Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SS PanzerGrenadier Donegal

• 09-12-2007 2:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

I am new to airsoft and want to start up an SS PanzerGrenadier unit in and around Donegal. I have one other guy with me, we need more. We are enthusiasts about the period, our main interest being 1943 - 1945 eastern front, that is the period we will be aiming to recreate. I would love to hear from anyone who would be interested in either joining or helping us, any info on uniform and weapon suppliers would also be a help. Any rich people who want to buy us a couple of MG42's are more than welcome to join.
    Thanks,
    Jason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

hey jason was just reading ur post. i see your goin for the german look thats cool i,ve been planning on doin ww2 here in dublin and setting up ateam both for the airsoft front and as part of a demo team as for uniforms there is a place in dublin that sells all ww2 and modern warfare on parnel square i will try get contact details for ya in the next few days german guns are available in airsoft but i have only come across a few lik the kar and luger. i wish you the best of luck with it and hope to have ur feed back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Hi And welcome to Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Be careful with the SS stuff lads, while you may want to re-create an authentic from the period, some people at a skirmish may be offended by the insignia you choose to wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 osok

I appreciate the feedback from everyone and understand your concern about recreating an SS unit. I could however say the same about teams who wear American military uniforms, their present day activities in Afghanistan and Iraq leave alot to be desired, many thousands of innocent civilians are dying in these conflicts, as for British army based teams, I'm sure I dont need to go into that in this country. As a ww2 enthusiast I have read many books on all aspects of ww2, from all sides and have read about terrible things that have been done by soilders on all sides,massacres, shooting of pow's, indiscriminate bombing of civilian areas. I have read many books about the SS and will readily admit they did many bad things, but there were also a lot of very brave soilders in its ranks, conscripts who had no choice but to fight, and who fought bravely to the end, some for the furher and the fatherland but mostly for the men who fought by their sides.
    I in no way support the actions of the Nazis nor subscribe to any of their views, I just want to honour all the men who fought bravely on both sides of the conflict.
    Anyway, isint airsoft all about running around, pretending to kill people!!!

If anyone has any questions regarding our choice of unit, we would be glad to discuss it with you.
    Thanks again for the replies,
    Jason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I think KD is just trying to say, dont go running around wearing swasticas and shouting sieg heil.

At the end of the day it is a touchy subject for some.

I for one dont see anything wrong with ww2 reenactment and you get lads dressed as us soldiers aswell as german infantry.

SS may be a different story.

I dont think anyone was critising you but it is sensible to be forewarned some may not be as understanding as others.

Edit: There are various brands of mp 40s available, kar 98ks, stg 44s though expensive, lugers and walther p38s.
    Thats the german airsoft gear Im aware of, and the mg44s you mentioned.

Maybe we can help to educate people about a part of ww2 that has been only viewed from one side, there are scapegoats in every war and the SS have been labled as the monsters of ww2. The SS were mainly front line troops due to their high levels of training, alot of the massacres were committed by the normal Wehrmacht soilders who became the army of occupation.
    We would never try to offend anyone with our views, historical accuracy will be the main focus of our unit, that dosent mean we are going to run around herding up Jews or killing civilians. As much as anyone, we just want to have a bit of craic, while enjoying one of our passions.
    I promise there will be no overtly offensive behaviour from anyone on my team, if people get offended by our uniform or insignia (no swastika armbands) then that is up to them.
    I look forward to meeting you all in battle.

Andy G,
    I'd love to get the info on the Dublin uniforms, I found a good link last night for an english site with uniform details
    http://www.ww2airsoft.org.uk/pages/ss-kit-guide.html
    What area are you trying to recreate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I know there are people around interested in starting a bit of milsim in Ireland so good luck with the team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Good luck with the team, I'd love to see someone setup an Allies team then ye could go head to head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Good luck with the team, I'd love to see someone setup an Allies team then ye could go head to head.

I would join that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Mauclerc

My advice : avoid both the swastika, the totenkopf and the lightnings. You never know how people would react to that. Plus if you join international reenactement, it's the usual rules (sometimes, SS camo are also forbiden). Since they are many foreign people whose family had to suffer from SS exactions, it's better not to take a risk on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭A.T.F

Hi Jason
    im a member of an ss LAH re enactment group in the North of Ireland there are plenty of websites that sell militaria www.1944militaria.com US based but there uniforms are very good soilder of fortune in the Uk are another good one www.Richardaunderwood.com is another fantastic UK dealer really good uniforms and equipment and you can try Gary oBrien at harp1@eircom.net an irish dealer good equipment and good prices, at the end of the day mate portray the unit you want to portray belive me it dose not matter if you portray SS ,wehrmacht luffwaffa people will still moan and groan at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Mauclerc

You can play a Wehrmacht team and say "someone has to play the bad guys", but SS means more and even if you just like the look (which is quite nice I have to admit) people would think that you have other thoughts.
    Again it's up to you, but if you choose the SS look, you have to expect some critics.
    It's a complicated question of both what happened in History, how is this part of History taught in some countries, and of diverse family background. There is a lot of passion in this, and even if your intentions are good, a reenactement with uniforms, "weapons" (even if it is just AEG, most of people would see them as weapons) and a "fight", is not the best way to educate.
    Also it could make some harm to the public image of the sport in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Have we not been through this s**t already ?
    every one of us who has a uniform has to bear in mind certain unpleasantness
    that that army has done.
    my Israeli uniform bothers some your US gear bothers others others and Nazi outfits bothers some more.
    I think it is high time we just get on with it.
    I have a few people who want to set up a team with me we will be in Israeli paratrooper uniform ( with a few modifications )
    will anyone have a problem with that... probably
    Do I look bothered.... no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm setting up a team myself called the Grand Dragons of the Klu Klux Klan. Anyone else want to join? White hoods will be mandatory though. We might burn the odd cross or two.

If that doesn't work how about the Provisional IRA?

OP, there are certain lines which must be drawn. weigh up the pros and cons.

What does a load of guys running around dressed up as SS officers with lightening bolts, death's heads and swastikas say to you? What does it say to people unfamiliar with airsoft? Does it make us look like Nazi sympathizers?

To be honest, it's just not worth the extra bad press. You can't explain your political viewpoint to everyone who reads a paper. They'll look at the picture, gasp, and think "hmm, that's not right"
    IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    every one of us who has a uniform has to bear in mind certain unpleasantness
    that that army has done.
    my Israeli uniform bothers some your US gear bothers others others and Nazi outfits bothers some more.
    I think it is high time we just get on with it.

There is a certain level of evil associated with Nazi insignia that goes far beyond a US or Israeli flag. That comparison doesn't really stand.

Anyway, I'd be of the opinion that airsofters shouldn't really wear the insignia of any specific army. Sure, recreate their gear and look. But wearing something like a flag or patch just starts bringing politics into it which to be honest, is an annoying headache.

Anyway, the last time we had a thread like this, it ended up with someone posting huge pictures of swastikas. Something I'd rather wasn't repeated.

Locked.