Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas expectations?

• 09-12-2007 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

15 days to the day and im sure we all have expecations for our christmas presant(s)!

I have high hopes for a new bass or amp! That and a boss tuning pedal so i can finally daisy chain my pedals

Ill make a post on christmas day and reference this post to see how close people were to what they posted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

ah the oul tu-2 thats something a musician should never be without :D....i'm expecting a gt-8 so fingers crossed ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Maybe a bit of cash. There's no gear that I asked for as a present, or that I expect really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

tell me about it jcoote, its been going on for too long!

I havnt asked for anything, i've mearly made the point that i was in the market for a jaguar bass or a jazz bass.. and that i needed an ampeg svt-vr to play it through. Id be happy with the phone book for christmas :D

its a different world when u get daisy chained...great craic...just found out the gt-8 is good to go...assuming its delieverd in time :?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Have fun with the GT-8. They're great things. Two of us in the band have one (both mine...) and it's great for balancing sounds and such.

why u got 2???? yeah the gt-8 has been coming since i sold the gmajor...i don't even remember when that was :p

My brother "borrowed" my other one. Got the money for it eventually though.

ah we get ya ;)...happy days tho it does make a difference to be working off the same effects setup..mine was shipped last tuesday from thomann so it should be here in time easily...woooooooo

Excellent stuff. I assume you got the pack with the carry case?

yeah sure did good deal i think..did u ge the case with your one??? if so is it good quality??

Aye, top quality. Good leatherette handle on it, nice big pockets for cables and such. Only annoying thing about the GT-8 is there's a European plug on it.

yeah the euro plug thing is a pain but sure what can ya do.. its worth the hasslei spose..its grand cos i've had a gt-6 so there is feck all of a learning curve really as far as the menu's etc go

feylya wrote: »
    Aye, top quality. Good leatherette handle on it, nice big pockets for cables and such.

can you wear heals with it tho?

Depends what song you're playing :p

your misspelling of heels the red ice sealed the sarcasm deal cos i wasn't sure :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

Xbox 360 and Halo 3

Oh yes!

over some sorta m-audio soundcard and pro tools, but its more fun, ya need sometihng fun to do on christmas day! rather than plug a jack into a soundcard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

I've being droppin' hints about a most wonderful magical thing called a micro cube or somethin' ;):p...........fingers crossed.

jcoote wrote: »
    your misspelling of heels the red ice sealed the sarcasm deal cos i wasn't sure :p

Bah! You should be ashamed of yourself knowing how to spell such a seductive word!

red_ice wrote: »
    Bah! You should be ashamed of yourself knowing how to spell such a seductive word!

i write adult novels,how cool would that be? well i'll tell ya how cool...not very cool at all :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

That and a boss tuning pedal so i can finally daisy chain my pedals

Why do you feel you have to wait til you get a TU2 before you can daisy chain? What's the advantage? Why not just get a Boss PSU and one of those daisy chain linkers, which I think you'd still have to buy separately from the tuner?

I daisy chain my effects that way -- including Boss, Ibanez, and Dunlop. As for the Boss tuner, I still use a non-muting non-floor-pedal Seiko job, which I find marvellously accurate. But, in due course, tuner-wise, I'm going to go for the Korg floor unit (DC10 or something?); by all accounts they're more accurate (but have fewer features).

For Christmas, I may drop hints about the Pocket Pod or one of those Vox AmPlugs (if they're here yet).

PS: why hasn't someone come up with a combined noise suppressor/muting tuner? In a standard-ish compact pedal size? There can't be that much circuitry involved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

i'd love a looper pedal, the rc-20xl looks grrrreat.

too expensive though, so usual couple books and cds.
    i'm happy.

Why do you feel you have to wait til you get a TU2 before you can daisy chain? What's the advantage? Why not just get a Boss PSU and one of those daisy chain linkers, which I think you'd still have to buy separately from the tuner?

Dont you need the TU2's AC or DC output(dont know) to hook the daisy chain up to? I have a boss psu which im using for only 1 pedal atm(bass), but when i start playing guitar again ill need all my pedals and i was told you need the tu2 to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

deaddonkey wrote: »
    i'd love a looper pedal, the rc-20xl looks grrrreat.

too expensive though, so usual couple books and cds.
    i'm happy.

great pedal...picked one up in the buy and sell last week :)

Dont you need the TU2's AC or DC output(dont know) to hook the daisy chain up to? I have a boss psu which im using for only 1 pedal atm(bass), but when i start playing guitar again ill need all my pedals and i was told you need the tu2 to do so

yeah none of the boss pedals have a ac/dc out except for the tu-2 and i think the noise suppressor therefore no means of adding power to a daisy chain lead i.e. where would u plug the daisy chain in on a regular compact pedal ??

phew, i knew it.. i was about to make my way into town there to pick up the daisychain right away if it was possible to do it without haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Yeah i have the TU-2...great pedal. Handy for me as the band play 1/2 step down all the time and there is a 1/2 step down mode. It's chromatic and picks up on notes quickly. Unfortunately it doesn't do too good pickup up the low notes in open G tuning. I have it powering 5 other pedals including a morley wah.

Er, into the power input on the front of each pedal? I do it every day!

One standard Boss PSU, with the appropriate connector, can power several standard Boss compact pedals, depending on the overall mA draw of the pedals combined. Unless you're intending to power 15 of the buggers! I currently power 4 pedals this way: wah, EQ, chorus and delay.

Unless I misunderstand what you guys mean by "daisy chain"? I'm talking about a standard Boss AC/DC power supply adaptor (what the Yanks call a "wall wart") that can power several pedals (ie, you do not need one PSU per pedal) that goes into a little 6 or 8 inch lead (Boss or Maplins) that has 5 or 6 power-out connections that plug into the standard power ports on each pedal.

Why you would need to have the TU2 in order to power other pedals is beyond me, unless I'm missing something... All I'm doing is cutting out a completely unnecessary middleman.

If you use the TU2, you'll still need the PSU -- unless you fancy your chances trying to power several pedals from the Tu2's single 9v battery! -- and one of those little leads to route the power to each pedal. Unless you believe that the TU2 can provide phantom power for other pedals through the patch cables or something...

Boss AC adapters dont have multiple male connectors on them. They come with a single male jack that goes into the footpedal. If you want to hook up multiple pedals and daisey chain, you need to get your hands on either of the pedals mentioned - the TU2 being the one used by imo 99% of musicians because everyone needs a tuning pedal!

http://www.nunoferreira.com.pt/Equipamento2/boss%20tu2%20(Medium).jpg

you can see from the above pic there are two power cables runniung to and from that pedal, ones the power coming in from the power adapter, and ones the daisy chain leading to other pedals

Are you sure the adapter you got is a boss adapter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Beecher

Boss AC adapters dont have multiple male connectors on them. They come with a single male jack that goes into the footpedal. If you want to hook up multiple pedals and daisey chain, you need to get your hands on either of the pedals mentioned - the TU2 being the one used by imo 99% of musicians because everyone needs a tuning pedal!

http://www.nunoferreira.com.pt/Equipamento2/boss%20tu2%20(Medium).jpg

you can see from the above pic there are two power cables runniung to and from that pedal, ones the power coming in from the power adapter, and ones the daisy chain leading to other pedals

I have this plugged into my boss adapter (the male connector on the boss ac plugs into the female input on the right):

7816_1.JPG

7 euro and it powers my 5 pedals fine :D

i was powering 10 pedals off of one boss daisy chain and a tu tuner for a while, worked aok

if u wana do that put a daisy chain on the boss adapter, and one of those jacks from the daisy chain into the tuner and there u go, easy peasy then u can add another daisy chain from the tuner

Beecher wrote: »
    7 euro and it powers my 5 pedals fine :D

scumbags at <certain well known music shop> told me i NEEDED to have a tu2 fo r it. Ill just go ahead and pick one of those bad boys up tomorrow then :D

thanks! :D

Yeah, I’m pretty sure, since it’s got a big Boss logo all over it…

Oh, for Christ’s sake! I can’t believe we’re still talking about this! Did the bit where I said “I do it like this and do so every day” confuse you? Did you think I was lying to mislead you? Did you even properly read my posts? Have you even googled or looked at Harmony Central or the like?

And, of course, standard Boss PSU units don’t come with all those connectors: that’s why I said repeatedly (go back and read my posts) that it was a separate lead (pictured in the other post, above), bought separately. I have Boss’s version of this connector lead: yeah, they make one; it’s on their website. But you can get the equivalent in Maplin’s.

Ah, the internet: font of all the info you’d ever need, if you only knew how to use it and interpret it correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

You deffinitely dont need a TU2 to chain pedals. I also used one of those things that Beecher has to power multiple boss pedals from a single boss power supply. I got the adapter daisy chain in Musician Inc

cheer up Grolschevik, its christmas!

i was also told what i done to power my pedals ^^ wouldnt work but guess what!

+ theres 2 different types remember, theres the boss 5 way daisy chain with one female end and theres the other daisy chain, roland makes with 7 male ends, Which is useless if u only have a boss adapter.... cause you cant put a male with a male, well you can try...

im sure theres other brands that make both types but just there the ones i seen in town... i havnt seen them in ages though, ive a lovely DC brick now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

I'm getting a Vox AD30. I know where it is in my house but can't be touched till Christmas day.