Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Colours chess match

• 09-12-2007 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

Who do you think will win the colours chess match this year? After two tough years for TCD the recent addition of an impetuous yet undoubtedly talent Russian medical student Dimitri Rainer to our ranks means that this years match should be one of the most entertaining of recent times. I still think it is a tall order for TCD, given the established class of the UCD line up, North American duo Elliot and Zaki returning for their 4th colours match, but it will be entertaining either way....Opinions????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Michal Kolesar shall destroy them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

where/when is this played?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

Is Deep Blue going to be playing? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

paperclip wrote: »

Actually one of the UCD guys, Rashid Zaki, played deep blue, or a similar program last year in London. He did quite well, but those computers are a step above even the best grand masters these days, which is a slightly worrying fact in some ways....

No, but Michal is.

chess-society.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

so to echo Crash:
    where and when?

I dont think anyone is certain of what the result will be at this stage, but certainly there are some strong feelings that TCD could prevent their D4 rivals from claiming a prestigious hat trick of wins, something which hasn't happened since the 70s, I think.

TheThing! wrote: »
    I dont think anyone is certain of what the result will be at this stage, but certainly there are some strong feelings that TCD could prevent there D4 rivals from claiming a prestigious hat trick of wins, something which hasn't happened since the 70s, I think.

Yep, Michal Kolesar..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Thirdfox wrote: »
    so to echo Crash:
    where and when?

So to echo Thirdfox to echo crash:
    Where and when?

Or doesnt anybody know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Or is it some kind of private function that others are not invited to? Genuinely confused - I'd thought the first thing people would do is put up the venue and times (unless they haven't been determined yet?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

I don't know about when and where it's on, but Michal Kolesar will destroy them all, like Westlife destroy eardrums. DU ChessSoc is hosting the IV's this year: http://www.chesssoc.org/news.php?key=1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭EGaffney

Michal Kolesar

I agree with these multiple comments. This thread is now about Kolesar mania.

I think I was chair of the Chess Club one year... I can't remember which, but it was either JF or SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

We should get t-shirts printed up with Kolesar's head on top of the King, or Kolesar riding the white knight (or black if we want him to look dangerous and sexy).

b.ie polar wrote: »
    (or black if we want him to look dangerous and sexy).

But he already does! :p

I think he could be like one of these new breed of chess playing pimps, who are getting a lot of notice in the world of hip hop lately

HighTatras147.JPG

DSCF4484.JPG

dsc00081.jpg

DSCF3897.JPG

Wir leben Michal.

Riiiiiight....

Lets not get stalkerish now

Doppelpost. Deleten sie this, bitte. :)

Ibid wrote:

Wir leben Michal.

'We live Michal'?
    Somehow that sounds even MORE stalkerish than 'Wir lieben Michal'.....

'We live Michal'?
    Somehow that sounds even MORE stalkerish than 'Wir lieben Michal'.....

It's an in-joke. My German is awful and he's well aware of this.

I for one would like to wish Michal the best of luck in his Monetary Thought and Policy exam on Friday.

Does Der Mann himself know that there's a lovefest for him going on here?

He does.

Are you in Kolesar's house again?

Wave to the famous one for me, then!

Michal über Alles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

But more so.

And yes, I probably would. In fact, I think I have a few times in my dreams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭EGaffney

I've never seen Michal in Monetary Thought and Policy class. Are you sure you aren't getting confused with another Michael, Ibid?

b.ie polar wrote: »
    But more so.

And yes, I probably would. In fact, I think I have a few times in my dreams.

Line. Ticket. Get.

EGaffney wrote: »
    I've never seen Michal in Monetary Thought and Policy class. Are you sure you aren't getting confused with another Michael, Ibid?
    I think he may be confused there, all right. Michal takes Securities, while Michael does not, if I recall correctly.

Now I'm all curious. this is something I have to get into. Where's the end of the line?

Only Michal himself could calculate that!

Ah here, this is ridiculous, come on, say it with me...chess, chess, CHESS, CHESS, CHESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CHESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

F UCKING CHESSSS!!!

God I love chess