Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no?

You can talk about chips on shoulders all night, but who started the thread? I'd argue the chips are equally large.

Both the Dublin view of "muck savages" and country view of "jackeens" are forms of prejudice that are for some reason, socially acceptable.
    In this instance, this thread just seemed to be a rather sad, smug attempt to bait people or invite some back-slapping from fellow Dubs, secure in their "hilarious" responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Make sure all you Dubs put the Culchie money to good use as thats all your getting until next year .Might consider building a by pass so the Culchies can go somewhere a bit classier as Dub land is so last year .Need to smarten your act up there are better centres all over Ireland now giving better value .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Driver 8 wrote: »
    City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no?

You can talk about chips on shoulders all night, but who started the thread? I'd argue the chips are equally large.

Both the Dublin view of "muck savages" and country view of "jackeens" are forms of prejudice that are for some reason, socially acceptable.
    In this instance, this thread just seemed to be a rather sad, smug attempt to bait people or invite some back-slapping from fellow Dubs, secure in their "hilarious" responses.
    Ahh, you've been on this shift too long.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Make sure all you Dubs put the Culchie money to good use as thats all your getting until next year .Might consider building a by pass so the Culchies can go somewhere a bit classier as Dub land is so last year .Need to smarten your act up there are better centres all over Ireland now giving better value .
    I'm not sure if you have been told this before, but the full stop goes at the end of a sentence, not the start of a new one.

City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no? Quote Driver.

Its a deep seated inferiority complex that the Dubs have which portrays itself as self perceived superiority . Unfortunately there is no cure .Its just Dublish.

Terry, you can't use my username to both praise my musical taste and as a stick to beat me with

It's unfair, you bloody.....dub! culchie! person! ;)

Terry wrote: »
    I'm not sure if you have been told this before, but the full stop goes at the end of a sentence, not the start of a new one.

Must remember that Terry thanks for the English lesson .Whats a sentence ? Get your red pen out . Ever heard of neutrality or sticking to the thread and not getting personal ? Lead by example please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Its funny when country folk call us Dubs "Jackeens". Its means drunkards and well they aren't exactly pioneers. Oh and by the way on the quality of life issue. We have hospitals that aren't forty miles away and access to clean drinking water all year around. Much more entertainment available for people to indulge in. Culture to indulge in. This is where interesting art is displayed and shows from far off places come to perform. Its much better to live here.

Might I also add that if Dublin is tiny what the heck is your town or village?

I thought "jackeen" was a reference to the Union Jack?

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    I Must remember that, Terry. thanks for the English lesson .What's a sentence ? Get your red pen out .

This is a sentence.

Relax there folks.
    The thread is meant to be in jest.
    Stop taking it so seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

womoma wrote: »
    * dresses up the thread in a pair of faded black jeans, hi-tec runners and a table cloth shirt, tucked in. Then puts Cotton Eye Joe on the radio *

Should make the thread feel more comfortable for all the muckers.
    O_o

Em ... you sure you're not thinking of hill billies from the deep South of the good ol' US of A?
    ... but I think it's really petty when country folk (I'm from the suburbs. Blow me) throw a hissy fit when the dubs take the piss out of them.
    ... or Dubs throw a hissy fit when the culchies take the piss! Seriously, folks, this thread started off light-heartedly and was a bit of fun ... then a few people started getting on their high horses. Why don't you get tf over yourselves (both lots!)?
    If I'm mistaken for a culchie, I get a gentle ribbing.
    If I'm mistaken for a dub, I'm lucky to escape without getting a kicking.
    Jesus, Terry, where tf have you been visiting? Athlone?
    Most of the culchies I've met really have a big chip on their shoulders when it comes to dubs.
    I suggest you get over yourselves and your city-envy.
    Very few of the culchies I know have anything of the sort ... :confused:

You're definitely mixing with the wrong people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

We're far too busy fighting with each other.

This is reason we cannot find a final solution to the ***** question!

The angry posts have been moved here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055197815

The latter posts of mine aren't angry, just unfunny :p

I know, but I was trying to keep things in context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Had a first date with a pretty Dublin girl today. Me being from outside the big smoke, choosing this day and reading this thread jsut before leaving felt like a bit of a plank. There was some slagging of poor humbert :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

humbert wrote: »
    Had a first date with a pretty Dublin girl today. Me being from outside the big smoke, choosing this day and reading this thread jsut before leaving felt like a bit of a plank. There was some slagging of poor humbert :(

Well the important thing is you got to send the probes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,525 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Terry wrote:
    If I'm mistaken for a dub, I'm lucky to escape without getting a kicking

yeah Terry must have been to Athlone, don't worry they treat everyone the same there, dubs, galwegians, rossies, biffs, male, female it doesn't matter, look at a person the wrong way and you will get your head kicked in, i saw a girl punch a huge bloke in the face one night in a chipper in athlone, blood flowing everywhere....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

If I'm mistaken for a dub, I'm lucky to escape without getting a kicking.
    Coming from a business perspective, and from the countreh, its amazing how often you are automatically assumed to be a moron by the powers that be up in Dublin. This can be an advantage, but generally not so much. Its actually reached the stage that I just hire someone to look after things up there, despite having offices in cities many, many multiples larger than Dublin (where nobody has any problems with my nationality or place of birth).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The award for failing at BBcode goes to The-Rigger. :)

BBcode?

Failure? :eek:

It was nice to win though. :)
    What happened your post count terry?
    Can I have mine reset too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Funniest thread ever on AH,

Looks like Bambi got a sense of humour for Christmas:D

PRED (bog hopper, puddle splasher, spud gobbler) RACER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

womoma wrote: »
    10 points for the best alternative to the word culchie....

Muck savages is good. I like spud gobblers too :D

Turf eaters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

but is the culchie day out....not a thing of the past?? ........i mean most of the superstores are located in major rural towns anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Dublin is a sh*thole. This deise man will stay well clear of it. One culchie you jackeens don't have to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

Womoma am I right in thinking that you do not like people from outside Dublin?

No, youre wrong. I know and love plenty of boggers. I dont like people who have chips on their shoulders, and I get a great thrill out of winding them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Turf eaters.

urbanly challenged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Redjeep!

Isn't it funny how anybody who's even mildly critical of Dublin or the Dubs is accused of having a chip on their shoulder ?

I guess it's 'cos we're all so stoopid to appreciate how great the place it, and so the criticism must be due to something else.

SimpleSam summed it up when he said that he was treated like a moron whenever he visited our great capital because he didn't have a Dublin accent.

BTW for the record, I actually really like Dublin, but don't understand why people feel that they have a right to have a superiority complex irrespective of if they're from Dublin, Athlone, Galway, London, NY or anywhere really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Redjeep! wrote: »
    BTW for the record, I actually really like Dublin, but don't understand why people feel that they have a right to have a superiority complex irrespective of if they're from Dublin, Athlone, Galway, London, NY or anywhere really.

Exactly. It's not like they're from Cork.