im never going to look at raw steak again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dude!
    Sick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    So's your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Seriously lads, a NSFW should have been slapped on that.
    Where's his mouth? :eek:

Really feel sorry for the guy - but at the same time it's self inflicted.
    (Not the tumor - but his refusal to have it treated)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

WTF I just swallowed my Dominos Meateor pizza a second time, next time give a warning dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I see that and am reminded of the Half Life headcrabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

ThatGuy wrote: »
    Seriously lads, a NSFW should have been slapped on that.
    Where's his mouth? :eek:
    See those folds at the bottom of the growth? See the slightly wetter fold?

That's the bottom lip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Il just go ahead and say it.

Religion is the root of all evil.

There. OK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Jehova! Jehova!

Ah well, at least he is happy that he is going to heaven. He may not have a beautiful face, but he has a beautiful soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

can he....talk??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yeah he could talk. He sounded a bit like a robot.

(it's on again 9pm tuesday if anyones interested)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DeBeere

On the plus side he makes anyone standing beside him look great...

I see that and am reminded of the Half Life headcrabs.

NERD :D

:( *shame*

/slinks away.

:( *shame*

/slinks away.

Ha, just pulling your left testicle. Played/completed it myself.

I'm not really ashamed,but sshh, don't tell anyone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Never thought I'd say it and mean it but Joseph Merrick, aka the Elephant Man, was actually better looking than him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

poor bastard

One of the pictures looks like a vagina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

what a ****ing retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

One of the pictures looks like a vagina.

Vagina with genital warts maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Xavi6 wrote: »
    A religion thread? In AH? Oh estebancambias is gonna love this....

He is banned from AH, according to the great man himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Ok, *** that. He refused to get it treated, he shouldn't be let outside. I'd hate to let a small child see that and be terrified! I feel sick!

(things like this always brings the right wing out in me)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I am happy with my religon, I do not think I'm a lame brain for having one. I do not appreciate the suggestion that all people who have a religous faith are stupid sheep- we are no more sheep then non-believers are (and that non belief is a faith in and of itself)

Some people are crazy, some religons are crazy, as are most cults- JWs are a pretty messed up one. As are all fundamentalist religons, and the same applies to the fake ones (scientology ffs). Anyways my point was comment on the specific religous practice/religon, not everyone who follows some sort of spiritual life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

way to kill the thread pip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

and that non belief is a faith in and of itself
    How the f**k can not believing be a faith?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

You have to admire his dedication though. It's like the Hunger Strikers back in the early 80's - retarded in most peoples eyes but i certainly wish i could take that determination and apply it to something in my life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

You have to admire his dedication though. It's like the Hunger Strikers back in the early 80's - retarded in most peoples eyes but i certainly wish i could take that determination and apply it to something in my life!

Did you seriously just call Bobby Sands and the rest of the hunger strikers retarded?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

I agree that this is a NSFW, considering the images of the man. I understand why some people think its funny, but personally I find it tragic.

Mods! - Please, please don't move this thread to A&A. I think its great that people are discussing religion here in After Hours.
    ThatGuy wrote:
    Really feel sorry for the guy - but at the same time it's self inflicted.
    (Not the tumor - but his refusal to have it treated)

One might argue that his religion is not self-inflicted. Like most religious people, he may well have been indoctrinated during childhood.

Either way, it reminds me of an episode of South Park where Kyle gives one of his "gay little speeches" after Chef became a scientologist. When deciding where to place the blame he said:
    It wasn’t really Chef, it was that fruity little club that scrambled his brains!
    I have sympathy for this man, and don't hold him responsible for his current condition. I see him as a victim of religion.
    I am happy with my religon, I do not think I'm a lame brain for having one.
    Good for you.
    we are no more sheep then non-believers are (and that non belief is a faith in and of itself)
    Eh, No! Trust me. Atheism is not belief. It is the polar opposite.

Perhaps you should be glad of this fact, most theists see faith as a virtue.
    Some people are crazy, some religons are crazy, as are most cults- JWs are a pretty messed up one. As are all fundamentalist religons, and the same applies to the fake ones (scientology ffs).
    As far as most atheists are concerned, all religions are "fake", though I get what you mean. Scientology is slightly more ridiculous than Christianity.

Still, I'm sure there are plenty of aspects of most religions which could be considered harmfull, or potentially harmfull, apart from the sheer time and energy wasted on a delusion.
    the_syco wrote:
    LMAO. Some people eh? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

the_syco wrote: »

Surely as an atheist you 'believe' the universe to be accidental randomness and have no prime cause? Is this not faith?

Dude, seriously. Get over it.

atheism
    Disbelief in, or denial of, the existence of a god.

Some things, many things, are just plain fact, and we dont call belief in them "faith" because they are supported by overwhelming EVIDENCE.

Everyone knows that 4 plus 4 = 8.
    Those who don't are stupid or deluded.

Everyone knows that fish generally live in water, and that if people dont eat, they die of starvation.
    Those who don't are stupid or deluded.

If something is theory, we may say that we subscribe to the theory.

If you can't get your head around the fact that atheism is not "belief" or "faith", you need help. When in respect of religion and theology, the words "belief" and "faith" usually refer to belief in things which are NOT supported by overwhelming evidence, particularly the existence of gods.

Sean, I suspect yourself and PIP both realise that your comments annoy and frustrate atheists, and I'm guessing that's why they were made.

Still, your tactics have worked, we have been distracted from the issue at hand, which is a man whos life has been completely wrecked because of a superstitious delusion.

I bet you love when atheists call religion a superstitious delusion. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

The chap in the first link doesn't give a crap about his condition. In fact he uses it to make money :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That depends.

Many atheists are probably atheist because they reckon that on the balance of probabilities, the most likely thing is that God doesn't exist. It's probably not something they would give a whole pile of thought to otherwise.
    "Faith" implies a belief which is strongly held and on which you base most of your actions and opinions. Atheism doesn't include any doctrine or otherwise any direction on how to live your life.
    Faith also implies belief in spite of there being no evidence. Atheists would consider themselves the exact opposite of that - they believe *because* there is no evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Statso wrote: »
    Did you seriously just call Bobby Sands and the rest of the hunger strikers retarded?!
    Yeah he/she did. Definitely.

Why don't you actually read the post properly...?

That was sickest thing I've ever seen... there really should be lines drawn when something like this happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

KaG1888 wrote: »
    That was sickest thing I've ever seen... there really should be lines drawn when something like this happens.
    I disagree - if a guy wants to ruin his life then there are hundreds of ways of doing it. For some, they sit around drinking all day and live off the cahrity of others. For this guy, it means not getting treatment. I wish all these people would get their sh*t together, but I don't believe any attempt to force them would work.

What I don't understand is why his siblings would put it him. Now, I haven't seen the documentary, and even that would only give a brief glimpse of their lives. I can honestly admit that I would never feel a family bond so strong as to help a brother of mine if he were in such a situation and was unwilling to help himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

womoma wrote:
    Eh, No! Trust me. Atheism is not belief. It is the polar opposite.
    Yes it is, Atheists are religious about there disbelief. The opposite of love isn't hate, if Atheists truly believed religion has such a load of pooie they wouldn't get so worked up about it. I think if you compared the brains of a religious person thinking about god to an Atheist thinking about how untrue God is you'd see the same part of the brain lit up.

Back to tumor face, he's a fool. I don't know where they picked blood transfusions out of a 2000 year old book but this reminds me of that joke about yourman stuck on the top of his house during a flood, 2 rescue boats and a chopper come to save him but he sends them away saying God will save me. Just before the water goes up over he's head and he's about to die he asks God "Why didn't you save me?" To which God replies "I sent 2 boats and a feckin Helicopter what more do you want??!"

With a condition like he has I'd say he has surgeons from all over the world beggin to cure him, for FREE! He's an utter tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

ScumLord wrote: »
    Yes it is, Atheists are religious about there disbelief. The opposite of love isn't hate, if Atheists truly believed religion has such a load of pooie they wouldn't get so worked up about it. I think if you compared the brains of a religious person thinking about god to an Atheist thinking about how untrue God is you'd see the same part of the brain lit up.

Who's getting worked up? Imagine if someone said to you that you (e.g.) collect model trains. You then pointed out that you don't. That guy then insists that you do. You, naturally, get a little bit angry and insist that you don't. If he then says that you kind of do, because you spend all your time going on about model trains, and thus you must be obsessed, he'd be talking rubbish, right? This is a comparable situation.

I am not a religious person. When someone says that I am, I tell them that they're wrong. Usually they'll accept this. Sometimes they'll then pass on some rubbish that they heard someone else say in the hope of coming across as smart about my being religiously against religion. Well, I guess I'm also model-train-collectingly against collecting model trains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

His need to seek religous acceptance is nearly as appalling as his physical appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wacker wrote: »
    Who's getting worked up? Imagine if someone said to you that you (e.g.) collect model trains. You then pointed out that you don't. That guy then insists that you do. You, naturally, get a little bit angry and insist that you don't. If he then says that you kind of do, because you spend all your time going on about model trains, and thus you must be obsessed, he'd be talking rubbish, right? This is a comparable situation.

I am not a religious person. When someone says that I am, I tell them that they're wrong. Usually they'll accept this. Sometimes they'll then pass on some rubbish that they heard someone else say in the hope of coming across as smart about my being religiously against religion. Well, I guess I'm also model-train-collectingly against collecting model trains.
    I think that's a bad example, who in there right mind wouldn't love model trains???

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I try not to hold beliefs on such matters. I look at the evidence and current theories regarding the origin of the universe and must accept or reject them until a more satisfying hypothesis is developed which must explain more of the facts with fewer assumptions.

To assume that the universe is either random or results form a prime cause are hypothesis that you appear to invest faith in one of.

KaG1888 wrote: »
    there really should be lines drawn when something like this happens.

Do you he think he should be forced to get medical help, including a blood transfusion if required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Can we please get a ****ing warning next time, I wasnt prepared for that.

That sort of thing would drive me TO religion. (not really)

Still though, he isn't as bad as the Half Man, Half Tree dude.

I don't understand why blood transfusions are against religion though.

womoma wrote: »
    Do you he think he should be forced to get medical help, including a blood transfusion if required?

Well I look at it this way. Is it in their beliefs that suicide is wrong? Answer: Yes .Therefore letting himself fall into this life threatening state he is in is surely suicide in the long run? Suicide being a more serious issue should surely push the bondaries of what they can and cannot do.